Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Playa Bonita Resort & Spa

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 104 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view and service The pools here are fantastic. Situated in the middle of a jungle with a beach is the best of both worlds. Whenever we needed something taken care of, the staff was prompt in reacting. The only problem we had was getting a newspaper everyday. All we did was mention this problem the day before check-out and that night we had a comp tray of cheese and a bottle of wine delivered to our room. THAT'S SERVICE. The only thing I would like to see changed is the hours of the restaurant by the water. They are only open for lunch and should be open for dinner. It's an open air restaurant with a thatched roof and make a beautiful setting for a romantic dinner. 28 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good vacation This is a good relaxing place to go. The grounds are beautiful and everyone is very helpful. My only complaints are: - We arrived a bit earlier so they checked us in a little early but we noticed that one of our double beds had not been changed. Luckily it was only two of us so we decided to sleep in one and leave the dirty one unused. - The taxi service to Panama City from the hotel is very over priced.... afterward we met guests that told us that we could have walked to the main road the hotel is located on and gotten one for ten dollars (as opposed to 28). I understand they are hotel cars but the difference is quite steep specially if you are there for a couple of days. - Lots of people had completely inclusive plan, I wish they offered this option via the website. 23 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful property This is a very nice property the only thing is the beach, is not a great beach, but the pool is wonderful, love my stay there and the staff very nice people. 21 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by the best weekend break Always at home, always nice helpful staff, great room with amazing views! 19 July 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worse stay ever! I am incredibly dissapointed by my latest stay at Intercontinental Playa Bonita. The staff at the restaurant was rude, did not help when basic things like water, a fork or coffee was requested. I even had to clean the table myself becaise ut was so dirty and eventhough I had asked for help to 3 different waiters, no one ever came. Food menu was terrible!!! and the overal appearance of the restaurantes was terrible. Regarding the room, there wa no water, I requested the minibar key the evening I arrived and they never sent it and the bath room dod not have shampoo or a shower cap. Wifi was terrible and when I requested technical support they told me to ope the curtains since that might help the wifi signal. I was staying two nights and on my second day I complained to the concierge about everything. She was the only nice person in the entire hotel. I am definitely NEVER staying there again! 14 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A most enjoyable vacation It is with extreme pleasure that I am writing this letter. As an inventor, ophthalmic administrator, business owner and in management for over 35 yrs., I am very aware of the importance of good customer service. My wife and I decided to spend our 40th. Anniversary in Panama. While deciding on places to stay and waiting for the best package, we zeroed in on the Intercontinental Playa Bonita. From the moment I called to confirm reservations and speaking with the assistant manager, I knew that this was the place. The location of the Intercontinental Playa Bonita also gave me some opportunity to entertain some business meetings in the city and more visits to Panama. I asked the assistant manager to send a driver for me at the airport and the driver he sent a driver from VIP. This driver was courteous, waited while I purchased a cell phone, spoke fluent English, and had a clean vehicle. I made sure to use his services my entire trip. Once we arrived at the beautiful resort, I then had the fortunate opportunity to meet the front desk agent who registered us in. Yes, this young lady knew her stuff! She is knowledgeable about the services Intercontinental offers and informed me that we were getting an upgrade and there was a gift for us in our room. We were very surprised to find chocolate covered cherries. After we went to our room, I had a few questions and again spoke with with the same agent. She informed me of the benefits of joining the Ambassador Club. I felt that the benefits that we would have during the time of our stay and for the rest of the year far outweighed the $200.00 fee. I promptly joined and was also then upgraded to a Suite. This professional young lady immediately became my “go to” person during my stay at the times she was available. To further acknowledge people that were extremely hospitable, knowledgeable, always smiling, ready to help in any way, is: All the fine young professionals that worked the front desk, concierge and those that worked the pool and restaurant area. Of course, I can’t leave out the entertainment and exercise gurus. I These folks definitely make ones stay very enjoyable, fun and very memorable while sitting by the pool area. If I left any sections out it's only because I probably didn’t have any one on one interaction with them. I am sure that the service that the rest of your staff gives is also second to none. To the hotel manager, you should be very proud to have a staff that is as great as they are and should be rewarded all the accolades that corporate has to offer. We would very much like to return in early January. My wife makes out again as it is her birthday December 22nd. Please feel free to use this letter any way you feel appropriate. 12 July 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Improve: food, room safebox, wifi, room cleaning, phones. Please improve food quality and cook food enough time. Safebox was with low batteries, wifi and wired internet services were extremely bad, breakfast selection was extremely poor, doors inside the room need better cleaning, there was not shampoo inside room, one of the 3 phones in the room was not working, I booked to stay 2 nights but because of all of the above, my family decided to check out about 2 pm of the second day, 1 day before our actual checkout day because we concluded that at home we will be so much confortable and has better food. 11 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasure and Comfort My second visit to this hotel confirms my previous impression regarding the comfortable and pleasurable atmosphere experienced here. Again, the staff went the extra mile to assist me. Particular mention should be made of the concierge staff, Sugey and Luis, and the valet staff at the hotel entrance who handled my car. 09 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful property, good service... I got married here in November 2011 and everything was great: people raved about our food, presentation was nice, ballroom is big and elegant... I went back recently to celebrate my anniversary and had a good stay. Room was nice, they surprised us with some chocolate covered strawberries! Pool was nice and they even gave us 2 complimentary welcome drinks which we were able to enjoy by the pool (even though voucher said it was for the lobby bar, so I appreciated their flexibility). We left our drinks to go to the pool only to come back and see them missing. We notified one of the pool boys who notified his supervisor, Alexander. He kindly got us 2 new drinks. thanks for the great service! The only negative side, which is not the hotel's fault, is that after 6pm, the "chitras", some type of mosquitoes, eat you alive! We only hung out for a few minutes outside the pool to get dry and had to run back to our room after several mosquito bites. We had the dinner buffet and also noticed that they had the same mosquitoe/flies problem by the food area. Overall, beautiful property and just a 20-min ride form Panama City! although keep in mind you're there to enjoy the resort as there's not much else to do around. 01 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel This was our second stay at Playa Bonita. We love the hotel. Our kids love the pools. The suite is very comfortable with a beautiful view of the ocean. The service at the ClubIntercontinental room was great. Laura was so efficient and thoughtful in the morning to get what we needed for breakfast. Sugey was awesome to make sure that our needs were met, not only this time, but last year as well when we stayed there for our first time. The Concierge team (Luis, Francisco, Erica are great! Fabricio is very personable and was such a joy to talk to and our daughters of 4 years old love him). We had some oops with the room service (not delivering the complete meal and charging for the whole thing) and we also had some issues with the pool service charging us for additional drink and being a headache to fix it. We were also disappointed to find out that we weren't able to get the deal that some people got with all inclusive package that was about 1/2 the rate we paid. We are planning to go back next year to Panama and will definitely consider staying at Playa Bonita again, but we hope to get a better deal. 23 May 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Happy Hour at the Club the best part of my stay this time was Francisco the Concierge he was glad to help and always had time to talk we me and my wife , he always had a smile and I hope to see himm again Playa Bonita 17 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Resort We stayed at the Playa Bonita for 9 nights with our small children. The resort is beautiful, clean, and had great pools for the kids to play in. The staff took great care of us, and went above and beyond a few times. Unfortunately, the beach is fun to pick shells up on, but not a good swimming area. We enjoyed being out of the city, just be prepared to do some extra traveling if you want to site see. 12 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always happy at Playa Bonita! As a regular guest at Intercontinental Playa Bonita I am able to compare the quality of the food, the comfort of the room and the service over a long period of time. My conclusion is that everything has improved the last few years. The feelgood atmosphere is very relaxing, the staff always very helpful and attentive. Something very hard to find in Panama!! My favorite weekend break! Thanks and regards, RB 05 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by the best weekend break Always happy to be back in this tropical paradise! A good relax, great food, the sushi at the lounge bar very fresh, the caipirinha as good as in Brazil. The staff always friendly, The ideal resort hotel to get in shape again, the pools and the gym are very inviting. The beds in the spacious rooms are very comfortable , what else can you expect??? Can't wait to go back! Highly recommended! 04 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the Hotel. We loved our stay at Playa Bonita. The staff was so kind and friendly. Our room was comfortable and beautiful. We loved the view of the ships waiting to enter the canal. We also really enjoyed our meals at the Lighthouse restaurant. The staff in the Priority Club room were particularly delightful. Thank you!! 02 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by beautiful view It was a great experience. One minor issue was it was very difficult to get ice. Only one ice machine extremely distant from the room. 19 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable and great service We had a wonderful time....recommend this resort. We would go again...great people 18 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My favorite getaway in Tropical Paradise! As a resident in noisy Panama City it's always great to come to the Playa Bonita resort to relax. As I've mentioned on Tripadvisor it feels like coming home! It's a feelgood atmosphere all over the place, the service is very nice and efficient, the lunch at the pool with amazing views over the Pacific is a pleasure every day and dinner at the Lighthouse a gourmet experience with the magic in the air. I recommend an outside table on the terrace under the stars! The pools are large and clean, I prefer the quiet pool in the back to relax, read and a little siesta after lunch.The rooms are very comfortable, the beds fantastic and if you are lucky enough to have a room on a higher floor you get the real thing!........a view with a room! All those ships on the ocean waiting for permission to get through the Canal, the tropical islands, the singing birds..........that's what life is all about, these are moments to cherish! .............and when it's time again to say goodbye the friendly staff helps me out with a big smile and AU REVOIR ! 26 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not good value for UK guests We booked an extra 3 nights at the hotel following a couple of nights there with a tour group. The guests were mainly Canadians. We talked to some of them and they were keen to tell us about the excellent deal they got as a package holiday, including flights, transfers and all inclusive. Their all inclusive included 3 visits to the a la carte restaurants. We paid more each than they did for the 3 nights. We were on all inclusive but got no visits to the a la carte restaurants and no airport transfer. Well done Canadians. Continue to enjoy this good hotel. UK folk, explore your deal very carefully. This hotel is like many others in the Caribbean at much less money. I did speak to a manager before leaving. She told me that due to the volume of guests from Canada, they got a good deal. If I had mentioned it sooner, she might have been able to "help" me. I feel that we were not treated as well as other guests. We are Priority Club Members but not at a high enough level to get an upgrade or to go to the lounge. 26 February 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel I enjoyed my stay. Nice room, beautiful location. However, the last morning I wanted breakfast ordered from the menu and never received it before I had to leave. I ordered 45 minutes before I had to leave, and talked to the server 20 minutes later and was assured my meal would arrive in time, but it didn't. Very poor service. 22 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great place to stay. We had an excellent stay at Playa Bonita.Our room was great and the staff was the greatest especially at the execetive lounge.We look forward to returning. 17 February 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Inmemorable Experience I just want to start my review saying that the experience was horrible and I'm not able to recommend this hotel to any of my friends. Main reasons: 1. Staff and Service is horrible. I wait in the check-in area for 10 minutes with 3 front desk employees doing nothing. Basically, they ignored us. 2. The front desk promise me, newspaper during my stay. I'm waiting for the news paper. 3. Even though I received an upgrade in my room, I asked for a higher floor. The front desk said that there is no rooms available. During the night, I saw many rooms empty. 4. Food was Ok but very expensive for the quality. I paid $7.00 for a cup of coffee. The waiter never told me that if I repeat the cup is an additional $3.50. 5. Beach area is horrible. 6. Poor activities at the hotel for guests. 10 February 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by a Land Cruise This Hotel caters to plane loads of loud Europeans Tourists -- thus the property although being beautiful maintain the rooms are in badly need of a makeover -- as a Platinum member we stayed on a designated floor hate to see what the other floors looked liked. The food is mediocre at best. The location is not conducive to dining in he city - there is no regular taxi service although they offer executive cars at a much higher price. My recommendation stay at the Intercontinental Miramar -- better rooms, food and more central location. 10 February 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Below Intercontinental standards I stay often in Intercontinental Hotels and this was a lousy experience. Rooms, pool area, etc were great but service and food were lousy. No natural juices, no tomatoes, no lemon, no dessert at the restaurant. The ingredients on the plates were not as adviced on the menu. Just lousy. Never expected this bad service at an Intercontinental Hotel. we were a group of 16 people and we all agree it makes no sence in this hotel category. We were a group composed of people from Colombia, Costa Rica, Mexico, USA Chile and Argentina and we all consider anything but an Intercontinental Hotel. Regards 05 February 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by very poor customer service your staff requires training and paying attention to customers. The room was dirty. We were never offered any appology, just excuses. 01 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to relax before starting your adventure in Panama.p Our adult family enjoyed our stay at playa Bonita. After 4 nights we were ready to see other parts of Panama. We enjoyed the work out room which we had mostly to ourselves with a great view of the property and the ships lining up to go through the canal. The adult pool was nice and away from noise. The food was great,Christmas Eve dinner at the Lighthouse was superb. Most people seemed to do all inclusive which meant you were served meals a lot faster. The trip arranged to go to the locks was very nice. A few bug bites at dusk but to be expected when staying by the jungle. Everyone was very nice and always cheerful. 09 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience, Sub par dining My husband and I came to Playa Bonita to enjoy a relaxing atmosphere, and that's what we got. We loved the laid back attitudes of the staff and other guests, and we were happy to spend time at the pools and at the beach. For the most part, the staff was helpful in suggesting and coordinating trips and tours. We took a wonderful tour of the Panama Canal and went on a lively snorkeling trip. Both times, the drivers and guides were friendly and knowledgeable. Our only entertainment disappointment was our search for good shopping. We wanted to see local art and take home Panamanian specialties, but we could only get directions to a large shopping mall- not what we had in mind. Even so, our driver was timely and friendly. We really liked most aspects of the Intercontinental, but there was one aspect of our stay that was truly disappointing- the food. We got all-inclusive packages that included food and drinks, but each mealtime was more dismal than the last. The buffets at the indoor and outdoor restaurants offered bland and generic food. The most appealing dishes quickly disappeared and were not replenished. We tried to be optimistic, but each meal left us hungry. Since we already paid for the meals, we didn't want to spend more money ordering from the menu or eating away from the resort. We were happy with our stay, overall, but we would have been so much happier with tasty local food. 08 January 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by mosquitoes all over the hotel.... We had no idea that your hotel is crowded with insects, otherwise we would never consider booking it. I thought it's perfectly normal to rely on Intercontinental brand and service to make us aware of such issues in advance. 08 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful view, very good service, good food For the most part, this was a very good stay at this property. The wait staff in the restaurants were excellent and very accomodating. The view can't be beat. The site of all the ships lining up to enter the Panama Canal was extraordinary, especially at night. Water shoes should be worn if you plan on swimming from the beach. There are rock outcroppings underwater that are rather painful to encounter with bare feet. Food is very good but a bit pricey. Transportation into Panama City is not cheap. Example: To go to the Albrook Mall, the closest shopping mall, costs $25 each way for two people. Going furthur into the city is $30 + each way. There is a bus stop at the entrance to the property, but we were warned by several locals that these buses are not a safe option for tourists, we heeded their warnings. There were a few hiccups due to language difficulties but these were minor and easily overcome. Our room was clean and comfortable for the most part. Once we got back to the room and found that housekeeping had mopped the floor with what smelled like coconut water which made the floor very sticky for awhile. Multiple requests for washcloths that were removed and not replaced after the first day, were never honored. We never got those washcloths. Even though the water was safe to drink, trying to get bottled water was like pulling teeth. We ended up buying bottled water at the gift shop at $5 each. Offering free bottled water to the guests would have been a nice touch considering how much we were paying for the room. We will certainly consider returning to this property in the future, but we will also be looking into the ammenities at other hotels in the area. 07 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by room amenties great...food not so much We had a great stay. We luckily got upgraded on our room to a suite which was really nice. We loved the pool. We had a hard time finding a chair the first day but the staff was willing to find one for us which was great. Our one complaint was the dinner. We felt that the breakfast and lunch they were accommodating but felt dinner they were in a rush to get rid of us. In fact New Years Eve my boyfriend left the room STARVING!!! We asked repeatedly for them to fill the trays and provide what was listed on the tables. We were blown off that it would be filled but never happened. I would understand if it was towards the end of dinner but we showed up at 8 and dinner was till 10:30. This was extremely disappointing considering we had payed a significant amount to this hotel and for all inclusive. Be wary of their all inclusive. 06 January 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Playa Bonita Resort & Spa
  • Road To Veracruz
  • Panama City , 00000
  • Panama
  • Front Desk +5-07-2118600

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish

Pet Policy

Must pick up after service animals or guide dogs. Dogs are allowed up to a maximum weight of 10 Kilos. The cost is of USD 200 cleaning charge per stay and USD 16.50 per night.
Pet Deposit $200.00 per stay
Pet Fee $15.00 per night
  • Local Time

    12:49 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available
    • Evening Reception Desk Open

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 3 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking