Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

WELCOME TO

San Francisco

Concierge Photo Concierge Signature
Dan Sotelo
Chief Concierge

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

Don't call it Frisco!

San Francisco is a great diverse city, with its people from all parts of the world. We're friendly and enjoy showing off our city, don't hesitate to ask anyone for directions!
HISTORIC SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL
As splendid as when it opened in 1926, Mark Hopkins is one of the city’s finest historic San Francisco luxury hotels. It’s ideally located at the crossing of three cable car lines, just minutes from Union Square. Each suite is furnished in a unique, stately style. Breathtaking views of San Francisco combine with fine dining and a signature 100 Martini menu at Top of the Mark restaurant. Described when it opened as ‘architecturally perfect’, this San Francisco luxury hotel remains so today.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    The legendary Top of the Mark lays the city at your feet with near 360 degree vistas showcasing the beautiful and scenic skyline of San Francisco. ...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre is equipped with Precor ellipticals, stationary bikes, treadmills and Paramount weight machines, many with flat-screen T...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    6:01 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 785 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very close to everything spent 4 nights here would recommend it to everyone going to the wharf this hotel is in the middle of everything is in walking distance for you the f cable car is right around the corner of hotel it will take you a lot of places in san francisco July 20, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Crowded, busy, noisy I realize that this is a big tourist area and folks come here in the summer to explore the city. The room was fine, small, but clean, nothing special. The internet was the worst I have experienced since the days of dial-up. And for someone who needs to work when they are in town, impossible. Plus they make you call an 800# to get problems resolved and spent 2 hours on the phone with them for them to tell me that they couldn't help me. Location is great and easy to get anywhere. The staff doesn't give you much attention, very impersonal. Everything was acceptable, but not memorable and nowhere near exceptional. Did I mention, also very pricey? July 19, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy Location This hotel is at a noisy location where you'll hear traffic and people shouting at 4 am! Room is rather basic, adequate in size, clean, but not fancy. Free wi-fi in room, free paper and complimentary apple at the front desk! July 19, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by IHG CLUB MEMBER REVIEW My understanding and experience as an IHG club member is that when I check in, I'm greeted as an IHG club member. That didn't happen. For some reason they didn't know I was a member. I also didn't receive my points for my stay. The waiter in the restaurant barely understood English and although my meal actually turned out tasty, it looked like the worst breakfast I've ever ordered. July 16, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Service! We couldn't have asked for a better location. A few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf; just a short drive to Lombard street; close to Chinatown and the North Shore districts. We ate at Dottie's True Blue Café......what a great experience. We also went to Cliff House, with its breath-taking views. Overall, one of our best vacation experiences! July 16, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best location Excellent location, nice beds, plenty of room. We were on the fifth floor overlooking the wharf with a nice view. As it has been stated in other reviews, noise begins at about 6:30am with business and bus activity. Hotel grounds and lobby area well kept. We were able to check-in early ay noon. No problem with leaving our luggage with hotel prior to flying out later in the evening. Would love to stay again but may not be willing to pay the nightly rate. They had a printer and computer to print airline boarding passes, this was a nice perk. July 16, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location We stayed in room 201 which did not get good Wi-Fi reception, probably due to the location at the far corner of the building. The room we had was in close proximity to a busy corner and we experienced loud noise from people leaving area bars during late night/early morning hours. We were not able to leave the blower unit "on" without turning the air conditioning on at a very low/uncomfortable temp which would have drowned out the noise. The hotel is one block from the wharf and a car is not needed to experience or visit the nearby sites. The room was clean and was in good condition and did not appear dated. July 15, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location The hotel is in the main tourist area and a reasonable price although the rooms are a little dated they are spacious and clean. The breakfast was excellent although they charge extra for cooking eggs! and parking charges are steep. Staff very helpful. July 14, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay I was very comfortable and enjoyed my stay very much. I was not able to use the many other facilities do to my very difficult issues as a witness to the Federal Court. July 13, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All was excellent Everything was excellent. Wonderful place to stay. July 13, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by close to everything close to all attractions and transportation. walking distance to the piers and resturants July 13, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Celebrating the 4th of July in San Francisco We were very excited about our stay. My sister and son had never been to San Francisco before and were very excited to see all the local attractions. The hotel staff was very friendly and inviting. The lobby, hallways and room were very clean. We were disappointed in the high hotel restaurant prices and did not eat at the hotel. The cost of the restaurant did put a damper on our plans and time frames with having to find somewhere else to eat. I expected higher prices but was shocked at the menu prices. Overall it was a great stay and we will stay here again, I just have to do more research on prices to stay within budget. July 12, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Stay Away, underpay what you deserve customer service - staff at counter named Andre was arrogant and refuse to provide any bottle water to 4 of us room guests middle of the night. Our flight experienced a huge delay due to weather and we weren't able to check in until 3 AM in the next morning....all shops were closed and he just stood there and keep saying I can give you free water just because. I told him I was IHG member and he doesn't case. Quite an arrogant customer service you have there. Parking issue - Same guy Andre from front desk told us we could go ahead to head in garage then we got bounced back because it did require a access card. When asked he refused to admit he ever gave that instruction to us and we stood there as if we are 4 stupid Asian idiots. Very personal and his attitude was just rude and improper. Room - very noisy because we are assigned next to bunch of dumpsters outside on the street, we got woke up every morning around 5 AM with NO EXCEPTION! July 8, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Parking and staff knowledge Paid for parking for 2 days had trouble finding spots when I told front desk comment was no guarantee and that spots would open when hotel staff changed shifts. Told him that maybe they should only charge if a spot is available or not have staff park at hotel. When asked questions on how to get a location they were unsure. I took a cab but could have walked the 3 blocks when asked if there was place to buy something was told fisherman's wharf after looking around lobby found gift shop July 8, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Wharf for Three Nights We had an excellent experience staying at Fisherman's Wharf HI. The front desk associates were polite and inviting. The only change would be the small bathroom because little vanity space was available. Also most HI offer complimentary coffee; this was not available. The shuttle service personnel was not very polite...a little testy. Overall, the HI was a wonderful hotel for three nights at the Wharf. We stayed there 20 years ago! July 8, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 房间太小,装修陈旧,设施一般,整洁一般。 房间太小,装修陈旧,设施一般,整洁一般。安全情况一般,没有保安,前台服务缓慢,没有优悦会礼遇。毛巾清洁程度糟糕。 July 7, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and safe facility. Our experience overall was excellent. The only criticism I have is that we were told that breakfast would cost approximately $12-$15 dollars by a representative when making our reservation (not at this specific location); however, breakfast was $23, which was quite a disparity. We ate the first morning, as we weren't familiar with the neighborhood, but found something cheaper for the next day. The food was very good, and the service by all staff was very friendly. Would definately stay at this location again. July 6, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. Very friendly service. Good experience Came from Okinawa and enjoyed the stay. Will stay again on return trip. July 3, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Attentive staff but WAY overpriced Staff was helpful in checking us in early and cleaning staff attentive. Bathroom clean but room was so old school and outdated. I was on the first floor and felt like I was in someone's basement. The air conditioner was loud and couldn't keep up and the street outside was loud in the morning with trash removal. Vending machines were not filled and for around $275 a night you would think you might get breakfast! July 2, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable bed Delightful experience and location great to our family Wedding Without any question, would stay again. July 2, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 OK but not great The property is older and not updated. The popcorn ceilings may give you an indication. The reservation was made by my ex and she did not have my IHG number so I asked the desk to add it. I provided the information and was assured it would be done but the number was not added. I asked the staff for a recommendation for a restaurant and was directed to a restaurant that had closed. The location is excellent. Parking is expensive at $40 per day. June 29, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by room smelled one out of the two rooms that I booked had an a/c unit that was leaking water inside the room and it smelled like mildew I called the front desk they sent a maintenance guy to are room which I thought he was going to fix but he brought up a heater gave it to us and said enjoy your stay I would at least thought that he would set it up for us but no just walked out of the room very disappointed with my stay. June 29, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by bathroom everything was fine except: there was a ring around the tub on inside and the vent by the shower head was very dusty. The cleanliness of the bathroom is the element I care about the most. If the bathroom is spotless, it is a great room. June 28, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Hotel is better than expected an is in a good location on fisherman a wharf. All the hotels are really close so one is no better than another in this regard. Holiday inn was the best bargain and I am glad we did not spend more only to wind up next door. The bed was soft and hurt my back and no fridge in room. Also in room coffee service was poor. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. June 28, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Overall great location, there was a few hair in the shower which was kind of gross. But overall a great hotel. Breakfast is ridiculously overpriced in the hotel, but there are a lot of options nearby, so if you want to save money venture outside the hotel. June 27, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff but disapointment in the room The staff was pleasant and cheerful. When we needed to cancel our stay early because of a death in the family they were understanding and check us out without charging us for the full stay. The only disappointment from our short stay was the room and the extra charges for breakfast and parking. For the priced we paid there was a lot of room but, no mini fridge, no view and no continental breakfast. We also had to pay for parking which was just as expensive as parking in a garage in the city. I have previously visited San Francisco many times but, this was the first time I was bringing my family and the first time staying with Holiday Inn. I know there are many other hotels just as nice that, for the same price or cheaper, would include all the extras I mentioned, at no additional charge or at least an agreeable price. Therefore, I have to say that we will not be staying with Holiday Inn on our next visit. June 27, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Must be the poorest experience I have had with the IHG system The only redeeming feature I find with this hotel is the location. Staff are in desperate need of training in being courteous and polite, especially one particular bellman who responded with a wave of hands and comment "I'm done" when approached with a question. Apparently it was the end of his shift. It should be the end of his employment at this hotel. I did file a complaint regarding poor staff attitude and received a response with appology and was told that the management would contact me. Never heard from the management. That is an indication of where the problem starts. The room had no refrigerator. When we questioned this, hotel staff replied that one could be provided for a fee of $50 per day. We had to search ice machines on 3 floors to find one that had ice. What a joke. Parking is at $40 per night. Rediculous. Lobby seating is at minimum and not comfortable. We had a family gathering and there was little to no room to sit and chat. Overall, not recommended. June 26, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great nights rest We work for national prisoner transport company and us officer's stay here often. It's always a great stay. June 26, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by more expensive The hotel services are very expensive and its services are average June 25, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Variable We stayed here only three weeks ago and it was almost perfect. This time however, it was not. When we arrived, the concierge watched us as we struggled with all of our bags and cases. The wifi was totally unusable, despite spending over 30 minutes on the telephone to the outsourced company who were supposed to fix these issues. It wasn't the agent's fault, there was simply too much distance between the router and our room (number 566). This needs to be addressed as I ended up doing some important work emails sat in the corridor and being unable to Skype confidentially when I needed to. I feel we paid for a service we didn't receive here. The attitude of the lady on the front desk was dismissive. On the positive side, location is very good, our late check out was arranged with no fuss at all and the housekeeping staff are wonderful, friendly people. Disappointing after our last stay and with another visit coming up with a team of around 7-10 colleagues, we will consider carefully whether we stay here or not. June 25, 2014
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 27 next>>