Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 614 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by You Are Near Silicon Valley I stayed at this hotel because it is conveniently located. The room was OK-nice, but not fabulous. Price was good given the level of hotel. Two thing cause my low rating: -The restaurant on top of the hotel has a view to die for. But $35 for a breakfast buffet with at best average food is a bit piggy. I felt taken advantage of. -They charge for wireless access. Come on guys, this is 2013 and you are in the heart of the innovation world. The desk clerk told me he gets this complaint all the time. Guess they have more business than they need. They clearly do not want mine. 28 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to hitting the Mark While most of the experience was superb, a few small drawbacks. First, I am surprised by the rooms, very small compared to what I am used to, and the "deluxe upgrade" only got us a 9th floor room with no robes (I had to call). We went to the Top of the Mark to dine. The food was terrific, but our waiter, Jose, neglected to check on us after it was delivered, and for about ten minutes thereafter. See my review as a top reviewer on Trip Advisor for more information. 28 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable rooms and great service I had a very good experience. All the staff was very gentle and helpful. I recommend this hotel. 26 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A lovely hotel The Intercontinental Mark Hopkins is a lovely hotel. The junior suite was comfortable and spacious enough for a couple. While the cost of the hotel is on the high side, it was comfortable, luxurious and very accomodating. The best feature of the hotel is the Top of the Mark restaurant that overlooks the whole city. The food is good and the view in one of the best in town. While the Sunday Champagin Brunch is really over the top, so it the $175.00 cost of the brunch for a couple. It was a wonderful brunch, but a bit costlier than I had expected. I would recommend the hotel to anyone who islooking for a luxurious San Francisco experience. 25 May 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by I expected more The Mark Hopkins is a beautiful and scenic hotel, so I expected a little better service. My wife and I had booked a non-smoking room as a part of a promotional deal for a company party. When my wife checked us in on a Saturday afternoon she noticed a distinct smoke smell in the room. She called down to the front desk repeatedly and left a message requesting a room change, but there was never any response. She opened the window to air out the room, and sure enough there were cigarette butts on the window sill. Otherwise the room was nice enough; tasteful and not shabby, but nothing to get excited about. The wifi reception was decent. The hallways could have been tidier; we would always see random glassware or cutlery lying on the floor outside people's doors as we walked the hall to our room. The staff members we did interact with were helpful, and it was easy to get an extended checkout time when we needed it. It took over 15 minutes for the valet parking guys to retrieve my car the next day, which was annoying. Overall not impressed. 25 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent upgraded experience! Normally I don't do reviews but because of our situation, I felt the need to do it. This was a last minute reservation; called in the night before our stay. I had wanted to stay here and had looked a couple months before but it was booked up. I decided to check the night before for some fluke reason & had gotten availability. Because my husband snores we always book a one bedroom suite. When we arrived, the hotel receptionist expressed that the hotel was full; we still received an upgraded suite. She mentioned both instances. I was totally oblivious until we got to the suite. We found that our room was the Nob HIll suite and we were on the 14th floor. I was so totally thrilled with our room!!! We got the corner suite and just about the highest floor. This suite had kitchen, living room, large bedroom, 2 bathrooms and huge walkin closet. The views from all of the windows were spectacular. OMG! I was so pleased that I felt the need to expressed this. Thank you everyone at Mark Hopkins SF. I made a trip down to the front desk to thank our receptionist personally as I like to deal with the positives of life and felt the need to do this. As we checked out the next day, the male receptionist said that the Nob Hill suite is their most modern hotel room & he was right! Thank you again Mark Hopkins...we look forward to staying here again sometime soon! 25 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel Great rooms, location, and service but fitness room could be improved to match rest of hotel quality. Fitness room is average at best. 24 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by exquisite service The staff and service more than made up for the room. It was dusty when we arrived and bed was uncomfortable. The service at the top of the mark and the ability to take our meals there was GREAT...simply beautiful. Housekeeping staff cleaned our room daily and the dust was a thing of the past. The use of the Hotel Car service was very useful... Thank you everyone!! 23 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Service and Spectacular Views We just completed a fabulous one-night stay ay the Mark Hopkins - the best yet, due to a wonderful upgrade to the Nob Hill Suite. I grew up in San Francisco, have many warm memories of the Mark Hopkins, was married in Grace Cathedral, and particularly appreciated the unexpected upgrade to this marvelous suite on the weekend of my 30th high school reunion! Overall, the attentive service of your staff and beauty of the hotel premises were superb, as usual. You have secured my undying loyalty when visiting San Francisco in the future! Many Thanks. 23 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love staying at the Mark Hopkins We always stay at the Mark Hopkins when we visit San Francisco. It's a great hotel with great service. The Club Intercontinental is an especially attractive feature -- we highly recommend it. 22 May 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Failed to deliver room with a view despite reservation I reserved a Deluxe room for my mother during her visit on Mother's day weekend. The description for the room it stated "HIGH FLR RM FINANCIAL DIST AND BAY AREA VIEWS". However she was given a room on the lower floors and the view was the building directly across the front of the hotel, no Financial Dist or Bay Area. The stay at this historic hotel was a surprise gift and I had opted for the deluxe room for the view. While the room and service were all on par for high end properties, I am disappointed by the failure to deliver a promised feature. 22 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience. The hotel more than lived up to our expectations. Location was fantastic for us, room and bed very comfortable and view brilliant. Top of the Mark was an experience not to be missed. Although this hotel was booked as a package pre-cruise, we will most certainly use the hotel again if in San Francisco. 22 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel, but beware of 1 small IHG poilcy The hotel was beautiful and full of charm. The staff attentive and very knowledgeable of the surrounding area. The driveway into the hotel was a bit disconcerting the first time I attempted it. Because of it's location, the entrance to valet seemed like I was driving across a sidewalk to access the hotel. Once I got over that, all was well. The hotel is in a great area, with easy access to tourist destinations as well as the city center and the freeway systems. I heartily recommend this for the business travelor and the vacationers. Check in was a breeze as was checkout. The Concierge was really helpful finding me a couple of close vegetarian restaurants. The valet staff was the most cohesive group of valets I've ever seen. I do have two issues: My first issue was that the hotel didn't provide free wireless internet, but I guess it's a revenue stream for them to make up for lost phone revenue due to everyone having cell phones. My only other issue was a charge for checking out of the hotel early. I saw the charge on the website, so I can't beat them up for non-disclosure. However, it seems beneath a hotel of this caliber to charge for an early checkout. This is what dropped them from 5 stars to 4 stars. As far as I can tell, this is a policy in IHG hotels chainwide. While it won't prevent me from staying here again, I will be very careful in planning my business trips, as to avoid the charge. If the reason for this charge was because I was travelling on a government rate, then I will confidently change my rating back up to five stars. Otherwise, a great hotel. I'd definitely come back. 21 May 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a pleasant experience 1) The bed was very uncomfortable, it is too fluffy for our likings 2) The staff took a long time to bring amenities requested, such as band-aid, hot water and hair dryer (the pin of the hair dryer was spoilt). 3) The valet was not at all friendly and helpful, they make it a big issue when I just wanted to park my car outside for a while just to check in. They also claimed that all the car park in the area costs the same, when the car park just across the road is a lot cheaper. 4) The concierge was not available to provide me where and what to do in SF. 5) Dirty plates and glasses were not cleaned. Just left there. I have to set them all aside to get them to remove and provide clean ones. 20 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great as always Been coming here since 2001 and it has always been a great experience and a wonderful time. The view from the penthouse restaurant is spectacular. 14 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful service Thank you so much for our stay! Wonderful service, comfortable beds, knowledgable staff. The one of the best hotels in the world! 14 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by SMALL NECESSITIES My mother mentioned that the rooms should have the following: * not everyone drinks coffee. A tea kettle would be nice * at least 2 of the following should be found in the rooms: spoon, fork, knife. 12 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great views and location, OK service Hotels are pretty pricey in this part of San Francisco, but the Intercontinental Mark Hopkins is about the fairest price you can get for a four star. Our room was right on California Street on the 7th floor so it could be a little loud with the trolley service which seems to run at all hours. We enjoyed sunsets at The Top of the Mark bar and restaurant on the top floor. But I was not impressed with the service overall. Aside from some very nice and attentive bellhops, bartenders and housekeeping staff, the front desk and top of the Mark staff were borderline rude and disrespectful. I was especially put off when speaking with the concierge, who barely bothered to look up from what he was doing, and when he did, he seemed more interested in what was happening behind me in the lobby than the actual question I was asking. I hesitate to be negative in this review because some of the other service staff was so nice, but I was put off by these other service members who may be potentially managing the others. Also, the Internet expenses are beyond ridiculous considering the nightly fees. You couldn't even use the business centre Internet and had to pay for that use. 09 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and clean hotel The staff at this hotel was extremely helpful and friendly from check in to check out. I did not know the area very well and they were very knowledgable. The room was very clean and I had a beautiful view and it was quiet at night - three of the most important things to me when staying in a hotel! 08 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Nice and comfortable bed. Really happy with the stay. Thank you for the b-day cup cakes 05 May 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and comfortable bed Those were the two highlights of our stay at the Intercontinental Mark Hopkins. The room (we were in a King Deluxe) was old and tired with inadequate storage for a four night stay for two. There was only one robe and our request for a second was unfilled. I never did see a scale. I was shocked that Wi-Fi was not included. We have stayed at much less expensive hotels with free internet connection. One concierge was helpful, the other not so much. Street was noisy but the location and comfortable bed made up for that. 03 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a wonderful experience! Staying at The Mark Hopkins is a pleasure! I've spent many anniversaries and special occasions there. The views and service are spectacular. It's so nice to see the same staff there after many, many years and they seem to remember me too! The room upgrades of the new t.v. and Keurig coffee maker are very nice. I have to say that we did miss the movies on demand, though. I always stay at The Mark Hopkins when I go to San Francisco, and always look forward to a great experience. 03 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A wonderful trip to "the city." I've been here a couple of times. Each time is better. Thank you for upholding the special magic that makes San Francisco such a great city. 01 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spectacular, from the moment we walked in...very nice and well informed, beautiful, comfortable bedding,quiet, lovely!!!! We had a wonderful stay, wished we could have stayed longer..... We got upgraded, continental breakfast room and food ...delicious... just wished we could have stayed longer...... what was nice too.....is that there were no hidden charges!!!! 10+!!!!!!! 29 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great beds, excellent location Stayed here for a week in April for a conference. Comfortable room, nice views, good location and nice staff. 29 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view and comfortable room We have stayed in a lot of hotels worldwide and found the mark Hopkins excellent and great value for money. The staff were friendly and helpful which made a difference. I requested two rooms close together and was accommodated. We will definitely recommend the hotel and return if we make it back to San Francisco. 29 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mark Hopkins is THE BEST Had one of the best stays ever ina one of the best hotels, ever in one of the greatest cities in the world. Staff was unforgetable and invaluable in assisting me during a busy stay (business AND pleasure). Even the weather was perfect! The bed was so comfortable, I bought one! It's a Perfect Sleeper (custom made for the Mark Hopkins Intercontinental; Emerald Series). My only regret is that I missed the bunch at the Top of the Mark. Will definately get that one in next time, which will be as soon as possible. Thanks Mark Hopkins! 26 April 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Falls short of expectation This hotel falls short of expectation in every way possile except: Concierge, Valet, Room Service. For the price, the king room with a view: was too small for more than one comort chair so staying in the rooms for any anything other sleep was uncomfortable. I was expecting 2 chairs, an end table, a desk and enough room to turn the chairs. TV did not provide any programming other than standard channels. I was expeting movie channels, pay channels and "still in theaters" pay movies. The Top of the Mark bar provided poor, unfriendly service. Average wait time per drink was 20 minuntes in a room that was not crowded. The band play 10 minutes sets and took 20 minute breaks. They band played so little, so often that people would leave after only one drink. This may also be due to the long wait time on drinks. 25 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by WOW By far the best place to stay in San Francisco. We just had a day layover before a Napa Valley trip to enjoy San Francisco. The whole visit was completely outstanding from the moment you arrive to departure. 20 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always the best We continue to make The Mark our place to stay whenever we visit the city. Gracious and professional staff and a more intimate lobby environment, along with great views from the rooms, make our stays always memorable. We recommend it highly. 18 April 2013
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 22 next>>
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    9:05 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs