Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

WELCOME TO

San Francisco

Concierge Photo Concierge Signature
Dan Sotelo
Chief Concierge

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

Don't call it Frisco!

San Francisco is a great diverse city, with its people from all parts of the world. We're friendly and enjoy showing off our city, don't hesitate to ask anyone for directions!
HISTORIC SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL
As splendid as when it opened in 1926, Mark Hopkins is one of the city’s finest historic San Francisco luxury hotels. It’s ideally located at the crossing of three cable car lines, just minutes from Union Square. Each suite is furnished in a unique, stately style. Breathtaking views of San Francisco combine with fine dining and a signature 100 Martini menu at Top of the Mark restaurant. Described when it opened as ‘architecturally perfect’, this San Francisco luxury hotel remains so today.

Guest Reviews

Hotel Specific Offers
Terms & Conditions
Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    The legendary Top of the Mark lays the city at your feet with near 360 degree vistas showcasing the beautiful and scenic skyline of San Francisco. ...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre is equipped with Precor ellipticals, stationary bikes, treadmills and Paramount weight machines, many with flat-screen T...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    8:43 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 377 reviewers.
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Golden Gateway Our second time to this property. There this time for a conference, 4 days 3 nights. This location can't be beat in terms of proximity to restaurants, tourist attractions and transportation. Excellent views fro the upper floors, we were on the 19th. Easier access to a microwave would have been nice, continental breakfast of some sort would have been nice. The restaurant could use some updating but the food (limited options) was adequate. I did like that they offered imported non-alcohol beer versus the boring domestic brands. Counter staff excellent, operations and restaurant staff also very good. Nearby Polk Street (and California Street)is great for walking and browsing. We had a pleasant stay and look forward to our return. May 12, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, good standards Decent hotel, clean with nice views. Easy to reach most important destinations by foot or with public transport. Also recommend shuttle bus service to SFO International Airport May 9, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Issue with Hotel Cleaning Staff I stay at this hotel on a weekly basis for business and have always had a very good experience. This time however I left an inexpensive necklace on the night stand when I left for the day accidentally. The necklace chain was still there and the clasp was hooked but the pendant was missing. I searched everywhere on the floor and around the table but it was gone. Again the clasp was closed otherwise I would have thought I lost it. Very disappointing. Didn't get a newspaper one morning but not a big deal. Did the workout room get renovated yet??? May 8, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Conveniently located... Great views... Highly recommend... We stayed at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway recently while visiting family that lived in the Nob Hill neighborhood. It was very convenient located to everything - we took the bus to get to Fisherman's Wharf and walked and used Uber to get to other parts of the city. The hotel is conveniently located to almost everywhere in San Fran, which was a huge plus. Also, we had a corner unit on the 20th floor and had an amazing view of the bay! Overall, the hotel was exactly what we needed and was a great value. I would highly recommend to those visiting San Francisco. May 7, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not a fantastic experience After having stayed in many IHG hotels around the world this is one of my lesser experiences. Small room compared to others. I was recognized for my Platinum status but did not receive upgrade where rooms were available. I called the Manager on Duty, who left me the welcome letter, and was told that all rooms are the same size and there is no Executive Floor. Also the bar and restaurant were undergoing renovation during my 4 night visit and breakfast was served in a conference room. We did not know this on beforehand and not sure if I would have booked this then. Breakfast is not good at all: quality and selection options I would rank this 2 stars. In any other IHG hotel and I far better options, quality and sometimes at lesser costs. Staff were very friendly and helpful although could not resolve all. Location is good too. All in all I will not stay there next time. May 7, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent room and view over San F. from 24. floor It was a perfect place to end a stay in USA. And a good point for visiting San Francisco for the last 3 days in USA. We enjoyed the evening view over San Francisco bay from oour room at 24. floor. What a view. Tnx May 7, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Noise This was my second stay at this location and I was in a room on the 7th floor facing Van Ness. Could not control heating and the street noise was too much. May 4, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great location very clean room, bed and pillows were very comfortable. great location, right beside the end of the street car line. Front desk staff was helpful but was not focused when checking in (was asked several questions a couple of times). Would definitely stay at this hotel again. April 30, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall a great hotel... The location, cleanliness and staff are what makes this hotel great. Only blocks from fisherman's wharf and if you are unable (or choose not to) walk, the bus service runs right in front of the hotel. The buffet at the restaurant is excellent and the staff has always been courteous to me in the many nights I've stayed there over the years. The cons- the workout room is minimal with older, definitely used equipment in a small, humid back room... and occasionally the conventions or activities going on in the convention hall interfere with using amenities... If you are a light sleeper, the road is extremely noisy on the Van Ness side... and lastly, in recent months, panhandlers are more noticeable just outside of the entrance... April 29, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well Cared For We did not come to vacation, were on a schedule with very early calls and late returns. The staff was excellent and accessible. I felt well cared for, my stress understood by strangers. We ordered room service with the request to split a meal; how awful for the kitchen! And yet, we could not have been treated better and with more tenderness. Eating in our room became a treat! April 28, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room A great place to stay in San Francisco. Located in excellent address, close to everything. We can move on foot or by public transport with ease, right next to a station of the cable car to the famous. April 24, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, outstanding people, ok property This Nob Hill location is fantastic as it's *not* in a typical tourist location. That's not to say there are not plenty of tourists staying and the exceptionally friendly hotel is ready to assist your sightseeing. Also one half block from the California Cable Car, Number 1 bus it's easy to get anywhere quickly. The worst thing about the hotel is the "gym" which in no more than a closet with some old cardio equipment. They should not be able to list it as a fitness center in any way. Please update this tired room. Also the in-wall air conditioner seems open to the street and the rooms are noisy due to this design flaw. April 18, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful View We had corner room 2100 with a 180 degree view. It was amazing!! I would definitely request that room again. The front desk person and the bellman were also both very cordial and helpful. My only complaint, though small, was the configuration of the toilet. Because of a shelf behind it, the seat wouldn't stay up on its on, which was rather difficult for my husband. April 16, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value hotel If you want to stay in the city without paying too much for hotel, this is a good choice for you. Conveniently located at Van Ness and Pine, you can easily get to any places in the city. Also, there are various good dinning options near by. Lastly, there is a Walgreens within 5 minutes walking distance. April 16, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ventilation in Bathroom / Rather thin Walls We had injoyed the 4 day stay in your Hotel. They view over the city was fabulous!! I must say that the walls neighboring the other rooms are rather thin!! Meaning we heard people takling which was annoying trying to fall asleep. Also the ventilation in the bathroon seemed not to funktion properly. After showering or using the Toilet there was a fog-up and smell did not leave the Bathroom. The service personnel was Great and very friendly!!!! April 16, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Staff could be a little better, maybe a little more professional, but over all a good experience April 15, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good stay The room was comfortable (firm mattress, nice decor, very clean),and staff helpful. There was no complimentary breakfast which we received from other hotel stays on our trip. The hotel was just steps from the cable car stop. We had nice view of the city. Location of the hotel wasn't as convenient as I had hoped for. It was our first time in SF, and the location was not as central as the website suggested. April 12, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will stay here again! The room was clean and the modern decor made it relaxing. April 9, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for money I'm a frequent guest at the hotel. I feel very much at home there and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The hotel lacks a cosy and comfortable coffee shop and bar but there are renovations underway so hopefully those facilities will be available in future. The lobby looks a bit tired and dark and needs a refresher in order to give it a more modern, airy feel. Also, occasionally you have to line up to check in because of a lack of staff at the front desk. April 8, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Location This is a great/ easy place to park your stuff and enjoy the city. The cable car and bus stops are just steps from the entrance and everything was very easy. The only problem we encountered was with the cranky woman in the gift shop. She was scowling and rude, she argued with me about the time I needed the airport shuttle. She is not a good representative for your hotel ... everyone else was so helpful. We were on the 12th floor and while we would have liked a higher floor, the view was really nice. Overall very pleased with our choice and would stay again ... April 6, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location! Room was very comfortable and I had a great view of the city. Perfect location, centrally located and close to Pier 39, the Marina, and Embacadero. Walked to the Century theater from the hotel. I would recommend this location to friends and family. April 6, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by we love this place I think I have written a review in the past but just about to book another couple of nights so thought I'd do it again. As I said in the past, we stay at this hotel mainly due to the special rate we get from our association with CPMC and the fact that there is a shuttle to and from the hospital. The rooms are always immaculate; the staff are always friendly and helpful and there are some really good places to eat and drink within walking distance. That said, I highly recommend it! April 4, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Is Tops Stayed at Holiday Inn Golden Gateway in San Francisco, perfect place to be, close enough to downtown, Chinatown; Cable Car at the corner; near the Opera house, and close to the 80 Freeway. Our room was on the 21st floor, they have large wall of windows could see towards downtown SF, comfortable, clean, updated rooms. They are renovating area of dinning room/bar, but the staff made my husband, who is on a walker, comfortable and they provided good service and kept an upbeat ambiance going in the combination dinning room/bar. Front Desk staff Marvin Baker was a professional, caring person, who was very helpful giving me tips on how to get around, when I did not want to take my car. This hotel has a good parking garage - even though parking rates are expensive to me $40 a day; but worth it. Stay here! March 26, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AMAZING HOTEL! All the hotel staff was wonderful! Great room with beautiful view! March 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Newly renovated rooms and staff service make this a perfect place to stay in SF March 22, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by RC Mom All staff at the hotel were kind and very helpful, especially the concierge women. Will go back to this hotel whenever we have the opportunity. Very good value w/ nice comfortable rooms. March 17, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, staff and location! The staff was beyond compare! This is the second time I've been to this location and it was even better than the first. The room was very nice and the bed and temperature in the room were excellent! The view was beautiful! The location is awesome in that it is right next to the California Cable Car stop which makes it really easy to see the sights. Simply purchase your muni-pass in the hotel gift shop and hop on! There were some renovations going on but we were not affected by it at all. There are several amenities nearby, i.e,, Whole Foods, Trader Joes, BevMo, Walgreens and many restaurants. We definitely plan on returning. March 17, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Service The staff are very helpful and make you feel special. I highly recommend this hotel. March 16, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location for exploring San Fran neighborhoods! My stay at this Holiday Inn far exceeded my expectations. The location of this hotel was the perfect home base for a first-timer exploring the city. Major bus lines run right outside the hotel as well as the California Cable Car and additional bus routes within a block. Located near Polk St, which has an assortment of bars, restaurants and coffee shops. Concierge Aida is very knowledgeable. She can tell you exactly what bus routes to take where. In fact, she even told us about the Cow Hollow neighborhood/Union Street shops that were appropriate for our demographics. I'm so thankful because I had not even planned to go to that area, and it turned out to be one of my favorites! The room was very clean, housekeeping did an excellent job and were always super friendly. Loved the room decor, mini fridge, Keurig coffee machine. The views ---- oh man. The view from the 25th floor overlooking Van Ness was to die for. It is well worth the extra money! I could see the city to the ocean as well as part of the Golden Gate Bridge and the Bay. The view from the pool is pretty awesome too. My ONLY two cons are that the restaurant/bar are undergoing renovation so had a temporary location that was quite boring. I am certain the renovation will be worth it though! Secondly, when I asked the front desk staff at check in about the upgrade eligibility to the corner king (which was offered to me AFTER booking my 7 day stay through their website), she said "No, it is not available. They wouldn't offer that to someone for 7 days anyways. That's just common sense." It actually isn't common sense to me when it was offered to me through your own website!! The day/afternoon front desk staff seemed much more friendly than this particular individual though (we arrived late at 11pm). In fact, she was the only person who didn't appear to be going out of her way to please the guests! Everyone else made up for this one bad encounter :) The noise levels seemed appropriate for a hotel. Could hear one neighbor at times and housekeeping in the morning but nothing out of the ordinary. Also, felt very, very safe inside the hotel at all times. --I wish I could get my photos to upload to show you the views from the room, but for some reason they aren't working. You'll have to take my word for it :) March 15, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location We picked this Hotel with a few misgivings due to some reviews that we read.We wanted the location because we thought that it would be easy to use public transportation and it was.We were pleasantly surprised by the friendly and helpful staff with special kudos to the concierge who help us greatly during our trip.The hotel was clean and the rooms comfortable we will return here on our next trip.We didn't use the pool or the exercise room so can't comment.Stay high if you can because of the traffic but the room seemed well insulated.Tons of restaurants right around the corner.We ate breakfast in the hotel once.It was a bit pricey but the food was good.The only con was we didn't get the welcome basket that was mentioned over the phone but we didn't mention it when we were there.I'm only including it in the review so they will remember it for the next guest. March 14, 2014
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>