Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 692 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Delightful two days My family and I had a great stay. My only complaint is that we didn't get to stay longer. We hope to go again before too much time passes. This was our first time there and we will return. They even had a charger for my electric car! I wish I had joined their Priority Club first! 05 February 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great View We stayed two nights at the Mark Hopkins. The concierge and staff were polite and very helpful. Having the availability of a town car to drop us off for an evening out was a terrrific asset and convenience although getting back was on your own. Realizing the hotel was built for another time, the rooms were typical of the era. Bathroom counter space and lightling were inadequate. The restaurant and bar at the top had the best view of the city and bay but the pricing for food and drink was too expensive so we ate elsewhere after the first meal. While we enjoyed our stay, we would probably try a different hotel on our next trip to San Francisco. No real complaints, just interested in exploring other venues if we return. 04 February 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed I expected more from such a venerable location and what I thought was a standard name in the luxury hotel business. Some bad design elements and a LOT of wasted public space that could be utilized to provide a dedicated restaurant or bar or ANYTHING to spruce up the image of this tired property. There is only one restaurant onsite and while the view is amazing, the only thing worse than the food was the service. Obviously proper staffing was not a priority and the lunch menu was uninspired. Typical hotel fare (typical of much less reputable chains). This single dining spot turns into a lounge in the evenings that takes itself way too seriously with a hostess, bouncer, and another person altogether to escort you to your table. The most simple of requests to any of the staff are met my looks of confusion and "I'm sorry, but ... (insert excuse here). Housekeeping was definitely a bright spot and the Front Desk staff were very helpful. I will definitely reconsider if ever recommended to another Intercontinental property, as this experience was very disappointing. 04 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great weekend We hit SF on a weekend with outstanding weather, which added to enjoyment. The Mark made a great base of operations. Their town car service was an unexpected bonus, getting us to area restaurants without the need for us to drive or take a taxi there. A couple of minor suggestions. Bath towels need to be upgraded - one expects luxury in a 5-star hotel. At times an elevator was shut down for a private party, which made for long waits. 03 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 100%! The Mark Hopkins has been a first choice for us over the past 15 years. Intimate, clean, professional and extremely guest friendly. We took advantage of mid-winter specials and added the Club facility to our reservation. We now refer to "the best deal in the world"! Spacious Club Room offered delicious foods, coffees and wine throughout the day. Nice lighting and a view out to passing cable cars. We visited, and later enjoyed Scrabble at a game table with the comfort of being at a friend's (VERY nice) home. Absolutely won't waste time shopping around for our next trip. Mark Hopkins rocks!!!. Room was very clean, well maintained and comfortable. We appreciated the classical music playing as we entered the room, and the nice dock for i-pod/phone. Lunch at the Top of the Mark was $$ but worth the price.. lettuce wraps, crab sandwich and amazing view of the city. K. Presley 01 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Special Occasion one night stay Was able to get a great rate off-season in January. The 14th floor and amazing views. Was very happy with the room. My husband was surprised with a beautifully done piece of birthday cake, including silverware and napkins. Very nice, personal touch. We splurged on the Sunday Brunch. Very pricey but we were blown away by the everything. The food, the presentation, the ambiance, the wait staff, everything was top notch. And of course, the view. I am a native California and have been to SF many times but that view never gets old. At the Top of the Mark, it's exceptional! We were fortunate not to have to worry about bringing our own car. I think that may be tricky and also pricey. We splurged on a sedan service and was very glad we did. Also, the neighborhood is so beautiful, take a camera and act like a tourist. It is worth it! We had a very lovely time and hope to be back! Thank you InterContinental for a wonderful stay 01 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Therapeutic Experience I am a Priority Club Ambassador Platinum Elite member. I stayed in a luxurious corner suite with a marble bath with whirlpool and separate shower. There were French doors to the separate bedroom. The king size bed was extremely comfortable, and the sheets were ironed. The suite was immaculately clean. The living room has a dining room table with four chairs, a crystal chandelier, and a view of the Trans America Building, downtown, Chinatown, North Beach, the East Bay, the North Bay, the Bay Bridge, Russian Hill, Nob Hill, and even Mt. Tam. I received a complimentary amenity as an Ambassador member, which includes bottled water, fruit, and local organic chocolates. The living room also has a sofa and chairs, as well as a high-definition large flat-screen TV with a wide variety of HDTV channels available. The staff are extremely professional and courteous, including guest relations, housekeeping, waiters, ... everybody. I had an excellent breakfast at the Nob Hill Restaurant, which is off the lobby. This is a grand hotel with a lot of very interesting history, and lives up to the term "Ambassador." 01 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Luxury and a Bargain! My recent stay at the Mark Hopkins was great! The room was extremely pleasing - quiet, spacious, perfect temperature and bed comfortable. The furnishings were new and everything was clean. The staff was friendly and efficient. Would definitely come back! 01 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Classic Hotel... Beautiful old hotel that has been tastefully brought to excellence. Awesome views and very friendly staff. We paid additional for an upgrade to a higher floor and the bay view. It’s worth price. Nice to have a cocktail and take in the sights at the "Top of the Mark"! Lots of history in this hotel and it was a very pleasurable experience. Will be staying again when visiting SF. 31 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel good location rooms ok - terrible custommer service The Mark Hopkins is a San Francisco icon, great location rooms are good but very small and need re decorating to compete with other similar quality/price options in town. At first I was given a small room with a tiny bathroom and i had to ask for a nice room, the hotel gave me a nicer room but not without a struggle.... Beds are confortable and bathrooms are clean and well appointed Top of the Mark is a must! View is simply amazing Concierge servicevis dreadful, rude, unhelpful and incompetent That is really disapointing because when one stays at a great hotel one expects the best service. Internet fees are too expensive and breakfast is not included in most rates so be prepared to spend on extras 30 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Anniversary Stay Awesome We chose the Mark Hopkins Intercontinental because of the hotel chain being one we were familar with so thought we could expect a good stay. This hotel went above and eynd our expectations. We did not realize it was a historical property. It was so beautiful and very well maintained. The staff was completely attentive and friendly. The food was good and the view from The Top of the Mark unbelievable. The room was comfortable and had nice ammenities. The only issue would be the water pressure in the shower was not great. We would definitiely stay here again on a return trip. 30 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful, historic location and lovely hotel. We live only 30 minutes away but will definitely come back often for a night at The Mark. Always a wonderful experience. 30 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home Away from Home We have stayed at the Mark Hopkins for many years. Even though we are native San Franciscans, we have a home outside of the city now, so we make the MH our home away from home. The staff, including the Ambassador staff, really provide us with the level of service that makes InterContinental our first choice. They have literally seen my 20 year old daughter grow up and remember when she was just a toddler at the hotel. Really a fabulous team. I have rejoined after letting my membership temporarily lapse, and feel so glad to be back. We appreciated the location, weather!, and teamwork. The Ambassador Lounge now seems open to guests who pay a fee, but are not priority club members. This did impact the quiet calm of the room to include those not as accustomed to executive services. Overall, a fabulous stay. 30 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by lighting.... lighting in the bathroom is very poor; rest of room is nice and comfortable 30 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Treated like Royalty First time visit to San Francisco and decided it was worth staying Downtown. I chose the Mark Hopkins and sure am glad. Thanks to a Priority Club upgrade, we were able to stay in the Cyril Magnin Suite. This suite offers amazing luxury and the best views of the City. The concierge assisted with restaurants and directions. Great access to cable cars as well! Took advantage of valet parking, room service, as well as dining at the Top of the Mark. Every aspect of our visit was positive. Great experience and we will book here again without considering any other hotel. 29 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stunning views and high-end comfortable rooms in this San Francisco classic A wonderful stay for our honeymoon. The gracious staff put us in an excellent room overlooking the downtown area and the bay of this unforgettable city. The room was very elegant and the bed extremely comfortable. The cleaning and room staff was great. The concierge, while not often at his post, was also quite helpful. First-rate affair. Highly recommended. 29 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great for the price The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Upgraded to view room. Had to call for bathrobes and coffee cups which should have been in the room. Bottle of water - $6.00, expensive. Top of the Mark was disappointing - wanted a quiet drink at the end of the evening to enjoy the view but the room is brightly lit with lots of young people making too much noise and milling around. 28 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great general experience Location is great and nice, building is genuine, and service was very good. The kind of hotels with huge history behind and service improved. 28 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the Mark Hopkins We stayed two night and enjoyed the comfortable bed and quiet room. Atmospherre and staff at the hotel are excellent. Only complaints we had were the high cost of the internet and the lack of a gift/sundries store to buy soft drinks, snacks etc. Beautiful location with great views. Would definitely stay here again. 27 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Highly recommend staying at this location. A good value. 27 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful weekend We stayed two nights at the Mark to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was a great experience and we'll definitely be back for future celebrations. 27 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Luxurious and best anniversay trip This visit was for our 11 year anniversary. This was our first time ever staying in downtown San Francisco and our first visit to this hotel. From the moment we walked into the lobby we were greeted and made welcome. The atmosphere and presentation of this grand hotel is one we will never forget. The room was excellent, comfortable, the bath was the best ever and the view - words can even explain the pleasure of looking out my window every waking moment. RECOMMEND! RECOMMEND! 27 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Elegant Classic Hotel The Mark Hopkins has maintained the quality, service, and elegance that it always had. No small feat in this day and age. The rooms are of a nice size, well-furnished, and cheerful and appealing. The beds are very comfortable. And the service both at the front desk and in all the other areas is excellent. I always recommend this fine hotel to friends. There is one negative that I have to mention about the Mark Hopkins though, and it really does disturb me. They charge $16 to get on to the internet. That is an obscene amount of money. Most fine hotels all over the world that I have stayed in offer free internet service to their guests. This is especially disturbing in a city where free Wi Fi is available all over the place. The Mark Hopkins should really look into this outrageous charge and make WiFi free to its guests. It certainly does not befit a hotel of the quality and stature of this hotel. 26 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My new favorite hotel for soooo many reasons I couldn't be happier to review this Hotel. From check in to check out, everything was amazing. We were there for 4 nights for a family wedding in town, and when we woke up to check out, my poor hubby had come down with influenza. One call to front desk, and we had the name and # of the Doc. The Mgr. was kind enough to extend the special rate we had for an extra night and sent up in the evening a tray of fresh fruit, chocolate, and Evian waters with a Get well card. Where else would you find this kind of love?? The only thing I would love to see is a separate cocktail area where guests could sit/stand and have a drink and gather. The Top of the Mark is great for late night nibbles, drinks and dancing, but not for gathering for a cocktail. Hated them losing the business of our large party. Other than that, perfection in every way! Thank you, Mark ! 26 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great old hotel and best location! We loved our stay, got a great deal on an internet special! 24 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sensational We stayed here and had the most fantastic time. I would fully recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a 5* holiday experience. 24 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and property. Some of the best and professional staff. We will definitely be back. 21 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mark Hopkins San Francisco is Top Notch The Mark Hopkins is an excellent hotel to stay at in the San Francisco Bay area! The staff is very professional, the rooms are exceptional, the beds are so comfortable, and above all you can't beat the location. You are only a couple blocks from Union Square and a trolly ride to Fisherman's Wharf. I would definitely recommend the Mark Hopkins to anyone thinking of visiting the San Francisco Bay area. 18 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view, comfy bed, thin walls We had a fabulous time at the Mark Hopkins! We will stay again. We were on the 14th floor with a lovely view of the Grace Cathedral, the Fairmount Hotel, lots of the city and even little slices of the bay. For chubby Midwesterners, (we are the latter, though not so chubby), beware: the SF hills that dominate Nob Hill where the hotel is located will challenge you, at least at first. Each time you leave and go down hills, you must return and scale those same hills... often after drinks or a big meal. Get your quads and glutes pumped and ready before you go. The natives bop up and down those hills like it's nothin'. (You will too, with time). The bed was cozy, warm and wonderful. The water was always super hot and soothing. The staff was smiling, sweet and very helpful when we had questions about directions. And we enjoyed the views and drinks at the Top of the Mark one night, even though the crowd was generally mature. It was pricey, but fun nonetheless. Take note: there is not complimentary WIFI in the rooms. And the walls are rather thin, so if you are a light sleeper, let the staff know that you don't want kids or other loud folks rooming next door. Chinatown is very close, as is Union Square; the Tenderloin is not excessively far (dive bars appeal to us, but perhaps not to everyone); and you can walk, bus or cable car to pretty much anywhere you want to go. Check out the small, cool and free Cable Car Museum just down the hill passing in front of the Fairmount Hotel. Also, have a hearty, reasonably-priced Italian meal and the Nob Hill Café, just around the corner. Yum. 16 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff and amenities My wife and I celebrated our 42nd anniversary in San Francisco. Our time in your beautiful city was made perfect by our stay at your beautiful Mark Hopkins Intercontental! The entire staff we met could not have been more accommodating. The facility was lovely, beautifully appointed and maintainedour deluxe room was delightful, comfortable with a beautiful view of the bay and city. To complete our enjoyable visit, we were pleasantly surprised on our last night with a lovely dish of strawberries and assorted dips. What a nice way to complete our anniversary stay in San Francisco! We look forward to our next trip to your city and the Mark Hopkins. JAH 15 January 2013
<<prev 19 20 21 22 23 24 next>>
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    11:41 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs