Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 597 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly & personable staff This hotel was part of a package deal we received on our way to Kona, HI with a stop in San Francisco. The front desk clerk was very knowledgeable about the area and very personable. He added the friendly touch that made our stay memorable. We went to the restaurant at the top of the hotel for dinner only to find out it only had appetizers and nothing suitable for children. So we ordered room service which was a little pricey, but good and filling. Overall, it was a very nice hotel; clean, courteous, friendly. 07 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5-Year Anniversary My wife and I stayed for 3 nights, to celebrate our anniversary. Our experience exceeded my expectations, as the staff doted on us with every chance they got. Beyond upgrading our room to a beautiful 12th-floor view of Grace Cathedral, we were surprised with a complimentary strawberry fondue dessert delivered to our door. Everyone was incredibly friendly, and the staff's anniversary wishes were well-appreciated. Next time we are in town, I anticipate we'll be making reservations at the Mark Hopkins again. 06 June 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Old lady on nob hill Fantastic location on nob hill, just walk downhill to union square. Nice staff and wonderful bar. Rooms are small but equipped with everything you need. 06 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by wifi a trifle mean of managm,ent in such a luxurious (expensive) hotel not to offer free wifi. 05 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, location and staff. What a great experience my wife and I had at your hotel. The staff were helpful and the most friendly we had experienced in the States. The Hotel was so comfortable and located in a very accessable area. The rooftop bar is a must and the club lounge was fantastic. 04 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and beautiful hotel. Nice location. However dirty dishes from previous guest welcomed us in the hall. Expensive parking but it!s San Francisco. No pool . Valet staff very nice and friendly! 03 June 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Concerned if Emergency Prevailed My husband and I stayed for 3 nights ;ast week. Our last evening the "ear piercing" fire alarm went off. After 5 minutes, it continued. Others on the floor were checking the hall for instruction as was I. We decided better safe than sorry so we walked the 6 flights of stairs for instructions. Many of us culminated in the lobby. The concierge or check in desk had no information. THEY WERE CHECKING. They said authorities were called and sure enough the firetrucks lined the street discreetly away from the entry. When we reached the lobby we were shocked that people were lined up to enter the elevators that we avoided (I thought they locked in emergency) to enter to go to "The Top of the Mark". Children from our floor were waiting in the lobby in pajamas who obviously were ready for bed. Not one employee, security or otherwise provided us information. Only when we went to the desk to ask if we could return to our rooms. We were in the lobby 45 minutes as guests still continued to the Top of the Mark. Only three floors 5, 6 and 7 were alarmed. Well, beware-there may be a fire alarm going off with guests evacuating and no one informs you-apologizes-provides info-and you may be the outside guest on your way to the Top of the Mark! Other than this-stay was lovely! Perfect location-great view! 03 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great experience Had a great stay at the Mark Hopkins. The staff was very helpful since it was my first trip to Sam Fran. the views from my room were spectacular and very clean. will stay there again next time in town and would highly recommend it. Sincerely Jim 03 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I commend your staff Each time we visit the Mark Hopkins, we are impressed by the courtesy and knowledge of all your staff members. 03 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed The MH San Fran is a nice hotel. The highlights of the property are the stunning views of the city at the top of the hotel, the comfortable bed and great location. The bellhops were on their A game and were always friendly and accommodating. The hotel seemed very crowded the entire weekend we stayed (memorial day weekend) and there were often lines at the front desk and concierge. I think the hotel should plan to add more staff for holiday weekends or perhaps in general. For example, our room wasn't available until 5:30 PM; however, our internet was comped for this inconvenience. I think breakfast should be included for priority members. Overall a nice property but perhaps extra staff should be added and guests shouldn't have to pay for "add ons" like the internet and breakfast. 02 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Memorable Stay in San Francisco We could not have made a better choice of accomodation in San Francisco than the Mark Hopkins. Escpecially the concierge service is exceptional professional and friendly. The room was comfortible, but the view out of the window on a constrcution side was not good for this rate. As many hotels this hotel does not offer à la carte breakfast: room for improvement. The bar at the top of the Mark is excelent (drinks, view, service). As European we missed the free of charge WAN internet access (but this still US standard). We would recommand this hotel and revisit it at our next stay in SFO 02 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Birthday stay My husband and I stayed at the Mark Hopkins both before and after a cruise last month. The whole holiday was a 50th birthday treat for me. All I can say is we had the most wonderful time during both stays, they just weren't long enough!! Both times we were upgraded to lovely rooms without any fuss and I even received a birthday card and cake which was a great touch and made the stay even more special for both of us. The hotel has been refurbished but in keeping with its history, the rooms are tastefully furnished in keeping with the period but with modern features too (the coffee maker for one which was a godsend!) The bathrooms too had every modern amenity whilst retaining the charm of the art deco period. We visited the Top of the Mark for martinis one night and had a fantastic experience there - the views are exceptional as are the martinis!! All the staff we came into contact with whilst staying at the hotel were extremely professional, yet helpful and friendly. We would definitely stop here again. 02 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bedding and great service Coffee service and remote flat screen TV were appreciated. However, the Kuerig maker and TV remote were both seemingly out of order The water would not heat up. The TV only responded to hands on channel switching. 01 June 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by You Are Near Silicon Valley I stayed at this hotel because it is conveniently located. The room was OK-nice, but not fabulous. Price was good given the level of hotel. Two thing cause my low rating: -The restaurant on top of the hotel has a view to die for. But $35 for a breakfast buffet with at best average food is a bit piggy. I felt taken advantage of. -They charge for wireless access. Come on guys, this is 2013 and you are in the heart of the innovation world. The desk clerk told me he gets this complaint all the time. Guess they have more business than they need. They clearly do not want mine. 28 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to hitting the Mark While most of the experience was superb, a few small drawbacks. First, I am surprised by the rooms, very small compared to what I am used to, and the "deluxe upgrade" only got us a 9th floor room with no robes (I had to call). We went to the Top of the Mark to dine. The food was terrific, but our waiter, Jose, neglected to check on us after it was delivered, and for about ten minutes thereafter. See my review as a top reviewer on Trip Advisor for more information. 28 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable rooms and great service I had a very good experience. All the staff was very gentle and helpful. I recommend this hotel. 26 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A lovely hotel The Intercontinental Mark Hopkins is a lovely hotel. The junior suite was comfortable and spacious enough for a couple. While the cost of the hotel is on the high side, it was comfortable, luxurious and very accomodating. The best feature of the hotel is the Top of the Mark restaurant that overlooks the whole city. The food is good and the view in one of the best in town. While the Sunday Champagin Brunch is really over the top, so it the $175.00 cost of the brunch for a couple. It was a wonderful brunch, but a bit costlier than I had expected. I would recommend the hotel to anyone who islooking for a luxurious San Francisco experience. 25 May 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by I expected more The Mark Hopkins is a beautiful and scenic hotel, so I expected a little better service. My wife and I had booked a non-smoking room as a part of a promotional deal for a company party. When my wife checked us in on a Saturday afternoon she noticed a distinct smoke smell in the room. She called down to the front desk repeatedly and left a message requesting a room change, but there was never any response. She opened the window to air out the room, and sure enough there were cigarette butts on the window sill. Otherwise the room was nice enough; tasteful and not shabby, but nothing to get excited about. The wifi reception was decent. The hallways could have been tidier; we would always see random glassware or cutlery lying on the floor outside people's doors as we walked the hall to our room. The staff members we did interact with were helpful, and it was easy to get an extended checkout time when we needed it. It took over 15 minutes for the valet parking guys to retrieve my car the next day, which was annoying. Overall not impressed. 25 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent upgraded experience! Normally I don't do reviews but because of our situation, I felt the need to do it. This was a last minute reservation; called in the night before our stay. I had wanted to stay here and had looked a couple months before but it was booked up. I decided to check the night before for some fluke reason & had gotten availability. Because my husband snores we always book a one bedroom suite. When we arrived, the hotel receptionist expressed that the hotel was full; we still received an upgraded suite. She mentioned both instances. I was totally oblivious until we got to the suite. We found that our room was the Nob HIll suite and we were on the 14th floor. I was so totally thrilled with our room!!! We got the corner suite and just about the highest floor. This suite had kitchen, living room, large bedroom, 2 bathrooms and huge walkin closet. The views from all of the windows were spectacular. OMG! I was so pleased that I felt the need to expressed this. Thank you everyone at Mark Hopkins SF. I made a trip down to the front desk to thank our receptionist personally as I like to deal with the positives of life and felt the need to do this. As we checked out the next day, the male receptionist said that the Nob Hill suite is their most modern hotel room & he was right! Thank you again Mark Hopkins...we look forward to staying here again sometime soon! 25 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel Great rooms, location, and service but fitness room could be improved to match rest of hotel quality. Fitness room is average at best. 24 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by exquisite service The staff and service more than made up for the room. It was dusty when we arrived and bed was uncomfortable. The service at the top of the mark and the ability to take our meals there was GREAT...simply beautiful. Housekeeping staff cleaned our room daily and the dust was a thing of the past. The use of the Hotel Car service was very useful... Thank you everyone!! 23 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Service and Spectacular Views We just completed a fabulous one-night stay ay the Mark Hopkins - the best yet, due to a wonderful upgrade to the Nob Hill Suite. I grew up in San Francisco, have many warm memories of the Mark Hopkins, was married in Grace Cathedral, and particularly appreciated the unexpected upgrade to this marvelous suite on the weekend of my 30th high school reunion! Overall, the attentive service of your staff and beauty of the hotel premises were superb, as usual. You have secured my undying loyalty when visiting San Francisco in the future! Many Thanks. 23 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love staying at the Mark Hopkins We always stay at the Mark Hopkins when we visit San Francisco. It's a great hotel with great service. The Club Intercontinental is an especially attractive feature -- we highly recommend it. 22 May 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Failed to deliver room with a view despite reservation I reserved a Deluxe room for my mother during her visit on Mother's day weekend. The description for the room it stated "HIGH FLR RM FINANCIAL DIST AND BAY AREA VIEWS". However she was given a room on the lower floors and the view was the building directly across the front of the hotel, no Financial Dist or Bay Area. The stay at this historic hotel was a surprise gift and I had opted for the deluxe room for the view. While the room and service were all on par for high end properties, I am disappointed by the failure to deliver a promised feature. 22 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience. The hotel more than lived up to our expectations. Location was fantastic for us, room and bed very comfortable and view brilliant. Top of the Mark was an experience not to be missed. Although this hotel was booked as a package pre-cruise, we will most certainly use the hotel again if in San Francisco. 22 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel, but beware of 1 small IHG poilcy The hotel was beautiful and full of charm. The staff attentive and very knowledgeable of the surrounding area. The driveway into the hotel was a bit disconcerting the first time I attempted it. Because of it's location, the entrance to valet seemed like I was driving across a sidewalk to access the hotel. Once I got over that, all was well. The hotel is in a great area, with easy access to tourist destinations as well as the city center and the freeway systems. I heartily recommend this for the business travelor and the vacationers. Check in was a breeze as was checkout. The Concierge was really helpful finding me a couple of close vegetarian restaurants. The valet staff was the most cohesive group of valets I've ever seen. I do have two issues: My first issue was that the hotel didn't provide free wireless internet, but I guess it's a revenue stream for them to make up for lost phone revenue due to everyone having cell phones. My only other issue was a charge for checking out of the hotel early. I saw the charge on the website, so I can't beat them up for non-disclosure. However, it seems beneath a hotel of this caliber to charge for an early checkout. This is what dropped them from 5 stars to 4 stars. As far as I can tell, this is a policy in IHG hotels chainwide. While it won't prevent me from staying here again, I will be very careful in planning my business trips, as to avoid the charge. If the reason for this charge was because I was travelling on a government rate, then I will confidently change my rating back up to five stars. Otherwise, a great hotel. I'd definitely come back. 21 May 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a pleasant experience 1) The bed was very uncomfortable, it is too fluffy for our likings 2) The staff took a long time to bring amenities requested, such as band-aid, hot water and hair dryer (the pin of the hair dryer was spoilt). 3) The valet was not at all friendly and helpful, they make it a big issue when I just wanted to park my car outside for a while just to check in. They also claimed that all the car park in the area costs the same, when the car park just across the road is a lot cheaper. 4) The concierge was not available to provide me where and what to do in SF. 5) Dirty plates and glasses were not cleaned. Just left there. I have to set them all aside to get them to remove and provide clean ones. 20 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great as always Been coming here since 2001 and it has always been a great experience and a wonderful time. The view from the penthouse restaurant is spectacular. 14 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful service Thank you so much for our stay! Wonderful service, comfortable beds, knowledgable staff. The one of the best hotels in the world! 14 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by SMALL NECESSITIES My mother mentioned that the rooms should have the following: * not everyone drinks coffee. A tea kettle would be nice * at least 2 of the following should be found in the rooms: spoon, fork, knife. 12 May 2013
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 21 next>>
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    3:27 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs