Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 712 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Anniversary Stay Awesome We chose the Mark Hopkins Intercontinental because of the hotel chain being one we were familar with so thought we could expect a good stay. This hotel went above and eynd our expectations. We did not realize it was a historical property. It was so beautiful and very well maintained. The staff was completely attentive and friendly. The food was good and the view from The Top of the Mark unbelievable. The room was comfortable and had nice ammenities. The only issue would be the water pressure in the shower was not great. We would definitiely stay here again on a return trip. 30 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful, historic location and lovely hotel. We live only 30 minutes away but will definitely come back often for a night at The Mark. Always a wonderful experience. 30 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home Away from Home We have stayed at the Mark Hopkins for many years. Even though we are native San Franciscans, we have a home outside of the city now, so we make the MH our home away from home. The staff, including the Ambassador staff, really provide us with the level of service that makes InterContinental our first choice. They have literally seen my 20 year old daughter grow up and remember when she was just a toddler at the hotel. Really a fabulous team. I have rejoined after letting my membership temporarily lapse, and feel so glad to be back. We appreciated the location, weather!, and teamwork. The Ambassador Lounge now seems open to guests who pay a fee, but are not priority club members. This did impact the quiet calm of the room to include those not as accustomed to executive services. Overall, a fabulous stay. 30 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by lighting.... lighting in the bathroom is very poor; rest of room is nice and comfortable 30 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Treated like Royalty First time visit to San Francisco and decided it was worth staying Downtown. I chose the Mark Hopkins and sure am glad. Thanks to a Priority Club upgrade, we were able to stay in the Cyril Magnin Suite. This suite offers amazing luxury and the best views of the City. The concierge assisted with restaurants and directions. Great access to cable cars as well! Took advantage of valet parking, room service, as well as dining at the Top of the Mark. Every aspect of our visit was positive. Great experience and we will book here again without considering any other hotel. 29 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stunning views and high-end comfortable rooms in this San Francisco classic A wonderful stay for our honeymoon. The gracious staff put us in an excellent room overlooking the downtown area and the bay of this unforgettable city. The room was very elegant and the bed extremely comfortable. The cleaning and room staff was great. The concierge, while not often at his post, was also quite helpful. First-rate affair. Highly recommended. 29 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great for the price The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Upgraded to view room. Had to call for bathrobes and coffee cups which should have been in the room. Bottle of water - $6.00, expensive. Top of the Mark was disappointing - wanted a quiet drink at the end of the evening to enjoy the view but the room is brightly lit with lots of young people making too much noise and milling around. 28 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great general experience Location is great and nice, building is genuine, and service was very good. The kind of hotels with huge history behind and service improved. 28 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the Mark Hopkins We stayed two night and enjoyed the comfortable bed and quiet room. Atmospherre and staff at the hotel are excellent. Only complaints we had were the high cost of the internet and the lack of a gift/sundries store to buy soft drinks, snacks etc. Beautiful location with great views. Would definitely stay here again. 27 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Highly recommend staying at this location. A good value. 27 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful weekend We stayed two nights at the Mark to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was a great experience and we'll definitely be back for future celebrations. 27 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Luxurious and best anniversay trip This visit was for our 11 year anniversary. This was our first time ever staying in downtown San Francisco and our first visit to this hotel. From the moment we walked into the lobby we were greeted and made welcome. The atmosphere and presentation of this grand hotel is one we will never forget. The room was excellent, comfortable, the bath was the best ever and the view - words can even explain the pleasure of looking out my window every waking moment. RECOMMEND! RECOMMEND! 27 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Elegant Classic Hotel The Mark Hopkins has maintained the quality, service, and elegance that it always had. No small feat in this day and age. The rooms are of a nice size, well-furnished, and cheerful and appealing. The beds are very comfortable. And the service both at the front desk and in all the other areas is excellent. I always recommend this fine hotel to friends. There is one negative that I have to mention about the Mark Hopkins though, and it really does disturb me. They charge $16 to get on to the internet. That is an obscene amount of money. Most fine hotels all over the world that I have stayed in offer free internet service to their guests. This is especially disturbing in a city where free Wi Fi is available all over the place. The Mark Hopkins should really look into this outrageous charge and make WiFi free to its guests. It certainly does not befit a hotel of the quality and stature of this hotel. 26 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My new favorite hotel for soooo many reasons I couldn't be happier to review this Hotel. From check in to check out, everything was amazing. We were there for 4 nights for a family wedding in town, and when we woke up to check out, my poor hubby had come down with influenza. One call to front desk, and we had the name and # of the Doc. The Mgr. was kind enough to extend the special rate we had for an extra night and sent up in the evening a tray of fresh fruit, chocolate, and Evian waters with a Get well card. Where else would you find this kind of love?? The only thing I would love to see is a separate cocktail area where guests could sit/stand and have a drink and gather. The Top of the Mark is great for late night nibbles, drinks and dancing, but not for gathering for a cocktail. Hated them losing the business of our large party. Other than that, perfection in every way! Thank you, Mark ! 26 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great old hotel and best location! We loved our stay, got a great deal on an internet special! 24 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sensational We stayed here and had the most fantastic time. I would fully recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a 5* holiday experience. 24 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and property. Some of the best and professional staff. We will definitely be back. 21 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mark Hopkins San Francisco is Top Notch The Mark Hopkins is an excellent hotel to stay at in the San Francisco Bay area! The staff is very professional, the rooms are exceptional, the beds are so comfortable, and above all you can't beat the location. You are only a couple blocks from Union Square and a trolly ride to Fisherman's Wharf. I would definitely recommend the Mark Hopkins to anyone thinking of visiting the San Francisco Bay area. 18 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view, comfy bed, thin walls We had a fabulous time at the Mark Hopkins! We will stay again. We were on the 14th floor with a lovely view of the Grace Cathedral, the Fairmount Hotel, lots of the city and even little slices of the bay. For chubby Midwesterners, (we are the latter, though not so chubby), beware: the SF hills that dominate Nob Hill where the hotel is located will challenge you, at least at first. Each time you leave and go down hills, you must return and scale those same hills... often after drinks or a big meal. Get your quads and glutes pumped and ready before you go. The natives bop up and down those hills like it's nothin'. (You will too, with time). The bed was cozy, warm and wonderful. The water was always super hot and soothing. The staff was smiling, sweet and very helpful when we had questions about directions. And we enjoyed the views and drinks at the Top of the Mark one night, even though the crowd was generally mature. It was pricey, but fun nonetheless. Take note: there is not complimentary WIFI in the rooms. And the walls are rather thin, so if you are a light sleeper, let the staff know that you don't want kids or other loud folks rooming next door. Chinatown is very close, as is Union Square; the Tenderloin is not excessively far (dive bars appeal to us, but perhaps not to everyone); and you can walk, bus or cable car to pretty much anywhere you want to go. Check out the small, cool and free Cable Car Museum just down the hill passing in front of the Fairmount Hotel. Also, have a hearty, reasonably-priced Italian meal and the Nob Hill Café, just around the corner. Yum. 16 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff and amenities My wife and I celebrated our 42nd anniversary in San Francisco. Our time in your beautiful city was made perfect by our stay at your beautiful Mark Hopkins Intercontental! The entire staff we met could not have been more accommodating. The facility was lovely, beautifully appointed and maintainedour deluxe room was delightful, comfortable with a beautiful view of the bay and city. To complete our enjoyable visit, we were pleasantly surprised on our last night with a lovely dish of strawberries and assorted dips. What a nice way to complete our anniversary stay in San Francisco! We look forward to our next trip to your city and the Mark Hopkins. JAH 15 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Therapeutic Experience I am always amazed by the Mark Hopkins. I am a Priority Club Ambassador member, and they always give me an amenity that includes fresh fruit, bottled water, and local organic chocolates. Housekeeping also brings a few more chocolates during the turn down service later on. I had a very luxurious room with a great view that was very therapeutic. My room had a spa with whirlpool jets and a separate shower (with glass French doors to the shower). The bedroom also has French Doors. There is a chandelier over the dining room table, which has a view of the Trans America Building. There is a wide selection of channels on the large flat screen TV in the living room area. I am always able to get a great night's sleep on the comfortable beds -- the sheets are ironed, and the pillows are very comfortable. The room is immaculately clean. The staff are very polite and professional. The food at the Top of the Mark for Sunday brunch is outstanding -- rack of lamb, prime rib, oysters on the half shell, caviar with blinis, smoked fishes, lobster ceviche, lobster bisque, butternut squash ravioli, champagne, orange juice, and desserts, including the Mark Hopkins Bread Pudding. The California Street cable car line goes right by the hotel, and the Powell Street cable car line is half a block away. Grace Cathedral is one block away. Chinatown, Union Square, North Beach, Cathedral Hill, the Financial District, and the Embarcadero are all easy to get to on foot. Enjoying brunch at the Top of the Mark on a clear day with a view of the Golden Gate Bridge is one of the best spots to be in California, and the Mark Hopkins definitely lives up to the term "Ambassador." 15 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice, but in-room wireless service is a joke I stayed at the Intercontinental, a hotel that would normally be out of my price range, in conjunction with a conference. Given the discounted rate, it was a HUGE bargain. Easily the nicest hotel room I've stayed in anywhere in San Francisco: spacious -- a WALK-IN CLOSET, PEOPLE! -- well-furnished, quiet, immaculately clean. Given the hotel's perch at the top of Nob Hill, there probably isn't a bad view in the whole place. Thus, given the obvious quality of the hotel, the laughable in-room wireless service came as a surprise. It worked well enough for one to agree to the charge -- after that; not so much. Signal dropped constantly, and when it was apparently working, it crawled. I called the desk; they had me call tech support. I called tech support; the operator hemmed and hawed for a few minutes, put me on hold for 10 minutes, came back and said he'd have to call back after he talked to a "tech specialist" who was currently occupied. He called back, but not until 24 HOURS LATER, at which time he left a voice mail saying that he "hoped it was working better now." It was not. The year is 2013; one would think a major hotel chain would have this better worked out by now. Desk staff was very apologetic -- the wireless service is clearly run by an external vendor/contractor -- and I didn't get charged for it, so kudos to them for the correct response. But if you NEED great internet access/bandwidth, this is not your hotel. Otherwise, excellent in every respect. 15 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay! Was here for a wedding weekend and stayed for 3 nights. Staff was extremely helpful when it came to needing things for the wedding. Rooms were larger than expected and beds were super comfortable! Would definitely come back! 15 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by NO movies on demand in rooms Very nice receptionist. The valet and garage is very slow Thank you 15 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Classic Nob Hill It has been 42 years since I was last there with my parents. Everything is remarkably perfect. My memories of "The Top of the Mark", the Fairmont, Union Square etc. were revived. Our occasional trips to the city included breakfast at the City of Paris, cable car rides to the wharf, prime rib lunch at Lefty O'douls and off to to see the 49ers or Giants. The views were perfect and the service and food excellent. Of course the wardrobes have changed. . . . jeans, sweaters etc. seem to be the norm now. Back then we would have never considered coming to the Mark Hopkins in anything but coat and tie. However, I am not complaining. My wife and I had a great experience and we will be back soon. Thanks so much. 13 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Club Room,,, Really enjoyed using the club room in the lobby area. Well worth the extra room charges to enjoy such a large space with drinks and food all day long. Really felt at home, just hanging out...or catching a TV show between day trips into the city. Great stay! 11 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Luxurious Stay My husband and I spent one night in SF to have a romantic "getaway" together after being with family for five days. The Mark was the perfect choice. The rooms were elegantly appointed; modern with a touch of vintage. The views of the city are incredible. Service was impeccable and although the valet fee is quite hefty, it was very convenient to have our car parked and then waiting for us when it was time to leave. You certainly do feel very pampered upon leaving this place. Also, the rates were fabulous. We booked mid-week and there were specials going on. 08 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location was the best bit It's a classy hotel and location. Cable-car stop's just outside and easy walk to Union Square for other connections, or North Beach area where we had dinner every night. Don't miss the bar at Top of the Mark, amazing views. We had breakfast buffet once up there, but to keep cost down and have some variety went to Diner's near Union Square other days (Sears and Loris, both great). We had a corner room which had great views (I think all rooms have views to be honest), but was nothing special in itself. Nice, but not amazing (we'd just come from Vegas, so maybe were making unfair comparisons). Only complaint would be that the walls seemed thin - could hear the odd noise from neighbors. Most staff very friendly and knowledgeable (especially the great doormen). 08 January 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Great time in the City girl at front desk was helpful and extremely nice and I Believe she enjoys working there 07 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great on site management Front Office Assistant Manager, Mr. Sheppard, led a team of dedicated professionals. Mr. Sheppard's positive attitude toward ensuring our most pleasant stay seemed to noticeably motivate the Hotel staff . Lamentably, candor dictates we mention woodwork in Hotel hallways badly needed a good deal of sanding and then repainting. 06 January 2013
<<prev 20 21 22 23 24 25 next>>
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    7:26 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs