Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 686 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Always a wonderful stay When traveling to San Francisco, I cannot miss a stay at the Mark Hopkins. It is an iconic hotel with wonderful views of the city. The staff is friendly and always very helpful. 20 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Greeat hotel experience Great location, very friendly and helpful staff-the best I have encountered in 20 years of travel. Great bed and bathroom. Great restaurant and view from Top of the Mark. Highly recommend hotel! 19 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed As an Ambassador Gold member I'm very disappointed with my stay. I was never recognized as a Gold member, even after confirming at front desk on the third and the second day if they could see I am a Ambassador Gold. Never received any of the benefits such as, fruits, water, gift, newspaper, nothing really. I understand the hotel is classic, but by classic one should read, old, not vintage. Rooms on the small side. If you are visiting SF and planning to walk around the city, stay somewhere else as the return to the hotel is really a hike. Would not recommend. 17 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and comfort Great choice to visit S.Francisco. Good room on 15th level with great view on the city. Only two cons: 1) you have to use everytime the cable car to return to the hotel (the hotel is on the top of a steep hill); 2) the wi-fi connection is not included 14 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Gorgeous Old Hotel with Fab San Fran views! Great hotel - good locations - wonderful staff! Some room colors could be updated but it fits the decor. The hotel could use an additional bar in the lobby when Top of the Mark gets full. 14 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ready for hospitality training The Mark Hopkins is located at a perfect location in the city, provided you have no problem to conquer the steep streets. The views from the Top of the Mark are great. The general atmosphere of the hotel is rather outdated, but could still be charming if the personnel would be hospitable, which they are not except for the staff at the reception. The bartender and waiters at the Top of the Mark were downright unfriendly and seem only interested at getting rid of their customers. In general the personnel could increase their language skills and hospitality skills. A further item is the fee charged for a very slow internet connection, which is something that is not expected at a business hotel. What we very much liked was the breakfast in the Top of the Mark. the quality of the food and the views there were excellent. 12 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Truly a wonderful stay. The staff was awesome , even remembering our names when we returned from dinner. You can tell when a hotel is run the right way. 11 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A week in San Francisco! Our stay felt luxurious and pampered from the moment we pulled up to the unfortunate moment we left. We were upgraded to a suite without any additional charge and had quite possibly the best views in the city from our private terrace. The rooms were clean and very comfortable with a bathroom of comparable size to other hotel rooms we've stayed in. The staff, from the bell man to the house keepers were very respectful, nice, and knowledgeable. The Intercontinental Mark Hopkins will definitely be my first choice next time I visit San Francisco. 09 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing & Incredible We stayed at the hotel for only one night and wish it could have been longer! Wonderful staff, gorgeous room, and you can not beat the experience at The Top of the Mark. Definitely a perfect ending to a fantastic vacation. 06 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent staff We really enjoyed our 5 day stay at Mark Hopkins on our first visit to San Francisco. The concierge gave us great advice and went the extra mile to help us. The Club facilities were superb and the view from the 15th floor memorable. Our only suggestion would be to install a Nespresso machine in each bedroom . Thanks for a great experience. Eric and Margaret Auckland New Zealand 04 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and service I really enjoyed the room we were given. The size was great, and the decor was artistic and relaxing. I loved the tile patterns in the bath, The room bar was appropriately stocked. All the staff were friendly and helpful. I felt at home in the hotel. It was an honor to stay in such a historically important hotel and I enjoyed reviewing the stories of the hotel in your museum downstairs. The views were great and the cable cars were available to take me anywhere in town. I'll come back for other visits. 04 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unforgettable anniversary experience. Sincé we walked into the hotel we felt welcomed. The staff was kind and helpful. Looking forward to staying with you again. 03 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unforgettable anniversary experience Sincé we walked into the hotel we felt welcomed. The room was very nice and all the staff kind and warm. Looking forward to staying with you again. 03 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mark Hopkins Stay on non-street side otherwise you'll hear the clanging of the cable cars and the whistles of the bellman tweeting for taxis all night long. It is on Nob Hill which is the most ritzy area of San Francisco but is a MAJOR climb from Fisherman's Wharf or Market Street. Make sure you are in good shape or take a taxi. 02 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A great hotel in the very best location. The Mark Hopkins is in a great location. Cable car access on California St., right in front of the hotel and it's a short down hill walk to Chinatown & Union Square. Breakfast at the Top of the Mark shouldn't be missed! A night in the hotel is costly but well worth it. Lot's of pro's and only one con, internet service and access to it. Wanted to use my laptop but decided against it due the cost for 24 hours of internet access. After spending quite a bit for a two night stay, it was just the principal of the thing for me. 01 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Best The Mark Hopkins is simply the best! Best Beds Best Lobby Best in room furniture Best history Best Crew Best GM Best Views 30 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by DCTAS Excellent on every visit they not only try but succeed the rooms are always very clean and the staff super professional and friendly. 30 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Perfect in all details. Top location, lovely rooms and amenities and overwhelming friendly and helpful staff. Particularly overpriced room rates most probably due to special events. 28 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Mark Hopkins is the best We always stay at the Mark Hopkins when we visit San Francisco and we can't say enough good things about it. The staff is friendly and accommodating. We always ask for the same wonderful room and we love the Club, which makes our stay so comfortable and easy. The Mark Hopkins is truly our home away from home. 24 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent choice! We loved our stay at The Mark Hopkins and would stay here again if coming back to San Francisco. Great service, ultra comfortable, awesome location. I only have two suggestions: Please consider offering free WiFi and larger bath towels. 23 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a fun stay! We loved our very comfortable room, the service (especially by the concierge from the Philippines). The food, wine and views from the Top of the Mark were spendid! A very memorable one night stay! Thank you! 23 September 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service Lacking I usually love staying at Intercontinental, not this time. Valet/Bellman at check-in was not attentive - stood there chating with a driver while I waited at my car. Then he loaded my luggage in in three runs instead of getting a cart - leaving things in two different places - I waited with my car and luggage when I realized what he was doing. Overcharged for my room - requested on two occasions to have it fixed. Front desk apologized, said he fixed it and again I phoned after receiving folio. She said accounting would call me back, still haven't heard. Wrong paper in the morning (no biggie) So far hasn't been. I have low blood sugar - love getting the fruit/nut bowl at check-in, waited more than 5 hours and 2 phone calls. Other than that my room was clean and comfortable. Will stay here when I absolutely have too. 22 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 25th Wedding Anniversary My wife and I chose the hotel as part of our celebrations. The hotel is beautifully decorated, smart, tidy, with wonderful staff who all wished us well for our anniversary. The room we checked in to was wonderful, well appointed and spacious. All very comfortable with a mini bar, Keurig coffee, large bed, and great views (we were on the 14th floor). Top of the Mark a great bar at the top of the hotel, with its fine service and panoramic views. Special mention to Helene, the concierge, who communicated with me prior to our arrival to ensure we were getting our tour trips arranged, as well as dinner reservations, and was attentive and supportive during our trip, keeping an eye out for us and making sure our needs were met. All the staff were excellent during our stay and really complemented the beautifully laid out hotel, ensuring our 25th wedding anniversary celebrations were truly memorable in San Francisco. 22 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great beds and quiet room. We have stayed at The Mark Hopkins three times and the staff on each occasion have been very friendly and helpful particularly the porters.We love going to The Top of the Mark for cocktails. I do think the hotel could leave bottled water at no charge as $6.50 a bottle is ridiculous.Charging for internet services at a quality hotel is a bit greedy. Overall I would stay again. 20 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room, great location Great location/ Great room and view. Price was high due to a convention filling up this hotel and the Fairmont. My only complaint was that on two different occasions, housekeeping had been called to bring up add'l towels and both times, it took over FOUR HOURS and two calls. On one call, the person in housekeeping, said, "we're very busy." I said it took less time to fly 2,000 miles than to get two towels brought to the room? That's the only place they need to improve service. Top of The Mark is pretty outdated but can't find a better place to have a drink and the best view around. I'll go back. 19 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room condition I was a little surprised that a hotel of this caliber would have anything amiss In the bathroom the hand towel rack was pulling away from the wall The hairdryer outlet gave me a shock because it is loose The cold water handle would occasionally keep rotating and not turn the water off Burned out bulb on 1 side of the mirror 19 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by cruise stay We stayed at the intercontinental for one night awaiting to join our cruise ship the following day. It took us18 hours long flight because of delays to arrive from the uk so were exhausted. We slept till the early hours and awoke hungry and thirsty. Thanks to the efficient room service team they accommodated our needs even in the middle of the night. Thankyou ! The food was good and the room comfortable. The view from our room wasn't good but we did not worry about that as we were only staying the one night. I didn't see enough of San Francisco so we are planning to return and yes I would happily return to this hotel 16 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very nice hotel, but..... Very good place, comfortable room, correct attention of the staff. Every day we had problems with the magnetic card, therefore we had to call to the front desk so that someone opens to us the door of our room. We visit the restaurant ' Top of the Mark ', who certainty has the the best seen of the city; everything had been perfect, but the attention of our waiter performed the worst thing and to culminate, it recharged excessively the account of our credit card. Finally to mention that there is exaggerated the daily tariff of the valet parking. 13 September 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointment As this is a world reknown property where I had stayed 20 years ago, I had certain expectations of it still being a world class property. It is no longer in that class. The front desk was understaffed at Sunday AM checkout. The Top of the Mark is not a good restaurant. The catering was overpriced and the catered food was cold and unappetizing. The rooms had inadequate power outlets for today's business traveler. Bathroom lighting was inadequate. This property was disappointing. Sal the doorman was the best thing about this property - he was top notch. He helped with the wheelchair and other details. 12 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location but very poor lighting and extremely small bathroom While the location of this hotel is excellent, we were very disappointed in the size and comfort level of the bathroom as well as the extremely poor lighting. Additionally, while we are supporters of conservation, the water savers installed on the shower were a bit extreme. Very poor water pressure in the shower/bathtub. The sink in the bathroom was a pedastal sink and left almost no room to store or display toiletries needed on a daily basis. The lighting over the toilet was brighter than that over the sink. Drawer space was very limited for a five day stay as well. We had an issue accessing the Top of the Mark for breakfast on a Monday, as the timer did not unlock the floor at the predetermined time of 6:30am and none of the clocks at the front desk were synchronized. We had to ask four times to have someone unlock the elevator so we could eat, as we had a tour starting at 8am and were worried we would be late. We did enjoy the bed and pillows. We ordered room service one night and the service was quick and efficient and the food was very good. All in all, I would probably not stay at this hotel in the future due predominantly to the bathrooms lack of space and comfort. Regards, JHC 11 September 2013
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 24 next>>
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    8:22 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs