Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Playa Bonita Resort & Spa

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 83 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great close to city property IC Playa Bonita is a beautiful property close to Panama City center but situated in an area that feels worlds away from the city. Sprawling with everything you'd want at a resort property but only 15 minutes from business in central PC. Maybe not the ideal place to stay if you're doing a lot of business in the city because you may not want to leave. In which case stay at the IC Miramar in the city, another great IC property. 31 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel and facilities Great location, poor service for breakfast in the restaurant. I mean POOR! 31 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Does not match Intercontinental Hotels Standards Poor service overall Great Location A little bit far from the city but not bad. Nice beach 21 July 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dated property This must be one of Intercontinental's most dated and run down properties. Nice location, but severely understaffed and inefficient. 18 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exelente Personal Servicio maravilloso, todo el personal del hotel muy amable desde la recepcionista, pasando por los encargados de las diferentes zonas, incluso los que limpian y sobre todo los de los diferentes restaurantes y el bar-man de la piscina. Desayunos almuerzos y cenas deliciosas con muchísima variedad para todos los paladares. Las condiciones de la estructura excelente, mantienen en constante manutención, con todo tipo de detalle. Ideal para relax con familia o en pareja para disfrutar del sol y mar. Lo aconsejo fuertemente!!! 13 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Champagne Elaine's Holiday FANTASTIC HOLIDAY! MY STAY AT PLAYA BONITA WAS GREATLY ENJOYED BECAUSE OF THE AWESOME CUSTOMER SERVICE PROVIDED BY FRONT DESK STAFF MEMBER ALFRAIDA. HER OUTSTANDING ATTENTION TO DETAIL IMPECCABLE... ALONG WITH THAT GREAT SMILE! 13 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience The facility is clean with an overabundance of personnel. English is poorly or none spoken. Concierge and staff knowledge limited. Nice poor, not enough activities....you are away from everything. 10 July 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Not recommended Our family had the opportunity to stay at this resort with the expectation that it would be 3 nights and 4 days of rest and relaxation as you would expect from an Intercontinental property. In all fairness, the property is fantastic and it has everything that you would want with a spa, great pools, three restaurants and a beach front location. Regardless all this amenities the one thing this property lacked was good old fashion CUSTOMER SERVICE! There is really no substitute for this of most basic of ingredients for a good stay. Don't expect to be pampered here. The following is a list of our issues: 1. No pool service. During the 3 days there at no point did any staff member came up to use and asked us if we needed anything or offered to get us drinks. If you wanted anything you needed to walk up to the bar and get it yourself. What a missed opportunity not only to make things special for the guest, but also for missed revenue for the hotel. 2. Poor bar service. Since no drink service was provided at the pool I approached the pool bartender to order some drinks for my family. She then proceeded to mentioned that she had already cleaned the bar and she was in the process to closing down for the day a full 30 minutes before closing time. I had to push to get her to fix us some drinks and get passed her inconvenience. 3. Birds eat off the buffet. Wild birds were allowed to eat off the buffet and when mentioned this to the restaurant manager he did not apologized for the incident and furthermore was put out that we brought this to his attention. 4. Restaurant does not allow children. This property has 3 restaurants, however beware that one of these has a dress code and does not allow children. This point was not mentioned anywhere in their website, a point that would have been good for us to know. Also one of the restaurants was closed for repairs and and the only restaurant in the property open for lunch, during the hottest part of the day, was the out door restaurant. 5. Friendliness needs to be reviewed here. The overall feeling from the staff is that they are doing the bare minimal work needed to accomplished their jobs. Being friendly and project joy and a smile is just extra for them. 6. Discrepancies in the bill. To top things off, when it was time to check out we're presented only 1 page of our 2 page bill and several discrepancies were found that required my wife to spend about 15-20 minutes of the unpleasant task of ironing this out. These are just some of the main complaints that we had with this property, there are more but in the interest of time and space we don't want to beat a dead horse. Needless to say I was very sadden and disappointed that as a panamanian living abroad I got this sub-par level of service from my home country. All future guest be ware this is an Intercontinental property in name only. 04 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Experience This is a very nice facility all the way around. The staff were phenomenal; I took the time to send IHG a note on how outstanding they were and recognized several exceptional employees and examples of their over and above service. The kitchen staff and dining room servers were excellent and took fabulous care of us. Just a wonderful experience with some of the nicest pools you've ever seen. Not sure why the red flag was up the entire time but that prevented us from swimming in the ocean. But we didn't feel cheated because the pools are so great. They have a really nice gym that we used every morning and my wife used the "spa" for a facial and was treated very well. Rooms were beautiful and the staff kept them spotless and even fixed us up with ice each evening, closed the drapes and prepared the room for sleeping while we were out and about on the grounds. 30 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay, but needs updating Hotel was a pleasant stay. The location is great with access to the Canal Zone and the Old Town. The hotel is dated and needs some serious renovations. The elevators never seemed to work right and the ice machine broke several time just for a couple examples. The pool is chopped up into sections and also very old. The hotel also seemed to be hustling you to make money at every turn. I was charged a dollar to print out two boarding passes in the business center. I also had to fill out forms to get towels at the pool. The Wifi was free for everybody at the hotel even though I was told this was a rewards member perk. 26 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Maravillosa experiencia en un lugar paradisíaco. Maravillosa experiencia en un lugar paradisíaco fue para mi InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort 25 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comodidad Las habitaciones muy confortables y las instaliciones muy buenas 23 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful property, great pool, excellent room and amenities, good food It was a great experience at this resort. Service, food, amenities, pool and grounds were fantastic. I would recommend staying here to everyone. It's a little far from town and for Family of 5 a $100 taxi ride to the International airport but it was vacation and worth it. 20 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by FIN DE SEMANA EXCELENTE PASAMOS EN FAMILIA UN FIN DE SEMANA EXCELENTE. BUENA ATENCION, BUENA COMIDA Y UNA TRANQUILIDAD TOTAL. LAS NIÑAS DISFRUTARON LAS PISCINAS 18 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Playa Bonita Con Fior y Jhon We found our stay quite pleasant. The concierge service was very efficient at getting us VIP transportation to and from the various shops. I would recommend to anyone that wants to have access to the city as well as have a pleasant resort experience in Panama to opt for the full package. It is called the "all inclusive" package. Next time we go to Panama, we'll opt for this as well. Have a great time! 06 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stellar staff and wonderful experience The staff was extremely friendly, resourceful and professional. The property was clean and the scenery was beautiful. 02 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Schöne Lage, tolles Bett Wir haben uns wohl gefühlt; Persoanl sehr zuvorkommend, konnte allledrings z.T. schlecht englisch. Das Essen war sehr gut. Die Lage direkt am ruhiges Strand auch, das Wasser ist zwar trüb, aber wir sind trotzdem im Meer geschwommen und keinen Quallen begegnet.. 02 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Weekend and Memorable Stay From the time we checked in and throughout our two day stay, the staff was very attentive, the surroundings were just beautiful, the food was great. We needed a quick getaway and we got a weekend to remember for a long time. 14 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to go with family This was our third time at this beautiful resort. We got a great service from the concierge staff. They are wonderful and made sure that we felt welcome. We felt that the service has improved since the last time we were there. Our kids love the pools, but the pool service could be more customer oriented. If we are back in Panama we will stay at this resort again. 11 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Un excelente lugar para celebrar el aniversario Nos recibieron como clientes ambassador y se aseguraron de brindanos todas las comodidades. El personal se mostro muy atento y no felicitaban por el aniversario. 09 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience overall I stayed in this hotel with my in-laws for a weekend and had a great experience overall. I was recognized as an Ambassador Member and was granted an upgrade immediately. The staff was really helpful and all our requests were answered promptly. I try to visit this hotel as frequently as possible. 06 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect getaway! This was the perfect getaway ! They were fully booked So we got a free upgrade to a fabulous suite with Two balconies overlooking the ocean. It was a Fantastic retreat! I came with my sister and it was A great stay for us. I would love to bring my family Back as it is so family friendly! Love this place! 24 March 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor check in experience We were disappointed with this property at check in. The desk clerk told us that a room upgrade was available but in order to receive the upgrade we would have to join the Ambassador Club. Both my husband and myself are Platinum IHG members. We did not join and the clerk gave us one of the worst rooms on the property, far from the central hub. After three phone calls to the management and over an hour of wasted time, we contacted guest services in person. The woman was very accommodating and changed our room. Loyal IHG guests should not have to work this hard to receive a upgrade. 21 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 UNAS MARAVILLOSAS VACACIONES EN FAMILIA En términos generales, toda mi estadía fue muy buena. Tanto las instalaciones, como el personal de todas las áreas nos hicieron sentir muy bien. El único punto bajo fue la comida que no estuvo a la altura de los altos estándares de la cadena Intercontinental. 20 March 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Recomendación de mejoras de un viajero Frecuente Tengo que empezar esta reseña indicando que como Panameño y viajero frecuente por CentroAmerica y el Caribe me duele tener que decir que es uno de los Hoteles que menos recomendaría de la cadena IHG. Voy a explicar un poco mis comentario. El hotel cuenta con dos conceptos en uno; huéspedes que pagan tarifa todo incluido (reciben un brazalete) y los que cargan sus gastos a la habitación. Para estos últimos es necesario que por cada bebida, comida, agua, etc que se solicite en los bares se firme un boucher; este sistema es muy engorroso e inclusive en algunos bares no tenían como facturar por lo que nos solicitaban buscar las bebidas en otro lugar mas distante. Deben mejorar ese sistema el cual inclusive confunde a las personas que atienden. Por otro lado la television por Cable en las habitaciones funciono solamente una mañana de los tres días en los que estuve hospedado, si viaja con niños créanme que es necesario en algunos momentos. No poseen suficientes restaurantes para comer y el de Room Service tiene un menu muy limitado, sobre todo su uno viaja con niños y finalmente considero que el precio de la comida vs el valor no es el adecuado. Tengo que mencionar que el hotel es muy lindo y esta en una buena ubicación, las actividades son excelentes (nos encanto el cine bajo las estrellas y las actividades para niños) y el personal es muy atento y veo que fumigan dos veces por día lo cual es ideal para disminuir las insectos y mosquitos que son muy molestos en Panamá. Espero que estos comentarios les resulten de interés y como indique soy un viajero frecuente que siempre me hospedo en hoteles de la cadena IHG, por lo cual poseo nivel Platinum Elite. 08 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious room I found that the grounds were beautiful but disappointed with the beach as we were unable to swim in the ocean. Very rocky.We were on an all inclusive vacation but that was not what we received, and were unsure of what we could order at the bar. . The breakfast buffet was average and found the food usually cold except if getting eggs. Lunch was very good at the buffet but supper was unpredictable. The alacart at the buffet restaurant was not good. Ended up eating at the buffet instead. Service at the buffet was not up to par. Loved the pool and there were always lots of chairs. The rooms were spacious and clean. 20 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to Panama City Review Intercontinental Playa Bonita Stayed there January 28, 29, 30, 2014. Our stay was at the end of a tour of Panama, which included the Canal, the rainforest and so on. The hotel room was very nice, comfortable, everything worked well. We had a balcony facing the grounds, pool and water. Mini bar was locked though that didn’t affect us at all. There is a coffee maker in the room which we also didn’t use. We had internet because of IHG membership. The grounds are pretty. We used the main and the ‘adult only’ pool; though there really weren’t many children around anyways. The beach is nice; though not the best we’ve been to. It is unguarded. Not many people sat at the beach and there were less than a handful of people in the water at any one time. The red flag was up all the time even though the water was flat. We did encounter what we found out later were very small ‘man of war’ or ‘jelly fish’ in clusters on the sand our last day. There were no warnings about those. We didn’t have any issues with insects. There was an activity board but we never saw any activities. The food in the buffet restaurant was all right; the prices probably typical of large hotel buffets. The a la carte restaurant was a bit more expensive but really very good. The choices were well cooked and nicely presented and the service was polished. I had a little trouble after biting- unknowingly -into a super- hot- pepper and they offered me some milk (I declined) to settle the spiciness down. We had drinks at the bar; these were also very good. There isn’t much to do at the hotel itself. There are excursions you can take from there at extra cost. This area is apparently the closest Pacific beach to Panama City. The view of the ships lined up to go through the canal is interesting; even more so when they are lit up at night. There is only one other large hotel on the beach. It is a Westin. And it didn’t seem much busier there. Not knowing what the other Pacific beaches look like it’s hard to make a recommendation. But if I were to return I would certainly check those other pacific beaches and resorts out, before committing to Playa Bonita. 19 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really terrific staff and wonderful food The Intercontinental Playa Bonita in Panama is a special place. With properties popping up all over the area, it's really important that the hotel differentiate with service and a great product. We felt special the entire time we were at the Intercon. The food at The Lighthouse was superb, particularly the sea bass. Desserts were creative, and delicious, as well. We stayed at 3 properties while in Panama and the Intercon was the standout among them. 11 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mixing business with pleasure One of the nicest resort hotels I have stayed at in nearly 20 years of international business travel! My stay could not have been much nicer - wonderful staff, excellent food (whether casual or more fancy), lovely grounds with a beautiful beach set off from lush jungle, and multiple relaxing pools - this hotel is near the top of my travel list. All rooms have balconies and overlook the ocean - a nice location to enjoy morning coffee or enjoy the sunset with some wine. The only real drawback is the location - if you need to do work in the city, you are a bit removed (the other side of the canal) but that is a minor quibble given the resort. Travel to the hotel from the airport is a mixed bag because of this - if arriving during peak traffic hours, be prepared for a slow trip to the hotel. The staff are hardworking and efficient - whether arranging for a taxi, serving a drink at the bar, or simply answering yet another "dumb tourist" question. Will definitely be back - regardless of business or pleasure. 15 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great Facilities and Friendly Service Overall we liked very much this hotel and would recommend it. It´s spacious with lovely manicured green areas and a very large beach. The tide variations were quite large at this time of the year (don´t know if it´s like that year long), so don´t be put off if you find just stones and mud (instead of sea) when you arrive, in a couple of hours the sea comes back and everything is nice again. The hotel rooms and facilities are also very good and i would also recommend the spa (I had a shiatsu massage which helped me come back to life after sleepless nights with a sick daughter). My daughter got sick while we were there and the staff was quite helpful and managed to get a paramedic from a nearby hotel (against a fee of course, but still worth the price when you have a hopelessly sick child). In general, we found the local people very friendly and eager to help, and would definitively recommend this hotel for those families who just want to relax and take it easy by the beach/swimming pool. Our only complain would be that the taxi charges are a bit high, but then it could be because the hotel is almost a 40 min drive from the city. If you plan to do a lot of sightseeing in or around the city, i would rent a car because a single trip almost anywhere would not be less than 30 US$ (at a minimum). On the other hand, the taxi cars were large and comfortable and the drivers knowledgeable about their country (although most of them don´t speak English, I speak Spanish but my husband does not). Compared with other beach destinations we have been around the Caribbean, the hotel/facilities and value/price are great even if the beach itself is not the most gorgeous one. It´s a fine balancing act. 06 January 2014
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Playa Bonita Resort & Spa
  • Road To Veracruz
  • Panama City , 00000
  • Panama
  • Front Desk +5-07-2118600

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish

Pet Policy

Must pick up after service animals or guide dogs. Dogs are allowed up to a maximum weight of 10 Kilos. The cost is of USD 200 cleaning charge per stay and USD 16.50 per night.
Pet Deposit $200.00 per stay
Pet Fee $15.00 per night
  • Local Time

    8:12 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available
    • Evening Reception Desk Open

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 3 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking