Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Paris - Le Grand

WELCOME TO

Paris

Concierge Photo Concierge Signature
M Philippe Lesigne
Chef Concierge

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

CABS

Taxis can be hard to find, especially at rush hour, at night, and on rainy days. Your best bet is to find a taxi rank marked with a blue sign, or to ask your hotel Doorman or the restaurant Maitre D' to call a taxi for you. A white light on a taxi's roof indicates the car is free. An orange light means the cab is busy. Most drivers will not take more than three people. Also, expect to pay an extra fee if someone sits in front, or if you place some heavy luggage in the trunk.
BEAUTIFULLY RENOVATED, HISTORIC TREASURE IN THE CENTRE OF PARIS
With floodlit views of the Opera House, this superbly renovated luxury hotel is at the heart of Parisian society. Opened in 1862, it defines historical grandeur, from Café de la Paix to La Verriere Restaurant, set in an 800 square metre winter garden. Elegantly appointed, the hotel’s boutique-style suites overlook stunning landmarks. Located in the 9th arrondissement, close to the Louvre Museum, shopping, theatre and banking districts, this luxury Paris hotel is an icon in the City of Light.

Guest Reviews

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Both spectator and player, totally involved in the everyday life of Paris and the Parisians since 1862, the Café de la Paix is a place of legend, p...
  • Amenities & Services

    The I-Spa by Algotherm is one of the rare beauty treatment centres in the heart of Paris, providing the benefits of thalassotherapy. Access to the ...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Paris - Le Grand
  • 2 Rue Scribe
  • Paris , 75009
  • France
  • Front Desk +33-1-40073232

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, English, Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Portuguese, Russian

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except guide dogs, for people with disabilities
  • Local Time

    12:52 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      2:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available
    • Evening Reception Desk Open

    Currency

    • Euro € (EUR)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 11 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 263 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent As Always In total, this is an excellent hotel by all means. Recognized as a platinum cardholder and upgraded to a clubroom. Fast check in by a very nice cooperative receptionist called Morgane although with an early check in (8am). Thanks to all June 24, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed The TV stations were very limited. Otherwise, the room was comfortable. June 22, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience, superb staff, though at a price We have stayed at this hotel before and chose it because we like it. It lived up to our expectations, especially the staff, and we love the location, and our room looking out on the Place. The only down-side is that it seems to have become noticeably more expensive. June 20, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by beautiful hotel in a beautiful arrondissement we arrived via red eye from NY, where we had just experienced a less than stellar CP in manhattan... so being greeted by the incredible staff in the beautiful foyer of this historic building was a breath of fresh air. the hotel staff held our bags and allowed us to check in two hours early. we were upgraded to a club room, which was stunning. a great layout furnished in a modern decor juxtaposed perfectly against the classic architecture of the building. the bar offers great drinks, the location couldn't be better (steps to amazing cafes, fashion boutiques (some of the best in the world), Metro station, and a brand new park right across the street. the hotel is approx 30 euro cab from Orly Airport. staff are incredible, this is a no brainer if you're staying in or around the 11th, 10th or 3rd arrondissement. this is one of the best IHG properties I have ever experienced, and I travel a lot. June 16, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by BAD I visited with my family on vacation. The connectivity of wifi in room was very poor.inspite of complaining on the reception no one bothered to rectify. The phone in the room was not working from the second day and on complaint someone visited and put a note that he will come again the next day and the same was not rectified till the end June 16, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great central location Short cab ride to the Louvre and easy to catch the tram just outside the hotel to go anyplace you choose. They do recognize the IGH rewards and club level upgrades. I was upgraded to the Presidential suite. Very small in relation to other suits that are called "Presidential", but for France, I guess it was big. Nothing special and I never did figure out how to open the refrigerator to see what they serve and no menu or price list was on the desk to see what they had in that little refrigerated lock box. Light in the closet was very dim and hard to see colors. A match would do just as well. The room did have electrical ports for EU and US standards, so that was nice. Good coffee pot with coffee paks you insert, so I felt like it was cleaner than the usual pot that God knows what people run through it. Club dining for breakfast was just a typical fruit, yogurt, juice bar. Not at all what I get in Shanghai and there wasn't any happy hour I ever saw with drinks/munchies. I find the EU style of club level to fall a bit short in comparison to Shanghai and Hong Kong. Front desk was very helpful in helping me select tour to go on or to fine the connection for the tram. Bar area was nice for some coffee and light junk food, but eating/drinking in Paris is not cheap and I found prices in Lyon to be a little less. My room faced Rebublic Square. Kids on skate boards till 1:30 AM was a bit nerve racking, but with the windows shut, I didn't hear anything. Exercise room was good, clean and no smells. June 12, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Expectations not met We booked using ihg points, and the rate was very, very high for the quality of the property (had I known, I would not have used so many points). Waited a long time at reception to be acknowledged, which was disappointing. We did get "an upgrade" however. When we tried to plug our electronics into the room power points, they didn't work- when I asked reception, I was told that they could not provide any help (or adapters) and that I should purchase one for 10 euros. The power points were disabled for "safety reasons". Very poor in my view. Exchange options for currency verged on extortion. In room options for refrigeration were poor; barely enough room for my wife to store her medication and when something else was moved, an automatic charge appears on your account. Staff were very attentive otherwise, but on the whole, a lack-lustre experience. June 11, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful Staff, Convenient Area Crowne Plaza Paris-Republique saved us from a disaster across town. Most helpful and friendly staff. First-rate concierge. Ultra-convenient metro station gets you across town or out of district in a jiffy. I already miss the local bakery, boulangerie, that sits a mere block away. When can we go back? June 10, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not recommend This was my first (and last) stay in this hotel. I was supposed to stay for 5 nights, but checked out the following morning - staying for only one night. I was appalled by the attitude of staff at check in and the quality of the room I got allocated. I made a complaint immediately and the staff could not care less, hence I checked out the following morning. If I am not valued as a customer, them my money is better spent somewhere else! June 9, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK but could improve some small things Good stay, but marred by the following points that i wouldn't expect from Crowne Plaza: 1) Quality of Shower was not good at all 2) Disappointed that a the bar was so expensive - 6 euros for a coke, really? 3) Had to wait 10 minutes for some scrambled egg in the buffet in the morning. Staff were all friendly, though June 5, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by basic and busy hotel busy hotel, communal areas run down and facilities very disappointing. not a place to go for a relaxing stay. poor value for money. June 2, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Average/fair hotel--overpriced overpriced, average hotel, limited counter staff, interior noisy with construction noises/repair noises going on at 9:15A. would not stay here unless someone else is paying. May 31, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room and bathroom Helpful staff. Clean rooms. Outstanding choice at breakfast. May 30, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Property My fiance and I were celebrating our engagement and we loved the property. Being that we don't speak french this hotel was very accommodating and it's perfectly located. Republique is a hub to most of the subway stations and the property itself is very big! rooms are big, like american hotels and a must stay if your american and love our types of properties. May 29, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unfriendly and uncomfortable Our prime reason for this trip was short city break over long weekend. Location is not ideal as it slightly off from the centre and key interest places. Our room was very small for family stay. Pillows extremely uncomfortable, you wake up in the morning with filling that you slept by sitting rather laying down. It was final of Champions League and quality of dilapidated TV was a massive negative surprise. WiFi is for additional charge and very-very slow. Bathroom very small. Ultimately, very poor value for money. Add to that unfriendly staff on reception and in restaurant. To complete picture, I have to mention tasteless breakfast and badly skilled cooks. Massive disappointment and not the place to recommend for staying during your next visit to Paris. May 29, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No continental breakfast in weekend (saturday/sunday) Unfortunately! We prefer this hotel already for many years. (Holiday Inn - Crowne Plaza). Only during the long lasting renovations of the place in front of the hotel we stayed in other hotels in Paris. We are glad that we could stay again in this hotel after two years. Problem was that the hotel did not serve a continental breakfast on saturday/sunday. We do not like a breakfastbuffet because it is to much food for the morning and expensive, so we used breakfast outside the hotel (on the renovated place). We like the really Parisian area with a good metro nearby this hotel. May 28, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location My first time in Paris, excellent location to see all the great things. Lots of shops and little snack bars in the area to have a quick bite. Rooms well equipped. When in Paris - this is the place to stay! May 28, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful, Wonderful visit, great hotel and fantastic service. Joined two good friends from Texas on their first trip to Paris. I picked this hotel and we were not disappointed at all, in any way. The room was large and clean. The staff top class and friendly, nothing was too much trouble, they helped us in every way. The area was fun and real!!, not full of fake tourist traps. Central for everything we wanted to see and do. And at no time did we feel unsafe walking around the streets stopping off for food, drinks and shopping. We would return again. The only problem we had was getting a taxi from the Eurostar station and being driven around Paris for 30 minutes, when the hotel is just a few minutes from the Station. Do be aware. However that is the only negative, and nothing to do with the hotel. May 26, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by The hotel is very bad Mutfa reception is bad and friendly employee named Lilly was at the top of chutzpah in dealing Director Aida night is very impressive, The holder bags Abu Bakr and approachable person and Nabil The hotel is very bad May 14, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by The lighting improvement proposal of a breakfast place We were allowed to spend 3 nights in May. I think a hotel with the security very good for it going anywhere which can shoot location, feel easy and stay, and the ability which can prosper more synthetically. I think that it is wasteful because the fundamental thing has been performed exactly. In improvement in customer satisfaction, I think that improvement in reliability should eventually be considered. For example, I thought that the dark lighting of a breakfast place, the coffee taste, double-entry doors, etc. were resisting improvement in reliability. When it goes to Paris next time, it expects to be improved [ that it is various and ] and to be. May 12, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel in prime location We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Crowne Plaza Rèpublique. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was large (enough to walk around with suitcases and the bed), view was beautiful and the hotel is in a prime location (especially if you use the metro). We definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to being back. May 11, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The service in the Restaurant by breakfast was very bad. So I have to wait at 09.00 a clock 15 minutes to entree into the breakfast-room!! Every morning ca. 09.00 a.m.: The breakfast wasn't so good. The selection was to small. For example: The toast and the rolls were out, so I have order an new one... The during was long ... the tables were unclean and so on. The service was very slowly and not friendly. For 25,00 Euros I can get an better breakfast outside the hotel!!! With an good service at an clean table.... May 11, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by In need of a refurbish and possible rethink I was quite surprised by the condition of the hotel. I have stayed at a number of Crowne Plaza's and in general, they have been in excellent condition. IHG needs to do a complete rethink on their Paris strategy as it may be cheaper to just move into a new and better location than to refurb what is clearly an older building. Below is a comprehensive list of issues I observed. Location: Other have noticed as well that Place De Republique is not really the best of neighborhood any longer. It's fairly central, but for Paris, it's not the nicest area to be in. There are lots of beggars about. Loads of teens hanging out at night making noise. Demonstrators during the day. And a poor selection of quality restaurants in the immediate area. It is however close to transport links so some may find that useful. If the hotel is catering to low-end travels, then it's a good location. But there are better business and upmarket tourist areas to stage a hotel in. Personally, I would investigate taking over the empty La Samaritaine building on Pont Neuf. What a coup that would be! General decor: The decor of the hallways and rooms are all very tired and dated. The hallways all have lots of scratches and peeling wall paper. Plus the style is no longer in keeping with the hotel's brand experience and image. Same goes for the rooms. The rooms also all still have the building's original windows and weren't sound proofed at all. Luckily I slept in a courtyard room so this wasn't an issue, but seriously, it's 2014, and double-glazed sound insulated rooms are really the norm now, so keep up here. You could also hear the neighbor in the connecting room and as everybody's door slams close whenever they enter or exit. All rooms need a major updating to get back on brand and just to keep pace with the market. In room entertainment and kit: The rooms had all the basics you expect, but to be honest, offering a single swivel TV is already becoming out of date as others are introducing tablet and phone integrated services into the rooms. Not sure who is in charge overall of your hotel's digital solutions, but time to put them to work I think or hire a new person pronto! Fitness room: This really was a joke. It had a few pieces of equipment plus a multi-functional weight-machine that was clearly designed never to be used, plus it was broken anyway. The room was squeezed into an empty suite, (or felt that way). So wasn't properly designed at all. Plus air quality was very poor. Fitness needs a major rethink. I personally suggest abandoning the Club room as nobody really uses it and other brand hotels don't offer it, and refurb that into a new fully equipped fitness suit. Lobby: Here sticking to the building's original design is a negative point. The lobby gives a very poor feeling, this is because you are stuck with elevators in the middle of the space which prevents you from creating a more open, modern experience or even show off the grand stair case, which seems out of place tucked next to the elevators. Can't imagine the current design is very good for traffic flow either on busy days when people are all gathering about with their luggage exactly where you don't want them to be (blocking paths and views to reception.) On the plus side, breakfast was well-done and well-managed. Though again the space is working against you and your staff and the environment is not in line with CP brand experience. Staff overall were very professional. More advanced training on handling members is important however as we were not "welcomed back to the CP experience as it were" or treated any differently. Doesn't cost anything to change the way you address loyal customers. May 10, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly Recommended We stayed with our twin children for 4 days in April, 2014. The hotel's location is excellent. The Metro stop is right outside and you can get to anywhere in Paris within minutes. There are several options for food including two supermarkets within a block or two from the hotel. The hotel is clean and the staff is very helpful. We will stay at this hotel again. May 6, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel. Not the right section of town Hotel was decent. Staff was extremely courteous and friendly. First two nights were in a club room. Room was a bit cramped for the amount of suitcases we had. Access to the club lounge was a bonus. Next two nights were in a non-club room. Though not as pricey the room seemed bigger. Both rooms were warm, without sufficient ability to adjust the thermostat to a desired temperature. Location left a lot to be desired. Had a homeless family living right outside the door and a couple of others around the corner. Train station is an easy walk, but subway was much dirtier than expected. Would take cabs or rent a car next time. May 4, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by elite members I can only assume Elite members who complain do so because they do not get the upgrades for free some advice do what the rest off us do book the room type you wish to have and you will not be disappointed. We booked a suite with an adjoining room the rooms where private and the lounge area provide a great place to relax together they where quite and private. No we where not on some private floor just the second one. We did encounter some problem with ants but they where dealt with. My only complaint about the accommodation is on behalf of family's traveling with younger members in my case teenagers the adjoining room should be available as a twin then it would have received an outstanding form me April 24, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne Plaza Republique...improvements needed Nice location, staff is friendly and helpful but if i may suggest, pls have your executive lounge serve better food and drinks all day just like in other hotels...hotels in Asia/ China is miles apart in knowing how to take care of their clients.....2) i am grateful to have been upgraded to a junior suite BUT why does your hotel use disposable plastic cups in the bathroom in a junior suite and even in the presidential suite?? It is so definitely unpresidential! pLASTIC DISPOSABLE CUPS?. Cheap....Those are what one brings to picnics...disposable, cheap....perhaps for a hotel like crowne plaza, you can choose a better glasses for the bathroom. 3) furnishings are also so dated....try checking out your crowne plaza hotels in Asia/ China. They are more upscale/ upgraded.....4) the lock in the junior suite was broken when i got to the room. I reported it and it got fixed the following date. If the room is not ready for occuoancy, then it shld not be offered to a paying guest! Security is always a concern when selecting a hitel to stay in. Of course the doorknob lock worked, but obviously that doorknob was not enough to secure the room since the hotel still installed another one which was broken. Clients shouldnt see this. Housekeeping shld have reported it immediately and the facilities mgr shld have had it fixed begire a client checks in. 5) while staff are generally helpful and courteous, one of the ladies in the reception that i requested to assist me in printing out my boarding pass, tried her best but could not get it done. She said she would ask her colleague to come and help me. She left me at the computer room waiting and waiting and waiting....she forgot about me! Perhaps something else caught her attention, but i was left waiting for like 30-40 mins! That was a waste of time and terribly annoying! Iit may have been an hinest mistake, but what was doubly annoying was when i finalky stood uo to go to the reception to ask her about the colleague she said she wld send to me, she had a blank look. Obviously she forgot about what she had told me. BUT she did nit bother to apologize. Thats a vapital sin for custimer service, One shld just quickly apologize and get that over and done with and then quickly iffer how to salvage the situation and offer help. But it did not happen. Perhaps they can be taught not to be too proud and haughty to be beyond apologizing....after all they shld service the customer....a oaying customer. The bellhops were all courteous and helpful. 6) the girl inside the restaurant where breakfast is served can also be taught better manners and customer service. She oractically banished me from the resto saying i shld just go to the execurtive lounge. Its how the message is said. But i still all i like the hotel esp. Bec. Of its location and the restaurants that surround it, Thank you. April 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service, great stay! My family and I spent a great stay in this hotel. We found a very proactive and gentle staff. The location is magnific! April 23, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by A Very tired 4 **** Hotel in a great location We booked a family room with two double beds When we checked in at 14:30 we got a lovely greeting from the receptionist, she told us that we were being upgraded and we were getting additional benefits as we were members of the IHG rewards club However when we entered our supposedly upgraded room it was a smaller room with only one double bed When we reported this to reception and having endured an hour long process, we were then given the room type that we booked but we were told that the additional upgrade benefits were being withdrawn. The room we stayed in for the duration of our stay was very tired looking in need of some maintenance. There was mould on the tiles of the Bath/shower. The bedroom wall is stained. There was a used medical plaster under the bed from the previous occupant. Despite being originally told that we had a check out of 14:00 hours, our television was preset set to alarm at 06:45 and repeated every half hour. On the positive side the location is excellent. April 22, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by perfect location, very noisy at night perfect location but the hotel is old and needs embellishment. a lot of noise from the clochards in the street April 21, 2014
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>