Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 614 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by View from the hill We have stayed here many times, and it is always a feeling of comfort and home. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating. The room is always clean and comfortable. It is a safe and convenient neighborhood, with local eateries and bars, nightclubs and entertainment. It is easy to travel anywhere in the city, as almost all, forms of transportation is available right at the hotels front doorstep. I love the view from our room, and usually stay in the same room each time as, I love the" view from the hill", at night, and the peaceful view of the cathedral across the way. I love this hotel and this city, we have stayed at others but always return to this hotel... 01 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel but Poor Service The hotel and location are fine. It is an old hotel, but reasonably well maintained. Our window view was good, but perhaps due to old windows, road noise was apparent. What dominated my stay's feeling however, was my entry and exit. On arriving, I was not treated as anyone special being an Ambassador. More importantly, reception said "Does she want a key" referring to my wife standing beside me. She also asked if we wanted 1 or 2 beds. I thought this to be extremely rude. On Exit, I called for my car, went downstairs, and waited 20 minutes. No Car. It was obvious I was waiting for my car because I went outside a few times, but no action by anyone. Finally, I went to the concierge and asked for my car, and it was obvious they had forgotten it. No apology, nothing. They just went and got it and waited for a tip. Based on service, I would not return here. 30 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by club As Ambassadors we thought the re-vamping of the Club facility made this visit less satisfactory. It is true the breakfast buffet was good but the advantage of the Club used to be the relaxed atmosphere; we found that now lost. We had to reserve a table but that,on occasion, was not done. The 5-7 'cocktail' slot also marked a downturn. The fact that half of the space was already set for meals meant having to sit in uncomfortable seats, in consequence we rarely availed ourselves of what used to be one of the hotel's strong-points. We much preferred the temporary re-location to floor 17 #as we reported at the time# and indeed the original Club facility on the ground floor. 30 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable accomodations We found the Mark Hopkins very nice. It was conveniently located to many attractions. We loved the view from Top of the Mark and enjoyed our Martini and the atmosphere. The breakfast buffet was a bit pricey and could have been better explained as to costs and alternatives.It was non-the-less a beautiful buffet with many delicious choices. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would love to return one day. 29 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing view!! We spent Memorial Day weekend here, the view from our room was amazing! The staff was friendly and the location is great!! The hotel is in need of a major renovation. The rooms were clean and comfortable but there was only one convenience outlet in the room. The bathroom water pressure was minimal and the sink was broken. Overall it was worth the stay in a beautiful historic hotel and after the renovation is complete it will be amazing! 29 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recommend This Hotel !!! This hotel is beautiful. It is very clean, well maintained, and the staff is great. They are friendly and knowledgeable. The hotel is located in a very convenient area of San Francisco with access to trolley cars right in front. My room was relatively small, like most San Francisco hotels, but very clean and well maintained. The bathroom and shower were very clean. Because I was on the street side, there was a lot of noise that comes through the windows, but to me, this was not overwhelming. I enjoyed hearing the trolley pass by and some of the activity going on in front of the hotel. These pluses make the stay here worth it, although the overall cost was relatively high. All in all, I highly recommend it, and would stay here again. The valet team should also be commended. They fetched my car quickly, did not expect a tip every time I turned around, and gave me directions. Thank you!!! 29 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay except for Lost and Found The hotel was lovely, clean, and comfortable, and I would recommend it to others. My only complaint has to do with the Lost and Found department. When I checked out, I let them know I was missing an item and left my phone number so that they could call me if it was found. I didn't hear from them while I was still in the San Francisco area (4 more days). When I got back to my hometown, I called them, and yes, they had my sweater. If I had known while I was still in SF, I could've picked it up myself. Now I must incur a charge of $15-$20 to have it returned. I'm disappointed that they did not call me when it was first found, as I thought this hotel otherwise offered excellent service. 29 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Service From all I was very impressed with the politeness and helpfulness the staff showed me while here. They were very accommodating to all of my questions from asking directions to getting recommendations in San Francisco. It was a Pleasant Experience and I would Highly Recommend this hotel for quality service, 5 Stars. 28 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Facility/Not So Great Service Unfortunately the stay started out poorly. I was not allowed to use the rewards member check in line, as I was told that I needed to be in the normal check in line. Then I was booked into the wrong rooms with rates that were completely inaccurate. Would have been nice to actually be acknowledged for my status with the IHG group. The hotel has a great historic feel. Rooms were nice, view was nice. Bed was very much broken down and not much to sleep on. Great restaurant in the lobby however the feel of the Top Of The Mark restaurant was something to be desired. I left after arriving at the top, i was made to feel not welcome, as the staff was completely rude. I am not sure I would stay again. I love the location and the feel of the facility however the staff was unbelievably bad. 28 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by I felt like I was in the Elevator Shaft Overall, my experience was pleasant. This was my second visit to the Mark Hopkins, San Francisco. However, I had a hard time sleeping as my bed was next to the Elevator Shafts, All I heard were the Elevators going up and down through the night.. The hvac was also a disappointment. My room was too warm even though the stat was set at 66. Yes, I should have said something. I will have to think twice before returning 28 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Out of Sight!!!! My girl friend and I have stayed at some of the nicest properties in the United States and this ranks as one of the absolute nicest. The location is superb for anyone wanting to experience Union Square and/or the Wharf. The building is magnificently pristine, the rooms are opulent and the beds very comfortable. If there was one thing that was small it was the elevators. So, I would highly recommend this property to anyone who wants to see what traditional San Francisco Resorts are like. We will be back in the next few months. 27 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great few days This was a great few days - the staff was really exceptional (especially the concierge), and the hotel was located well in terms of being close to everything. The bathroom was spectacular and large - clearly recently redone - though the room itself was a little tired and the decor of the room and the bathroom didm;t match. That said, the bed was comfortable, the lighting was good and there was an in-room coffee maker. I also loved the bathroom products and the robe and slippers. Overall, i would go back to this hotel very happily. 26 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Superb Location in SFO Beautiful hotel in a superb Location. The views from the upper rooms are the best. 3 negative points: - Water pressure in the shower is poor. - The breakfast is ridicously poor for a hotel like this. I honestly do not understand why. - Top of the Mark is a must. But you can not order any food after 10 PM because the kitchen is closed. Not even somethig simple. Please, change that. Tourists like going to bed after 10 PM. 25 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by InterContinental means Inconsistent When I walk into a McDonald's, I know exactly what I'm getting. This is not true with InterContinental Hotels, some are great, some shabby. The InterContinental on Howard Street in San Francisco is a modern, up to date hotel with modern amenities. The InterContinental Mark Hopkins, barely a literal mile away, is miles away on quality. The hotel is worn and dated with shoebox bathrooms. The Top of the Mark, supposed to be a signature San Francisco experience would be, without the views, at home in any retirement home. The hotel owner needs to close the property for a couple of years, gut it and rebuild it into the landmark it's meant to be. Notes should be taken from the George 5 and Crillon in Paris and The Savoy in London.. 25 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great place to stay I enjoyed every moment of my recent stay! The hotel is beautiful. Loved my upgraded room. Hotel and restaurant were all friendly and professional. 21 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Who let the dogs out? Spent 3 nights starting May 14. Location is wonderful, atop Nob Hill. Check-in was easy and pleasant, although no one told me that as a guest the cover charge for Top of the Mark would be waived, which is something I learned only late in my stay while someone else was checking in, and by then, too late to take advantage of. Breakfast is buffet only ($26 cold only -$30 all-in), except Ambassador Club members get it for free. If you just want something simple, room service is less expensive and easier. When I got into bed the first night, I heard a dog barking across the hall, and that continued for a bit. When I complained the next day, I was told dogs are allowed, but there is a dedicated pet floor, so the dog on my floor either snuck in or was misallocated. Surprising a hotel of this level allows dogs. Biggest complaint: the so-called Business Center. I wanted to print a few pages, and it was complicated and looked pricey. The business center was unattended, so no one to ask. First, I used the UPS store in the Fairmont, but the next time when I needed just 3 pages, I called the front desk, and a lovely woman named Sarah offered to print it for me at the front desk, so that was quite helpful. 21 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Classy stay at the classiest place in the city! First the "bad" - room overall was great but there were SERIOUS dust bunnies under and behind the bed...plus the mirror in the bathroom had a really cracked frame. The good - pretty much EVERYTHING ELSE!! Staff was amazing from lunch recommendations to cocktails at 'Top of the Mark", to extra towels or shoe shines!! Class all the way and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a great escape!! 20 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous Hotel My daughter and I often stay at this hotel and the service is consistently wonderful. The staff are super helpful and very accommodating. The beds and pillows are fantastic, I highly recommend staying here. 15 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All the memories The beautiful Mark Hopkins. If only the walls could talk. What stories might be told by previous hotel guests. Especially those visiting the Top of The Mark. A special thank you to front desk staff member Raquel and manager Sara for their prompt, courteous and professional response to a concern we expressed regarding our reservation beginning on 5-9-14. Thanks to the entire hotel staff for making our stay so delightful. And thank you for the history, and the memories past and present that one experiences when walking into the Mark Hopkins. J and J 14 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Fantastic attitude from all staff members making this an exceptional experience. 12 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Sweet 16 birthday experience for my daughter and I! What an amazing time. Not only is the Mark Hopkins a Classic, but its employees are top rate. Big kudos to the Front Desk Manager who pretty much made our stay as amazing as it was. I had met him last time I stayed at your hotel as I wanted to give my personal comments about our stay. He said to call if I was to ever come back, and so it was, my daughter's 16th birthday and she wanted to go to SF for an overnight with her friend. David upgraded us and even put us on the 16th floor! He personally came over to greet us at check-in and my daughter felt like a princess! When in our beautiful room overlooking the city we got a knock on the door and a sweet gentlemen brought in a little cake with plates and set up and it was personalized for my daughter's birthday. Wow!! Amazing again. Then we went down and enjoyed the wonderful club benefits with appetizers and drinks. They even made a Shirley Temple for my daughter and her friend. Here is the thing, not only do you have a wonderful hotel, but you have exceptional employees who really make your hotel a beautiful home. They are warm and wonderful, as well as very professional in all that they do. Another bonus is my daughter's friend accidentally left her retainer on her plate at the morning breakfast in the club room and realized it after her plate had been taken away by a staff member. The immediately worked at finding it for us and an hour later I personally got a call to let us know they had found it! What an amazing staff, what an amazing place, I am SOLD on the Mark Hopkins and all that it has going for it! I also want to mention that the food service in the club room was impeccable and we loved the breakfast items served. Everything tasted great and it was presented very nicely. I wanted to make sure you get this information as I have been in the restaurant and hotel/travel industry since the 90s and I am always looking and taking things in. Good or bad, I always feel it is important to share my experience. I have stayed in SF many times and now that i have experienced the difference at the Mark Hopkins, twice, you are the only one I will go back to (vacancy permitting!). Thank you again for a wonderful experience that my daughter will remember all her life! I will too! Hope to see you and your wonderful staff soon! 10 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Classic stay at a classy not stuffy hotel The basics at a property of this caliber are typically the same. Immaculate rooms, dream inducing beds, bathrooms you wish you had at your own house. The difference makers are the people that you deal with at the property. I travel a lot and when a hotel goes out of its way (not pushy or over the top) to make you feel at home then they've gone beyond the call of duty. The Mark Hopkins Intercontinental staff from the front desk to the bell hops, valet staff to my favorite room service lady who kept trying to get me to buy dessert ( we had a lot of laughs with that) were perfect. I've only had one other experience that hit this mark and it was the Madrid Intercontinental in Spain. Great job !!! 09 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay, without a hitch! From check-in to departure the staff was responsive, polite, accommodating, and cheerful. The room was ample, the bedding very comfortable, and the building subtly elegant. The location on top of Nob Hill was excellent. I would not hesitate to stay here at any time. 07 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Experience There is NO place that can out-perform this specific location! This facility is truly World-Class in professionalism and elegance. 07 May 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Not so good experience Had to wait half hour for elevators. Noise in the rooms during nights. Not a pleasant hotel to stay. 04 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, great building Concierge was very helpful in restaurant recommendations. Bellman were attentive. Location central to all we visited and the Top of the Mark Wes the best. Went there there three times. 03 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by None; just initials please A very enjoyable stay on the 15th floor with a wonderful view of the city skyline, water and bridge. This was a special occasion of my son's wedding and the staff was very attentive to our needs. Also the location was excellent with many attractions within easy walking distance. Thank you for an enjoyable stay. V.J. R. 02 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Birthday Surprise We went to the Mark Hopkins to celebrate my daughter's 21st Birthday. We were upgraded to a corner suite with a spectacular view of the bay and downtown San Francisco. After a night out at the ballet we all returned to the suite and discovered a bottle of champange and a surprise with Happy Birthday written in chocolate on the plate. It was a beautiful stay. Such friendly staff and memorable experience. We are certainly going back again very soon. 01 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely place to stay Everything was perfect at the Mark Hopkins. We have stayed at many InterContinental's globally and this was one of the best experiences that we have had. 01 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Maintenance A little maintenance is needed in the hotel. In our room we had lights that did not work, loose light switches, torn curtains. In the bathrooms you need to have more space to put cosmetics, etc. 27 April 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 22 next>>
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    7:51 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs