Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 617 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, some facilites need improvement Hi Team, The staff (as always) are courteous, pleasant and professional... Thank you to all. The Elevators sure do need a motor and/or logic upgrade. Several times I spent more than 5 minutes waiting for a lift. Perhaps change the sign on the stairs to let us know we can use them... very frustrating. The showers are still very poor, I am convinced I am wasting more water (not to mention time) than if there was sufficient water pressure. The bed covering was a little too warm, I had the thermostat set to 61 Degrees Fahrenheit and still had trouble sleeping... $$$ on electricity? (and yes I tried sleeping with just the sheet too (too cold, even when thermostat set higher) I hope you find this feedback useful. Kind Regards, Paddy 27 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top on Nob Hill I booked the Mark Hopkins, after I had stayed there on a business trip 2 years ago. And again it has been a great experience. We originally planned to stay two nights, and we ended up extending our stay until our plane wss due 2 days later. The staff is very competent, helpful and friendly. The maid left a nice note of gratitude for the tip, and with one of the porters I had an interesting conversation about philosophy in America and Europe. David (?) at the reception desk patiently helped me figure out the best bargain for the extra nights we wanted to book. We enjoyed the benefits of a package including the (extraordinarily generous) breakfast, the valet parking, and a MUNI day pass incl the cable car, which conviently stops right in front of the hotel. Although we sometimes felt tempted to not even leave the room (on the 14th floor), with a great view (towards the Golden Gate Bridge). I am traveling a lot, and usually stay in 4 or 5 * hotels, thus, I know, what to expect. The Mark Hopkins really exceeded my expectations. Flawless. An awesome experience, and a memorable way to end our 3-week holiday in California. An extra plus is, by the way, that the windows in the guest rooms open, and that the WiFi is free of charge for IHG Reward Members. 25 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and wonderful hotel From the moment we entered the lobby at the hotel we were made to feel extremely welcome. For those arriving at Powell Street I can highly recommend buying a three / seven day travel card from the Walgreen Store as this will give you instant access onto the Cable Car that takes you to within one stop of the hotel. Trust me, the maps don't do the hills justice! The room and view were amazing. We stayed three nights and slept extremely well on all three. We switched the AC off and let the sounds of the city drift into the room. Hearing the bells of the cable cars at around 6am was fantastic. SF is a quiet city, with very few sirens and noise. Each morning we were greeted at breakfast like old friends. Wonderful service with food to match. Thank you all so much for being part of a memorable holiday! 25 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My 40th Stay at the Mark Hopkins I was extremely pleased with my one bedroom suite on a high floor with a spectacular view of the SF Bay, Bay Bridge, Berkeley (including Sather Tower and the Claremont Resort), Financial District, Chinatown, Union Square, the Fairmont's rooftop garden, the Westin St. Francis, and the Intercontinental SF. I enjoyed looking down from Nob Hill on skyscrapers like the Hunter-Dulin Building (111 Sutter Street), 580 California Street with its twelve statues of the Corporate Goddesses, and 505 Montgomery Street. My suite was immaculate, and everything was in perfect working order. There was a beautiful orchid in my room, as well as a dining room table with four chairs and a crystal chandelier (that was not missing any crystals, including the large spherical crystal at the bottom, which is my favorite crystal). The king bed was extremely comfortable; there was a Bose stereo next to the bed and French doors leading to the bedroom. The bedroom also had a flat-screen HDTV. I was a very happy camper, and I got a great night's sleep. The marble bath had a soaking tub with whirlpool jets and a separate shower. The living area had a sofa and two sitting chairs along with a large flat-screen HDTV with a variety of HD channels available. It was a very clear day, and earlier in the day I had been able to see the Farallon Islands and Point Reyes from Sutro Heights Park before visiting the Legion of Honor fine art museum. At the Legion of Honor, I saw the special exhibit, Intimate Impressionism from the National Gallery of Art, as well as the Salon Dore, 17th- and 18th-Century Decorative Arts (French period rooms; masterpieces of French furniture, including a sofa formerly belonging to Marie Antoinette; mounted porcelain; European glass. One of the period rooms featured excellent natural wood and gilded boiseries. The stunning Italian rock crystal chandelier dates to 1730 and was a gift to the museum from Madame Jacques Balsan, nee Consuelo Vanderbilt), and Water Lilies by Claude Monet (Gallery 19). Ana in guest relations was excellent as always. Due to my Ambassador membership, there was a welcome amenity consisting of mineral water, fruit, and local organic chocolates already in my room upon check-in; I also received a complimentary newspaper of my choice in the morning. In the early evening, I could hear the J-pop Live at Union Square concert through an open window in my suite. In the morning, I had the elegant champagne Sunday brunch at the Top of the Mark. I had a great table with a view of Alcatraz, Grace Cathedral, the Palace of Fine Arts, and Russian Hill. My server was the always attentive Jose, the maitre d' was Patty, and the pianist was Mike, who played a couple of Duke Ellington tunes at my request. I enjoyed the oysters on the half shell, caviar station with blinis, stone fruit salad with mint, fig salad, Caesar salad, heirloom tomatoes with mozzarella ciliegine, smoked fish, fresh fruit, salamis, New York steak with mushrooms, ravioli with sun dried tomatoes, Beef Wellington, prime rib au jus, beef ribs, and asparagus. For dessert, I enjoyed the famous Mark Hopkins bread pudding, bear claw, strawberry ice cream served in a martini glass with rum, apricot/plum/jello served in a glass, French pastry cones with raspberries, flan, and creme brûlée. I did not have room for the dim sum, minestrone soup, French toast, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, potatoes, seafood paella, omelette station, assorted gourmet cheeses, or breads. The Mark Hopkins provides outstanding accommodations, dining, and service. To quote the character M. Gustave from the film The Grant Budapest Hotel, "You see, there are still faint glimmers of civilization left in this barbaric slaughterhouse that was once known as humanity." 24 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Adelaide on Reception Hi, We were delighted with the service we received from Adelaide on checking in. The Booking Agent did not confirm our booking of a King Room and a Double room , to accommodate our 3 teenage children. Adelaide arranged for us to have another luxury room which was wonderfully comfortable. 23 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Made Our Anniversary Special! We stayed at the Mark Hopkins during our visit to San Francisco celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The staff was simply awesome, John, Marie Helene, Mary Jane (Top of the Mark) all provided excellent service. The King Executive room was perfect for the stay, awesome views and quiet. I highly recommend staying here if you're visiting the city. 23 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We will return First, I want to thank George, our concierge, who did a tremendous job of finding just the right restaurants for us to help make our trip even more memorable. He went above and beyond the call of duty. We loved the view from our room and the comfort of the bed. The only issues would be two. First, it would be nice if we could have ordered off of the menu for breakfast instead of the buffet, and second, I believe that guests of the hotel should be moved to priority seat at the Top of the Mark. These are minor issues, though, that will not stop us from another visit. 23 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room, impossible to access amenities First, when I got into the hotel, I tried to call the laundry to have a shirt cleaned and pressed. The button for the laundry on the phone seemed to do nothing. I could not contact the concierge. I asked the front desk on my way out that afternoon to have the phone checked out to see if it was okay while I was away. On my first morning in the hotel, I tried to order room service. The phone constantly got a busy signal. I even tried calling the front desk form my cell phone, and I could not get through. Eventually, I went to the restaurant to put in an order to be delivered to my room. Even the host could not get through to room service and had to take my order down by hand. All of the standard amenities that one expects from even the most basic hotel seemed inaccessible during my stay. 22 July 2014
2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    11:32 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs