Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

WELCOME TO

San Francisco

Concierge Photo Concierge Signature
Dan Sotelo
Chief Concierge

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

Don't call it Frisco!

San Francisco is a great diverse city, with its people from all parts of the world. We're friendly and enjoy showing off our city, don't hesitate to ask anyone for directions!
HISTORIC SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL
As splendid as when it opened in 1926, Mark Hopkins is one of the city’s finest historic San Francisco luxury hotels. It’s ideally located at the crossing of three cable car lines, just minutes from Union Square. Each suite is furnished in a unique, stately style. Breathtaking views of San Francisco combine with fine dining and a signature 100 Martini menu at Top of the Mark restaurant. Described when it opened as ‘architecturally perfect’, this San Francisco luxury hotel remains so today.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    The legendary Top of the Mark lays the city at your feet with near 360 degree vistas showcasing the beautiful and scenic skyline of San Francisco. ...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre is equipped with Precor ellipticals, stationary bikes, treadmills and Paramount weight machines, many with flat-screen T...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    3:57 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 387 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location! Room was very comfortable and I had a great view of the city. Perfect location, centrally located and close to Pier 39, the Marina, and Embacadero. Walked to the Century theater from the hotel. I would recommend this location to friends and family. April 6, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by we love this place I think I have written a review in the past but just about to book another couple of nights so thought I'd do it again. As I said in the past, we stay at this hotel mainly due to the special rate we get from our association with CPMC and the fact that there is a shuttle to and from the hospital. The rooms are always immaculate; the staff are always friendly and helpful and there are some really good places to eat and drink within walking distance. That said, I highly recommend it! April 4, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Is Tops Stayed at Holiday Inn Golden Gateway in San Francisco, perfect place to be, close enough to downtown, Chinatown; Cable Car at the corner; near the Opera house, and close to the 80 Freeway. Our room was on the 21st floor, they have large wall of windows could see towards downtown SF, comfortable, clean, updated rooms. They are renovating area of dinning room/bar, but the staff made my husband, who is on a walker, comfortable and they provided good service and kept an upbeat ambiance going in the combination dinning room/bar. Front Desk staff Marvin Baker was a professional, caring person, who was very helpful giving me tips on how to get around, when I did not want to take my car. This hotel has a good parking garage - even though parking rates are expensive to me $40 a day; but worth it. Stay here! March 26, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AMAZING HOTEL! All the hotel staff was wonderful! Great room with beautiful view! March 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Newly renovated rooms and staff service make this a perfect place to stay in SF March 22, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by RC Mom All staff at the hotel were kind and very helpful, especially the concierge women. Will go back to this hotel whenever we have the opportunity. Very good value w/ nice comfortable rooms. March 17, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, staff and location! The staff was beyond compare! This is the second time I've been to this location and it was even better than the first. The room was very nice and the bed and temperature in the room were excellent! The view was beautiful! The location is awesome in that it is right next to the California Cable Car stop which makes it really easy to see the sights. Simply purchase your muni-pass in the hotel gift shop and hop on! There were some renovations going on but we were not affected by it at all. There are several amenities nearby, i.e,, Whole Foods, Trader Joes, BevMo, Walgreens and many restaurants. We definitely plan on returning. March 17, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Service The staff are very helpful and make you feel special. I highly recommend this hotel. March 16, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location for exploring San Fran neighborhoods! My stay at this Holiday Inn far exceeded my expectations. The location of this hotel was the perfect home base for a first-timer exploring the city. Major bus lines run right outside the hotel as well as the California Cable Car and additional bus routes within a block. Located near Polk St, which has an assortment of bars, restaurants and coffee shops. Concierge Aida is very knowledgeable. She can tell you exactly what bus routes to take where. In fact, she even told us about the Cow Hollow neighborhood/Union Street shops that were appropriate for our demographics. I'm so thankful because I had not even planned to go to that area, and it turned out to be one of my favorites! The room was very clean, housekeeping did an excellent job and were always super friendly. Loved the room decor, mini fridge, Keurig coffee machine. The views ---- oh man. The view from the 25th floor overlooking Van Ness was to die for. It is well worth the extra money! I could see the city to the ocean as well as part of the Golden Gate Bridge and the Bay. The view from the pool is pretty awesome too. My ONLY two cons are that the restaurant/bar are undergoing renovation so had a temporary location that was quite boring. I am certain the renovation will be worth it though! Secondly, when I asked the front desk staff at check in about the upgrade eligibility to the corner king (which was offered to me AFTER booking my 7 day stay through their website), she said "No, it is not available. They wouldn't offer that to someone for 7 days anyways. That's just common sense." It actually isn't common sense to me when it was offered to me through your own website!! The day/afternoon front desk staff seemed much more friendly than this particular individual though (we arrived late at 11pm). In fact, she was the only person who didn't appear to be going out of her way to please the guests! Everyone else made up for this one bad encounter :) The noise levels seemed appropriate for a hotel. Could hear one neighbor at times and housekeeping in the morning but nothing out of the ordinary. Also, felt very, very safe inside the hotel at all times. --I wish I could get my photos to upload to show you the views from the room, but for some reason they aren't working. You'll have to take my word for it :) March 15, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location We picked this Hotel with a few misgivings due to some reviews that we read.We wanted the location because we thought that it would be easy to use public transportation and it was.We were pleasantly surprised by the friendly and helpful staff with special kudos to the concierge who help us greatly during our trip.The hotel was clean and the rooms comfortable we will return here on our next trip.We didn't use the pool or the exercise room so can't comment.Stay high if you can because of the traffic but the room seemed well insulated.Tons of restaurants right around the corner.We ate breakfast in the hotel once.It was a bit pricey but the food was good.The only con was we didn't get the welcome basket that was mentioned over the phone but we didn't mention it when we were there.I'm only including it in the review so they will remember it for the next guest. March 14, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel and Great service Everything was very nice at this hotel. Specially very friendly and helpful front desk staff. restaurant and Lounge were under renovation. March 13, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 NEVER AGAIN I was to attend a training at this hotel starting on the 2nd of April through the 8. I made reservations that were confirmed for the entire stay. I checked in 2 days early and was to stay 1 additional day. I arrived on time, checked in and 2 days later was told that I was suppose to check out of the room I was in. After much confusion and arguing I was told that I was suppose to physically pack my bags, leave the room and then check back in, but not the same room. Have way through the next week I was in my room and my door opened and it was some staff member telling me that they were there to "inspect" the room, when I told them to come on in, I was told that they would do it later. The next day I went through the same thing as before, was told that I needed to pack my bags and check out then check back in to another room, again after agruing, I was allowed to stay in the same room. The entire staff at the front desk were lazy, uninformed and never once were they hospitable, the housekeepers were outstanding as far as friendliness however. I will NEVER stay at this hotel again. Likekwise the training that I was involved with, had issues with the hotel as well, we were in a conference room where there was a lot of banging and construction noise next door, when we complained we were told that they could quieten down for an hour, when we told them that that wouldn't do, we were moved to another floor and although the view was better, the room size was larger, we continued to be "locked" out of the room by way of the key card kept being denied. This lasted all the way up until the final day we were there. The trainer stated that he would NEVER use this hotel again as well. March 12, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Better the 2nd time around I stayed a couple of nights at the beginning of my trip, then again for 3 nights at the end of my US visit. I'd booked a room with a view for each visit. First time I was on the 26th floor, and the view was excellent...I was happy with the stay..when I returned I was on the 22nd floor...and the view was even BETTER!!!...corner room, with two sides windowed..and the room itself was smarter. This second visit was much better in other ways too, as at check in I was handed hotel information showing nearby eateries, and streets around the hotel. On both visits the staff were polite, helpful, and friendly, and I would stay there again...Being in the city centre by a well used road where emergency vehicles frequently sound their sirens did cause a little broken sleep though! Dining room being upgraded at present time March 12, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very noisy and dogs in Hotel The location is very noisy, you can hear people in adjoining rooms, the air conditioner is like a truck starting, the Dining room is like a dungeon and a dog barks all night keeping you awake. Will not be staying at any Holiday Inn's while thy have a dog friendly policy. What about people friendly. Hotels for people, dogs in the back yard March 11, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific View The front desk staff is excellent!! They were nice enough to put me on one of the top floors so I could enjoy the view. In case the title did not give it away, the view is fantastic!! The hotel is also very convenient to the whole city as you can get a cab very easily and if you want to see the city via street-cars, you can grab one at California St, not even a block away. A lot of cool bars and restaurants are just around the corner. If I am in SF, this is where I will stay. March 11, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and Good View We were able to stay in a corner room and had great views of the city. Location was convenient to getting around town and staff was extremely friendly! March 11, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good place to stay in the overall environment is fine,but the noice isn't control well,we can clearly hear noise of the nearby room open and close the door,the parking is very expensive,$40/day!!!also they charge us $40 for the second day even only stay for 18 hours. March 10, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and service I enjoyed my stay at this Holiday Inn. It was clean and comfortable. The room had beautiful views. March 9, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Expensive but good enough This hotel is in need of renovation, but it is in a good enough. March 7, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and location! Had a wonderful stay in this hotel. The free update was great! The room was clean, comfortable, with great view of the city and part of the ocean. Very friendly staff. March 7, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Glad we chose the Golden Gateway Holiday! 4.5 stars...not given option for half stars. Was in newly renovated area; high floor; a guest for 5 days. Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly, helpful staff, close to MUNI transportation. Little uncomfortable being out after dark, but we were, with no incidents. Restaurant undergoing renovation, so unable to recommend it, but the staff there was friendly as well even tho they are dealing with serving in a temporary setting. Thanks to all of you at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway! March 1, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Our stay in sfo Room on the street and pretty noisy even if we were on a high level Parking daily fees are too much expenses and do not help to provide an overall good price February 28, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service and location My stay was what you expect from Holiday Inn's - decent value and comfortable setting. Its not an intercon people. The staff was very accomidating and even upgraded my room to a city view (Thank you!!). I was there for vacation but I also frequent IHG hotels for work and will continue to do so. Good value for SF and highly recommended. February 28, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel in great location I recently spent three nights at this hotel and found it to be in a great location for getting around town to my meetings and to see some of the sights and sounds of the city. Public transportation is readily available and it's a short jog down to the waterfront - and a personal favorite: Ghirardelli Square. I like to run and it was easy to get to the San Francisco Bay trail going up Van Ness. The hotel itself was good. Their internet did not work for a whole day or so - which was problematic for me to stay in touch with my home office. When it was fixed, it worked fine. The restaurant was undergoing renovations so it had been relocated to part of a ballroom. The setup was fine - they even brought in a bunch of TV's so the patrons could watch the news and Olympics etc. I only ate breakfast there once and it was good. The little shop was also in a temporary space, but seemed stocked well enough, though I hope they get in some breakfast muffins for next time... Staff was polite and helpful. I will stay there again next time I'm in San Fran. February 25, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place Great Rooms! Great view! I went down for a work related training.My check in experince was not that good.I booked two rooms. One was on a company card the other was on me. She could have any record of the CC auth form I sent prior to my arrival.The FD staff who checked me didn't acknowledge my memership until the end of the check experince.I asked the the agent what time the training started.She told me that there was no event tomorrow.I had to get in detial about the spefice of the event and she finally told me.I like the hotel and the brand, whenever I go back to this hotel I hope I dont have an check in experince like that again.I like the hotel!!Took some great photos I attached a Sunrise pic. February 24, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and Friendly Stayed here for 5 days for a 2-day meeting but I brought my family along for a mini-vacation. The hotel was comfortable and very convenient. I had a car for two-days, but I parked at a garage down ($30 overnight for weekdays, I think $24 max overnight for weekends) the street instead of paying the $40 per night. Otherwise we took public transit - there were several bus lines in the area, and the terminal stop for the California line for the cable car was at the corner (got the multiple day passes). Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful. Wanted to especially thank Charles for his help in getting a taxi for me to the airport. The room was nice. Only minor complaint was that the crib I ordered ahead of time wasn't there and it took maybe 20-30 minutes for them to bring it up. February 24, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! I enjoyed my stay. The rooms were clean, the view beautiful, and the staff friendly. I loved being a very short walk from Starbucks and Whol e Foods as well! Thank you. February 20, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice views Very nice room and views, but it is a little noisy and could hear people talking in the hallway and in the room next to us. February 14, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by San Francisco 2/6-2/9 When I arrived the staff was very courteous and I had no problems. However, the following morning I was trying to get the best way to get to Fisherman's Wharf and the desk staff were vague regarding my mass transit choices. I wound up walking all the way there and all the way back. Needless to say I was disappointed to find out that there was a bus stop on the next corner that would have taken me there in less than 10 minutes. The walls of my room were very thin and I had no problem hearing my neighbors as 5 AM taking very loud Sunday morning. I had been hearing them consistently throughout my stay. I cannot comment about the food quality of the restaurant. However, I did stop in for drinks and was totally ignored after I finished my first glass of wine. After waiting for 20 minutes for one of the two waitresses to come back to see if I wanted a second drink, I decided to just leave after paying my bill. February 12, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable but customer service was a downer Stayed for 2 nights. Checked in the first day and we were upgraded to the top floor thinking the room would be bigger not just a better view. The room was extremely compact for a double bed as well as the bathroom. That night, my friends and I were going out and wanted a cab so we asked front desk to call for a cab for us and they said to just catch one on the road. From my past experiences in staying in hotels in the city, the front desk will usually call for a cab upon request. Mind you, it was raining and we were all dressed up, so that was a waste. The next day we slept in and housekeeping called to check when we would like our room cleaned, told them a time and went back to resting. We accidently left the "do not disturb" sign on the door and decided since we were leaving to go shopping we would just tell the front desk. We tell the front desk and they asked us if we called house keeping and we repeated that we accidently left the sign on and if they could call them to clean the room. No, so we had to go back up to our room again, call the front desk, since there was no direct line to housekeeping. Front desk tells us to call the hotel operator and then we can be transferred to house keeping. What a hassle! Before we left we tidied up a bit and left dirty cups and bottles for them to throw away. We come back from our shopping, room looks clean but they failed to pick up the dirty cups and empty bottles. Second night, we go out again and this time it pouring cats and dogs, more than the night before and yet the front desk still wouldn't call us a cab. Ruined our time getting ready all together. It was rude for them to deny our request for a cab especially under that type of weather. I, nor my friends, will return to this hotel. February 12, 2014
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14 next>>