Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Playa Bonita Resort & Spa

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 92 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always happy at Playa Bonita! As a regular guest at Intercontinental Playa Bonita I am able to compare the quality of the food, the comfort of the room and the service over a long period of time. My conclusion is that everything has improved the last few years. The feelgood atmosphere is very relaxing, the staff always very helpful and attentive. Something very hard to find in Panama!! My favorite weekend break! Thanks and regards, RB 05 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by the best weekend break Always happy to be back in this tropical paradise! A good relax, great food, the sushi at the lounge bar very fresh, the caipirinha as good as in Brazil. The staff always friendly, The ideal resort hotel to get in shape again, the pools and the gym are very inviting. The beds in the spacious rooms are very comfortable , what else can you expect??? Can't wait to go back! Highly recommended! 04 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the Hotel. We loved our stay at Playa Bonita. The staff was so kind and friendly. Our room was comfortable and beautiful. We loved the view of the ships waiting to enter the canal. We also really enjoyed our meals at the Lighthouse restaurant. The staff in the Priority Club room were particularly delightful. Thank you!! 02 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by beautiful view It was a great experience. One minor issue was it was very difficult to get ice. Only one ice machine extremely distant from the room. 19 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable and great service We had a wonderful time....recommend this resort. We would go again...great people 18 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My favorite getaway in Tropical Paradise! As a resident in noisy Panama City it's always great to come to the Playa Bonita resort to relax. As I've mentioned on Tripadvisor it feels like coming home! It's a feelgood atmosphere all over the place, the service is very nice and efficient, the lunch at the pool with amazing views over the Pacific is a pleasure every day and dinner at the Lighthouse a gourmet experience with the magic in the air. I recommend an outside table on the terrace under the stars! The pools are large and clean, I prefer the quiet pool in the back to relax, read and a little siesta after lunch.The rooms are very comfortable, the beds fantastic and if you are lucky enough to have a room on a higher floor you get the real thing!........a view with a room! All those ships on the ocean waiting for permission to get through the Canal, the tropical islands, the singing birds..........that's what life is all about, these are moments to cherish! .............and when it's time again to say goodbye the friendly staff helps me out with a big smile and AU REVOIR ! 26 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not good value for UK guests We booked an extra 3 nights at the hotel following a couple of nights there with a tour group. The guests were mainly Canadians. We talked to some of them and they were keen to tell us about the excellent deal they got as a package holiday, including flights, transfers and all inclusive. Their all inclusive included 3 visits to the a la carte restaurants. We paid more each than they did for the 3 nights. We were on all inclusive but got no visits to the a la carte restaurants and no airport transfer. Well done Canadians. Continue to enjoy this good hotel. UK folk, explore your deal very carefully. This hotel is like many others in the Caribbean at much less money. I did speak to a manager before leaving. She told me that due to the volume of guests from Canada, they got a good deal. If I had mentioned it sooner, she might have been able to "help" me. I feel that we were not treated as well as other guests. We are Priority Club Members but not at a high enough level to get an upgrade or to go to the lounge. 26 February 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel I enjoyed my stay. Nice room, beautiful location. However, the last morning I wanted breakfast ordered from the menu and never received it before I had to leave. I ordered 45 minutes before I had to leave, and talked to the server 20 minutes later and was assured my meal would arrive in time, but it didn't. Very poor service. 22 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great place to stay. We had an excellent stay at Playa Bonita.Our room was great and the staff was the greatest especially at the execetive lounge.We look forward to returning. 17 February 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Inmemorable Experience I just want to start my review saying that the experience was horrible and I'm not able to recommend this hotel to any of my friends. Main reasons: 1. Staff and Service is horrible. I wait in the check-in area for 10 minutes with 3 front desk employees doing nothing. Basically, they ignored us. 2. The front desk promise me, newspaper during my stay. I'm waiting for the news paper. 3. Even though I received an upgrade in my room, I asked for a higher floor. The front desk said that there is no rooms available. During the night, I saw many rooms empty. 4. Food was Ok but very expensive for the quality. I paid $7.00 for a cup of coffee. The waiter never told me that if I repeat the cup is an additional $3.50. 5. Beach area is horrible. 6. Poor activities at the hotel for guests. 10 February 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by a Land Cruise This Hotel caters to plane loads of loud Europeans Tourists -- thus the property although being beautiful maintain the rooms are in badly need of a makeover -- as a Platinum member we stayed on a designated floor hate to see what the other floors looked liked. The food is mediocre at best. The location is not conducive to dining in he city - there is no regular taxi service although they offer executive cars at a much higher price. My recommendation stay at the Intercontinental Miramar -- better rooms, food and more central location. 10 February 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Below Intercontinental standards I stay often in Intercontinental Hotels and this was a lousy experience. Rooms, pool area, etc were great but service and food were lousy. No natural juices, no tomatoes, no lemon, no dessert at the restaurant. The ingredients on the plates were not as adviced on the menu. Just lousy. Never expected this bad service at an Intercontinental Hotel. we were a group of 16 people and we all agree it makes no sence in this hotel category. We were a group composed of people from Colombia, Costa Rica, Mexico, USA Chile and Argentina and we all consider anything but an Intercontinental Hotel. Regards 05 February 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by very poor customer service your staff requires training and paying attention to customers. The room was dirty. We were never offered any appology, just excuses. 01 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to relax before starting your adventure in Panama.p Our adult family enjoyed our stay at playa Bonita. After 4 nights we were ready to see other parts of Panama. We enjoyed the work out room which we had mostly to ourselves with a great view of the property and the ships lining up to go through the canal. The adult pool was nice and away from noise. The food was great,Christmas Eve dinner at the Lighthouse was superb. Most people seemed to do all inclusive which meant you were served meals a lot faster. The trip arranged to go to the locks was very nice. A few bug bites at dusk but to be expected when staying by the jungle. Everyone was very nice and always cheerful. 09 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience, Sub par dining My husband and I came to Playa Bonita to enjoy a relaxing atmosphere, and that's what we got. We loved the laid back attitudes of the staff and other guests, and we were happy to spend time at the pools and at the beach. For the most part, the staff was helpful in suggesting and coordinating trips and tours. We took a wonderful tour of the Panama Canal and went on a lively snorkeling trip. Both times, the drivers and guides were friendly and knowledgeable. Our only entertainment disappointment was our search for good shopping. We wanted to see local art and take home Panamanian specialties, but we could only get directions to a large shopping mall- not what we had in mind. Even so, our driver was timely and friendly. We really liked most aspects of the Intercontinental, but there was one aspect of our stay that was truly disappointing- the food. We got all-inclusive packages that included food and drinks, but each mealtime was more dismal than the last. The buffets at the indoor and outdoor restaurants offered bland and generic food. The most appealing dishes quickly disappeared and were not replenished. We tried to be optimistic, but each meal left us hungry. Since we already paid for the meals, we didn't want to spend more money ordering from the menu or eating away from the resort. We were happy with our stay, overall, but we would have been so much happier with tasty local food. 08 January 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by mosquitoes all over the hotel.... We had no idea that your hotel is crowded with insects, otherwise we would never consider booking it. I thought it's perfectly normal to rely on Intercontinental brand and service to make us aware of such issues in advance. 08 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful view, very good service, good food For the most part, this was a very good stay at this property. The wait staff in the restaurants were excellent and very accomodating. The view can't be beat. The site of all the ships lining up to enter the Panama Canal was extraordinary, especially at night. Water shoes should be worn if you plan on swimming from the beach. There are rock outcroppings underwater that are rather painful to encounter with bare feet. Food is very good but a bit pricey. Transportation into Panama City is not cheap. Example: To go to the Albrook Mall, the closest shopping mall, costs $25 each way for two people. Going furthur into the city is $30 + each way. There is a bus stop at the entrance to the property, but we were warned by several locals that these buses are not a safe option for tourists, we heeded their warnings. There were a few hiccups due to language difficulties but these were minor and easily overcome. Our room was clean and comfortable for the most part. Once we got back to the room and found that housekeeping had mopped the floor with what smelled like coconut water which made the floor very sticky for awhile. Multiple requests for washcloths that were removed and not replaced after the first day, were never honored. We never got those washcloths. Even though the water was safe to drink, trying to get bottled water was like pulling teeth. We ended up buying bottled water at the gift shop at $5 each. Offering free bottled water to the guests would have been a nice touch considering how much we were paying for the room. We will certainly consider returning to this property in the future, but we will also be looking into the ammenities at other hotels in the area. 07 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by room amenties great...food not so much We had a great stay. We luckily got upgraded on our room to a suite which was really nice. We loved the pool. We had a hard time finding a chair the first day but the staff was willing to find one for us which was great. Our one complaint was the dinner. We felt that the breakfast and lunch they were accommodating but felt dinner they were in a rush to get rid of us. In fact New Years Eve my boyfriend left the room STARVING!!! We asked repeatedly for them to fill the trays and provide what was listed on the tables. We were blown off that it would be filled but never happened. I would understand if it was towards the end of dinner but we showed up at 8 and dinner was till 10:30. This was extremely disappointing considering we had payed a significant amount to this hotel and for all inclusive. Be wary of their all inclusive. 06 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful place and good service We felt very welcomed, the staff was very nice with us and the facilities are confortable and very beautiful. Thank you 18 November 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor and Disappointing Experience We purchased the 'All Inclusive' and when we finished our dinner at the resuarant we were told... that is not included in the 'All inclusive'...That is false advertising and should not be part of your brand. Room ( 520) had a bad odor of mildew and staff was non caring and not accommodating as your brand would like the public to believe it is. In short, a big disappointment and we will not return to your hotels again unless we get an explanation to all above. Respectfully; R.O 15 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Gem in the ICH Crown This property is one of the most completely spectacular hotels that I have even had the pleasure to work from in ICH or any other hotel chain. Both the physical beauty of the setting and the splendid cooperation of the staff made our event memorable. 01 November 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel but lots of details that were lacking Overall its a nice hotel. However there were so many details that really didnt match a 5 star hotel. Some staff were really good and knowledgable, some were not. The priority club room was really a big disappointment - on the ground floor with basically no windows and no out door area. And....stop charging for the Internet!! 24 October 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beyond excellent I was there with my wife and kids. It was a great experience. Great service (staff ready all the time to service). Facilities are in very good conditions. Beach is clean, close, beautiful, and safety. You do not find peddlers around. The location is fine because is about 30 minutes far from Panama city, the beaches are basically private and closer than the ones located in Playa Blanca. 23 October 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Muy buenas instalaciones y excelente servicio del personal Instalaciones en buen estado, peros sobresale la atención practicamente de todo el personal, 16 October 2012
<<prev 2 3 4
Playa Bonita Resort & Spa
  • Road To Veracruz
  • Panama City , 00000
  • Panama
  • Front Desk +5-07-2118600

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish

Pet Policy

Must pick up after service animals or guide dogs. Dogs are allowed up to a maximum weight of 10 Kilos. The cost is of USD 200 cleaning charge per stay and USD 16.50 per night.
Pet Deposit $200.00 per stay
Pet Fee $15.00 per night
  • Local Time

    1:53 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available
    • Evening Reception Desk Open

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 3 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking