Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

WELCOME TO

San Francisco

Concierge Photo Concierge Signature
Dan Sotelo
Chief Concierge

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

Don't call it Frisco!

San Francisco is a great diverse city, with its people from all parts of the world. We're friendly and enjoy showing off our city, don't hesitate to ask anyone for directions!
HISTORIC SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL
As splendid as when it opened in 1926, Mark Hopkins is one of the city’s finest historic San Francisco luxury hotels. It’s ideally located at the crossing of three cable car lines, just minutes from Union Square. Each suite is furnished in a unique, stately style. Breathtaking views of San Francisco combine with fine dining and a signature 100 Martini menu at Top of the Mark restaurant. Described when it opened as ‘architecturally perfect’, this San Francisco luxury hotel remains so today.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    The legendary Top of the Mark lays the city at your feet with near 360 degree vistas showcasing the beautiful and scenic skyline of San Francisco. ...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre is equipped with Precor ellipticals, stationary bikes, treadmills and Paramount weight machines, many with flat-screen T...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    6:39 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 192 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place This place was a bit pricey the weekend of the north face endurance challenge but it was a pleasant stay. There was a musky smell in the room when we first came in but openining up some windows fixed that problem. The beds were comfy and the breakfast was a plus! We used the bikes that were available at no extra cost to explore the bike trails in the area which was lots of fun! I would return to this holiday inn even though prices went up just for the weekend of the race. The amenities and shuttle to the start of the race made it worth my time and money. December 12, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk check in We continue to have excellent advance check in. We owe this now to Rolando who knows what room we like and has had that room reserved for us. He was also able to seemlessly added another day to our stay more than once. Between Joanne and Rolando the front desk service always makes our trips enjoyable December 12, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location, location, location Right in the middle of a pleasant part of the world, from its proximity to SF to the wonderful paths through wetlands. December 5, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by guest If you're in the Mill Valley area this is a great place to stay. Comfortable beds with friendly staff and close to the city. December 4, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Booking and Billing Issues I stayed at this hotel over the Thanksgiving weekend and did not check in until Thursday. The hotel is a typical and comfortable Holiday Inn Express. The bed, bathroom amenities and decor are all nice and make for a comfortable stay. My reservation was made with 4 others at the same time; I did not have any issues checking in. In fact, they let me change the number of beds in my room so a friend would be able to spend a night. However, other people had issues with the rate they were supposed to receive. When all 5 rooms checked out, we all had a no show charge on our bill for a night before we were supposed to check in. The GM, who took all 5 reservations, made a mistake and scheduled them for the wrong day. The form we signed when checking in showed the correct date; imagine our surprise when the bill was slid under our door. The front desk agents when checking out did not have the capabilities to reverse the 'no show' charge and we had to wait until the GM returned. Still waiting to find out if the charges will be reversed. December 3, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mill Valley Great location, great room - very comfortable and clean. November 26, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view from second floor The view was very nice, the breakfast had healthy options that were very good such as granola soy milk and banana nut muffins - something that I haven't found at other HI Express hotels. The outdoor firepit was a nice touch, but I spent so much time touring San Francisco, I didn't get a chance to sit around it and enjoy it. I would definitely saty here again. November 21, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by HIE Mill Valley terrible place to stay wood floors squeak constantly on both side of our room doors slamming all night loud talking in rooms and cigarette smoke entered room from outside room facing pool area a joke because there was a wooden 6 foot fence between our room and the pool housekeeping carts left in hall way all night tacky the one vending machine for soda put in a dollar received 4 quarters put in a five dollar bill received nothing but did get the bill back tried ones and additional 5s nothing. sent email to staff asking to check in early because my son had surgery still no answer if you want to relax or sleep or have a soda stya away from this property November 18, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by extraordinary good service Besides a very comfortable and relaxing stay, I would like to make a great compliment to their housekeeping. On my departure I forgot to take my e-reader which I left in my room. That evening I called from a different location and to my releave the e-reader was found, safe and sound. Housekeeping put it on fedex service towards a next location (I was on a road trip) where I retreaved it soon. A great compliment, I think it an extraordinary good service. November 15, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor experience During our recent trip to California we stayed at six Holiday Inn Express hotels and have stayed at many more elsewhere. The front staff at this hotel were the worse we have experienced. Not accommodating, charged inflated prices with one explanation that there is no charge for parking as there is in San Francisco hotels. This was incredulous as the staff need to appreciate YOUR HOTEL ISN'T IN SAN FRANCISCO. The room was old but spacious and had an odor. The breakfast area is small with poor selections. Very disappointed November 13, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by POOR room Servicing Poor responsiveness to room servicing request. When I left the room in the AM, I specifically asked both the maid directly across the way AND the room supervisor to kindly make up the room during the next hour and a half as I had to be back there to rest in late morning. They promised to do so but when I returned an hour and a half later, the room was not made up and I had no chance for a clean room, soap, shampoo, etc that day. November 11, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to Stinson Beach Hiking Trails Less than 30 minute drive to Hiking trailheads at Stinson Beach. Great scenery and we lucked out with great weather first weekend in November! Missed evening smores served in lobby by fire but was late to breakfast and was pleasantly surprised to see food still out for those straggles like myself! November 5, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great time Had a three night stay very relaxing. It was nice to go have a great breakfast in the inn. Caring staff clean clean clean it was awesome. November 4, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Front Staff Unhelpful Stayed at the hotel for a local wedding. Front desk did not make any effort to find a decent room near my family despite requests. Staff said they couldn't find any "notes" in their computer. November 4, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible bed but location and service were great Great location and the lobby with adjacent firepit was nice. The customer service rep that helped me with check in was delightful. The hallways and stairwells to the rooms seemed worn out and could use some updating. The room itself appeared to have been updated with a nice flat screen and entertainment center/dresser/fridge storage as well as other features. It was clean too. So at first glance I thought it was a decent room. The bed, unfortunately, was horrible. A very hard,springy mattress and the slightest movement produced a very loud creak from the bed frame. Every time I turned over, I woke up due to the sound. Felt bad for the people in the next room...it was THAT loud. I stayed at a different HI Express the day before and the day after this stay...both were MUCH better on the hotel room front for the value and were more in line with what I have come to expect from the brand. This one just needs a little more care on the remodel side. As stated, the location was great as was the service...the room just fell short. October 29, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place close to San Francisco This is a great location if you want to stay outside of the city. Our whole experience was wonderful. Nick at the front desk, s'mores by the fire pit after a day of touring and a great breakfast. Highly recommend! October 23, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Delightfully dog friendly My compliments to the General Manager and the entire staff for a job well done. Daisy loved it too. October 20, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not So Great The exterior door near our room had no snubber, so it banged all night. A request that it be fixed was met with a smile, but nothing was ever done during the time we were there. The motel layout is a maze and the signage is poor - trying to find one's way to the office of the restaurant (which is absolutely excellent) is extremely difficult. No excuse for such poor signage. Otherwise, the motel was average and overpriced. October 16, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy, old, and expensive This former Howard Johnson's motel sits in a lovely location next to a very good restaurant, but that's about all it has going for it. We live locally and chose to stay at this hotel because it was convenient and dog friendly. With the $75 pet fee, our two night stay was over $600 for a room with a king bed. Perhaps the noisiest room I've stayed in in decades. We were moved to a quieter room the second night, with "quiet" defined as facing the freeway -- noisy but not as annoying as the machine and human noises we suffered through the first night. In-room coffee filter packets were made for a different machine and barely made colored water in our coffeemaker -- we went out and bought coffee and filters of our own -- breakfast is like Hampton Inns and others -- mass produced, but O.K. Plumbing was old and drain plugs did not work. Staff were very nice. We will not return to this facility, nor recommend it to anyone. October 15, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for a small group reunion We had a great experience at the Holiday Express by staging a class reunion of 13 people there. The accommodations are very good, the pool is great, the warm breakfast delicious. We were able to hold a welcoming party in the public area and had a good dinner at the Frantonio Restaurant next door. The location is very propitious as it is close to the Marin Airporter for folks flying in and to the bus to Muir Woods. It took us 10 minutes to drive to the Ferry that goes from Sausalito to San Francisco's Fisherman's Wharf and it took us only 45 minutes to drive to the wineries in Sonoma. October 9, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Incredible staff and location - definitely a repeat! I was impressed from the moment I checked in. The front desk staff went way beyond the "normal" check-in procedures to make sure I had accommodations that met all my needs. I soon discovered that the entire staff goes the extra mile to make sure your stay is perfect. Great team work and leadership here. The place is super clean. The rooms are spacious and have all the right amenities. The location is fantastic - beautiful scenery and easy to go anywhere from here. They even provide free bicycles to enjoy the surrounding trails and nature. About an hour after I had checked out, I discovered that I had left 2 rings in the room. I called the manager, and he immediately checked on it. I thought I had probably lost these rings forever, but they were returned to me and I am so grateful! Stay here - you won't regret it! October 7, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great amenities, but staff could use additional training This property had a lot of amenities to offer including bicycles for use. However, we only learned of them from another guest on our last day at the hotel. We had not been told about them upon our check in. Also, two clothing items came up missing while we were there and the management although initially seeming to want to help, never responded to the issue or offered any explanation or apology. Some service excellence training for this staff would go a long way to offer the best possible experience to the guests. October 6, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mill Valley Holiday Inn Always enjoy my stay and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Only issue is water pressure in the bathroom sinks. October 4, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by overall value Our family has stayed at your hotel for almost 15 years when we visit the Bay Area. During this most recent stay, the room rates were the highest ever and we found the most ongoing problems with a number of services. As examples, the room refrigerator was set high enough to freeze fresh berries; the sliding door was very difficult to secure; the cable feed was unavailable off and on; and so on. The staff was very understanding and accommodating, trying to fix the problems. It seems to me, tho', that these are ongoing maintenance type problems that should be taken care of before a guest checks in. October 2, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay This was a great place to stay while we visited Muir Woods and Sonoma. The heated pool was nice since it was a little cool. You can check out bikes for the bike path and the smores at night was an extra treat. September 25, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Older motel with outdated decor. Clean for the most part but older decorations. Good location if you want to stay outside of San Francisco and commute into the city. Breakfast was not very tasty but average for this level of motel. September 23, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great amenities and location The location is great for someone who likes to hike or bike. They loaned us bicycles and gave us s'more kits at night for the fire. The pool and jacuzzi were clean and really nice. It's right by where Marin air porter picks up and drops off for the airport. The staff is helpful and friendly. The beds were so comfy and it was quiet. The breakfast had a wide variety and was good. The only bad thing is how the room smelled. It smelled like old stale cigarettes and mildew. It did not air out. It is such a nice place and location but that does distract from all the rest that's good. I will stay there again but hope they can remedy the smell. They had a frig and a great TV. The bathroom fan was really loud also. September 21, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and great service. We were very pleased with everything ! Very comfortable beds and loved the choice of firm or soft pillows. The breakfast was more than adequate and they made sure everything was filled and tables were cleaned off as soon as people left the table. Would highly recommend. September 20, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay once again I stay every Labor Day weekend for the Sausalito Art Festival. I always have a pleasant stay. The front desk staff is always very helpful and upbeat! Best thing tough, this year I left my jewelry and several items in the dresser drawer. Everything was so hectic that I did not realize it until the following Tuesday! And lo and behold the wonderful housekeeping staff had my jewelry and other items waiting for me! THANK YOU so much your place is #1 on my list. Love the heated pool and the outdoor fireplace too! Thanks again! September 9, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 I have a complaint ... I have a complaint... Your hotel has become the new GOLDEN standard! The rooms are wonderful, the area Gorgeous and an amazing staff always willing to go the extra mile for the guest. This hotel is incredible! Thank you especially to Joanne, she has been an huge help. -Josh September 7, 2013
    <<prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 next>>