Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

WELCOME TO

San Francisco

Concierge Photo Concierge Signature
Dan Sotelo
Chief Concierge

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

Don't call it Frisco!

San Francisco is a great diverse city, with its people from all parts of the world. We're friendly and enjoy showing off our city, don't hesitate to ask anyone for directions!
HISTORIC SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL
As splendid as when it opened in 1926, Mark Hopkins is one of the city’s finest historic San Francisco luxury hotels. It’s ideally located at the crossing of three cable car lines, just minutes from Union Square. Each suite is furnished in a unique, stately style. Breathtaking views of San Francisco combine with fine dining and a signature 100 Martini menu at Top of the Mark restaurant. Described when it opened as ‘architecturally perfect’, this San Francisco luxury hotel remains so today.

Guest Reviews

default

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    The legendary Top of the Mark lays the city at your feet with near 360 degree vistas showcasing the beautiful and scenic skyline of San Francisco. ...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre is equipped with Precor ellipticals, stationary bikes, treadmills and Paramount weight machines, many with flat-screen T...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...

InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    9:52 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 314 reviewers.
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by awaken We were awaken three times through out the night, first two times was a group out on a patio (large Patio) just below us shouting and banging something on the railing that went all through the hotel, this went on for approximately 2 hours, around 2-3 a group of girls were running up and down the hallway screaming, they ran past our room twice but we could hear them on other floors as well. September 17, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average on a good day Hotel is clean and staff receptive, but structure needs updated. Public areas need improved lighting and smoke odor permeates the building. Sliding doors in rooms provide balconies, but sealing of outside sound is compromised due to age. September 15, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Customer Service San Francisco is an expensive city and room rates sky-rocket during convention week. This hotel represents value for money and I enjoyed my stay. Sadly there are several negative reviews about this hotel's location in SOMA regarding the homeless people on the streets and in the adjacent Tenderloin. The proximity of the hotel to Union Square and to the BART and F Line which are just half a block away on Market outweigh these comments. Just be street-wise and considerate of the homeless. Also enjoy the fact that this hotel is reasonably priced while maintaining standards of service and cleanliness. Alternatively, book accommodation on Nob Hill for three times the price and enjoy the steep walk up Powell. You'll still encounter the homeless during your ascent! Mark on the Front Desk - you exceeded expectations! Mark was consistently helpful and friendly. He assisted me on several occasions beginning with check-in when his greeting was professional and welcoming. He resolved my disappointment with the room promptly and efficiently. He later checked that I was happy with the new room. The next day when I approached the Front Desk he greeted me by name! Now that, is fantastic customer service! Thank you Mark. September 14, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff. Great location Great location for sightseeing . The lounge/bar service was GREAT!!!! September 11, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel in bad neighborhood Overall this is a good hotel. The staff are attentive, rooms clean, and the food is adequate. It seemed at little expensive. I wouldn't walk around outside late at night, it can get a little wild. September 7, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall pleasant experience Hotel itself and the room were both clean and comfortable. The hotel restaurant needs to be improved and the bartender is way too slow - had to wait over 25 minutes to get a drink (twice, on two separate evenings) - but other than that, it was a pleasant stay. September 7, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by OK hotel area bad The Hotel is fine but outside in not, noise, dodgy people and just a crazy atmosphere and construction noise until 2 am, sirens all night September 6, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Times in SF The room was very nice and very clean. My wife and I only stayed there the one night but it was a good experience. The outside of the hotel is slightly deceiving as the inside is much nicer. Easy access to the city from here. September 4, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Our visit We felt completely unsafe once we left the hotel. Two ladies visiting San fran and this was not a good choice hotel September 2, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by ambience Thought the room would be a bit more modern. Didn't realize the area you are located in really isn't family friendly. Very frightening to walk back to the hotel after dinner hours. September 2, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Schlechte Umgebung und schlechtes Essen Die Lage des Hotels und die äußere Erscheinung des Hotels lassen sehr zu wünschen übrig. So ist das Hotel umgeben von wenigen bis keinen Essensmöglichkeiten und von vielen Obdachlosen und dubiosen Straßenhändlern. Das Hoteleigene Restaurant ist nicht gut. So ist die als Tagesempfehlung angepriesene Pizza am Boden hart wie Zement und sehr überschaubar belegt (die Zutaten müssten sich zurufen, um sich verständigen zu können, evtl. haben die Zutaten Berührungsängste). September 1, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Public Pantry for hotel guest set up a public pantry with microwave in guest floor (I tried this service in Holiday Inn in London) August 31, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value Staff were very friendly and helpful, facilities were wee-maintained, and very good price. August 31, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service - Modern and Clean Hotel! The lobby was very clean, well-maintained, and modern. The customer service assistants were very inviting. The room we booked was also very clean and well kept. I am very happy with my stay at San Francisco. I would definitely recommend booking with IHG -- the prices are reasonable. August 28, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by San Francisco Good location for getting most anywhere in San Francisco.Recommend visiting Sam's dinner, right around the corner on Market Place. August 28, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Ok hotel, bad location The rooms were ok when it came to cleanliness but for the price paid I would have thought I would have gotten a better view than a brick wall from the building next door 10ft away. The area around the hotel is a little sketchy causing us to not want to leave the hotel at night. During the day, there were enough people around that you felt comfortable enough to make it to a safer part on foot. August 27, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by HI Civic Center Hotel is updated and seemingly secure. Bar lounge service was a little slow but only because the bartender was doing double duty as waitress. She also had a broken arm but did her best not to spill everyone's drinks. I wondered out for food but with lack of close alternatives and the turn off of the homeless situation. I returned to the safe hotel and ate at the bar lounge. August 26, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Look elsewhere in SF for the $$$ Ok place to stay, but not in the best part of town and the value is NOT THERE for the price August 26, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value in San Francisco This hotel was easy to get to from SFO. It is right on the BART on Market Street. The general area is undergoing some urban renewal as there are two/three lots abutting that are undergoing construction so it can get noisy during the day. I found the hotel to be quiet during the evening hours and had no trouble sleeping. The staff at the hotel was excellent, particularly Ana. She helped me with my check in and fielded all my questions. As a business traveler this hotel fit my required travel rate and had all the amenities that I needed. Most of my business was in the financial district and it was an easy 5 min ride on the trolley/bus on Market Street. August 26, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value Hotel was well positioned for transport links next to Civic Centre train line. Facilities were good and everything worked. Only downside was the noise from nearby construction although hotel provided complementary ear plugs. August 26, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Smart hotel in great location Just off Market Street so central to transport and in walking distance of Union Square. We were on 14th floor, great views and away from construction noise in area (but they don't work weekends). Earthquake while we were there but felt safe in hotel despite shaking! Staff wonderful, arranged taxi back to airport for us, only 43dollars. Concierge very helpful and made our 3 day holiday here by giving local tips. Food great! Enjoyed Happy Hour. Lovely pool area. Laundry room useful too. Thanks to all staff! August 26, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Sufficient It's too loud with the construction, I couldn't sleep well. Room was decent though, no frills but no complaints either. August 25, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by saubere Unterkunft mit günstiger Anbindung Hotel lag verkehrsgünstig an MUNI und BART. Personal sehr freundlich. Leider lag eine Baustelle direkt vor sem Zimmer, auf der auch nachts gearbeitet wurde. Aber die ist ja irgendwann Geschichte. TV und Internet waren super. den Pool haben wir nur einmal nutzen können August 24, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Neu und modern - guter Komfort Sehr gutes Mittelklassehotel. Mit sehr freundlichem Personal. Allerdings hätten die Fenster (Schiebeelement) dichter sein müssen (Lärmbelästigung) August 24, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The location is key to me and this hotel is very well situated. I wish the prices will be lower, however, I would continue to stay here in my next visit to the beautiful city of San Francisco. August 21, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value I spent a week at the Holiday Inn Civic Center and enjoyed the hotel very much. The friendly staff welcome me nicely and made this trip very enjoyable. The neighborhood is not the cleanest in San Francisco but as soon as you step in the hotel you will forget about the outside. August 21, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location to attractions. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Excellent value for location and amenities. August 20, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellant Location Going to a play at the Orpheum theater, this location is perfect., you can park and walk to theater. It's across the street. Food and beverage is good too. Lady bartender is soooooooooo nice. August 20, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay but watch out for extra taxi charges Stayed here as a couple visiting SF as part of 3 week vacation. Chose this hotel as good central location to sightsee. Single female visitors need to be aware of the large number of homeless people in the close vicinity of the hotel. Can feel a bit vulnerable walking past some of these people. Rooms very comfortable but beware of the early morning (6.30 am) building work noise coming from the construction site next door. Friendly staff throughout. Clean and tidy rooms with good decor. Beware when booking transportation especially to the airport via the concierge as our inward airport taxi transfer cost 35 dollars compared to 55 dollars on the return trip using the recommended taxi booked for us by the hotel. We feel totally ripped off and left a bad taste in our mouth and spoiler our overall good experience of this hotel. Lord Messenbird and Lady Hord. August 18, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Phenomenal Service The customer service from the staff at the front desk was phenomenal. I arrived early and they forwarded me to take a tour of the city. I arrived back at the hotel and they got me checked in right away. The room and bed were comfortable. The doorman assisted with my bag and also helped me with a driver or taxi service. August 18, 2014
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>