Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 589 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best ever! The service of the hotel is excellent. I have perfect time during my vacation. Wish every Intercon around the world have the same quality. Thank you for nice hotel. See Intercon again soon :) 25 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location I suggest only to consider the WiFi connection for guests with no charge. 22 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All needs addressed The hotel was very comfortable. I was able to enjoy every minute of San Francisco without thinking about lodging type stuff. 20 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great San Fran Hotel San Fran was the first stop of our west coast vacation. Choose the Mark Hopkins because of its location. The staff at the hotel confirmed our choice was right. Everyone was very friendly and helpful but I must say the front door personnel are the BEST. We asked for a taxi and doorman said hotel car was available so let us get you to your destination. What a nice surprise. If ever in San Fran again will always stay at the Mark Hopkins. 20 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always love the Hopkins I always enjoy staying at the Mark Hopkins. The rooms are immaculate and the service is great. I always ask to get (and always receive) one of the corner rooms with windows facing two directions. Overall, I look forward to my stays at the Hopkins. It is a great place. My only complaint this visit was using the elevators Friday night (June 14th, 2013). I gather that our nation's vice president, Joe Biden, was staying at the Hopkins, and using the elevators Friday evening was nearly impossible (over a 20 minute wait to get to the Top of the Mark). While I certainly appreciated getting a missive on the 13th about street traffic snags, I wish I had also gotten some kind of missive about possible snags within the Hopkins itself. On the one hand, it's kind of neat knowing a celebrity is near, but on the other hand, it's annoying when the security surrounding that VIP gets in the way. :) Also wish the WiFi was cheaper (or complimentary). But it's really tough to pass up a stay at the Mark Hopkins. It's truly a great hotel. 20 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay, Great Nob Hill Experience The staff were friendly and anticipated our needs. The service could not have been better! We loved your hotel and all that you did to make things enjoyable. I would strongly recommend this hotel for an excellent experience of San Francisco. The location makes it easy to get to everything and the facilities and staff make it comfortable and luxurious at the same time. Thanks for a great experience! P.S. Did I say it felt like I was sleeping on a cloud.....oh my! 19 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and service The room was very comfortable with excellent views. The furnishings were good and the visit was just perfect. The hotel offered good old-fashioned classy comfort in a superb area of San Francisco. Lots of restaurants, cafes, bars and even an organic supermarket within minutes of the hotel. The staff were very helpful and patient willing to help with all our queries. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Francisco. 18 June 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The location is great, within walking distance to a lot of shops and restaurants. As a female traveling alone, I am always cognizant of where the hotels I stay in are located, and with this hotel, I never felt uncomfortable walking around a few blocks by myself. 17 June 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful view The staff was very friendly and my room had a beautiful view but that is pretty much where it ended. The feather bed was lumpy and feathers were coming out and poking into my skin. The room smelled stale, as if it was in dire need of deep cleaning. Then when I checked out, I asked the young woman at the front desk to bill my personal card for one of the expenses and leave everything else on my corporate card. Surprise! The next day I found that the entire amount had been deducted from my checking account. I would most likely not return. 16 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service. Great location. If you are looking for a charming, top-notch service, then this is your hotel! 15 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect first visit to San Francisco We did not know this hotel or its reputation but were delighted from the moment we walked in the door. We had booked a standard room and the person who checked us in did her very best to find us one with a lovely view. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was modern and luxurious. All of the staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome every time we walked in the door. The experience at the Top of the Mark was incomparable and although prices for food and drink were higher than we would normally pay, the ambience and the view were worth the price of admission. The location was ideal for our first visit to the city - in the centre no matter which way we turned and we soon felt at home in the neighbourhood. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and will no doubt stay there on our next visit. 14 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Therapeutic Experience I am always amazed by the outstanding experience of staying at the Mark Hopkins. I stayed in a beautiful One Bedroom Suite on the 12th floor that has some absolutely remarkable features that make for a very therapeutic experience. The suite is on a corner, and it has a view of the TransAmerica Building, the Bank of America Building, the rooftop garden at the Fairmont, Chinatown, Berkeley, the Bay Bridge, the California Street cable cars, Russian Hill, North Beach, and Nob Hill. The suite is immaculately clean, and everything is in perfect working order. There is a large dining room table with four chairs and a beautiful crystal chandelier. There is also a yellow orchid on the dining room table. The living room area has a sofa with a large flat-screen TV with many high-definition channels. There are five large windows in the suite, and you can open them a few inches, even on a high floor, which I absolutely love, because you can get fresh air that way if you prefer not to run the air conditioner (you can even hear the birds singing early in the morning). There are French Doors to the bedroom, and the large King Bed is very comfortable, with comfortable pillows and ironed sheets. Turndown service is available in the evening from the courteous and professional housekeeping staff, which provide local organic chocolates and a card with tomorrow's weather forecast. The marble bathroom is large, with a huge mirror, marble vanity, and a whirlpool with jets. There are two settings to the whirlpool jets, high and low, and everything is immaculately clean. The whirlpool tub fills quickly, as there is ample water pressure. It also drains quickly, as there is ample drainage. There are glass French doors to the separate shower, which has perfect temperature and pressure. A generous amenity kit contains items like toothpaste, a toothbrush, comb, earbuds, etc., in case you forgot to pack something. They even provide great smelling bath crystals for the whirlpool bath. This particular weekend, there were a variety of fascinating high-performance cars parked on Mason Street in front of the Fairmont, which I could see from my suite. Maserati, Porsche, Lamborghini, Ferrari, etc. It is an annual event. Ana and David in Guest Relations were excellent as always. Intercontinental Ambassador members receive a complimentary room upgrade, free internet access, a daily newspaper, and an amenity consisting of local organic chocolates, a glass bottle of Evian water, and fruit (served with proper plates and silverware). The Ambassador program is an outstanding value. You pay an annual fee and receive a bunch of points for renewing. You can pay a little more when you renew and receive 10% back when you redeem points. The food in the hotel is excellent, and service is always courteous and attentive. I like to have breakfast at the Nob Hill Restaurant off the lobby, which serves an extensive buffet including hot items at 06:30AM. On Sunday mornings, there is the extensive champagne Sunday brunch at Top of the Mark, where I have been served on various occasions by Gloria, Michael, and Jose, who are all excellent and attentive. You can easily walk from the Mark Hopkins to North Beach, the financial district, and Union Square. Three cable car lines serve Nob Hill. A CVS and Trader Joe's recently opened a couple blocks away (down California Street towards Van Ness). You can park a large vehicle in the Masonic garage at California and Taylor, one block from the hotel, if you prefer the peace of mind of self-parking. Valet parking is available, of course, at the Mark Hopkins. Earlier this year, I had the great privilege of receiving a double upgrade in honor of my 30th stay at the Mark Hopkins. I stayed in a beautiful one bedroom Terrace Suite with a spectacular view west towards the Pacific Ocean and Golden Gate Bridge. It also had a large marble bath with a whirlpool with both high and low settings and a separate shower. I received a special amenity of red wine along with the fruit, chocolates, and water. I also enjoyed the Bose sound system. I also appreciated the complimentary newspaper and internet access. Ana in Guest Relations was excellent as always. I received a nice card from Patrik, the Front Desk Manager, which contained his business card. I always feel like a guest of honor in San Francisco whenever I visit the Mark Hopkins. It makes you feel good about the city, the Bay Area, and the state. Each suite has its own unique character and perspective on the city. Last year, I had the honor of staying in a beautiful whirlpool suite on the 16th floor with an enormous whirlpool, and there is even a window in the bathroom. The bathroom also has an enormous and ornate mirror along with an orchid and a large separate shower. The room also has a large indoor terrace with a view of the Golden Gate Bridge and even a door to an outdoor rooftop terrace with red geraniums. In 2010, I had the great honor of staying in the deluxe one bedroom 1.5 bath Cyril Magnin Suite on the 15th floor. It has a terrace with a view of the TransAmerica building. It also has an enormous living room area with beautiful furniture and Asian art. It has a full dining room and a large, ornate desk. It has a marble atrium at the entrance, along with beautiful furniture in the bedroom, and an enormous bathroom, with black and white checkered tiles and a huge whirlpool and separate shower. The bathroom also has a window and an orchid, as well as special towels and a crystal dish of bath crystals. The walk-in closet had a special jewelry box. I received a special gift of a Christmas tree ornament that was a shiny gold version of the Mark Hopkins. In 2010, I stayed in a one-bedroom suite on the 16th floor with two beds and a large indoor rooftop terrace with an amazing view of the TransAmerica Building and Twin Peaks. The terrace has a table with four chairs and a couch. In 2010, I stayed in a beautiful one-bedroom Junior Suite on the 17th floor. It is a corner suite with a marble bath that has a window with a view of Twin Peaks. The bath has a whirlpool as well has an enormous marble shower with two shower heads. In 2009, I stayed in a beautiful one-bedroom deluxe Terrace suite on the 15th floor. The terrace has a view of the Golden Gate Bridge, and there is also a large desk. There is a large dining room table with a crystal chandelier and a marble bath with whirlpool and separate shower. There is also a large living room area. In the past, I have also greatly enjoyed the Club Intercontinental, which I choose if I do not plan to have breakfast at the Nob Hill Restaurant near the lobby area, breakfast at the Top of the Mark, or champagne Sunday brunch at Top of the Mark. Club Intercontinental has a view of the TransAmerica Building, a work area with computers and printer, and a TV area. Four meals are served: afternoon high tea at 3PM, hors d'oeuvres and drinks at 5PM, sweets in the evening, and breakfast at 6:30AM. There are also books, games, and audio entertainment. In summary, the Mark Hopkins provides world-class service, meals, and accommodations. They take their profession of providing a grand hotel experience very seriously. It is always an exceptional experience that truly lives up to the term 'Ambassador.' I look forward to my next visit. 14 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Watch for overcharges I was overcharged for internet as well as mini bar. Internet should have been complimentary as I am a Ambassador member and I did not use the mini bar... 14 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by If I may give galaxy of stars I would! Best hotel stay experience in San Francisco! We booked 3 rooms and 1 suite in our recent retreat trip. We're all upgraded to room with views. We're showered with welcome gifts. High quality grade bedding. Elegant decor and top notch service. Location was excellent! Wonderful surprise live music and dancing at Top of Mark saturday evening. Breakfast and cocktails at Top of Mark was convenient and delicious. It was a memorable trip! We'll definitely return soon. 14 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A comfortable room, but a humiliating mishap My family and I arrived late on Saturday night after a long road trip up the coast. I was dressed casually in shorts and a ball cap from the drive, was exhausted and looking forward to a drink. As we checked in, the concierge invited us to have a cocktail in the rooftop lounge, which sounded like the perfect remedy for our long day, so we dropped off our bags and headed up. Little did we know, the Top of the Mark was in club mode on Saturday night and our attire was unwelcome. The lady who turned us away was very gracious about it, but it was still an unneeded embarrassment. Had the concierge just told us when inviting us to have that drink that Saturday nights have a dress code, we could have known what to expect and been saved the humiliating ride back to our floor. In the end, we ended up crashing without that much-desired drink because we couldn't bare to show our faces in the lounge again. 14 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome staff Stayed during a conference. All staff members were friendly, remembered my name, and went out of the way to help. 12 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Club Intercontinental Once again we had a wonderful stay at the Mark Hopkins. We used the club lounge this time and thoroughly enjoyed it. The breakfast was delicious, and although they say it's a continental breakfast, it had bacon and eggs, and many other delicious items. The cocktails served in the evening are top shelf. Ana was very helpful and is always so sweet and friendly. All of the staff were very pleasant. We always feel so comfortable and welcome there. 12 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful hotel and location we had a great stay at he mark hopkins hotel located on knob hill in san francisco. the hotel has an old world feel to it. the rooms were clean and the staff very friendly. the location is very convenient. we would stay here anytime we were in san francisco, except for the fact that we live in san francisco.... 11 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful room service I"m in SF weekly on business and after a long day at work, I hop over to the Hopkins and order room service dinner...the FOOD is EXCELLENT (surprise!) and the service is also EXCELLENT....Carolyn takes the order with pleasure and happy to make you happy, every time...the people that deliver are kind and efficient....a real pleasure...the best hamburger in SF and the fish also is GREAT.....love the fancy kettle korn in the bar! 10 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by a nice stay Overall we were very satisfied with our stay. We had been at this hotel several years ago. It is still nice although in need of refurbishments in some areas (mainly room corridors and entrance lounge). The Concierge is excellent, may be the best service of the hotel. Also the reception people do a very good job; upon arrival we had some complaints with the room as it was to small and this was promptly and kindly addressed by the reception manager . A couple of suggestions for the restaurant manager: (1) make guests life easy buy eliminating the different prices for different choices. We did not care because b/fast was included in our room rate but as they asked me the same to sign the pertaining bills, I was able to notice differences in what they would have charged me and my wife for relatively minor differences in our food selection, (2) at least on one or two nights a week, instead of the bar and light dinner event, have a formal dinner that would please 'classic' clientele that does not go to eat in their shorts and sandals. 10 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience Spent 2 nights at this location and loved every moment. The staff were delightful and knowledgeable. The reception is well worth the extra cost and the location is perfect as it is on route with the street car. 08 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, pillows and great service. Great experience. Boyfriend did not like being told to remove his hat upon arriving at the Top of the Mark. Waiter was not familiar with wine on the wine list-but really this is minor. Beautiful hotel, excellent service at front desk-front desk attendant offered me a choice of rooms and the bellman offered to show me all of them. Mini fridge had just enough extra room for use to keep a few things cold and enjoyed having the coffeemaker and real creamer!! Great location, we were previously on the edge of Union Square. Your hotel was also highly recommended by a good friend. 08 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly & personable staff This hotel was part of a package deal we received on our way to Kona, HI with a stop in San Francisco. The front desk clerk was very knowledgeable about the area and very personable. He added the friendly touch that made our stay memorable. We went to the restaurant at the top of the hotel for dinner only to find out it only had appetizers and nothing suitable for children. So we ordered room service which was a little pricey, but good and filling. Overall, it was a very nice hotel; clean, courteous, friendly. 07 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5-Year Anniversary My wife and I stayed for 3 nights, to celebrate our anniversary. Our experience exceeded my expectations, as the staff doted on us with every chance they got. Beyond upgrading our room to a beautiful 12th-floor view of Grace Cathedral, we were surprised with a complimentary strawberry fondue dessert delivered to our door. Everyone was incredibly friendly, and the staff's anniversary wishes were well-appreciated. Next time we are in town, I anticipate we'll be making reservations at the Mark Hopkins again. 06 June 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Old lady on nob hill Fantastic location on nob hill, just walk downhill to union square. Nice staff and wonderful bar. Rooms are small but equipped with everything you need. 06 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by wifi a trifle mean of managm,ent in such a luxurious (expensive) hotel not to offer free wifi. 05 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, location and staff. What a great experience my wife and I had at your hotel. The staff were helpful and the most friendly we had experienced in the States. The Hotel was so comfortable and located in a very accessable area. The rooftop bar is a must and the club lounge was fantastic. 04 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and beautiful hotel. Nice location. However dirty dishes from previous guest welcomed us in the hall. Expensive parking but it!s San Francisco. No pool . Valet staff very nice and friendly! 03 June 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Concerned if Emergency Prevailed My husband and I stayed for 3 nights ;ast week. Our last evening the "ear piercing" fire alarm went off. After 5 minutes, it continued. Others on the floor were checking the hall for instruction as was I. We decided better safe than sorry so we walked the 6 flights of stairs for instructions. Many of us culminated in the lobby. The concierge or check in desk had no information. THEY WERE CHECKING. They said authorities were called and sure enough the firetrucks lined the street discreetly away from the entry. When we reached the lobby we were shocked that people were lined up to enter the elevators that we avoided (I thought they locked in emergency) to enter to go to "The Top of the Mark". Children from our floor were waiting in the lobby in pajamas who obviously were ready for bed. Not one employee, security or otherwise provided us information. Only when we went to the desk to ask if we could return to our rooms. We were in the lobby 45 minutes as guests still continued to the Top of the Mark. Only three floors 5, 6 and 7 were alarmed. Well, beware-there may be a fire alarm going off with guests evacuating and no one informs you-apologizes-provides info-and you may be the outside guest on your way to the Top of the Mark! Other than this-stay was lovely! Perfect location-great view! 03 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great experience Had a great stay at the Mark Hopkins. The staff was very helpful since it was my first trip to Sam Fran. the views from my room were spectacular and very clean. will stay there again next time in town and would highly recommend it. Sincerely Jim 03 June 2013
<<prev 12 13 14 15 16 ... 21 next>>
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    12:57 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs