Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 692 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel I am not one to normally review a hotel, but this one deserves a mention. I stayed here twice in a two week period whilst in the bay area , the second stay was made by me taking the decision to cancel my existing reservation at another hotel in preference to this hotel as I was so impressed with the customer care. From the moment you turn up at the hotel, the door men are smiling and give a great welcome, the reservation desks are more than happy to help. A special mention must go to Ana in the club lounge who was always welcoming and had remembered my name when I returned to the hotel the second time. I travel extensively with work and have to say that I haven't come across such a "happy" hotel in a very long time. Well done to all ! 17 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Memorable Stay A friend recommended the Mark Hopkins to us. He said it was his favorite hotel in San Francisco; now we see why. From the men at the door, who took great care of us, to Dan at the concierge desk, who helped guide us around the city, to the host at the Top of the Mark, who remembered us from one night to the next, our experience with the staff was world class. We booked a basic king room, and it was basic. Nothing special. But it was clean and comfortable and quiet. Two highlights of the stay: the breakfast, which was a delicious buffet; and the Top of the Mark, where one night we watched the full moon rise over the Bay Bridge. Our biggest frustration was the price of the room. We booked it for two nights, and the second night it was almost double the price. At the first night's price, the value was remarkable; the second night, not so much. Averaged out, the value was very good, for San Francisco prices. Still, we could never figure out the discrepancy in price. Also, for a hotel like the Mark, it probably should include Wifi. All in all, we'll look forward to coming back. 16 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by San Francisco Upon arriving late in the evening, we were greeted with a very friendly staff. Our room was clean and the valet took car of our car. We had a room with a view of the Golden Gate Bride and Alcatraz once the fog burned off. Overall, our experience was enjoyable. 16 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very small room, good service and comfortable bed. The room was quite small and the bathroom was quite small too. No fan in the bathroom. Otherwise the room was clean and a nice bed. I was attending a conference at the hotel. The dining and drinks were expensive but quite good. We could hear noise from outside the room but not troublesome. Despite the small room and bathroom we enjoyed staying in a place of history at the very top of the city. We where honored to have the opportunity to stay at the top of the mark. 15 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and Great Location. We really felt like honored guest, received an upgraded room with a partial view. Want to go to a Restaurant in North Beach and was helped by the Concierge to get a reservation for dinner. Went to the lounge after checking in and sat at the bar and had a nice conversation with the bartender. Went to "Beach Blanket Babylon" and we were able to walk to that and to the restaurant from the Hotel. We were also allow a late checkout on the day we left which afforded us the ability to spend some time down by fisherman's wharf and have lunch there before returning to the hotel to check out 15 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service & Helpful Staff I really enjoyed my stay here. The people were nice and very helpful to get me around this busy city. This hotel is worth every penny from the views, to the amazing staff that go out of your way to ensure your comfort. Happy to stay again!! 15 September 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Would not stay again I've stayed at 5 different hotels in the San Fran area so far and this is by far the worst one. the Bed was comfortable but that was the only positive thing going for it. There Wi-Fi was spotty at best working on and off the entire week. I'm traveling for business so it was impossible to do work. in my room my windows would not close properly all the way down so there would be the occasional flies in my room and the air conditioning was not working properly. the staff was nonchalant and didn't really seem to care when I brought up the issues. whenever I tried calling or going to the front desk about my concerns, they would tell me to call this number or that number and when I did I would always get transferred to another department and never got my situations resolved. If you are platinum status member that means absolutely nothing here, as in you don't get the same perks as you would if you were top status at competitors or even other IHG hotels. To top it off (literally) they are located on top of basically a mountain which take takes a while to get there if you are working at the financial district. one of the worst location a hotel could be. I travel 60% of the time and I've never written a review for a hotel but this has to be the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. I would recommend staying at a different hotel, I have recommendations in the San Fran but I'm refrained from mentioning them on here, however the other hotels I've stayed at in the San Fran area have been some of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. This really has me considering cutting ties to all IHG and canceling my credit card with them as well. I recommend again to stay somewhere else. 15 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff We had a great stay in this beautiful hotel which is in a great location. Everyone there was very friendly and helpful. After a long drive, we were so appreciative that we had a quick, friendly check in (even though it was before 3pm). Great service! 11 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best bed ever and great staff service! The concierge and staff were friendly and helpful. Very attentive. And the accomodations, bed, mattress were excellent. 11 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Historic Hotel Perched on Nob Hill I stayed here on business, but found the hotel staff to be very knowledgeable about local sights, restaurants, and public transportation, which abounds and is very close by, including cable cars! It's a fight to get hot water early in the morning, but it is a large, HISTORIC, hotel and plumbing is always an issue in these places. So, just adjust your expectations to waiting for hot water to arrive at your tap, and relax and enjoy everything else that this hotel offers, which is always over the top. 11 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Knowledgeable staff I booked the hotel because of a seminar that was being held at the location and also decided to stay a couple of more days to explore. All four days, we asked the doorman if he could tell us of a good Italian restaurant, a Steak House, how to catch the cable cars, how do we get to ....... He was fantastic! He never failed us. We would definitely return and recommend to all of our family and friends. 10 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Has a great location overlooking the city. The Mark bar is awesome 09 September 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Way Below Expectation I have been a member for years with 133K points and tried all membership levels Platinum, Gold and Club. My experience with this particular hotel wasn’t expected. At the time of check in my luggage were left at the entrance door I had to ask three times to get them in. Moreover, when I was ready to check out I asked to be assisted with my luggage and have them into my car, surprisingly I was asked to carry them myself and the excuse was “we are busy at the moment!” 09 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lots of history and beautiful site I had no problems with this hotel, the service or staff. In the future, however, if I were to attend a conference that takes place downtown, I would stay closer to the conference site - it is a long climb up the hill to this hotel. 09 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by little things are what make a stay luxurious Bar prices and not serving nibbles with drinks makes the place seem cheap and money grabbing, as opposed to caring for clients' comfort. it was the only hotel we visited in California where Wi FI was not freely available, and this confirmed our opinion that smaller, less well known hotels are more caring . It is amazing how these seemingly innocuous things taint a visit , but unfortunately they did. It truly is with the little things that true hospitality is felt. 05 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay in a Grand Hotel I enjoyed the outstanding accommodations (one bedroom corner suite with a crystal chandelier, orchid, Bose stereo, high floor, spectacular view, and soaking tub with whirlpool jets), meals (breakfast at Nob Hill Club and Ambassador amenity of fresh fruit, local organic chocolates, and mineral water), and service (Ana in Guest Relations, Wayne and Jaap at the Nob Hill Club, Toy from Room Service, Housekeeping, Front Desk, and Instant Service). Very civilized! Bravo! 05 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Old San Francisco with Intercon Quality The Mark Hopkins is one of my favorite hotels in the world. A San Francisco landmark with all of the comforts of Intercontinental. Staff are extremely courteous and helpful and always upgrade if rooms are available. I highly recommend this hotel. 04 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this five star California property! This was my first stay at the Mark Hopkins after several visits to the Top of the Mark. I was very much looking forward to my stay and I was not disappointed. Upon checking in the front desk associate that checked me in was so very professional and classy. She also upgraded me to a suite and was very knowledgable when answering my questions on the area. The room was fantastic!! Beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and the bed was so comfortable I fell asleep every night in five minutes! We had breakfast every morning in the "Club" and cocktails in the evening. The restaurant staff working there are fantastic and go above and beyond. Ana, David and Denise are great! We also enjoyed taking pictures around the lovely hotel. We will definitely return when visiting the city again. 03 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First time in San Francisco... will be back! I visited San Francisco for the first time with my sister's in law to celebrate a 50th birthday! We had the best time! The Mark Hopkins was a pleasant place to stay. Top of the Mark for cocktails and apps was perfect every time! I had contacted the concierge about doing something special for my sister in laws 50th birthday -they mentioned they would send to her room a small cake but it did not arrive during the 3 nights we stayed .... disappointing but will not discourage me from returning again in the future. 03 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay!!!! Everything you would want from your hotel! Staff friendly, excellent amenities, breakfast is fab. 03 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I shall return The Top of the Mark has always been one of my favorite stops when I am in the city, which makes it convent to stay at the hotel. I also like your pre-pay discount you offer, which make in incredible value. A truly beautiful property with plenty of old world charm and elegance. I shall return! Thanks for the great service too! J. T. 02 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful decor and views of the city The Mark Hopkins hotel is an amazing historical experience with awesome views from guest rooms only to be trumped by the view from Top of Mark. Take time to read the history while enjoying the lobby. 02 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Experience Fantastic value for money..............excellent location, superlative service and caring staff. 01 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Well situated Great hotel and situation. Don't volunteer mini bar use for last day at check out, let the mini bar checker bill or you may get billed twice as happened to us. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay at the MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO 31 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by einfach toll im Rahmen einer Alaska Kreuzfahrt wurden wir von der veranstaltenden Reederei im InterConti Mark Hopkins in SFO für eine Nacht vor der Abreise eingebucht. Wir waren begeistert von dem tollen Service der Concierge, wie auf meine Sonderwünsche in "Top of the Mark" ausserhalb der Menuekarte eingegangen wurde und über die wirklich gute Zimmerqualität der "Budget"-Zimmer. Auf jeden Fall empfehlenswert. Nur hatten wir leichtes Atemstocken beim Preis der Mini-Bar-Cola, von der wir leider vorab nicht den Preis erfragt, sondern wegen Bedarf einfach konsumiert hatten.. 31 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT CLASSIC HOTEL THIS IS A GREAT CLASSIC HOTEL WITH HISTORY, IT OFFERS GREAT VIEWS BEING SITUATED ON THE TOP OF A HILL SLIGHTLY DATED BUT CHARMING INTERNET IS NOT COMPLIMENTARY 30 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Stay for our 40th anniversary. Great experience. Club upgrade was a great choice. Staff first class, rooms comfortable and quiet. Location good. Would absolutely recommend to anyone. 29 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel, not the greatest value I had previously stayed at the Hotel by booking through a third party site and had a fine experience. On this occasion I booked through the IHG site and reserved a Deluxe room, paying nearly 35% more than my previous visit. Needless to say I was rather disappointed when I discovered I was literally staying in the same room as my previous visit to the property. I was certainly expecting a higher floor with a superior view, and perhaps a larger room. The hotel is beautiful and service exceptional, however I have to question the value of staying at the property in light of this situation. 29 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Elegant Old Hotel I stayed 6 nights in a club junior suite mid August 2014. The room was beautiful with three large windows overlooking downtown San Francisco. The bathroom is smallish but adequate. Space in the public areas is at a premium at this old hotel but it is elegant and comfortable. The checkin staff were fine but I've had better. The staff in the club lounge which doubles as the hotel restaurant are efficient but a little cold. I was actually told off for accompanying my friend at breakfast after I'd already had breakfast .. this is depite paying over $600 per night which I consider steep. Overall though it was a great experience and the forecourt staff are obliging and entertaining whistling for a cab whenever this is required. Be aware that the lifts are always busy exaccerbated by the Top of the Mark crowd also using the hotel lifts. 29 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by First Trip to SF Booked hotel for its history in the city. Very nice hotel, location - Nob Hill. Staff was wonderful, hotel very clean. Bed not so good. Needed a new mattress. Food was good but pricey. Top of the Mark - historic! 26 August 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    7:41 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs