Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

WELCOME TO

San Francisco

Concierge Photo Concierge Signature
Dan Sotelo
Chief Concierge

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

Don't call it Frisco!

San Francisco is a great diverse city, with its people from all parts of the world. We're friendly and enjoy showing off our city, don't hesitate to ask anyone for directions!
HISTORIC SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL
As splendid as when it opened in 1926, Mark Hopkins is one of the city’s finest historic San Francisco luxury hotels. It’s ideally located at the crossing of three cable car lines, just minutes from Union Square. Each suite is furnished in a unique, stately style. Breathtaking views of San Francisco combine with fine dining and a signature 100 Martini menu at Top of the Mark restaurant. Described when it opened as ‘architecturally perfect’, this San Francisco luxury hotel remains so today.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    The legendary Top of the Mark lays the city at your feet with near 360 degree vistas showcasing the beautiful and scenic skyline of San Francisco. ...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre is equipped with Precor ellipticals, stationary bikes, treadmills and Paramount weight machines, many with flat-screen T...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    11:19 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 431 reviewers.
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by ooooo If your not giving points for this stay, like the 60 day stay in cleveland OH last year. Y be a member???? September 1, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Excellent rooms and service was outstanding. Had a great visit. Only bad side was paying $40 for parking per day but it is San Francisco September 1, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay! From the moment I walked in, the staff were extremely courteous and helpful! It was recommended to me to visit a location farmer's market as well as the Japanese Cherry Blossom festival. The front desk agent gave me a map and walking directions to both places. Both of the recommended experiences were some of the best on the trip! My room was clean and quiet. I never visited to restaurant or bar, but they seemed to be a very popular place. Highly, highly recommend! August 31, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best concierge service All the concierges were extremely helpful and gave us great advice. Doug in particular went out of his way to be sure we enjoyed our vacation even after San Francisco. He gave us a great tip to visit Capitola! August 29, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location The hotel is located within walking distance of everything in San Francisco. If you are not a walker, the bus line/trolly is near the hotel as well. Friendly staff, newly lobby, restaurant and workout room August 26, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best Holiday Inn between the airport and the Golden Gate I've stayed in every San Francisco Holiday Inn and this one is now my favorite. The parking is convenient, the rooms are updated, the lobby is simple to navigate and the staff is very cheerful and friendly. August 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and view As a IHG Platinum member, got upgraded to a corner room with a beautiful, sweeping view of the city. Courteous staff upon check in and throughout entire stay. One minor issue was getting out of the parking garage after having paid for parking at the front desk. The provided card indicated an error every time I attempted to scan it, which was resolved by calling the front desk using the assistance button on the parking garage exit. This was a minor inconvenience. August 21, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic experience - Great location! Definitely recommend the rooms with a view. Magnificent views, newly renovated, incredible location (within walking distance to great food and drink options) and great staff. Definitely would book again when visiting the SF Bay area! August 20, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel Greatly enjoyed our stay and recommend it highly. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! August 20, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service and clean room Being an IHG club member, the front desk lady upgraded my room floor to 25 with a better view of SFO skyline. She also mentioned that the hotel is not fully occupied. I appreciated her customer service very much. The room was very clean. One thing that I didn't give an excellent score were the two-standard beds that gave me an uncomfortable sleep. Thought that they were queen-size beds. They would be more comfy to sleep. Overall, I will still go back to this hotel. August 20, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by business stay The room was very expensive for one night compared to other times I have stayed at this same hotel. Overall location is a big draw as it is across the street from my business office. August 19, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn - Golden Gateway Much better than any other Holiday Inn's that I have stayed in. Great location, and great views. August 18, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Angenehmer Aufenthalt in zentraler Lage Guter Gesamteindruck und freundliches Personal. Gutes Frühstücksbüffet. Parkmöglichkeit direkt imHotel Negativ: Der Frühstücksraum ist zu stark heruntergekühlt, selbst bei ohnehin schon niedrigen Außentemperaturen. Schallschutzfenster wären selbst in den oberen Stockwerken noch angemessen, da der Straßenlärm stark durchdringt. August 18, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient for business travel The staff are attentive and helpful. The convenience of on site dining, especially for breakfast is a plus, the pricing on the menu items is a little high. The fitness center has a decent variety of equipment, fairly standard at chain hotels. Overall, if you are looking for a good all around hotel for business travel this is a good choice. August 14, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome View! ALL the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The amazing view from our room of the Bay, Ocean, AND City was STUNNING! August 13, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great views, many restaurants and bars nearby Great views of bay, Alcatraz, Golden Gate Bridge, and Marin from high floors, northwest facing rooms. Close to many restaurants and bars on the Polk side of Russian Hill. August 13, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Central location - but service could be improved Located between the main tourist areas but not really close to any of them, although always easy to get a taxi and only about a $10 dollar ride from Fisherman's Wharf or Union Square. Our room was nice but a little on the small side. The breakfast was expensive and not great quality - both in limited choice and not great quality - but lots of nearby alternatives. Staff quality was mixed - breakfast waiters in particular could be quite surly. August 12, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and polite staff Comfortable bed and polite staff. Good for a business traveler as the room has a nice desk and good internet. August 10, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful experience for our granddaughters One of our granddaughters requested "a tall building with a view". That is exactly what we got, and loved. The service from the front desk to the cleaning staff was fabulous. Everyone was friendly, helpful and very accommodating. We hope to return some day. August 10, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Team - Great Location Jimmy and Irene at the front desk were so helpful to us. Facility is in a great location with a bus to the wharf right down the block, as well there are lots of really good restaurants right around the block on Polk and the coffee shop across the street was great. Breakfast at the hotel was really tasty and I didn't need lunch that day due to the large quantity. Bar was very busy and had a fun crowd. August 8, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room, space, and front desk Our room was comfortable,clean, and quiet. The person who slept in the bed next to the wall, needed more room (levels, shelves) to put her things. If the person who slept next to the window used the foldout luggage holder, it would block the frig. The line at the front desk was long and slow. The cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful. The front desk staff, not so much. August 6, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This hotel is expensive, but after searching for other hotels in the location we wanted, this one was actually priced lower than any other I could find, so for San Francisco, it's a good price. I'm happy I found it, we were just a block from tons of restaurants on Polk Street, all within walking distance, which is important to me since parking is a bear in the city. We were just 2 blocks from The Regency, where we attended a concert. We completely enjoyed our stay, the staff was polite and helpful, the room was clean, air conditioner worked great, the bed was fabulous and we slept like babies, not waking up until 9:30! So comfy. August 5, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Busy time in San Francisco This was a great place to stay in San Francisco - location and convenience. Room rates and parking fee like everywhere else in town at this time of year were high, but not out of range. I call it the cost of travel. Main transit line nearly outside the front door plus others up/down the street, hotel not on the top of a major "hill", convenience to many very good eateries [check out their map], quiet rooms [no noise from city streets] and the view from the upper hotel rooms [especially at night] all recommend this Holiday Inn; me too! August 5, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice stay! This was the perfect hotel for a three day getaway to the city. We loved the room and its nice view. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Conveniently located close to Fisherman's Wharf. I will definitely stay here when I next visit San Francisco. August 4, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Location for Entering San Francisco The Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gate is the perfect location for entering the town. The cable car is near by. The service in the hotel is very good. Safety for your own and for your car is perfect. Just one item is not that good: the noise of the surrounding traffic, even in the night. Better, noise reducting windows would increase the comfort of that hotel a lot. August 4, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Very Happy and Satisfied I was very happy with the location and overall experience at this Holiday Inn. It was quiet and peaceful and the room was clean and beautiful. We were able to walk to restaurants and public transport without having to move the car. And, it's dog friendly! Staff was nothing but friendly, attentive and helpful, never irritable. Fast check-in and out. I really appreciated the service. August 3, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Food Options I could not find much of asian cuisine and being asian vegetarian almost had nothing to eat at hotel restaurant. Would be good if Veg options are included in meals. This was the reason i avoided dinners in restaurant. August 2, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice HI in SF Staff excellent. Very helpful for visitors to SF and courteous. Inside hotel nice; convenient to restaurants and cable car. parking is expensive but if you go in and out, it may be comparable to other nearby cheaper parking lots; they did allow us to keep our vehicle in the garage until evening time (hours after our checkout). August 1, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Transportation from airport I think the hotel should offer FREE shuttle service to airport. I paid $48 each way in a cab. Most all other big cities offer free shuttle service from airport. My opinion. I also think the rental car people should deliver car to hotel for you. Hotel very nice but prefer to stay in a hotel closer to Bay area. Taxi service very expensive that week. August 1, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Happy Visit Everything worked and very pleasant staff. Information was reequested and provided well. August 1, 2014
    <<prev2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>