Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 641 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a great location We always return to Inter Continental Mark Hopkins. Love the location and the view. The service was good and the rooms comfortable. 09 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Never Dissapointed...... This was our third visit to the property. As always, the hotel staff was attentive, the room was great and Daniela and her team afforded us the usual warm welcome. We will be returning soon... 08 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place but unreasonably priced I really expected to be a bit spoiled when I stayed at this hotel. For the cost it would be nice to give your guests complimentary water bottles (instead of $8.00 for an Evian bottle) and coffee in the lobby in the morning. The room was just average and did not have enough outlets for phone chargers, hair dryers/straighteners, etc. What did make it nice was the wonderfully kind staff. 06 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Great hotel with modern rooms of a good size, and a very comfortable bed! The service staff was very friendly. 06 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience We were impressed with the Hotel room and especially the staff. The front desk was very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. 05 August 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by They Tried.... All I can say is they tried... First it was waiting for elevator, then the room key did not work, back down again. Decided to walk around town that night, so I turned the A/C to a nice 64. By the time I got back the room it was a balmy 75. Maintenance was in the room at midnight to try and fix it, said it was working fine though. After plugging in a portable A/C unit, the screeching sound of duct tape as he is putting the vents out the window pierced the hum of the machine, then the room finally cooled down to 72. David the manager offered me breakfast which was great but...... Since they unplugged my phone charger to the only plug in the room for the portable A/C unit, my alarm never rang. I grabbed a coffee and bagel. I'm sure the rest of hotel was nice but I never got the opportunity to see it. The best service I received was from the valet, they had my car running and A/C ready, destination programmed in GPS and everything ... Phenomenal Service from Valet 04 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay on Nob Hill The Mark Hopkins was an excellent hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms, although small, had everything we needed. Don't forget your walking shoes if you visit since it's at the top of the hill! 04 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A Great Hotel in need of Love This is a great hotel badly in need of some love for its great history and iconic name. The furnishing including the window treatments in the room are disgraceful. The lobby is an empty barn. The Top of the Mark is a junk yard located in an iconic spot relying on its views--certainly not on its value for cost and service. That a San Francisco landmark is so little valued by Intercontinental is a sad commentary on a company that is competing with the Fairmont, the Ritz Carleton, the Mandarin Oriental, and even the Palace. If you don't care about these things, then the hotel is for you.....the rooms are large and what updating has been done is seen in some of the room's decor. All in all, a sad experience. 04 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort and outstanding customer experience This hotel has an excellent location! Great view. The whole staff is committed to provide and create an outstanding customer experience! 02 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sweet suites The hotel was central to everything and right on to of a very high hill, all the surrounding streets were difficult to walk if you were slightly disabled. On the plus side there were no shortage of taxis and at reasonable costs. We were upgraded to a fantastic suite with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Not so good for my friend who got the roller away the views were great but for comfort we shifted back to a twin view. We ended up on a much lower floor with limited views. The room vas comfortable but a little cramped. Even the size of the bath towels changed. We found the staff always helpful and even fun. We love the cocktails at the Top of The Mark. I would love to return there but I'm not sure if the budget will extend that far. Check out the club package. Good value and very obliging staff. We had a good stay and were sad to leave. 02 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous stay at MHIC We just had an amazing stay at the MHIC hotel! The room we booked through general reservations was small for our family of four so we were upgraded to a larger room which was beautiful and had a fabulous view. Before we left for San Fran I was really bummed because the trip was last minute and I was unable to find Alcatraz tickets anywhere online. I called the hotel and spoke with Dan who went out of his way to find tickets for us when they were unavailable elsewhere. The staff was fabulous and the room was beautiful and the location was great. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. It is worth every penny!!!! 01 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Special Weekend at the Mark Hopkins We really liked some of the changes at the Mark Hopkins since our last visit. The Club continues to be an outstanding value, especially the breakfast buffet with a very creative variety of choices. We really appreciated Ana, the Club concierge, for all her assistance during our stay. From our check-in experiences to check-out, the Mark Hopkins staff are incredibly diligent and caring. It was a joy to return and we look forward to our next opportunity. 31 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent historic hotel Initially we planned just to stay at the airport as we had a long haul flight to catch. But last minute, we decided to book the Mark Hopkins instead as rates were on par with Airport hotels. We did not regret it. Valet was very professional and helpful with our luggage. At checkin we were instantly recognised as Gold Ambassadors and received an upgrade plus the benefits which come with being member. We did not need to ask for it and this is always nice. We had our pre-dinner drinks and snacks at Top of the Tier, which we visited after 4th of July again, This time amazing views which made up for the fog on Independence day. The crew there is iconic and my wife got in trouble to decide finally what kind of Martini she should order. Overall a very memorable stay, the only downturn is the very high Valet price. I would wish that the management would reconsider it's pricing policy and putting them on par with other hotels. Despite that, we shall return, we love this hotel and it's ambassadors 30 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top notch Everything about the Mark Hopkins San Francisco was top notch. Staff and service were outstanding. I was treated like royalty. I would definitely recommend this as a great place to stay in SF. 30 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room 1205 My husband and I were looking for some quiet time in the City...the Mark Hopkins more than supplied us with a wonderful room, quick room service, beautiful views and the friendly staff were great! Would I recommend? I already have ~ Dan & Sue 30 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in an ideal location Stayed here with our two children for three nights to explore the main sights of San Francisco. Central location, Rooms are spacious enough for a family with faultless housekeeping . Would recommend the nearby Nobb Hill cafe to eat. 29 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, some facilites need improvement Hi Team, The staff (as always) are courteous, pleasant and professional... Thank you to all. The Elevators sure do need a motor and/or logic upgrade. Several times I spent more than 5 minutes waiting for a lift. Perhaps change the sign on the stairs to let us know we can use them... very frustrating. The showers are still very poor, I am convinced I am wasting more water (not to mention time) than if there was sufficient water pressure. The bed covering was a little too warm, I had the thermostat set to 61 Degrees Fahrenheit and still had trouble sleeping... $$$ on electricity? (and yes I tried sleeping with just the sheet too (too cold, even when thermostat set higher) I hope you find this feedback useful. Kind Regards, Paddy 27 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top on Nob Hill I booked the Mark Hopkins, after I had stayed there on a business trip 2 years ago. And again it has been a great experience. We originally planned to stay two nights, and we ended up extending our stay until our plane wss due 2 days later. The staff is very competent, helpful and friendly. The maid left a nice note of gratitude for the tip, and with one of the porters I had an interesting conversation about philosophy in America and Europe. David (?) at the reception desk patiently helped me figure out the best bargain for the extra nights we wanted to book. We enjoyed the benefits of a package including the (extraordinarily generous) breakfast, the valet parking, and a MUNI day pass incl the cable car, which conviently stops right in front of the hotel. Although we sometimes felt tempted to not even leave the room (on the 14th floor), with a great view (towards the Golden Gate Bridge). I am traveling a lot, and usually stay in 4 or 5 * hotels, thus, I know, what to expect. The Mark Hopkins really exceeded my expectations. Flawless. An awesome experience, and a memorable way to end our 3-week holiday in California. An extra plus is, by the way, that the windows in the guest rooms open, and that the WiFi is free of charge for IHG Reward Members. 25 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and wonderful hotel From the moment we entered the lobby at the hotel we were made to feel extremely welcome. For those arriving at Powell Street I can highly recommend buying a three / seven day travel card from the Walgreen Store as this will give you instant access onto the Cable Car that takes you to within one stop of the hotel. Trust me, the maps don't do the hills justice! The room and view were amazing. We stayed three nights and slept extremely well on all three. We switched the AC off and let the sounds of the city drift into the room. Hearing the bells of the cable cars at around 6am was fantastic. SF is a quiet city, with very few sirens and noise. Each morning we were greeted at breakfast like old friends. Wonderful service with food to match. Thank you all so much for being part of a memorable holiday! 25 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My 40th Stay at the Mark Hopkins I was extremely pleased with my one bedroom suite on a high floor with a spectacular view of the SF Bay, Bay Bridge, Berkeley (including Sather Tower and the Claremont Resort), Financial District, Chinatown, Union Square, the Fairmont's rooftop garden, the Westin St. Francis, and the Intercontinental SF. I enjoyed looking down from Nob Hill on skyscrapers like the Hunter-Dulin Building (111 Sutter Street), 580 California Street with its twelve statues of the Corporate Goddesses, and 505 Montgomery Street. My suite was immaculate, and everything was in perfect working order. There was a beautiful orchid in my room, as well as a dining room table with four chairs and a crystal chandelier (that was not missing any crystals, including the large spherical crystal at the bottom, which is my favorite crystal). The king bed was extremely comfortable; there was a Bose stereo next to the bed and French doors leading to the bedroom. The bedroom also had a flat-screen HDTV. I was a very happy camper, and I got a great night's sleep. The marble bath had a soaking tub with whirlpool jets and a separate shower. The living area had a sofa and two sitting chairs along with a large flat-screen HDTV with a variety of HD channels available. It was a very clear day, and earlier in the day I had been able to see the Farallon Islands and Point Reyes from Sutro Heights Park before visiting the Legion of Honor fine art museum. At the Legion of Honor, I saw the special exhibit, Intimate Impressionism from the National Gallery of Art, as well as the Salon Dore, 17th- and 18th-Century Decorative Arts (French period rooms; masterpieces of French furniture, including a sofa formerly belonging to Marie Antoinette; mounted porcelain; European glass. One of the period rooms featured excellent natural wood and gilded boiseries. The stunning Italian rock crystal chandelier dates to 1730 and was a gift to the museum from Madame Jacques Balsan, nee Consuelo Vanderbilt), and Water Lilies by Claude Monet (Gallery 19). Ana in guest relations was excellent as always. Due to my Ambassador membership, there was a welcome amenity consisting of mineral water, fruit, and local organic chocolates already in my room upon check-in; I also received a complimentary newspaper of my choice in the morning. In the early evening, I could hear the J-pop Live at Union Square concert through an open window in my suite. In the morning, I had the elegant champagne Sunday brunch at the Top of the Mark. I had a great table with a view of Alcatraz, Grace Cathedral, the Palace of Fine Arts, and Russian Hill. My server was the always attentive Jose, the maitre d' was Patty, and the pianist was Mike, who played a couple of Duke Ellington tunes at my request. I enjoyed the oysters on the half shell, caviar station with blinis, stone fruit salad with mint, fig salad, Caesar salad, heirloom tomatoes with mozzarella ciliegine, smoked fish, fresh fruit, salamis, New York steak with mushrooms, ravioli with sun dried tomatoes, Beef Wellington, prime rib au jus, beef ribs, and asparagus. For dessert, I enjoyed the famous Mark Hopkins bread pudding, bear claw, strawberry ice cream served in a martini glass with rum, apricot/plum/jello served in a glass, French pastry cones with raspberries, flan, and creme brûlée. I did not have room for the dim sum, minestrone soup, French toast, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, potatoes, seafood paella, omelette station, assorted gourmet cheeses, or breads. The Mark Hopkins provides outstanding accommodations, dining, and service. To quote the character M. Gustave from the film The Grant Budapest Hotel, "You see, there are still faint glimmers of civilization left in this barbaric slaughterhouse that was once known as humanity." 24 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Adelaide on Reception Hi, We were delighted with the service we received from Adelaide on checking in. The Booking Agent did not confirm our booking of a King Room and a Double room , to accommodate our 3 teenage children. Adelaide arranged for us to have another luxury room which was wonderfully comfortable. 23 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Made Our Anniversary Special! We stayed at the Mark Hopkins during our visit to San Francisco celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The staff was simply awesome, John, Marie Helene, Mary Jane (Top of the Mark) all provided excellent service. The King Executive room was perfect for the stay, awesome views and quiet. I highly recommend staying here if you're visiting the city. 23 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We will return First, I want to thank George, our concierge, who did a tremendous job of finding just the right restaurants for us to help make our trip even more memorable. He went above and beyond the call of duty. We loved the view from our room and the comfort of the bed. The only issues would be two. First, it would be nice if we could have ordered off of the menu for breakfast instead of the buffet, and second, I believe that guests of the hotel should be moved to priority seat at the Top of the Mark. These are minor issues, though, that will not stop us from another visit. 23 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room, impossible to access amenities First, when I got into the hotel, I tried to call the laundry to have a shirt cleaned and pressed. The button for the laundry on the phone seemed to do nothing. I could not contact the concierge. I asked the front desk on my way out that afternoon to have the phone checked out to see if it was okay while I was away. On my first morning in the hotel, I tried to order room service. The phone constantly got a busy signal. I even tried calling the front desk form my cell phone, and I could not get through. Eventually, I went to the restaurant to put in an order to be delivered to my room. Even the host could not get through to room service and had to take my order down by hand. All of the standard amenities that one expects from even the most basic hotel seemed inaccessible during my stay. 22 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel that Enhanced Our Vacation The personnel at this hotel were all extremely friendly and helpful. The check-in line had one person in front of me but since I was a Platinum Elite member they took me to another station so I would not have to wait. We checked in early so they moved our luggage to a beautiful room while we were sightseeing. They called us so we would know the room was ready whenever we wanted to return. The view from our room was spectacular. My wife and I got hungry after the restaurant had closed so the doorman directed us to a perfectly romantic Italian Bistro that was only two blocks away! It was a great stay and truly enhanced our vacation! 22 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Extras I was surprised that the hotel charged $15 per 24 hour for Wi Fi usage. As this costs the hotel virtually nothing to supply, and considering the price of the rooms, it would not be too much to ask to have free wi fi and the guests would appreciate it and be inclined to spread the word that the Inter Continental had free wi fi. It was virtually impossible to get a reliable signal in the room I occupied (322) but the hotel refunded my payments. Just one more thing regarding room service, by the time all the extras had been added to the charge, they were almost as much as the food ordered. Not everyone has unlimited funds. Other than that it was a pleasant stay. 19 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by services comfortable bed and good services, particularly of the concierge. 18 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and location! Moved here from another hotel that did not meet my expectations. I had stayed here before and it was an excellent value and a memorable experience for my teenage companions on their first visit to SanFran. 18 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Top of the World The Mark Hopkins Hotel sits on Nob Hill, is steeped in rich tradition and is a grand place to stay. The staff was very gracious and tended to all of our needs. The location and views are excellent! A must place to stay while in San Francisco. 18 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing getaway Our stay here was very enjoyable. The room was excellent the service could not be better.. The staff very knolagable about the town and sights. They informed us upon arrivable that we coul buy a pass at the near by wallgreens for the cable cars and bus, as well as supplied a map with routes. Would stay here again. 17 July 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    10:59 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs