Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 178 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location & Staff The Porto Intercontinental is ideally located in the centre of the old town close to the tour bus stops and main railway station and within an easy walking distance to the attractive Ribeiro river side area. The latter is the best spot in Porto for tourist goods, bars, cafes and small restaurants and is the departure point for boat trips down the River Douro. The service provided by all the hotel staff during our stay was outstanding but the in-house restaurant was expensive for both breakfast and dinner and the menu in the evenings was quite limited in choice, especially if you were resident for several days. It is also disappointing that this 5 star hotel has no swimming pool or shop. Having said all this, our overall stay was comfortable and enjoyable. 20 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Better than perfect We stayed at the intercontinental porto placio das cardosas in September 2013, and had an unforgettable experience. Everything was perfect. Better than perfect. The hotel is beautiful on its own, placed in the most central location in Porto. The room was great. However, the big plus was the service: everyone was truly eager to help us - from booking restaurants and pointing the attractions in Porto to helping us plan our road trip after we had left Porto. We were told by several different staff members - if you're on the road and you see you get lost or need some assistance - just give us a call. To us, this hotel did not feel like a hotel. It felt like staying at your rich uncle's house. Sure - the place is beautiful, but way better than that - he cares. Bottom line: WE WILL COME BACK. 13 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel, great location We stayed here for 3 nights in September 2013 - the hotel looked beautiful (inside and out) on the pictures and we weren't disappointed in real life. We were really fortunate too, they upgraded us to a duplex suite which was a real privilege. The hotel is in a perfect central location. It has a lovely atmosphere, good staff, lovely bar/lounge, decently equipped 24hr gym, plus a spa (which sadly we didn't have time to try). The only criticism was breakfast. It wasn't included in the price and 25 Euros felt a bit expensive for something which was perfectly nice, but not amazing. Would definitely recommend the hotel and we really enjoyed our stay. 11 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Spent 4 days at the hotel during my first visit to Porto. Room was quiet and comfortable. All the staff were very friendly and knowledgable especially the concierge, with recommendations of restaurants, trips and where to buy port. Free Wifi worked throughout hotel. Minor issue with missing delivery of bottles of port but the hotel resolved efficiently. Great location within easy walk of river and cultural sights. Plenty of cafes nearby if you don't want a full breakfast in hotel. 11 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice!!! Beautiful lobby, friendly/helpful staff, wonderful breakfast buffet-- Sheets, towels,mattress and pillows very nice!!! Bathrooms were large and beautiful--separate shower and great soaking tub--all marble. Fabulous location-- I usually don't take the time to review-but we really enjoyed our stay! 10 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel with friendly staff Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Porto. Our experience was amazing. Beautiful rooms with the friendliest staff. Location is close to the river and on main thoroughfare. Delicious breakfast served. 09 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Hotel in Oporto Stayed one night in Oporto on my way to Galicia. Enjoyed the hotel very much. I am a platinum member and was treated as such from the beginning. Friendly staff and beautiful premises. They upgraded us to a suite with a very high level of comfort. The concierge was great and gave us very good tips for our walking tour of the city. Enjoyed Oporto very much and the Hotel was a big part of that experience 06 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Hotel I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Booking was very straighforward via the website. Check in was very efficient and the receptionist most helfpul. We had some minor issues with external noise the first night which was efficiently resolved. Concierge was very helpful and able to recommend some good local restaurants for us. Would definitely stay again. 04 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by professionalism As the daughter of an hotelier, I appreciate professional details. The fact that someone thought of velvet padded hangers for ladies knit dresses shows me that someone is thinking of the comfort and satisfaction of the guest. The staff was unfailingly competent and polite, particularly the concierge and his assistants. 02 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great 3 nights That this is the best hotel in Porto would come as no surprise based on its architecture and location, but the efforts of the staff to welcome you, the care and attention to detail of the concierges, the quality of the food offered in its restaurant (both at breakfast and dinner) and the overall ‘look and feel’ of the place all contributed to a great break in a lovely city (despite sudden and unseasonal adverse weather when an Atlantic storm swept in). Our room was extremely well appointed, and the maid service was exemplary. 02 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Location and View When we arrived in our room I could not believe the amazing view out onto the square! The room was very spacious and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The television system was very easy to use so we actually watched movies during our stay. The only negative things: the staff at breakfast often seemed stressed out and behind, and parking was really expensive at more than 20 euro a day! 26 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by perfect location within walking distance to everything we wanted to see. 24 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very good place in Porto nicely located and wth excellent concierge service. 08 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I loved my stay at this hotel Everything was excellent, room, lobby, food, location and especially staff. Thanks. 07 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel This is a wonderful hotel and will return to stay again. Absolutely no complaints 04 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous Hotel Can't say enough about our stay at this property. The hotel was beautiful and clean and comfortable and conveniently located. Most importantly, the staff bent over backwards to make us feel welcome and special. Everyone from the concierges, to the front desk staff, to the manager in the restaurant, everyone went out of their way to accomodate us. Would go back to this property in a minute! 01 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service All was perfect, the bedroom, the bathroom, the breakfast... 13 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Airco temp policy I realy do not understand why the hotel has the policy to have a minimum temperature of 20 degrees set on the airco system, whereas temperatures outside can exceed 35 degrees. To create a cool room I would expect at least the possibility to choose for 18 degrees in the room. This in combination of not opening the outside window because of the noise on the square resulted in 2 bad sleeping nights for me and my family. The one free breakfast offered was nice, however not in relation of the difficulties we experienced. 12 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by too much noise I stayed one weekend last july. Every day at 8.00 beginning to sound a trumpet in the Liberdade Square, and sleep was impossible. 05 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good value staff couldn't have been more helpful, especially concierge. (My wife thought the young men were gorgeous!) Our suite was most comfortable and the air conditioning worked very adequately. Two meals in the restaurant, very agreeable. High season tariff very reasonable. Really good value. 03 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Everything was more than expected ... As some others are used to say ... " what else ..." 31 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent staff the hotel is clean and confortable. Staff is always ready to help the guests. 31 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An absolutely outstanding hotel ! We have had the good fortune to have stayed in many luxury hotels but this was our first stay with the Intercontinental Hotel chain and we were delighted with our choice. Everything about the hotel was wonderful, truly first class - the comfort, food, amenities, location and more importantly the level of customer care service delivered by the staff at the Palacio Das Cardosas was the best we have had in years of travelling. Without exception, every single member of staff we came into contact with was friendly, helpful and genuinely charming (we love the Portuguese people!). The Concierge team were always on hand with advice if we needed them and always greeted us with a grin whenever we came and went. We had a superb time in Porto and there is no doubt that the hotel made our visit special. It is a calm, comfortable, superb place to stay and we would not hesitate to return if at any time we revisit Porto. (Forgot to mention the many and delightful treats left in our room on a virtually daily basis...fruit, chocolates, tiny pastries - Port! Not sure it gets better than that...) 28 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by It could have been better Great place. Top accommodation While we appreciated the room upgrade, we were very disappointed to pay +5€ for tiny bottles of water, and 2.5€ for each NEsspresso capsule, which we were under the impression that they were complimentary. You cannot run a 5star hotel with a "low cost" mentality 27 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nearly Perfect Our 3 night stay was pleasant and very enjoyable. Service was excellent, the room was spacious and the hotel is well-maintained. If the room temperature could have been set to our preference it would have been perfect. The lowest possible setting on the digital thermostat was 20c. For sleeping we like the room on the cool side. We were too warm and that interfered with our sleeping. Overall I would recommend this property. 21 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent accommodation. We were impressed with the surroundings within the hotel. Staff were most helpful, polite and eager to please. We were made very welcome. Very good breakfast and lunch. Look forward to our next visit. Will not hesitate to recommend this hotel as a must stay when visiting Oporto. 17 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic stay in beautiful Porto! I booked a week long stay in Porto. Upon arrival our bags were taken swiftly and we went to check in. Our room wasn't yet ready, but we were before the advised check in time, however this was quickly remidied; +1 point straight away! We had been given an updgrade to a room overlooking the square at the front of the hotel, which was fantastic. The room itself was great: spacious, beautifully decorated, great bathroom and amenities. The only fly in the ointment with the room was the aircon wasn't particularly strong, then on day 5 we came back from a day out to find it leaking over the floor. A call to reception quickly resolved the problem, but not an hour after the maintenance chap had been, it started leaking again. We advised reception on our way out to dinner and by the time we came back it was fixed and never leaked again. There was a noticeable difference in the performance of the aircon from that moment on, however. All of my dealings with members of staff were very positive with Rogerio on concierge being particularly helpful in giving directions and making recommendations, one event sticks in my mind though: having returned to our room after a days sightseeing my girlfriend wanted a cup of tea, however there was no milk with the tea making facilities (the little pots had been used by us, but not replaced). At that point we had a knock on the door from housekeeping offering us a turndown service. I asked if the lady had some milk, which she did not. Not 10 mins later there was another knock at the door and a gentleman from the restaurant presented me with a jug of fresh milk. We hadn't asked for it or ordered it, it arrived purely on the initiative of the housekeeper....which I thought was absolutely fantastic! The negatives are that the wireless signal in our room wasn't very good and it would be nice if the hotel had an open air pool...but I guess that is probably a bit tricky given its location. The poor wireless would be a concern if I was staying in Porto for business, but for a holiday it wasn't a problem. Overall, I thought this hotel was great and everything one would thoroughly recommend it and would be more than prepared to stay again. 15 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Hotel but a bit too basic for an Intercontinental The Hotel itself was lovely, very clean and well presented throughout. We were greeted and treated very well by the Concierge's and Reception staff alike. On check-in I was delighted to be upgraded to a Duplex Suite but very disappointed with the view as there pretty much wasn't one - upstairs afforded a partial view towards the Douro but was basically just house roofs and downstairs had a 2 foot wide balcony before hitting an 8 foot high wall, which meant absolutely no view of the Square below. Tip for the Hotel re room 410 - offer guests the opportunity to see the room first and perhaps give them the chance to take a 'lesser' room with a view. Many of us frequent stayers don't just value a room upgrade and in this case I would have jumped at the chance to take an Executive Room with a good view, perhaps with my 'guaranteed upgrade' being complimentary breakfast????? Last but not least is the fact the Hotel does not have a Club/Executive Lounge, a pool or an area to just chill and sunbathe. In a nutshell this is a fantastic Hotel, with fantastic staff but the facilities and amenities fall short of what I would expect for a city centre Intercontinental in a hot European country 12 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb Amazing hotel, excellent location, only topped by the staff which were all very friendly, helpful and professional. Could have had a better stay 06 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Romantic escape The idilic perfect location with idilic views from the top floor suites. This is SO our home... 30 June 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>

InterContinental Porto - Palacio Das Cardosas

  • Praça Da Liberdade, 25
  • Porto , 4000-322
  • Portugal
  • Front Desk +351-22-0035600

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish, French, Portuguese

Pet Policy

Subject to Hotel's approval. Please contact our reception for further details 00351 22 00 35 600.
Pet Deposit €50.00 per stay
  • Local Time

    3:21 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available
    • Evening Reception Desk Open

    Currency

    • Euro € (EUR)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 2 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking