Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 677 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic stay! We had a great stay at the Mark Hopkins in San Francisco. It's one of the great old hotels in SF. We'll be back. 04 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Magical SF Traditions at the Mark Hopkins! Staying at the Mark Hopkins during the holidays is a magical time for anyone. The lobby with the magnificent tree, the gingerbread house, and seeing the lights of the city from the Top of the Mark is not to be forgotten soon. In fact, it's magical 365 days a year...old world charm! 04 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view, great location, great staff, great treatment We couldn't be more pleased with the staff and treatment during our stay. Would be nice if the AC stayed on while sleeping, but really can't complain. Will be back for a 3rd time next year. 04 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good to Excellent Memorable Experience I reported an Excellent review with one minor negative item. The hotel has not caught up with the competition and does not have free WiFi. They were early with a wired system in every room, and have added WiFi. However from the billing screen I expect this system is provided by a subcontractor but it is time to meet the competition and provide guests with WiFi access included. Overall?- Memorable! 04 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous!!!! Wonderful!!!! Our third visit to San Francisco. Our first at the Mark Hopkins. Price, location, service, room and the awesome breakfast every morning. The staff at the Top of the Mark= outstanding. Like family after five days. The views are spectacular!!! The concierge is the best. Can't wait to return. 03 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Memorable stay at a Landmark Hotel We had a wonderful time at the Mark Hopkins! The concierge came through for me with tickets to the sold out Alcatraz tour. The entire staff was warm and welcoming, greeting us by name as we came and went. I was recognized as an IHG Rewards Club member upon check-in and was upgraded to a room on the 11th floor with fantastic views of the city, and the windows were so clean that you barely noticed the glass. This hotel is conveniently located at the top of Nob Hill, right on the California Street cable car line, across the street from a lovely park and Grace Cathedral. It was so nice to have the windows open in the evening and hear the church bells ringing and the ding-ding of the cable cars. I have always wanted to stay at this hotel, and cannot wait to return. Our stay was perfect in every way. Everything about this stay was top drawer. 03 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Incredible views, and a bed I didnt want to get out of! Thanksgiving dinner with some friends nearby, and the wonderful suite at the Mark Hopkins made for a perfect getaway for me this year. On arrival my little Subaru was whisked away, and parked for the night. My room was not ready, so I was upgraded to a wonderful corner suite. The kingsized featherbed was so comfortable that I almost missed my party. And the pillows were of down, as requested. The room service breakfast was typical hotel fare, but it arrived at the exact time I had asked for. The furniture is old fashioned, but well made, and there was not a sound coming through the wall from my neighbors. It is by far the most comfortable hotel I have stayed in...and I have stayed in quite a few. 02 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Night out to celebrate a birthday! We had a wonderful time. Near the cable cars and close enough to see what we wanted to do. The band was fun at the Top of the Mark...wish it could have gone later than it did. 01 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by wonderfull experience everything perfect... staff room location public area... room service excellent! 29 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything we wanted and more! My girlfriend and I are actually from San Francisco. We wanted a staycation that would feel like an escape. Thank you Mark Hopkins Intercontinental, we couldn't have asked for more! There was a significant wait for check-in but soon after speaking with the receptionist we were offered an upgrade to a two room corner room with a view, and Jacuzzi bath! Wow, what a view of the Transamerica building, bay bridge, and the rest of San Francisco south of the Hopkins. We spent a good while with our faces presse against the window. My girlfriend took 3 baths! The bellhop was friendly and had lots of information about the surrounding area including restaurants and cable car lines. There are multiple top San Francisco restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. That night we ventured up to the Top Of The Mark to catch the sunset. It was busy and the wait time suggested we would miss sunset but the staff found space at the bar for us which made for a memorable start to our evening. There is great nightlife just a quick cab ride away. The next morning we ordered room service and the food and service were amazing, as expected by this point in our stay. We took advantage of a late checkout to maximize our stay because we just didn't want to leave :) Overall the value of service and the full experience of our stay was completely worth the money. Regardless of the money, the hotel showed us why they are one of, if not the one, best hotels in the city. My two fixes, though certainly not detractors from our stay: the mattress comforter kept coming off while sleeping and the shower was not draining properly 29 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Elegant Suite John at the front desk did a great job of checking me in and out. I had an excellent suite with a view of the Bay Bridge, Berkeley, Chinatown, Embarcadero (lit up for the holidays), Financial District, Treasure Island, Russian Hill, California Street, and the Fairmont's rooftop gardens. I could look down and see the California Street cable cars. My suite had an extremely comfortable bed with French doors leading to the bedroom. There was a dining room area with a crystal chandelier. The living room area has a couch and large HDTV. It is possible to open the windows a few inches and hear the afternoon carillon recital coming from Grace Cathedral. The weather was absolutely spectacular, the kind of days where you just want to stay outside for a long time. There is always something new to notice as you observe the city of SF from high up on Nob Hill. I am a big fan of the film Vertigo, and you can see the Brocklebank Apartments from the film. Last weekend, I stopped in San Juan Bautista on my way home to Monterey, making my weekend a true Vertigo experience. The marble bathroom had a soaking tub with whirlpool jets and a separate showers with glass French doors. Mr. Toy delivered my Ambassador amenity, which included fresh fruit, mineral water, and outstanding TCHO Mokaccino local organic chocolate bar. Mr. Toy has done an excellent job of delivering my Ambassador amenity to my suite for many years. Joanna, the Guest Relations Executive, made sure that both the Sunday New York Times and Sunday SF Chronicle were delivered to my room in the morning. She also arranged for a late check-out. I had an outstanding night of sleep and went to the Nob Hill Restaurant on the lobby level early in the morning for breakfast, where my server was the attentive Wayne. I was careful not to eat too much, as I had plans to dine at Top of the Mark later in the morning for Sunday champagne brunch. I had a great table with a view of the Golden Gate Bridge, Palace of Fine Arts, Alcatraz, Grace Cathedral, and Russian Hill. My server was the attentive Gloria, Patty was the maitre d', and Mike was the pianist. I enjoyed oysters, caviar, filet mignon, lobster salad with avocado, prime rib au jus, leg of lamb au jus, and many other outstanding items. By charging the meals to the room, I earn elite qualifying points. When booking a room on the IHG website, there are many packages to choose from. For example, if you want to earn elite qualifying points on valet parking, choose the parking package. There is also a package that gives you 1000 elite qualifying points for just $10. In summary, I had an excellent stay, where I enjoyed outstanding accommodations, meals, and service. I will have to book the Intercontinental Clement in my home town of Monterey to complete the Vertigo experience. 27 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a place! Despite the reputation of the Mark Hopkins, I was a little concerned staying at a 90-year old hotel with my wife for the 20th anniversary of our engagement. I should have had no fears. The hotel was renovated ~10 years ago and is absolutely beautiful. The hotel is one block from the crossroads of all three cable car runs, so we left the car at home, took BART and rode cable cars everywhere. The staff was very gracious and accomodating as we had to store our bags before arrival and after departure. The room was upgraded to a deluxe view room overlooking the City and was georgeous. When we came back from dinner we had champagne and chocolate strawberries awaiting us. The only downside - the beds were a little small (two full size beds, not queens). Should have asked for the single king. Highly recommended! 27 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice historic hotel The Mark Hopkins was a very nice hotel. It was located in a great part of the city. The Top of the Mark had great views and made for a nice evening. The beds were quite comfortable as well. 27 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel on the hill Rooms with view are spectacular. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. 26 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and view The view, the staff, the food were exceptional. A short walk to the concert venue was a plus. An extra special thanks to Rachel at the front desk for googling directions back to the freeway! 26 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and service It was a pleasant stay, the staff gives very good service both at the door, reception rooms. 25 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great views! Loved seeing the Transamerica Building out my window and sweeping views of San Francisco. Nob Hill location was a pleasant change from Union Square and SoMa. The staff were the highlight. Excellent service and very aware of Ambassador benefits, which is always appreciated. I would definitely stay here again. 25 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Service The check-in was superb. I had indicated on my online reservation that we were celebrating a special birthday and the Front desk staff person acknowledged the occasion. When returned to our room that evening, there was a beautiful cake waiting for my wife. Lobby coffee was great, strong, just what you need before you go out sightseeing for the day. Short walk to the cable car if that was your mode of transportation. Will definetly think about the Mark Hopkins on the next trip. 21 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel with style! We have been to the Mark before, but not to spend the night. Usually we visit the Top of the Mark! We had a great experience as gusts! The hotel has style and charm, not only in appearance, but in its staff! Great people! We will return and recommend this lovely San Francisco gem!, 20 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view, large room and attentive service We had a very comfortable stay at this great hotel. The upgraded room was large and had amazing panoramic views of the city. service was excellent. Location in Nob Hill is ideal for ease of travel around the city. 19 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Old Hotel on Nob Hill This is a lovely, old property but has all of the conveniences of a modern facility. The hotel is comfortable and the staff is top notch. I loved the location and had a room at the front of the hotel over looking the square on Nob Hill. I could definitely hear the cable cars but loved looking out too see the sights and, when it wasn't foggy, the bay! Cable cars stop in front of the hotel and it's an easy walk downhill to Union Square for fine dinning and shopping. But having morning tea or a late snack at the Top of Mark is a must due to the glorious views out over the city. I would stay here again! 17 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location Great place to stay Have stayed before and remember this place as great location 17 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff, Great Value, Fabulous Location Every member of the staff from John C. at the Front Desk, the Bell Man, Restaurant Staff were wonderful. The number of amenities that came with the room made for a great value. The Mark Hopkins has a fabulous location. Our room had a great view. The location on Nob Hill could not have been better...cable car at the door. Wow! We had a great time in San Francisco, the Mark Hopkins contributed to making the vacation special. 13 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable bed Our bed did not have a mattress protector! It had a slippery duvet under the sheet. Therefore every time you turned in bed it slipped and slid and I don't think hygienic. All hotels should have mattress protectors that are washed regularly. How often was that duvet washed???? 12 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Nob Hill Intercontinental Made its Mark One of the nicest hotels we've stayed at in a long time. The staff was excellent; helpful and friendly. The doormen were extremely welcoming, the maid staff -on top of their game. The concierge and bartender services were superb. Only challenge was cooling our 9th floor room. Even in November with the air conditioning set at 62 the temp during the night was a lot warmer than that. Bedding and room ambiance was fantastic. We'd highly recommend this hotel to everyone wanting a very memorable stay in San Francisco. 11 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Intercontinental Ambassador benefits honored - 5 Stars! Just a couple days before, my husband and I decided to come up to San Francisco for the weekend. We had joined the Intercontinental Ambassador program earlier in the year, which gives a free 2nd night stay over any weekend within a year of joining, so we thought this a perfect time to use the certificate. Not only did they allow us to check in early (around 10:30am) but we were upgraded to a corner suite, had complimentary fruit and mineral water delivered, free internet, and were given the 4pm check out as our flight didn't leave until 7pm. From the member check in, to the cheerful and helpful door men/valets who promptly got us a taxi whenever we needed and welcomed us with a smile each time we returned, we felt like guests that they truly valued. The location is great, and we easily walked to Union Square, Chinatown, with cable car lines both off of Powell and California. Our room was gorgeous, with a breathtaking view of the bay, bridge, the landmark Transamerica tower...We will definitely be staying here again the next time we visit the city! 11 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a great stay We have been coming here at least once a year now, occasionally twice, for the last 6 years. We have never had a complaint, and it is always nice when staff remembers you! It is a terrific old, historic hotel with always great service. I would recommend the Enjoy SF package. 11 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a joy The Mark Hopkins continues to be one of the best run properties anywhere. There may be better and newer facilities, but no one can make it to the top of the list with service and experience quality. 10 November 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad check-in at front desk I have stayed at Mark Hopkins many times in the past. But this time I did not feel like I was welcome at all as a platinum member. The gentleman at the front desk did not mention IHG rewards or acknowledge that I am a loyal member to the IHG brand. He just asked to initial here and sign here and sent me on my way. I stayed at Holiday and Holiday Inn Express and Crowne Plaza within the last few weeks. This was the only hotel that did not recognize the IHG rewards brand. All the other IHG brands offered bottles of water or something to welcome their loyal customers. I forgot to ask about Wi-Fi and when I called downstairs, they connected me to another extension and it went into voicemail. I felt truly disappointed with my stay this time. 09 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Time Our stay here was wonderful. From the moment we arrived and were greeted at the front door we enjoyed every minute. Wonderful location with easy access to all areas of San Francisco. Definitely coming back here next time we are in town. 07 November 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 24 next>>
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    1:02 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs