Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 616 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lost its gloss The Mark Hopkins is an elegant hotel from an exciting era. However it has the feel of being a little neglected and tired. The room I had was generous and comfortable. However a little more attention to detail (the Plasma screen TV not fitting in the cupboard in which it was located) would have lifted the experience significantly. The Top of the Mark, the signature restaurant on the top floor, is very disappointing. It has no soul. It is unclear what it is intending to be - a viewing deck, a cocktail bar, a tapas bar? It is not a 5 star hotel restaurant. The dining options are very limited. The Top of the Mark, the Club lounge or room service. Each option was narrow in its choice. Overall a disappointing experience and not up to the Intercontinental brand. 20 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful view We had a wonderful time even with the storm blowing the rain side ways. SF is a great city and to stay at a landmark hotel was spectacular. Courteous staff from the Parking Garage to the Lobby to the Top of The Mark. The upgrade was wonderful. Thank you 07 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Outstanding We had an unbelievable time at the Mark Hopkins. Our room was beautiful, with an awesome bed and an amazing view! The staff at this hotel were all very attentive, and extremely professional. We hope to go back next year ... and we're hoping for the same room 07 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quite & Relaxing Stay We had a wonderful stay at the Mark Hopkins recently. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and quiet. We would certainly stay here again. 07 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mark Hopkins Liked the hotel. Staff was attentive, nice stay in SF 06 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great, professional service Excellent facility with courteous staff that provide excellent service. 04 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The only place to stay in San Francisco Simply put....if you want an awesome experience at a reasonable price, the Mark Hopkins is your hotel. From the minute I arrived to checkout, I felt like a valued 5 star guest. If you really want the utmost in guest satisfaction try the Intercontinental Club Lounge! The atmosphere, staff, and amenities is the best I've seen from any hotel across the U.S. Try the InterContinental Mark Hopkins Hotel, you won't go wrong! 04 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a pleasant stay This was our 4th stay at Mark Hopkins and as pleasant as always. Superb bed comfort is something we rave about long after leaving the hotel, but that is only a part of the experience. Location is unmatched as are amenities and service. Will be back again soon! 01 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A room with a view! We had a wonderful stay at the Mark Hopkins in SF. We live in SF but rarely get to enjoy the high quality touristy facets of the city. So we planned a weekend getaway. Our room had a great view overlooking downtown and the bay bridge from a unique terrace. It was a memorable experience and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visit SF or even those who live here but want to see more of the city. 01 December 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Faded Glory The location of this property is amazing; which is why I would recommend it to anyone. But that recommendation comes with a few caveats. It is unfortunate this property is content with living in its own shadow. Everywhere you look you can see hints of what used to be, the lush life responsible for putting this place on the social map, but whatever efforts were made to bring it up to date--make it relevant and current--are certainly lost in the details.The rooms themselves are tired even with an obvious makeover (not sure how long ago that happened) and don't expect to unpack you bags because drawer space is at a premium, and mind you I stayed in one of their larger rooms. Taking the elevator to the 19th floor I expected to encounter a stunning room when the elevator opened at The Top of the Mark, but for that I would have needed a time machine. Gone is the remarkable center bar that once anchored the room; now replaced with a tiny corner version not even visible from the entrance. There is not a single remarkable detail in this space. Not the furniture, not the fixtures. It's like someone in command said, "who cares if the room looks like we borrowed it from a 2 star motel, people don't come here for the room; they come for the view." But nothing could be further from the truth. As is, it's just a space with a bunch of windows high up enough to see the city; just another room with a view. Unless you have money to burn I would steer clear of the club level services. Located on the lobby level it lacks prestige...and I sure grew tired of eating cold cuts and blue cheese for breakfast. The porte cochere is always energetic, with bell hops blowing old school whistles to hail taxis for guests and people taking pictures of the hotel's grand facade. But once inside the feeling "you have arrived," fades quickly into the historic woodwork. A mish mash of furniture fails to render the vast space inviting. And perhaps the most beautiful room on the ground level (the foyer of a once popular ballroom that featured live performances; sorry...the name escapes me) is hidden behind drawn curtains like some old relative sure to embarrass everyone if they were allowed out in public. But do take a peek...the skylight ceiling evokes European conservatories or train stations. Stunning! Overall, they slightly miss the mark. Which is unfortunate because with a little elbow grease and TLC this place could truly be special. 01 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff @ The Mark Hopkins San Francisco! We LOVE the Mark Hopkins in San Francisco! We are from Canada & this was our tenth stay here. We absolutely love SF & The Mark Hopkins! The staff are always so welcoming & helpful!: Housekeeping, the Front Desk Staff, Room Service, the Top of The Mark Staff & the Club Lounge Staff! They're ALL Wonderful!!! It's a great place to stay & we always feel so comfortable there. The staff even says, "Welcome Home" when we arrive! Now that's a Nice Touch! :o) J & L from Mississauga, Ontario. 30 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 No better place to stay in San Francisco From here on out, I will only stay at this hotel when visiting San Francisco. Everything was perfect, from the location to the late night room service menu. I never wanted to leave. 30 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by perfect location My wife and I travel frequently to San Francisco and try to stay at the Mark Hopkins on each of these trips. The location is perfect and the Top of the Mark is a great place for nightly entertainment. 29 November 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by That bed If it weren't for the bed, I would have giving this stay four + stars. The hotel is beautiful, the staff was incredible. The location is great. My room was clean, very clean. TV nice size and great selection. And the amenities were lavish. Yet, I couldn't sleep most of the night because the pillow top on the bed was lumpy and the pillows without and support. 29 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and fun Great for a getaway night. Beautiful views and great night sleep. 27 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Historic hotel We booked two rooms for six nights Nov 16 to Nov 22, king beds 10th floor THE GOOD: Nicely appointed room, immaculately clean and comfortable, excellent quiet air conditioning system. A very quiet room, I noticed lots of reviews complaining of street noise but not in our case. A great location with easy access to public transit, close to major tourist attractions like Fishermans wharf and shopping centers. Great historic hotel and very friendly staff. Speaking of which Helene the hotel Concierge managed to find us Oakland Raiders tickets and even negotiated better seats with the vendor than we could get. Safe in the room great for valuables. THE BAD: Yes up to $18.95/day for wireless internet is insane especially in this day and age. The worst part is it says 3MB / sec and its more like .6MB/sec most of the time and often drops out entirely. They have a breakfast buffet each morning @ $25 / person. Four people with a 15% gratuity added and tax was $139 each morning. Seemed a bit pricy but the buffet had a pretty good selection. SUMMARY: We loved the hotel, loved the location, found the staff great. My only complaint is paying so much for internet access, especially since we were there six nights. And if they charge this much you should have better connection speeds. 27 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay We had a wonderful experience for such a remarkable value at the Mark Hopkins. We had been there many times for drinks at the Top of the Mark, but never stayed at the hotel. I'm not sure how the staff figured out it was a special anniversary for us, but we had a room upgrade, champagne etc and had a perfect stay. Great location and restaurant recommendations from the bell staff. Hope to stay again soon! 26 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I'm a regular...mostly because of the staff and location The Mark Hopkins is a landmark property. I've been staying there for the last 35 years whenever I'm in SF and even when I lived there I would periodically take one of the suites just for an in-town holiday. So, this hotel represents many fond memories. Since being taken over by the Intercontinental chain, I have noticed 1) a difference in clientele, 2) and that the walls between the rooms are paper thin and I can hear conversations while not clear, definitely audible and laughter when raucous, definitely noticeable. The bedding is outstanding, as they offer Frette linens and the beds and pillows themselves are super comfy. I cannot say enough about the staff, especially Aman at the front desk, the bell captain and all the doormen, including Tony, Raffy, Sal, Cesar and everyone else who I may have forgotten to add to this list. They always make me feel like I'm returning home. Rick from Manhattan! 26 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel in the tradition of Great Memorable Properties. Dream location, wonderful decor, staff that reminds me of great hotels around the world. A truly memorable experience. 26 November 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel!!! Room Service Needs Work! This is a wonderful hotel. However, we pre-ordered room service several days in advance due to an event and it was not found. When it was found, the order came late. This has unfortunately jaded our perception of this hotel. 26 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by San Francisco Weekend Visit We had one of the upper rooms in this hotel and we enjoyed the view of San Francisco sunrise each morning. The hotel is conveniently located for trips on the Cable Car to Fisherman's Wharf and a short taxi ride or walk to the BART station. This made our trip from the airport quite easy. It is located on top of Nob Hill so if you choose to walk you will have a steep climb down and then back up to the hotel. We walked it a couple of evenings and also took a cab one other. The staff was very helpful with recommendations for places to eat and evening activities. All of the food recommendations were very good and matched the descriptions very well for what we were looking for. We had breakfast at the hotel and it was very good and more costly than I would have liked. The price however is typical for what you would expect from this level of hotel. I would have liked to have seen the internet cost be lower or free, but that is also typical for this level of hotel. I can't comment on the speed of the internet since we did not purchase it to test it out. The rooms were well sized and elegant. We had a corner room with two views of the city. My wife had some issues with how hard the bed was, but I found it comfortable though a bit on the hard side for my complete comfort. The pillows were nice and comfortable. The rooms had nice shower and a good sized bathroom. They also had a mini-bar for those that need something quickly. This is a beautiful hotel with a responsive staff in a great location. We enjoyed our weekend thoroughly. 24 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay My wife & I had a great 3 nights here. Fantastic staff - especially Russell Sheppard, Concierge desk and Club Lounge staff. My wife had a birthday during our stay, and she was treated like 'royalty'. Room was good & well equipped. A bit of noise from nearby elevators being the only negative 23 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Surprisingly GREAT Based on some reviews I thought in advance that the Mark Hopkins staff would be indifferent and even unfriendly. NOT TRUE! The staff was outstanding - the valet parking guys, the front desk personnel, the hostesses at the Top of the Mark, and the maid service. Everyone we met, FANTASTIC, thoughtful, friendly, funny, cheeky (in a good way), knowledgeable. Just SUPERB service the entire stay. And the R&B band at the Top of the Mark (10-Nov-2012) was great for late-night dancing - a fun crowd. 19 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Memorable experience, indeed I just came back from spending a bit under a week at the Mark Hopkins. The Suites are ample and comfortable, with astounding views. Nice separation between the living-room and bedroom areas, though I wouldn't have minded a second half bathroom for guests in the living-room area. Beds are softer than I would usually use, for my own back's health, but extremely comfortable and welcoming. As usual, I only wish they had heated marble floors in the bathroom like the IC Berlin... even San Francisco can get a bit chilly in Autumn and Winter. Front Desk and Concierge staff were at all points courteous, professional, friendly and knowledgeable, and their information and recommendations were spot-on. Highest standards of cleanliness and pulchritude thanks to a fantastic housekeeping staff. The Club Lounge is a little blessing for the traveler with odd scheduling: large but cozy, and well stocked (if you know what I mean). I didn't get the chance to visit the fitness facilities. The Top of the Mark offers astounding views, good service and fair breakfast, with a plentiful selection of items. In the evenings it becomes a quite happening bar with an interesting cocktail list. The location is very quite central and there's a tram that has a stop right by the hotel, which is very convenient considering that the hotel is uphill in its most real sense. Some people have commented on the noisiness of the tram but despite my room facing that street on one side, I didn't even notice it (though I might just be too used to Manhattan's crazy traffic and noise). This is the second time I have come to this hotel by my own choice and it will definitely not be the last. Meaning: I can hardly wait to go back. 17 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Very enjoyable stay. Nice view and comfortable bed. 15 November 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid the Mark Hopkins This is beautiful, landmark property. the rooms are nice, the location is superb, and architecture is outstanding. I have stayed here twice before and when business brought me back to San Francisco, I jumped at the chance to return. Unfortunately the Internet in the hotel is unreliable - which makes it a poor choice for a business person, or anyone who needs to stay in touch. Sometimes it works, on some devices, sometimes it doesn't. After a great deal of aggravation troubleshooting on our own, the hotel made a technical person available who got working the computer that was in the room at the time. We made do with that, rather than go to the trouble of getting help again. Another computer, running a different operating system, never did work. Anybody can have technical problems. But what I find unworthy of a first class hotel - or really, any place - is that the hotel knew when we checked in that they had a problem and let us be ambushed by it anyway. They told us when we asked for help that they were aware that many guests have problems with the internet service. If so - why let me spend time and trouble thinking the problem is my computer, and only react when I give up and ask for help? Good service is anticipating the guest's needs. The opposite is letting him discover them for himself the hard way. I was told that Internet charges would be removed from our bill. (Of course Internet that actually works is always free at 95% of the hotels I stay at, but that's another story.) Upon checkout, only one day's charge had been removed. When I called this to the attention of the clerk, she did some research and said she had a note that enabled her to remove all three days of charges. So once again - we'll try to make things right, but only if you ask. 14 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceeded our expectations! We loved everything about the MH. Room with views was perfect; staff was exceptional; Club Lounge was convenient and a nice treat. The location is excellent. 13 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfy gorgeous comfy room and beds! unbelievable marble bathroom. only drawback was not enough counter space in bathroom for all my toiletries etc.....It's a must to go to the top for a martini! 08 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Bedroom and excellent service Our room was serviced beautifully. Our meals were fantastic in quantity and wonderfull in taste. Our meals were served by friendly employees. I especially enjoyed talking with a very large employee who is very friendly yet does an excellent job. 08 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exciting location and great service. The Mark Hopkins is my new favorite SF hotel. True luxury without the exorbidant prices and pretense. 06 November 2012
<<prev 18 19 20 21 22 next>>
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    4:59 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs