Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 478 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by great place to see SF great staff, especially in club...attentive and full service 17 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet Room; Delicious Food After lengthy conference days, the room provided the perfect respite - quiet, clean, warm and spacious. Great chef and tasty food put the exclamation point on the experience. 14 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel and very good service I would have liked to have a better upgrade. In fact I am AMBASSADOR MEMBER since many years ago and in the mos part of your Hotels I get at least a Junior Suite or a Club level 13 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Continuing legacy of world class luxury Outstanding in every way, from beginning to end. Rich and unique charm. Clearly a historic hotel, but fully modernized, the best of both world's. Unbeatable location. 12 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great weekend get away venue New restaurant had an excellent breakfast. The atmosphere at the Top of the Mark was awesome and provided the intimate feel I wanted. Band was great for a night of dancing. Very close to shopping at Union square, restaurants and site seeing. The cable car pass was a nice touch. Highly recommended hotel with great staff. Views from my room was spectacular. 10 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location & friendly staff This hotel is located perfectly to give you great views & easy access to the entire city. Loved my stay! 10 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location in a very unique city ! Except for the night when the alarm went off at 2 a.m. (!!!!) we had a lovely stay ! And yes, we would choose The Mark Hopkins Hotel again if we're ever back in beautiful San Francisco ! 05 February 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place, but major problem with our visit We like this hotel for its history and location, and have stayed here before. However, on our recent visit, after a lovely night on the town, we were awakened at 1:30am by a whooping emergency siren that went on for 15 minutes. It was terrifying and incredibly loud, but did not instruct us to evacuate. Finally, the message changed, saying there was no emergency, but the siren went on for another 15 minutes. It was clear that the staff could not figure out how to turn it off. Besides the obvious questions this raises if this had been a real emergency, it also ruined our night's sleep. Since this was one of two nights a year we get away from our preschooler, it was a major inconvenience to us. The next morning the indifferent clerk was unwilling to comp our room or offer us anything approaching a sincere apology, which was a big disappointment. The point of a hotel is a peaceful night's sleep. 04 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience I stayed at the hotel for an event that lasted 4 days. Everyday we were greeted with a smile and everyone in the staff, from front desk to the restaurant and the room crew were excellent. everyone was knowledgable and willing to offer information and help when requested. Thanks to MH hotel for making this event the best i have ever attended. 03 February 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Check-In Nightmare Check-in -- the worst experience I've ever had. It took 30 minutes for the front desk to sort out a double booking which still required me to contact the accounting department the following Monday to finally get it resolved. I had cancelled a previous booking however reservations still showed the reservation on their system which led to an extremely disappointing delay. No form of compensation or customer perk was offered up by the hotel staff. 29 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay! We have stayed here a number of times over the last 7 years and have enjoyed every one without complaint. We will continue to go back for our once, sometimes twice, a year trips to SF, and have always had great service here. One thing to look at is your credit card statement. Mini bar charges were charged directly to my credit card and were not added onto the room charges, as they have been in the past, so you cannot review it for accuracy prior to checkout. Two mysterious additional charges showed up on my card and when I called the hotel, I was told they were mini bar beverages. We didn't drink any mini bar beverages or eat anything else from it, but my wife did some rearranging so that she could fit something in the refrigerator. The money was refunded and all is well, but that could be easily overlooked. 28 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything was terrific! One of our best trips ever. Staff was great; from the housekeeper, bell staff, concierges all were very nice and helpful. Beautiful room with views of the city and bay. Convenient to public transit. 24 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great bed and pilllows I wish we could purchase the pillows we had at the Mark Hopkins!!!!! Everything was wonderful!!! 23 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed my stay Really enjoyed staying in this historic property. I appreciate the upgrade, the suite was fantastic. It made me glad to be an ambassador. The restaurant up top was really nice (actually I just sat in the bar, but it was still nice). I'll be back to this property on my next trip to SF. The only negative was the fitness room. Its nearly impossible to go out for a run on those mountains of SF, and for such a high end property the equipment in the fitness room was below standard. 22 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Couples Weekend This is my first time staying at the Mark Hopkins. I highly recommend this hotel. Everybody from the Valet Person who parked my car to the room staff were excellent. ON the advice of a friend of mine I upgraded to the club level. The benefit exceeded the cost. I only wish I could live full time at the Mark Hopkins!! 18 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by You don't get what you pay for Although this is a beautiful property and the service is incredible, the value is just not there. We stayed on a free certificate so it wasn't so bad, but if I had paid $300 or $400 I would be sorely disappointed. The rooms are small and and cramped and I would much rather stay at an IHG property that is newer, larger and more comfortable, but that maybe doesn't have the level of service. 17 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel channel My husband and I really miss listening to Tony Bennett sing "I left My Heart in San Francisco" on the Info Channel. 15 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by PERFECTION! ELEGANT! FIRST CLASS STAFF! Our stay at this hotel was amazing! The staff made our stay absolutely memorable and treated like royalty. The rooms had gorgeous views, immaculate and clean, Top of the Mark cocktails some of the best in the city. We highly recommend this hotel! 15 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A memorable stay Initially this stay sawn't going as expected because I had minor problems with things not working in the room and cleaniness. I brought them up to a manager (Hizkia# and she had them resolved ASAP. She even showed me how to use my points #32000 points) to become an Ambassador memeber. Hizkia made what could have been a very bad experience at this hotle to a very memorable stay, based on her customer service. Please have the General Manager tell Hizkia what a valuable employee she is. 14 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful full service hotel This is a beautiful old hotel that has lots of class. The location is great and in a very safe area of San Francisco. Our room was lovely and the bathroom was renovated since I stayed there 15 years ago but the staff was still as friendly and helpful as I remember from my first visit. I highly recommend this hotel. 14 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superior Service! Staff is first rate! Anything I needed or required clarity on, the staff had numerous suggestions, upbeat attitude and hospitality oriented responses. Love this property! 14 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nob Hill Gem I use the Mark Hopkins whenever I stay in San Francisco. The views are magnificent and the hotel possesses the old world charm of Nob Hill. It is always a pleasure to stay with the Mark Hopkins people: an excellent staff. 14 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All around excellence! My daughter and I stayed there the night before New Year's Eve, for dinner and to catch a play. The staff was helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly. The concierge, Dan, was especially helpful. The room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. I especially appreciate the iPhone docking station and charger. It was a wonderful, relaxing stay and we will definitely be back. 10 January 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible service We were extremely disappointed with the staff. Concierge was rarely present and recommended bad restaurants, was very unhelpful with car/taxi services. I have had better experiences at budget hotels. 10 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant What an absolutely wonderful experience. When we come back there is only one place we shall be staying. Mark Hopkins. Would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to SF. 09 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superior Quality John at the front desk did a great job of checking me in. I had a beautiful one-bedroom suite on a high floor with spectacular views of SF and the Bay Area. My suite had a dining room table with four chairs and a crystal chandelier, and none of the crystals were missing. There is a living room area with a sofa, chairs, and a large HDTV with many high-definition channels available. The bedroom has a large, extremely comfortable bed. The marble bathroom has a soaking tub with whirlpool jets and a separate shower, with glass French doors to the shower. There are also French doors to the bedroom. The suite was immaculate, and everything was in perfect working order. Mr. Toy brought up my IC Ambassador amenity of local organic chocolates (large TCHO Mokaccino square), fresh fruit, and glass bottle of Evian water. There was an ice machine conveniently located on my floor. Later in the evening, housekeeping stopped by with additional TCHO chocolates. I had a great night of sleep in the peaceful, quiet suite. The weather was beautiful (in stark contrast to the bitter cold elsewhere in the nation), and I could open the five windows in my suite partway. Ana in Guest Relations made sure that both the Sunday New York Times and the Sunday SF Chronicle were delivered to my room in the morning, and there were some great coupons in that day's editions of the newspapers. I had an early breakfast buffet in the Nob Hill Restaurant on the lobby level, where my server was the always attentive Wayne, but I was careful not to eat too much, since I had reservations for champagne Sunday brunch at Top of the Mark for later in the morning. At Top of the Mark, my server was the always attentive Michael, the maitre d' was Patty, and the pianist was Elias. I had a great table with a spectacular view of the Golden Gate Bridge, Mt. Tam, the Palace of Fine Arts, Alcatraz, Russian Hill, and Grace Cathedral. It was such a rare clear day that you could clearly see the Farallon Islands. There were many outstanding offerings at the buffet at Top of the Mark. In summary, the Mark Hopkins consistently provides outstanding accommodations, meals, and service, and you can look down on the skyscrapers below from high atop Nob Hill. Bravo! 09 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Gracious Hotel We've stayed here many times. It's in a wonderful location, the concierge and bell staff are truly excellent, and the hotel is gracious, albeit a bit dog-eared. On our last visit, our mattress wasn't as comfortable as previous stays, but it wasn't horrible. Our only real complaint - the cleaning staff could use a bit of work - they left a glass with a small bit of water & a piece of lemon in our room for our entire stay! It was from room service the fist night we arrived and was still there 4 days later. Also, they left a window very slightly open (we were on the 14th floor) and we were up half the night listening to the howling wind. We had no idea the windows even opened! It's great value for money, though, and I can't speak highly enough about the desk and bell staff. 08 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Anniversary Stay Enjoyed our stay at the Mark Hopkins. The bell staff was very attentive to detail and courteous. The room was great with a view overlooking Grace Cathedral, Alcatraz, and in the distant, the Golden Gate. The front desk made appropriate accommodation changes when I was given the wrong room. We are disappointed the Mark doesn't have a Spa but the Intercontinental on Mission has an awesome spa. Thanks to to the Mark for making the trip memorable! 07 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely disappointed Having just arrived from the Clement Monterey, which was wonderful, I was disappointed to find that we did not have the rooms we had asked for (interconnecting due to having a child with special needs), which I had explained about at time of booking. We were then told there were no roll away beds which meant that my 18 year old daughter would have to share a double bed with my 10 year old son!! I overheard a customer who was also checking in at exactly the same time ask for one and the clerk said yes to his request. I told my clerk what I had heard and she mysteriously managed to find one for me. However on arrival at the room, it was not there. I called down to ask where it was four times and it did not arrive until one hour after we got to our room. Our son was already asleep on our bed by this time!! Once the children were settled, my husband and I decided to get a drink at Top of the Mark, only to be told there was a 40 minute wait for a table, even though we were guests. On asking if there was anywhere else we could get a drink in the Hotel, they replied no! They suggested we try another bar across the street called Tonga, so we went straight there only to find that it did not open on that particular day of the week. Incredible!! Why did your staff direct us there? On New Years eve, we could not go upstairs as it was closed for a private party, so we had a drink downstairsin the temporary bar and intended to stay there to see in the new year, however this shut at 10pm. On new years eve??? How ridiculous is that? For the price we paid, we were incredibly disappointed at the service that was provided, from check in especially, to just the simple request to get a drink and having to wait 40 minutes as a resident, when you were accepting those that just walked in off the street. Storage space in the rooms was also very sparse. We were staying for a week with our three children aged 20, 18 and 10. Obvioiusly we would have quite a large amount of clothing, but found ourselves living out of the suitcases due to lack of space. The price of Wifi is too expensive, you should be offering this free of charge. Marriott Hotels, with whom we normally stay do this for us. We would not recommend your Hotel to anyone I'm afraid. So disappointing. 06 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Memorable stay We've stayed at this hotel for the last 3 years. A traditional destination of San Francisco will always have us stay here. Recently, we got married this last time. In the room (1 bedroom suite). The front desk is perfection, the help with the luggage, all beginning with the fantastic attention from the valet folks. We had friends and family showing up and got taken care of equally. If you want quality, a feeling of luxury AND personal care, this hotel gives it to you. We run a B&B and understand how to treat a guest right. Love this place and now it's part of our Life Event. Only improvement would be the points never seeming to be placed on our IHG membership rewards account without us alerting them to do it. Not a serious issue. Also, Top Of The Mark isn't ideal for dinner. A view at night means paying a cover charge to get in. Live music was too incredibly loud....but the hotel isn't affected. 06 January 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Contact hotel for details
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    4:12 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service Animals Allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs