Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 677 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent front desk experience. Lovely room We appreciated the information about the affinity club which we bought. Your front desk and parking personnel were particularly pleasant and friendly. The room was very nice. 08 March 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing I recently stayed at the Mark Hopkins for four nights using reward points and cash. Compared to my other Intercontinental experiences felt this hotel was below expectations and little tired. Room - I booked a twin for myself and son and given a corner room (1231) which had a very small bathroom and limited space, also the neighbours bathroom was clearly audible in the morning. Maybe it is how twins are? or was it because I used points? did not feel like we'd been upgraded as an ambassador member? Ambassador/Platinum member - no acknowledgement of this on checking in and through stay except single small bottle of water and some fruit second day, we were two people. Credit card - was left messages my CC did not work - checked with bank and hotel had entered wrong expiry date, staff seemed very concerned until card cleared. Mark at the top - great views but limited menu and again quite dated in appearance/feel The location worked well with cable car access to the ferry building and Fisherman's wharf and the sun was shining. 07 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Mark is the Tops The Mark Hopkins, like so many things in San Francisco, only improves as time passes. 05 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff but limited amenities I enjoyed my stay due to the nice and helpful staff. My clock radio didn't work, however, and was never repaired or replaced. The only place to eat was the extremely expensive Top of the Mark. This hotel just doesn't offer as much as most hotels. 23 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The only thing that kept me from rating my overall experience excellent This is a wonderful hotel with an excellent staff. i just don't understand why there is no gift shop at the hotel. My recollection is that there used to be one in the 60's. There is no reason why a guest should have to go across the street to another hotel to purchase items such as gum aspirin cigarettes tee shirts etc. 22 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet room with comfortable bed Fantastic location with friendly staff. The club lounge was very good and the hosts are very knowledgeable. One of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. Top of the Mark restaurant has spectacular views and is a nice spot to have a drink . We were celebrating our anniversary and the staff made it very special. Nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely stay there again. 21 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice stay We attended an event at the Masonic Auditorium nearly, and wanted to stay nearby. The best rates were at the Mark Hopkins. I had heard some good things and some bad things. Positives: The entire staff was incredibly friendly. Doors were opened for us, everybody said hello and smiled. Very impressed. The room (11th floor view room) was very nice. My wife if very picky about beds and she loved the bed. I'm 6'2" and the shower was plenty tall enough. There was no fan in the bathroom, though, which got very steamy during showers. We had drinks at the Top Of The Mark. Great drinks (if pricy), friendly staff, very good band. And no cover charge because we stayed there. Cons: Parking is expensive. There is a garage on the adjacent block that is "only" $40 and we used that. We didn't want to pay for Sunday brunch so breakfast options were a little limited. The Fairmont across the street has a place to get coffee and a pastry and that was good enough. And you should probably bring a bottle of water to your room, because a bottle in the honor bar is $6.50. 17 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Memorable stay Excellent position on top of Nob Hill with splendid views and good transport nearby. Superb sized suite with small terrace; friendly and efficient club facilites. Very obliging staff and great service. One of best hotel stays we have enjoyed. 17 February 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room Type The Junior Suite (Room 609). The bedroom was located directly behind two of the three elevators. The room was extremely noisy due to the elevators. I had to purchase ear plugs to get a good night rest. Additionally, both the bedroom and living overlooked a construction area. I specifically asked for a room with a view. We spent well over $2400 and were deeply disappointed... as a Priority Club member and the dollars spent ... I expected more. I do appreciate the gesture for the Champagne and strawberries sent to our room, celebrating our 25th anniversary. I expect that nothing will happen in regard to this e-mail. Thank-you 15 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Three Beautiful Days in San Francisco After completing a cruise from New York, we disembarked in San Francisco. The staff at the Mark Hopkins were friendly and professional. Concierge service was good, room service was excellent. The room and bathroom was well appointed with a beautiful view of the city. Brunch at the Top of the Mark I would highly recommend for the entertainment, delicious and varied sea food, flowing champagne and scrumptuous desserts. The view at the Top was perfect for photos. The Ambassador Club benefits such as room upgrade, early check in and late check out were fantastic. We will be sure to reurn to this jewel at the top of Nobb Hill. 12 February 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Sunday night stay Not impressed. Street noise is a constant all night. Single gunshot round mid MO 3am ish. Passenger vehicle alarm systems on/off evening and throughout the night. Desk clerk agreed to comp a bottle of water to me on checkout. When I did my expense account at end of January, approximate $5.50 charge was on the bill. So much for saying one thing and doing another. Street noise is the worse, will not be staying here again. 11 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good hotel - great staff mark hopkins is a very nice hotel and a good value. but, the staff (especially daniela one of the managers) make it our exclusive hotel san fran. outstanding. 11 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nearly Perfect We enjoyed our stay very much. The service was very good, very professional and seemed genuinely interested that we have a good stay. The hotel itself is quite charming and well-appointed, though the mattresses are old and tired. This led to less-than-optimal sleep, but we managed. 09 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely historic, iconic hotel Our room was on the small side and the bathroom was extremely tiny but we had a lovely view of the water, bridge, and TransAmerica building. What's not to like?! Take advantage of the potential upgrade and you too could have this great view. The bathroom amenities were especially nice and came from Gump's, another SF classic. It also had the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. 08 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel From check in to check out, this was a lovely hotel. If you are a light sleeper, I would recommend ear plugs as the proximity to the cable cars can mean a little extra noise. My room was a nice size, comfortable and had a nice view of the bay. Top of the Mark was also a fun experience. We had a beautifully clear night and the lights were spectacular. 06 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Delightful two days My family and I had a great stay. My only complaint is that we didn't get to stay longer. We hope to go again before too much time passes. This was our first time there and we will return. They even had a charger for my electric car! I wish I had joined their Priority Club first! 05 February 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great View We stayed two nights at the Mark Hopkins. The concierge and staff were polite and very helpful. Having the availability of a town car to drop us off for an evening out was a terrrific asset and convenience although getting back was on your own. Realizing the hotel was built for another time, the rooms were typical of the era. Bathroom counter space and lightling were inadequate. The restaurant and bar at the top had the best view of the city and bay but the pricing for food and drink was too expensive so we ate elsewhere after the first meal. While we enjoyed our stay, we would probably try a different hotel on our next trip to San Francisco. No real complaints, just interested in exploring other venues if we return. 04 February 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed I expected more from such a venerable location and what I thought was a standard name in the luxury hotel business. Some bad design elements and a LOT of wasted public space that could be utilized to provide a dedicated restaurant or bar or ANYTHING to spruce up the image of this tired property. There is only one restaurant onsite and while the view is amazing, the only thing worse than the food was the service. Obviously proper staffing was not a priority and the lunch menu was uninspired. Typical hotel fare (typical of much less reputable chains). This single dining spot turns into a lounge in the evenings that takes itself way too seriously with a hostess, bouncer, and another person altogether to escort you to your table. The most simple of requests to any of the staff are met my looks of confusion and "I'm sorry, but ... (insert excuse here). Housekeeping was definitely a bright spot and the Front Desk staff were very helpful. I will definitely reconsider if ever recommended to another Intercontinental property, as this experience was very disappointing. 04 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great weekend We hit SF on a weekend with outstanding weather, which added to enjoyment. The Mark made a great base of operations. Their town car service was an unexpected bonus, getting us to area restaurants without the need for us to drive or take a taxi there. A couple of minor suggestions. Bath towels need to be upgraded - one expects luxury in a 5-star hotel. At times an elevator was shut down for a private party, which made for long waits. 03 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 100%! The Mark Hopkins has been a first choice for us over the past 15 years. Intimate, clean, professional and extremely guest friendly. We took advantage of mid-winter specials and added the Club facility to our reservation. We now refer to "the best deal in the world"! Spacious Club Room offered delicious foods, coffees and wine throughout the day. Nice lighting and a view out to passing cable cars. We visited, and later enjoyed Scrabble at a game table with the comfort of being at a friend's (VERY nice) home. Absolutely won't waste time shopping around for our next trip. Mark Hopkins rocks!!!. Room was very clean, well maintained and comfortable. We appreciated the classical music playing as we entered the room, and the nice dock for i-pod/phone. Lunch at the Top of the Mark was $$ but worth the price.. lettuce wraps, crab sandwich and amazing view of the city. K. Presley 01 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Special Occasion one night stay Was able to get a great rate off-season in January. The 14th floor and amazing views. Was very happy with the room. My husband was surprised with a beautifully done piece of birthday cake, including silverware and napkins. Very nice, personal touch. We splurged on the Sunday Brunch. Very pricey but we were blown away by the everything. The food, the presentation, the ambiance, the wait staff, everything was top notch. And of course, the view. I am a native California and have been to SF many times but that view never gets old. At the Top of the Mark, it's exceptional! We were fortunate not to have to worry about bringing our own car. I think that may be tricky and also pricey. We splurged on a sedan service and was very glad we did. Also, the neighborhood is so beautiful, take a camera and act like a tourist. It is worth it! We had a very lovely time and hope to be back! Thank you InterContinental for a wonderful stay 01 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Therapeutic Experience I am a Priority Club Ambassador Platinum Elite member. I stayed in a luxurious corner suite with a marble bath with whirlpool and separate shower. There were French doors to the separate bedroom. The king size bed was extremely comfortable, and the sheets were ironed. The suite was immaculately clean. The living room has a dining room table with four chairs, a crystal chandelier, and a view of the Trans America Building, downtown, Chinatown, North Beach, the East Bay, the North Bay, the Bay Bridge, Russian Hill, Nob Hill, and even Mt. Tam. I received a complimentary amenity as an Ambassador member, which includes bottled water, fruit, and local organic chocolates. The living room also has a sofa and chairs, as well as a high-definition large flat-screen TV with a wide variety of HDTV channels available. The staff are extremely professional and courteous, including guest relations, housekeeping, waiters, ... everybody. I had an excellent breakfast at the Nob Hill Restaurant, which is off the lobby. This is a grand hotel with a lot of very interesting history, and lives up to the term "Ambassador." 01 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Luxury and a Bargain! My recent stay at the Mark Hopkins was great! The room was extremely pleasing - quiet, spacious, perfect temperature and bed comfortable. The furnishings were new and everything was clean. The staff was friendly and efficient. Would definitely come back! 01 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Classic Hotel... Beautiful old hotel that has been tastefully brought to excellence. Awesome views and very friendly staff. We paid additional for an upgrade to a higher floor and the bay view. It’s worth price. Nice to have a cocktail and take in the sights at the "Top of the Mark"! Lots of history in this hotel and it was a very pleasurable experience. Will be staying again when visiting SF. 31 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel good location rooms ok - terrible custommer service The Mark Hopkins is a San Francisco icon, great location rooms are good but very small and need re decorating to compete with other similar quality/price options in town. At first I was given a small room with a tiny bathroom and i had to ask for a nice room, the hotel gave me a nicer room but not without a struggle.... Beds are confortable and bathrooms are clean and well appointed Top of the Mark is a must! View is simply amazing Concierge servicevis dreadful, rude, unhelpful and incompetent That is really disapointing because when one stays at a great hotel one expects the best service. Internet fees are too expensive and breakfast is not included in most rates so be prepared to spend on extras 30 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Anniversary Stay Awesome We chose the Mark Hopkins Intercontinental because of the hotel chain being one we were familar with so thought we could expect a good stay. This hotel went above and eynd our expectations. We did not realize it was a historical property. It was so beautiful and very well maintained. The staff was completely attentive and friendly. The food was good and the view from The Top of the Mark unbelievable. The room was comfortable and had nice ammenities. The only issue would be the water pressure in the shower was not great. We would definitiely stay here again on a return trip. 30 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful, historic location and lovely hotel. We live only 30 minutes away but will definitely come back often for a night at The Mark. Always a wonderful experience. 30 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home Away from Home We have stayed at the Mark Hopkins for many years. Even though we are native San Franciscans, we have a home outside of the city now, so we make the MH our home away from home. The staff, including the Ambassador staff, really provide us with the level of service that makes InterContinental our first choice. They have literally seen my 20 year old daughter grow up and remember when she was just a toddler at the hotel. Really a fabulous team. I have rejoined after letting my membership temporarily lapse, and feel so glad to be back. We appreciated the location, weather!, and teamwork. The Ambassador Lounge now seems open to guests who pay a fee, but are not priority club members. This did impact the quiet calm of the room to include those not as accustomed to executive services. Overall, a fabulous stay. 30 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by lighting.... lighting in the bathroom is very poor; rest of room is nice and comfortable 30 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Treated like Royalty First time visit to San Francisco and decided it was worth staying Downtown. I chose the Mark Hopkins and sure am glad. Thanks to a Priority Club upgrade, we were able to stay in the Cyril Magnin Suite. This suite offers amazing luxury and the best views of the City. The concierge assisted with restaurants and directions. Great access to cable cars as well! Took advantage of valet parking, room service, as well as dining at the Top of the Mark. Every aspect of our visit was positive. Great experience and we will book here again without considering any other hotel. 29 January 2013
<<prev 18 19 20 21 22 ... 24 next>>
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    5:11 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs