Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

De La Ville Roma

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 176 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Wifi and Amenities The location of this hotel is great. The service from the check in and doorman was very good. The concierge is excellent and took the time to help book excursions and suggested a restaurant that ended up being my favorite restaurant of the trip. I understand that this is a historic city and older building so you can't expect the same level of rooms and amenities as a more modern hotel offers but they can use a renovation to bring the rooms more up to date. The real problem is the wifi service they offer. Now I wish I did not need to access wifi while on vacation but unfortunately I still need to stay "connected" while away with my office. Since in Rome there are very few hotspots because most require a Italian cell phone to access the hotspot I was dependent on the hotel wifi. After trying to upload a small document to my corporate server for a day and failing because the internet speed is on par if not worse than dial up from the early 90s I had to buy an Italian sim card for my ipad to upload a document. 10 April 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Pricey i.r.t. overall experience The De La Ville Roma offers lots of old-world atmosphere in the spectacular setting of a quarter of Rome on one of its hills from where you have a beautiful view over the city and the further away Vatican. From the hotel, only the upper two floors will offer you that view though and those, of course, are the most expensive ones. We had reserved a more upper package/room with a terrace and King-size bed on the 7th, but at check-in decided to accept a lesser room on the 6th with balcony but with twin beds which we preferred (no twin option available on the 7th). The view from the balcony of that room over the city was certainly special, but it would probably have been quite a bit better from the 7th even. Whilst I cannot compare with the room I thought we had reserved originally (didn't check that out), I felt the room we got was less than I expected for the price we (pre)paid. On the second floor, the hotel offers a patio terrace, which is nice but offers no city views, obviously. We did not use the restaurant facilities other than for breakfast - the latter can be rated good, but not spectacular - the decor however is). Other than the convenience of the location of the hotel and the atmosphere supported by the decor as well as the 5-star feeling (which you do get), I don't see any particular reason why I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel based on our experience. Some of the things I would consider, are: - fairly small bedroom - bathroom OK with marble and everything, but you have to shower in the bathtub with a shower curtain, which may have been acceptable 20 years ago but so-so for a 5-star hotel in the year 2014, even in an older building/hotel in a city like Rome; - at night, the room was too warm to our liking even while we slept with the balcony doors fully opened; the airco was not operational at the time of our visit (early April) - we did get a fan the next day when complaining about the airco, but that gives you a lot of noise and wind as well; - other than the airport pick-up (the 'limousine service' comprised a C-class Merc) and breakfast included in our package nothing else was included: no courtesy bottle of water, no WiFi internet (not cheap, which upon purchase wasn't very fast either) and that kind of thing always irritates me - those little things should be standard and if it's not it doesn't make you feel welcome or well-treated whereas you paid quite a sum already; - did not get any special recognition or treatment despite holding an IHG Ambassador Gold status. On the positive side, really good beds as one should expect, a clean and quiet hotel, slightly posh I would say. Top-location in Rome. Top concierge (without asking my name he knew who we were and without having been asked he had made a reservation for us at the restaurant he had recommended). Overall, not a bad hotel and not a bad experience: old-world luxury and perhaps romantic if you're looking for that, but not the greatest of experiences either and overpriced for what we got by my standards. And I do realise this is a top-location in the city of Rome (of all cities...). 10 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lost in Rome - in a good way My stay at the InterContinental de la ville Roma was the perfect way to get lost in Rome for a few days. Lost as in feeling like you have stepped out of your life and into the Roman lifestyle. The location could not have been better. Shopping, restaurants, and all the key Rome attractions are within walking distance. Step out the door and step onto the Spanish Steps. Take the elevator up to the Terrace for one of the the most beautiful views of the Rome skyline!!! The rooms are luxurious and spotless!!The staff is courteous and attentive to your every need. I could not have been more pleased. I will rave about this experience for some time to come. Thank you!! InterContinental de la ville Roma. 04 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Great place nice atmosphere nice location but the price little high and the room too small but other is good and the room service also it was little expensive 31 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful room, stunning view, great location Many thanks to everyone at the hotel for making our stay very special. The hotel is in a great location. Easy walking distance to all the tourist areas. We had a wonderful room with a stunning view. Service was excellent. Very knowledgable and helpful people. 27 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice but not luxerious Nice hotel near to many historical locations ... the view from the rooms wasn't good and the rooms of the hotel are very small ... it isn't luxurious as other Intercontinental hotels. 20 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sublime Hotel Everything about this hotel is perfect… perfecto…. 13 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location Location Location Well who needs free internet or a continental breakfast? When you leave your hotel the entire city of Rome is literally footsteps away. We thought our hotel was perfect for our two nights stayin Rome. We were able to get to the metro or take a bus everywhere we needed to go as the stops were a stones throw away. The concierge even suggested a taxi at times but if you are able to walk dont bother to cab it as you will certainly miss "La Passeggiata"!!! Walking home every night was amazing. See the city and feel safe and content with the LOCATION! 21 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Charming older hotel The staff was lovely, caring and professional. They made returning guests feel like they were returning home to family. The location is outstanding. If the rates warrant it, I would always choose to stay there when in Rome! 21 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Faded elegance, but still performing fine Nice room, and free wifi, thanks to Ambassador upgrade, in this time warp of an ancient hotel in a top location. No Club lounge or other amenities though, and we did not eat in. 15 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Hotel Excellent location at the top of the Spanish Steps. Outstanding room accommodation and hotel facilities/services. Wonderful room - Very clean, spacious, comfortable. Fantastic management team, very efficient concierge and friendly employees. Will definitely recommend to friends/family. 26 January 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Undeserving of the Intercontinental Name My first impression of this Intercontinental was pretty good. Check-in was prompt, courteous, and efficient. I entered my cozy little room and immediately noticed that the trim and decor were a bit dated. "But this is what gives Rome its character," I told myself. I was wrong. The hotel is long overdue for a makeover. Within an hour I noticed that the carpets were stained, the chair was stained, and there were calcium deposits on the showerheads that impeded water flow. I lost sleep on both nights because of the uneven springs on my bed and the malfunctioning AC. There is a review of this hotel several posts below about how unconscionably expensive the breakfast is. The same is true for their internet. I received free internet as a Platinum, but for those of you who do not have status with IHG, you will pay 23 euros here for a 24 hour period. Now the website and brochures tell you that you will get high-speed internet at this hotel but that is very misleading. Download speeds are less than 90 kb/s. That is painfully slow. Let me illustrate just how slow that is: my home internet in 1996 was still five times faster than the hotel's. Here's another: there are rural villages in North Korea with internet speeds 2500 times faster than the internet at this hotel. This highlights how I feel about this property across the board. They overcharge for services and fall far short of what's expected. Everything I saw and experienced at this hotel screamed "budget-conscious," while all the prices try to imply luxury and quality. Stay somewhere else. 01 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb view over Rome and lovely terrace Executive junior suite with terrace on the 7th floor is around 38 sqm. Large terrace with great view over Rome. Comfortable bed. Sitting area. Desk in separated area. Very quiet Classic design. Renovated marble bathroom with bathtub. Agraria amenities Flat screen television with good selection of international channels Espresso maker, kettle. Mini chain/radio. Good: - Very friendly service. - Superb location just up the Spanish steps. - View from the terrace is really breathtaking. - Sunny weather. Bad: - Breakfast is pretty good but could have been more imaginative. 16 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AMAZING What a great hotel in a perfect location! The atomosphere was beyond measure. The staff were all very friendly and knowledgable about all the points of interest in and around Rome. 13 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Quite disappoint with this Intercontinental. I did stay with Intercontinental hotels many times in different places. I've given nice and good experience by. It is my worst experience with this Intercontinental hotel. I have booked a DELUXE DOUBLE room via Internet. When I reached the room and I was surprised! I've ever thought that room and beds I got is quit small. How deluxe it is! See the photos attached.Further worse was that: 1. the toilet brush was found in the bathroom washbasins! 2. a basket of maid using tools just put on the way of the room behind the room door. 3. the room was not ready for checking-in! The facilities in the bathroom are old but did not maintain well. The flush button on the toilet is so hard to press for flushing. It is nice as the sun shines in the room warming the room up while the room heater in the air-conditioner did not work effectively. It made me cold in the midnight when I got up to the toilet. We booked 2 sets of breakfast room service it the last morning. It amazed me of that charges over 50 Euros for 1 cup of espresso, 1 glass of juice, 4 pieces of bun and 3 pieces of rusk biscuit! 08 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful time @ Hotel dela Ville We spent a week at the hotel. Location is obviously central and great but at the same time calm. Our room ( a junior suit + balcony) was spacious & very comfortable. The staff that we've met at the reception desk , restaurant (morming breakfast) , concierge department , night room-service and the duty manager were all very helpful and service was excellent !! We'll certainly recommend the hotel to our friends and business associates and hope to visit again soon. 05 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Views of the Vatican City I stayed at this property 2 days while I was in Rome. Check-in was ok and was upgraded to a Suite with a huge balcony. The room was very spacious with antique furniture but the balcony was big enough for a dinner party. The second day I was moved to a Suite over looking the city so the view was spectacular. The hotel is situated right next to the spanish steps so its very convenient to all the tourist attractions in Rome. 29 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and wonderful view of Rome Great location with good service. The concierge knowledge and help by far the best service in the hotel!! 21 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location, Location, Location You get everything you'd expect from Intercontinental, so in that regard, there are no surprises. Location, location, location............ can't be beat. Walking distance to so much. 20 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Location I had a fabulous stay at this hotel for a long weekend trip. The hotel is located literally 30 seconds from the Spanish Steps - so it was great to be so close to shopping & cafes. I was a single traveler and I felt safe at the location. The rooms are comfortable and my room was overlooking the courtyard so I had great silence to rest. I highly recommend this hotel. 15 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location noisy room 233 As previous reviews have written the hotel location is perfect, the hotel itself is beautiful with its meandering corridors and staircases and courtyard. The breakfast was excellent, the buffet had many choices to satisfy all palates, I did not use the hotel restaurant or bar. The room was big with high ceilings, comfortable and well decorated, and all the amenities of a modern hotel were present. However, the constant slamming of squeaking doors by the staff throughout the day and night was very annoying and was a great disturbance. I also appreciate that a hotel, like any other business must make a profit, but the wifi at 23 euro per day or 12 euro an hour? A small bottle of water at 9 euro? This surely is nothing short of scandalous. 13 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breathtaking views over the city of Rome! We had a great experience at this hotel, positioned right at the top of the Spanish steps. The views from our city view balcony were truly breathtaking. The service was excellent including the expert concierge who was most knowledgeable and helpful. This is great location if you want to explore the city of Rome on foot, like we did. The room was clean and comfortable with a large bath for soaking after hours of walking to see the fantastic sights of Rome. 12 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Experience I found the overall experience to be average. Unfortunately I was hoping for above average. Our hotel arrival time was 2:30 and we hadn't eaten lunch. At our bellhops recommendation we decided to eat in the lobby bar. As we sat waiting for over 20 minutes to be acknowledged we were forced to leave and find a different lunch location off property. One positive is the fantastic location. At the top of the Spanish Steps and minutes to great shopping and attractions. 06 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by First time This was our first trip to Rome and as a Royal Ambassador opted for this Intercontinental property. Did like the hotel except that it doesn't have a Club Lounge. We were upgraded to a room with a balcony which was really good. The rooms are smaller in size compared to other Intercontinental properties as this is built on a ancient property. The location of the hotel is very good. Overall we were satisfied with the hotel. Probably with the availability of a Club Lounge would have enhanced it further. 25 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good location of hotel The staff was very nice, helpful and knew their product. We did not like our location of our room and we should have been offered an upgrade since the hotel was not full. We are IHG members. Since leaving for the airport at 4am,We were to get a box breakfast, it came with our room, but is would have cost us a €12 tray fee so we declined. So, the staff was good,room location terrible,and we didn't get what we paid for I can't recommend this hotel for the value. 22 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HOTEL WITH CHARACTER A wonderful location with exceptionally professional, helpful and friendly staff. My 3 day stay although for work and not vacation was soon converted into an extremely pleasurable experience. The internal terrace areas are perfect for lunches and afternoon tea, while the roof top bar has a wonderful view and a lovely way to end the day. 18 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unforgettable stay. This is a property that will take the extra miles to satisfy customers,nothing is too much,from the driver picking me at the airport to the check inn lady who insisted on escorting me to the nice upgraded penthouse suite,i cant find more cheering and helpful staff. the location is unbeatable and for some saying the hotel is outdated i will respond this is a historic building and part of its charm is the oldich feeling. my rate was including breakfast and i realised at check out i was charged for the omelette i ordered which they considered as extra,the manager waved the charge without any discussion as far as i was satisfied,and i was more than satisfied. i will certainly return to this property and recommend it,my last IC stay was a total dissapointment (IC Dusseldorf) and this property restored my faith to continue being loyal to IHG. 14 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good staff and location but old cramped rooms. The staff at check in were efficient and the concierge was good. But the rooms are small and cramped and need refurbishment. The hotel location is a highlight coming at the top of Spanish Steps. We had an extremely noisy neighbor that returned to the room at about 1am then proceeded to play load music and argue. We reported to the front desk who dealt with the issue. Not the hotels fault I know but it somewhat marred our stay. 10 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful location & comfortable accommodations The location at the top of the Spanish Steps was ideal. Bed linens and the robes & slippers were very nice. The only issue we had was the refusal of complimentary breakfast just because I used points to book the room. Not acceptable for a platinum member. 05 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Booking bungle from a reputable cruise line Owing to a reputable cruise line's brand new ship breakdown in Naples, the whole ship 's guest were sent home, but the arrangement was chaotic! Initially I had to cancel my party's booking with Intercontinental in Roma. Later we figured a way out so as to stay on with our trip instead of cancelling everything. Yet we had no accommodation in Roma for the extra 2 days, which I had had cancelled. Yet when I contacted them, not a problem and the management was so kind to help us to sort out a few wrinkles so as the last part of the trip became very enjoyable rather than flying home disappointedly. My salute to the management, esp to Nicosia, Mr. Oddis. Definitely this Hotel is my home base in Roma. 04 October 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
De La Ville Roma
  • Via Sistina 69
  • Rome , 00187
  • Italy
  • Front Desk +39-06-67331

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Croatian, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Slovene

Pet Policy

Pet not allowed only in public areas and restaurants
  • Local Time

    4:22 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      2:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available
    • Evening Reception Desk Open

    Currency

    • Euro € (EUR)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed