Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 686 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Would not stay again I've stayed at 5 different hotels in the San Fran area so far and this is by far the worst one. the Bed was comfortable but that was the only positive thing going for it. There Wi-Fi was spotty at best working on and off the entire week. I'm traveling for business so it was impossible to do work. in my room my windows would not close properly all the way down so there would be the occasional flies in my room and the air conditioning was not working properly. the staff was nonchalant and didn't really seem to care when I brought up the issues. whenever I tried calling or going to the front desk about my concerns, they would tell me to call this number or that number and when I did I would always get transferred to another department and never got my situations resolved. If you are platinum status member that means absolutely nothing here, as in you don't get the same perks as you would if you were top status at competitors or even other IHG hotels. To top it off (literally) they are located on top of basically a mountain which take takes a while to get there if you are working at the financial district. one of the worst location a hotel could be. I travel 60% of the time and I've never written a review for a hotel but this has to be the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. I would recommend staying at a different hotel, I have recommendations in the San Fran but I'm refrained from mentioning them on here, however the other hotels I've stayed at in the San Fran area have been some of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. This really has me considering cutting ties to all IHG and canceling my credit card with them as well. I recommend again to stay somewhere else. 15 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff We had a great stay in this beautiful hotel which is in a great location. Everyone there was very friendly and helpful. After a long drive, we were so appreciative that we had a quick, friendly check in (even though it was before 3pm). Great service! 11 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best bed ever and great staff service! The concierge and staff were friendly and helpful. Very attentive. And the accomodations, bed, mattress were excellent. 11 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Historic Hotel Perched on Nob Hill I stayed here on business, but found the hotel staff to be very knowledgeable about local sights, restaurants, and public transportation, which abounds and is very close by, including cable cars! It's a fight to get hot water early in the morning, but it is a large, HISTORIC, hotel and plumbing is always an issue in these places. So, just adjust your expectations to waiting for hot water to arrive at your tap, and relax and enjoy everything else that this hotel offers, which is always over the top. 11 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Knowledgeable staff I booked the hotel because of a seminar that was being held at the location and also decided to stay a couple of more days to explore. All four days, we asked the doorman if he could tell us of a good Italian restaurant, a Steak House, how to catch the cable cars, how do we get to ....... He was fantastic! He never failed us. We would definitely return and recommend to all of our family and friends. 10 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Has a great location overlooking the city. The Mark bar is awesome 09 September 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Way Below Expectation I have been a member for years with 133K points and tried all membership levels Platinum, Gold and Club. My experience with this particular hotel wasn’t expected. At the time of check in my luggage were left at the entrance door I had to ask three times to get them in. Moreover, when I was ready to check out I asked to be assisted with my luggage and have them into my car, surprisingly I was asked to carry them myself and the excuse was “we are busy at the moment!” 09 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lots of history and beautiful site I had no problems with this hotel, the service or staff. In the future, however, if I were to attend a conference that takes place downtown, I would stay closer to the conference site - it is a long climb up the hill to this hotel. 09 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by little things are what make a stay luxurious Bar prices and not serving nibbles with drinks makes the place seem cheap and money grabbing, as opposed to caring for clients' comfort. it was the only hotel we visited in California where Wi FI was not freely available, and this confirmed our opinion that smaller, less well known hotels are more caring . It is amazing how these seemingly innocuous things taint a visit , but unfortunately they did. It truly is with the little things that true hospitality is felt. 05 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay in a Grand Hotel I enjoyed the outstanding accommodations (one bedroom corner suite with a crystal chandelier, orchid, Bose stereo, high floor, spectacular view, and soaking tub with whirlpool jets), meals (breakfast at Nob Hill Club and Ambassador amenity of fresh fruit, local organic chocolates, and mineral water), and service (Ana in Guest Relations, Wayne and Jaap at the Nob Hill Club, Toy from Room Service, Housekeeping, Front Desk, and Instant Service). Very civilized! Bravo! 05 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Old San Francisco with Intercon Quality The Mark Hopkins is one of my favorite hotels in the world. A San Francisco landmark with all of the comforts of Intercontinental. Staff are extremely courteous and helpful and always upgrade if rooms are available. I highly recommend this hotel. 04 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this five star California property! This was my first stay at the Mark Hopkins after several visits to the Top of the Mark. I was very much looking forward to my stay and I was not disappointed. Upon checking in the front desk associate that checked me in was so very professional and classy. She also upgraded me to a suite and was very knowledgable when answering my questions on the area. The room was fantastic!! Beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and the bed was so comfortable I fell asleep every night in five minutes! We had breakfast every morning in the "Club" and cocktails in the evening. The restaurant staff working there are fantastic and go above and beyond. Ana, David and Denise are great! We also enjoyed taking pictures around the lovely hotel. We will definitely return when visiting the city again. 03 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First time in San Francisco... will be back! I visited San Francisco for the first time with my sister's in law to celebrate a 50th birthday! We had the best time! The Mark Hopkins was a pleasant place to stay. Top of the Mark for cocktails and apps was perfect every time! I had contacted the concierge about doing something special for my sister in laws 50th birthday -they mentioned they would send to her room a small cake but it did not arrive during the 3 nights we stayed .... disappointing but will not discourage me from returning again in the future. 03 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay!!!! Everything you would want from your hotel! Staff friendly, excellent amenities, breakfast is fab. 03 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I shall return The Top of the Mark has always been one of my favorite stops when I am in the city, which makes it convent to stay at the hotel. I also like your pre-pay discount you offer, which make in incredible value. A truly beautiful property with plenty of old world charm and elegance. I shall return! Thanks for the great service too! J. T. 02 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful decor and views of the city The Mark Hopkins hotel is an amazing historical experience with awesome views from guest rooms only to be trumped by the view from Top of Mark. Take time to read the history while enjoying the lobby. 02 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Experience Fantastic value for money..............excellent location, superlative service and caring staff. 01 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Well situated Great hotel and situation. Don't volunteer mini bar use for last day at check out, let the mini bar checker bill or you may get billed twice as happened to us. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay at the MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO 31 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by einfach toll im Rahmen einer Alaska Kreuzfahrt wurden wir von der veranstaltenden Reederei im InterConti Mark Hopkins in SFO für eine Nacht vor der Abreise eingebucht. Wir waren begeistert von dem tollen Service der Concierge, wie auf meine Sonderwünsche in "Top of the Mark" ausserhalb der Menuekarte eingegangen wurde und über die wirklich gute Zimmerqualität der "Budget"-Zimmer. Auf jeden Fall empfehlenswert. Nur hatten wir leichtes Atemstocken beim Preis der Mini-Bar-Cola, von der wir leider vorab nicht den Preis erfragt, sondern wegen Bedarf einfach konsumiert hatten.. 31 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT CLASSIC HOTEL THIS IS A GREAT CLASSIC HOTEL WITH HISTORY, IT OFFERS GREAT VIEWS BEING SITUATED ON THE TOP OF A HILL SLIGHTLY DATED BUT CHARMING INTERNET IS NOT COMPLIMENTARY 30 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Stay for our 40th anniversary. Great experience. Club upgrade was a great choice. Staff first class, rooms comfortable and quiet. Location good. Would absolutely recommend to anyone. 29 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel, not the greatest value I had previously stayed at the Hotel by booking through a third party site and had a fine experience. On this occasion I booked through the IHG site and reserved a Deluxe room, paying nearly 35% more than my previous visit. Needless to say I was rather disappointed when I discovered I was literally staying in the same room as my previous visit to the property. I was certainly expecting a higher floor with a superior view, and perhaps a larger room. The hotel is beautiful and service exceptional, however I have to question the value of staying at the property in light of this situation. 29 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Elegant Old Hotel I stayed 6 nights in a club junior suite mid August 2014. The room was beautiful with three large windows overlooking downtown San Francisco. The bathroom is smallish but adequate. Space in the public areas is at a premium at this old hotel but it is elegant and comfortable. The checkin staff were fine but I've had better. The staff in the club lounge which doubles as the hotel restaurant are efficient but a little cold. I was actually told off for accompanying my friend at breakfast after I'd already had breakfast .. this is depite paying over $600 per night which I consider steep. Overall though it was a great experience and the forecourt staff are obliging and entertaining whistling for a cab whenever this is required. Be aware that the lifts are always busy exaccerbated by the Top of the Mark crowd also using the hotel lifts. 29 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by First Trip to SF Booked hotel for its history in the city. Very nice hotel, location - Nob Hill. Staff was wonderful, hotel very clean. Bed not so good. Needed a new mattress. Food was good but pricey. Top of the Mark - historic! 26 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor check in and front desk service The front office staff for check in has a very casual attitude and they are not aware of reward system, tiers and benefits Inspite of presenting my membership card during check in, I was not provided with any Intercontinental Ambassador club benefits. The staff could not even link my reservation with the membership number. Instead they created a new account for me (which I was not aware until I checked out). I have stayed at the hotel earlier and my previous experience was quite smooth. I fail to understand what went wrong during this particular stay. The issue must have been with the staff who checked me in. The hotel should ensure that all their staff managing the front desk are properly trained to handle guests 26 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Hotel The hotel was wonderful! Staff checking us in was amazing. I don't remember the ladies name at the front desk but she was young (from Monterey CA) and was an absolute pleasure!! We were then placed into our room 1420 and the view was breathtaking! you have a beautiful hotel, a real SF jewel. I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in SF! 25 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by True San Francisco Experience Location, service, quality make the Mark Hopkins the perfect choice for a visit to the City by the Bay. Loved walking to restaurants, easy access to public transportation, the elegance and tradition and being in the center of the city for all the sites. The views and excellence of the hotel make the visit truly memorable. 24 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Iconic hotel Fantastic location to for business or pleasure in San Francisco. Everything easily reachable by either cable car or MUNI but hotel not in touristy or convention area. The hotel was a quiet reprieve from a day of sightseeing. 24 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Travel California Very comfy beds and most staff was very friendly and at your service if asked a question. 22 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service Excels This hotel is located away from the major tourist venues which is actually a good thing. It means you stay in a good location and get plenty of exercise if you want it. The staff were all outstanding and provided great service. It is not an inexpensive hotel but represents getting what you pay for. I would certainly stay here again. Not a place for a family as its away from where the kids want to go but for every other reason its a good choice. There is a great sense of history and the elegance of the hotel remains. Although its an older location everything works with good services and a shower that really wakes you up in the morning. 21 August 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    5:02 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs