Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

WELCOME TO

San Francisco

Concierge Photo Concierge Signature
Dan Sotelo
Chief Concierge

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

Don't call it Frisco!

San Francisco is a great diverse city, with its people from all parts of the world. We're friendly and enjoy showing off our city, don't hesitate to ask anyone for directions!
HISTORIC SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL
As splendid as when it opened in 1926, Mark Hopkins is one of the city’s finest historic San Francisco luxury hotels. It’s ideally located at the crossing of three cable car lines, just minutes from Union Square. Each suite is furnished in a unique, stately style. Breathtaking views of San Francisco combine with fine dining and a signature 100 Martini menu at Top of the Mark restaurant. Described when it opened as ‘architecturally perfect’, this San Francisco luxury hotel remains so today.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    The legendary Top of the Mark lays the city at your feet with near 360 degree vistas showcasing the beautiful and scenic skyline of San Francisco. ...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre is equipped with Precor ellipticals, stationary bikes, treadmills and Paramount weight machines, many with flat-screen T...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    5:06 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 252 reviewers.
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Scary neighborhood, Slow wifi The room was fine, I slept fine, and everything (inside) was nice and clean. The problem is: 1) The wireless internet was rather slow, and there was no wired option. 2) The neighborhood and the signs and warnings in the room made me feel a bit unsafe. June 24, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Exelente ubicacion y servcio exelente Mi estancia estubo muy bien , buena atención , habitaciones pequeñas pero cómodas , no tienen escritorio ni nevera . La atención de las personas es inmejorable. June 24, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible beds and smelly rooms The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to BART. This is the ONLY positive about this hotel. The rooms are not as nice as the lobby or restaurant areas, as far as decor is concerned. The beds are terrible (old, hard mattresses!) and I changed rooms 3 times before I found one that didn't smell. Street noise is bad, hence the "complimentary earplugs" provided for your sleeping pleasure. The earplugs do little to combat the road noise or the chronic HVAC humming! The restaurant is a nice feature but service needs improvement from the kitchen and staff. As a frequent traveler, this was the worst hotel experience I've encountered in a long time! June 24, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top Hotel in guter Lage wir waren zu fünft und allen hat es sehr gut gefallen wir sind im Jahr zwei bis dreimal in USA u. werden dieses Hotel in dem wir vorher schon waren wieder buchen June 24, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience! Staff went above and beyond. I had a very busy schedule and they really bent over backwards to accommodate a series of requests for their help with transportation, amenities, food, etc. Facilities are clean and new, and breakfast was solid. Highly recommended! June 20, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Business trip Hotel was adequate, nothing to write home about. There was no fridge/mini bar in the room. Outside of hotel felt uncomfortable to walk around. June 18, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and well connected to places of interest My stay was for busines purpose lasting about 5 nights. There was no noise in the room, lighting was good. Hotel has good breakfast facilities.Staff are courtious and caring.Hotel helped access cabs for local travel and had a small gift shop too. June 17, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely friendly and helpful staff at the dining section The best part of the hotel was that the staff of the restaurant/kitchen of the hotel was really helpful, friendly and cheerful. The doorman and other staff available at the door were also helpful and jovial. June 15, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad neighborhood and unhelpful staff Overcharged for my room; price not as agreed. This hotel takes bus loads of foreign tourists and caters to that trade; does not pay much attention to independent business or tourist guests. Lots of street people; public urination; uncomfortable neighborhood. June 13, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Good Visit to SF I have stay at this Holiday Inn location several times and have always enjoyed my stay. My only issue with this recent stay was the Cost of Room Service, which I am pretty sure has changed since my last visit. They now add 19% gratuity plus a $4.00 delivery charge. I can understand a resturant automatically adding a gratuity but this was over the top. June 11, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable The hotel is well updated and the beds are clean and comfortable. An airport shuttle is available if booked ahead of time. I wish I had been aware of this. One night we returned from the conference to find the front door closed for cleaning. There was no sign indicating how to enter the hotel. We did not have a car and were not aware of the entrance through the garage. A sign would be appropriate whenever the main entrance is closed. Otherwise, the stay was enjoyable and relaxing. June 11, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very insincere and unprofessional management Stayed two nights, booked each night separately. The front staff kindly combined them when I checked in, but might forgot canceling the duplication although he promised. So, I was billed both, two nights stay and another one night stay on the same day. I tried to contact this hotel regarding this issue via email since I am based in oversea, but could NOT get responses at all, even though reminded a few times and, also, contacted via IHG Guest Relations. (I have GOLD status though..) Finally, I could be contacted with the hotel management TWO weeks after my first contact by just saying "your refund was processed.." without mentioning any apologies for the delay and wrong billing, even after a few FURTHER inquires to IHG Guest Relations. Very insincere and unprofessional this hotel management looks. Due to construction of hotel building and its location (SF Civic Center), it also makes this hotel's atmosphere and experience worse. Whatever you have higher status, I do not recommend this property if you want to have more than a fair experience of IHG. June 6, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Staff and Location The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful, great service and location. May 31, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staying The staff concierge Jim was very helpful during my stay. May 31, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Reasonable Dear All, Although I checked out on the 23rd of May, but till now a balance of about $150 is not yet credited to my credit card. I settled my invoice and don't know why is the delay Appreciate your assistance Thanks May 30, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Visit My friends and I had a great time in San Francisco and were pleased with the hotel accomodations. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We were able to grab a taxi outside of the hotel every day and the cleaning staff provided us with great hospitality. I would stay here again. My only complaint would have to be the cost of parking per day. A little steep considering we are paying to stay at the hotel already. My suggestion for the hotel to keep the same income on the parking is to lower the rate for hotel guests and increase the rate for public day users. And a continental breakfast would have been a great addition. May 29, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Noise was the only issue for me Everything was great quality, but the rumors about the noise at night are very true. I got accustomed to the city noise after the first night and then everything was great. It was a great value considering all the other hotels near Moscone were running at least twice the price. May 4, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice facility and fantastic staff The staff at this facility was more than courteous. The bellman went over the top in finding an Italian restaurant for my wife and I and the restaurant he recommended, Mona Lisa's, was everything he advertised it to be. The wait staff in the restaurant was particularly helpful in facilitating that as a platinum card holder we were afforded the opportunity for discounts on our breakfasts. The room was comfortable and well kept. The security aspects utilized by the hotel provided peace for mind during our stay. May 1, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service ONE OF YOUR EMPLOYEES HAS BEEN GREAT IN HELPING US MAKE RESERVATION IN THE FUTURE. ALWAYS HAVE A SMILE AND IS EVERY PLEASANT. THAT EMPLOYEE IS STEVE April 21, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by My stay in San Fran Sorry but the air conditioning unit was cutting in and out all the time so sleeping was difficult No tea making facilities and no fridge was very inconvenient Marilyn room cleaner was very nice and helpful Food in restaurant was very average Bed and pillows were very comfortable When you walk out of the hotel there are homeless people everywhere which made me very scared and uneasy Counter Staff and service was very good - it's a shame about its location otherwise good value for money April 17, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel is very nice, but the location is iffy for women on their own This Holiday Inn has been nicely renovated. The lobby is sleekly beautiful. The rooms are well done. If you book breakfast ahead with your stay, the buffet is only $10, and it's the kind of buffet that eliminates the need for lunch! We especially enjoyed the Chinese porridge, which may be a nod to the Asian tour groups that stay here but we thought was delightful, with the self-serve additions of fresh cilantro, peanuts and scallions. When we were booking, this was the lowest priced HI or HI Express for the time period, so we thought it was a good value. If you are in SF for a convention or to see a show at the Orpheum, it's a great location. However, quite a few homeless folks seem to wander the nearby streets, some selling clothes, etc. on the sidewalks, and while they are not overly aggressive panhandlers, single women might find this off-putting. Along the nearby library, sleeping homeless folks lined the sidewalk. Tho we are well-traveled, we have not been in a US city where so many homeless people are so many places, so perhaps it's what you're used to. I'm sure this must be a problem SF is looking to solve (with compassion, we hope). April 16, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by SF Budget Hotel If you don't mind loud noises, and if you enjoy listening to the conversations in the next room (or if you just like hearing people in the room next to you) then this place is great! If you are looking for a quiet place to get some sleep, then I suggest staying somewhere else. The rooms are clean and decorated nicely, but this but the hotel still shows its age, and the walls are paper thin. The hotel is conveniently near UN plaza and city center (which means that it is not near the most popular tourist spots) which may be great, depending on what you are in town for. The staff is average, and the restraunt / bar are only open during limited hours. April 14, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by SF Rock&Roll Half Marathon Booked room as out of town participant in SF Rock&Roll half marathon. Location was with in short walk for Start shuttles and finish line. Hotel had no minimum night stay which was perfect for a near local. Hotel was under renovation but still near a variety of dining. Hotel provided earplugs for sleeping...it is a downtown location. Felt like I was in a safe location. Did not get to use hotel fitness as I was running a 13 mile race. April 10, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Although the front of the hotel was under construction, the staff immediately pointed out the "detours" and indicated if we needed any help to let them know. They were extremely kind and courteous and provided excellent directions for getting around to the places we needed to be. April 9, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor food and service but cheap and near to subway I've stayed at this hotel as well as at the Holiday Inn on Van Ness many times. Neither of them delivers the level of comfort and service of other Holiday Inns and Holiday Inn Expresses that I've stayed at around the country. The Civic Center location is conveniently located right near the subway (though this section of Market St. is not known for being the prettiest part of the city#, and I get a pretty good corporate rate, which are the two reasons that I stay here. The rooms do not have refrigerators. The front desk staff is generally pretty friendly, but often quite slow. The food at the restaurant is poor. In the last few months, I've had the pizza, the burger, the sliders, and the steak, and the only item that was even remotely edible is the pizza. During my most recent stay, the usual bartender was not there, and when I asked to order food, the fill-in told me I should go sit in the restaurant instead. I sat alone in the restaurant eating cardboard pizza. There are some good restaurants a short walk away on Folsom like Citizens' Band, Soma Inn Café, and Triptych, but sometimes I'm just looking for the convenience of grabbing a bite to eat on my way back to my room. If you are not looking to be close to the subway, then I would recommend the Van Ness Location over this one. The Van Ness location #I haven't stayed there in about 6 months because of the distance from the subway# has a better restaurant, and the bar has pool tables and televisions too. Also, the rooms have fridges and it's right around the corner from a Whole Foods. That location also has a number of good restaurants and bars nearby on Polk. If you do need to use the subway though, you have to take the 47 bus or the 49, which are two of the most disgusting busses around. Honestly, given the choice between walking #about a 20 min. walk# and taking the 47 or 49, I highly recommend getting some exercise. April 3, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and great value Hotel at great location - within walking distance to shopping areas like Union Square and Westfield, close to City Hall and Asian Art Museum. Also near the cable car ride at Powell Street, and to take the Big Bus Hop On/Hop Off rides. The BART is also close to hotel and makes rides to other areas or to the airport easily accessible. April 3, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service The lobby is very inviting and clean. The seating areas were spacious and conducive to relaxing, waiting for other people, etc. My interaction with the staff were great. They were always pleasant and helpful. When I arrived in the morning, no rooms were available yet as normal check-in is at 3:00 pm. That was the first time I ever had to wait to get a room. However, I was able to leave my bags at the hotel while I tended to the reason for being in town. The elevators require a room key to get to your room. The business center requires you to have a room key. The bathroom in the lobby requires a room key. This is a good thing (in addition to the security guards) considering the number of people in the surrounding area off hotel property who sleep on the sidewalks. I was a bit perturbed because the fitness room was not available 24 hours, but after receiving an explanation from a member of the hotel staff of the reason, I understood and went about my business. However, he did offer an option for me to go to an off-site location with whom they have a business arrangement. The restaurant in the hotel provides a breakfast buffet for about $20 (no pancakes and waffles. I should have inquired) . The price seems high, but it's in a restaurant of a hotel in San Francisco. Should I have expected anything different? I didn't eat dinner because the selections seemed limited. Again, I was in San Francisco where the options of dining seemed limitless. If I didn't want to be out in the town, the restaurant offered the convenience of not having to leave the hotel, not to mention room service. I was surprised that a mini-fridge was absent. Although there was a cabinet for one, it wasn't until I bought ice cream that I realized there's no fridge. I never had trouble getting a parking space. The reason I also selected Amenities as a con is because at check-out, I learned two things. $20 nightly for a mini-fridge and local calls are $1.00 each. March 29, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Title Over all, I liked this hotel! My only gripe is that I wish that my room was as renavated as the lobby was! It had that Motel Smell about it when I first arived and I to unload a bottle of Ferbreaze on the place. I did like the bed though, the sheets and pellows where great and the staff was very helpful. March 25, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay As a visitor coming into town from the East Coast of the US, my first trip to San Francisco was made even better by the courteous and attentive staff at this Holiday Inn. Seriously - any request I had was treated seriously, and handled cheerfully. The staff also easily obtained taxis and transportation for me when I needed it, and every day I came home to an amazingly clean room. It was a busy time, too, during the Game Developer's Conference but the staff was amazingly adept. March 25, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay; Good Location Attended Game Developers Conference; very convenient location and a good stay with excellent staff. March 24, 2014
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>