Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 682 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mark Hopkins is a historic property on Nob Hill. Price all of the hotels in San Francisco, and you won't find a better price than at the Mark Hopkins. I priced hotels all over the city. We could have gotten a room at a "motor court" for $50.00 a night less...but WHY? The room, on the 15th floor had a marvelous view. The large furniture in the room made it a bit cramped. ie: the unit the television is on could be narrower, and wider, providing more counter space. However, it posed no problem. The martini's at the Top of the Mark are awesome, as are the employees there! The bed was incredibly comfortable. 19 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Smooth and Efficient Check in was done very quickly. All information was readily available. Great room with view on Grace Cathedral. Nice welcome at Club. Express check out. 19 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Comfort and service The comfort of the room was acceptable. After the first night our wine glasses disappeared and were not replaced. We had two mornings without coffee for the in room coffee machine. Had to purchase coffee (expensive) in the lobby. 16 August 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Better try a different brand or a different location What are you expectations from an Intercontinental hotel? Lower them, significantly. What are your expectations form any hotel? Lower them! I stayed for 6 nights, and after a couple of days you know that those tine hotel soaps just disappear, but you expect you will get another one. Right? WRONG, I never proactively got a new soap, I had to take out an emergency soap I carry with me, but I expected to get a new soap the next day, I was wrong again. I had to call late at night to request soap to wash my hands and take a bath next day. Never seen anything like this in my life. What are your expectations from being an IHG Platinum Ambassador? Erase them from your mind, you are nobody here. 16 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by some staff members must be seriously trained we stayed at the intercontinental from august 9 to 12 .I must say that is the worst check-in in that I experienced since I am staying t intercontinental hotels. The ambassador check'in officer was busy and we have been waiting for about for about minutes.finallly another desk officer called us. First I showed him as I am doing in any IHG hotel my ambassador cardmember.he didn't have an eye on it and asked two times to show him my ID and my credit card..I was obliged to remember him what was ambassador membership. the second problem was withthe voucher for e free reward night.I must say that I have not booking the stay through the link indicated on the voucher..But my previous experiences with these voucher were ok and the voucher accepted in New York , Johannesburg and London. In this hotel they have refused to take in account this voucher and they just told me to call IHG services. At the end of the stay I met an officer at the VIP room who was surprised but unable to help me since the check out was done. By the way our room on the 17 th floor was beautiful and confortable and we received the allmost all the benefits of the status 16 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great to go back to MH It was great to go back to MH with my wife. Enjoyable and relax. I would like to stay in MH again. Thanks! 16 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We love the Mark Hopkins! This is a wonderful place to stay, the service is exceptional, as well as the food & atmosphere. We have been coming to San Francisco for 18 years, and The Mark Hopkins is the only place that we would consider staying, and we have tried other 4-5 star hotels, and we find the Mark Hopkins our favorite! Please send our thanks and regards to your fine staff, for making our stay another special one! 14 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing staff From Meryl at the front desk checking me in to Al helping me with my luggage, and Helene answering all my questions regarding the city and places to go. I had a great time at The Mark. My room was cleaned with care, and everyone from the moment I got there to when I left was helpful and friendly. The old world charm of the hotel and my wonderful view will keep me coming back for years. A job well done by all! Thank you. 13 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and Service From the front desk staff, to the concierge, to the staff in the Ambassador Lounge who remembered my name (Don't know what else to call it - where the Breakfast, etc. was served ), to the one who shined my shoes, to the room service staff - the service was exemplary. I stay at over 100 IHG properties every year - almost every IHG Brand - and I would say that the Mark Hopkins is my favorite hotel. Kudos to the management as this type of service and training is from the top down. Good Job!!!! 13 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Courteous staff and exceptional club lounge The staff at the Intercontinental Mark Hopkins was super helpful and courteous, they went the extra mile to make sure our stay was perfect. The club lounge was exceptional and worth every penny! 12 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service at classic in-town hotel. My wife and I enjoyed great service from the front desk, concierge, attentive bellmen (with cabs, bags, and directions), prompt room service, and attentive staff at Top of the Mark and breakfast dining. Compliments to all. 11 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Grandest hotel in San Francisco The Mark has all the attributes of a grand hotel. Location , history, luxury, superb staff, and atmosphere. Apart from the features that one demands/expects from a 5-star hotel, the location on California and a few hundred metres from Powell means that the cable cars are seconds away; to the ferry terminal, Fisherman's Wharf, or Ghiradelli Square. If a Citypass is purchased, great value, cable car hopping allows fast and free access anywhere. From the GM and other senior management, downwards, a hotel that knows and meets expectations. Couldn't recommend it more! 10 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty good Loved Sunday brunch! Although a little overpriced. Would have loved to know about the complimentary town car!! Even when I was talking to the concierge about how to get around the city during the week they did not mention it once! Would have saved me a lot of money! 09 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very welcoming service We were delighted with our two rooms at the hotel. They were very comfortable, well cleaned and had beautiful views. We were welcomed at the front desk with complimentary bottles of water and free wifi. We needed more towels and they were delivered within minutes. The concierge desk was particularly accomodating, and we worked primarily with Helen. My only real complaint is that we were travelling with children and our two rooms were 4 floors apart. It would have been appreciated if an effort could have been made when checking other guests in to try and get us at least on the same floor. We would absolutely stay at the Mark Hopkins again. 09 August 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Luxury? Although the Hotel is considered a luxury hotel, I was not impressed by the hotel or it's staff. The desk clerk that checked me in seemed to be under trained as it took him a long while to complete the check-in process. I was on the 14th floor and the view from the room was horrible, see attached photo. You would think being up on a high floor would afford a great view, but I was looking out to the next hotel. The room amenities were standard with nothing but a bath robe to make it luxury(?). The ice machine was on the floor above and below me .. hum .. for what is charged for a room it should have a mini-frig and icemaker in the room. The location of the hotel was about the only thing that I considered excellent. I have stayed at the hotel across the street, and I would consider staying across the street on my next trip out to SF. I did make it up to the lounge, views were good until the fog rolled in, but the service and meal offerings did not encourage me to stay and have dinner. This hotel is good for a single business traveler but if you are bring your significant other, you may want to look elsewhere as it was not that romantic or impressive. 07 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a great experience I have stayed at this hotel several times now, and it has become my go-to place to stay in SF. The location is awesome, it delivers the high-quality I expect of this hotel chain, and the Top of the Mark is already a place I like to visit each time I'm in the city (even easier to visit it with a short elevator ride). Thanks to the hotel staff for another great visit. 06 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Can't be beaten! We recently spent 4 nights at the Mark Hopkins as part of a 2 week stay in California for my 40th birthday. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. When we arrived the reception was very busy, but a porter took the time to give us some local information whilst we were waiting to check in. When we did check in we were informed we had been upgraded to a suite and once there we had been provided with a beautiful birthday cake and card. The room was spacious and comfortable. We had a drink in the Top of the Mark bar one evening and once again staff were so welcoming and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. The view is spectacular! We had a small leakage in the bathroom one evening so I let reception know just as a courtesy to them to check it out. The next day we received a huge bowl of fruit and a bottle of champagne for any inconvenience. We were really impressed. It's a great hotel in an excellent location. 03 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A wonderful place to stay I hadn't stayed here for nearly twenty years, and was pleasantly surprised how well kept and beautifully maintained the property is. It's an extremely comfortable hotel, quiet, well appointed, wiht a friendly helpful staff and excellent all-around services. The parking is a bit steep, but I had no other complaints. The upper floors offer wonderful views, and the Top of The Mark is a real treat for dinner and drinks. 03 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super friendly service Recently we had the opportunity to spend some time at the Mark Hopkins. We very impressed with the sincere greeting from the bell staff to the housekeeping staff! The front desk processed our reservation quickly and our room had a wonderful view with ample living space. We were also impressed that upon entering the concierge dining area for a second time, the hostess knew our names. It is so nice to see a staff that exudes professionalism and provides a highest level of hospitality. Keep up the great job! 03 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous hotel We decided to venture out to San Francisco for a girls getaway, and couldn't have been happier with this hotel. The staff was knowledgeable, the location was perfect, and the food was amazing. Of course, you can't go wrong with the spectacular views from the hotel. 03 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by July 2013 visit The Mark Hopkins hotel in San Francisco is located in an upscale neighborbood and very updated and convenient. The beds are exceptionally comfortable and the bathrooms are immaculate. I did not appreciate the fact that I was billed $12./day to use their wireless internet, however. With the nightly rates you pay for an Intercontinental hotel, that was most annoying. Also, when I wanted to print out my boarding pass for my flight home, their was yet ANOTHER hefty charge to use the internet and printer. It would have cost me $15.00! I opted to wait until the morning of my flight and print it at the airport. Every other hotel I had stayed at during my ten day California vacation supplied free wireless and complimentary printing of boarding passes. Then, after booking the hotel's shuttle to the airport after checking out, the shuttle never showed up, and I had to pay taxi fare to arrive in time for my flight! San Francisco, you need to look at how you are nickel and diming your guests! 02 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Always good service, but not this time Requested a rollaway bed upon check in. Call after few hours with no answer on any extension (front desk, operator, house keeping). Had to personally go to front desk to request it again. After 45 mins. we got the extra bed. 02 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful room, very comfortable bed and great service! We chose the Mark because our son recently moved to SF, and the Mark Hopkins is within walking distance of his apartment. We have stayed twice and this will definitely be our hotel of choice from now on! The people who work there are absolutely great, and the rooms are so comfy! We will back soon! 02 August 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Staff With attitude I was surprised how the staff and employees Are Full of bad attitude even worse than a 1 star hotel! When I was checking in was bad and the check out person was WORSE! Tossing my bill at me when I ask for copy to review and then said give me your John Hancock! I ask why since my card already charge and he huffed.. Before I can show you the bill sign this receipt request! His demeanor was condescending and I felt not like a Customer who just spent thousands but that I was a bother to him! This is second time with intercontinental I find such staff and feel I do not want to ever stay in your hotels again! 01 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Below Normal Expectations Having visited and stayed in San Francisco several times before at other hotels I consider myself to be knowledgeable as far as what a hotel experience should be like in this city at this price point. Unfortunately my two night stay was filled with disappointments including the view which was unexpected due to it's location on Knob Hill. The staff was not the problem though nothing memorable stands out in any way. This hotel does not mirror the creative writing found on it's web site which is used to promote itself. Given it's location atop of Knob Hill, one would expect The Mark Hopkins to shine when it comes to the essentials and it falls way short in several ways. . This is a grand old property with lots of charm and the potential to be great but instead it is obvious that it has not had the necessary attention that would make it so. The towels were very worn and thin, kind of like what one would find in a Motel 6. The bath tiles in the tub/shower were blacken in many places especially in the grout areas making me wonder if it was mold though I'm not sure. The shower fixture was the type one would expect to find at a K-Mart or Target along with the rest of the bathroom fixtures not to mention the quality of the paper. The walls were paper thin so you could clearly hear your neighbor but that can be expected. What could not be expected or is acceptable is the way cigarette smoke filtered into the room by way of the bathroom. It was terrible and happened around 3 AM and lasted for hours keeping my wife and I awake. Though it is not their fault that a guest lit up which is prohibited, I suspect that this problem occurs often and adequate measures were never undertaken to minimize or avoid this issue. The bottom line is that this beautiful property sorely lacks attention and simply comes off as cheap. This was a huge and unnecessary disappointment and I will not return to this hotel in the future. 01 August 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad experience The hotel needs renovation. The late night staffs are not too friendly. 31 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Royal Treatment From the doormen and valets, to the concierge and room service attendants we could not have asked for more! The front desk made us feel welcome and important. Everything was first class. 30 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place Hotel was very nice, but be advised it appears to be sitting on the peak of one of the legendary San Francisco hills (which means EVERYTHING is uphill getting back to your room - Take a Cab!!). 26 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel and service We had a very quick and easy check in after a long day travelling from the UK. We booked a room with two double beds. The room was on the 17th floor and had great views. We had a good sized room and the bathroom was huge and very elegant. We had breakfast each morning. We had 2 vouchers so had to pay for my daughter. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice but a little expensive. Overall we had a great stay and I would recommend this hotel. 25 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service I had some problems checking in the 1st day. Long time at the front desk, keys that didn't work (twice), and some confusion when the lock had to be reprogramed. I was going to talk to the manager but the next day when I got to my room there was a very nice gift and a letter of apology. I felt that was the best customer service I had seen i any hotel in San Francisco in my 7 months of stays. Very impressed that the problem was recognized and action was taken to compensate me for the mishap. Problems will always happen but the intecontinental staff knew how to turn it positive and make it right. Great job!. I'm a customer now 25 July 2013
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 24 next>>
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    11:30 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs