Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

WELCOME TO

San Francisco

Concierge Photo Concierge Signature
Dan Sotelo
Chief Concierge

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

Don't call it Frisco!

San Francisco is a great diverse city, with its people from all parts of the world. We're friendly and enjoy showing off our city, don't hesitate to ask anyone for directions!
HISTORIC SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL
As splendid as when it opened in 1926, Mark Hopkins is one of the city’s finest historic San Francisco luxury hotels. It’s ideally located at the crossing of three cable car lines, just minutes from Union Square. Each suite is furnished in a unique, stately style. Breathtaking views of San Francisco combine with fine dining and a signature 100 Martini menu at Top of the Mark restaurant. Described when it opened as ‘architecturally perfect’, this San Francisco luxury hotel remains so today.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    The legendary Top of the Mark lays the city at your feet with near 360 degree vistas showcasing the beautiful and scenic skyline of San Francisco. ...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre is equipped with Precor ellipticals, stationary bikes, treadmills and Paramount weight machines, many with flat-screen T...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    11:26 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 225 reviewers.
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by An older hotel Holiday Inn Civic Centre is an older hotel. A lobby and other public areas are very modern. When you open a door to your room, it is like make a time travel back a few decades. The room which I got was a very noisy as it was a top floor next to the elevator shaft. Every time when lift moved, I hear lound engine sound and an elevator cabel banging. I have one suggestion: There are lifts opposite each other in two rows, one row against room walls and the other row is against stairs (I think it is so). During a night time those lifts near rooms are very disturbing and should be kept closed. Room itself was comportable April 4, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great overall hotel! i would definitely stay here again. location is not bad! its a city folks.. staff very friendly and do care about your stay being what you will enjoy. i loved how clean the rooms were and the bed is very comfortable not so fancy but its just what you need for a weekend stay. its also a very secure hotel overall great! April 2, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I was expecting in a downtown location. When you first get there the entrance looks nice and contemporary. Which I really liked it, made me feel like I had made a great choice in this hotel. BUT.....the room was terrible it looked really old like if we entered a whole different old motel inn. The carpet was really filthy and dirty. There were spots all through out the carpet. We didn't even want to be barefooted at all. Also the fabric materials from the chairs and sofa were really dirty and sticky like it accumulated a bunch of candy and dirt from some ones hands and smeared it all over the chairs. Overall the room was disgusting and dirty. We were even looking to stay somewhere else because that's how dirty the room was. We will never stay at this Hotel ever again looking the way it looks now. I deserve a refund for the whole stay. We even told someone to come to our room to see the carpet, chairs, and sofa. They agreed but didn't do anything to clean or accommodate our stay. By the way No FREE complementary breakfast! Parking per day was ridiculous and very expensive!!! Overall this hotel Experience was terrible!!! April 1, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bill105 An older Holiday Inn yet comfortable and great location to local transit system on Market St. March 21, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, room was very comfortable and the staff was very kind and accommodating. Would definetly stay there again. March 18, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 Star service. 3 star price !! I had the pleasure of staying for a week arriving 15 Feb. Check in was smooth and fast and appreciated being allocated a room hours before check in. I was given a newly refurbished room on the 12th floor with a panoramic view over the city. I love having a balcony and being able to open the ranchslider and let some fresh air into the room. Check In lady was great, along with the cheerful and kind housemaids. One Doormen was fantastic, one other one wasnt so pleasant. The bed was lovely, although I got cold during the night most nights, it was only on the last night did I realise there was a nice cozy duvet in the wardrobe. I appreciated the extra benefits of being a Platinum Elite member; early check in, late check out, complimentary water, free drink at the bar. The hotel had free wi-fi and on the floor I was on it was lightning fast. All in all, a great stay at an old favourite. The only criticism, the outside of the building could do with a lick of paint. That faded pink makes the building look very 1960's.. Also, being charged extra for the use of a fridge, when there was obviously fridges in the rooms previously was a bit of a disappointment.. February 26, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay We only stayed one night, but it was a very good night. The Stay and Park package we got was an excellent deal, especially where parking is at a premium like in San Francisco. The staff were very helpful, with answers ready for all of our questions. And willing to work with us on extended parking. This goes for the person I talked to on the p[hone before I came, right through the person that took our key cards when we checked out. All done with a smile. The only thing that I would change are the double beds. So many hotels have gone to the two Queens, instead of doubles. With the trend of obesity in the United States, double beds are just too small for a lot of couples today. Thank you for the wonderful weekend. This is the second time that we have stayed at this location and we will be back. February 21, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 9 night stay. Would do it again in a heart-beat! If you have reasonable expectations, this is an outstanding hotel in San Francisco. It is in the Civic Center area that has it's own challenges, but if you know the city and the MUNI, you will love this place. The staff, especially David, Mark and Luiza were outstanding in their customer service. They treated us like family members and not customers. Now, I have got to say, that I am a platinum and ambassador member ot the IHG so I did not fall off the turnip truck yesterday. It is not an Intercontental Hotel, but it is not far from it. We truly enjoyed out stay here and would recomment it anyone who knows the city. Great for getting around, great room, and outstanding staff. What more can I say....am planning a return trip next year. Thanks much! February 15, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Okay...thin walls and holes in curtain While the room was okay and the bed comfortable, we heard a lot of what was happening in the next room. In addition, there were holes in the curtains which allowed light into the room earlier than wished. The bathrooms are rather small compared to other Holiday Inn properties. Finally, we smelled cigarette smoke in the bathroom the last morning...reported this to the staff. Must have come up through the venting in the bathroom from room(s) below. Was amazed that we had to pay to use the computers in the business center...thought those were always available at no cost. February 15, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Rooms and value! Noisy City! The room was very comfortable and spotless! I apprciate having a makeup mirror in the bathroom. Check in was quick and staff was helpful. I recieved a complimentary cocktail coopon! We loved being so close (a quick walk across the street) to the Orpheum Theater! Unfortunately, San Francisco is NOISY! Trucks, sirens and airhorn warnings start early in the morning and some through the night. We were on the 14th floor and still could hear the ruckus! If you need quiet pick another location or wear earplugs. February 7, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel The overall experience was great. Stay away from the bar tender, seem to have an attitude problem when servicing or asking questions regarding drinks. January 29, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Repeat guest The staff went the extra mile to make my stay perfect January 29, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hospitality Student Stayover As the faculty member responsible for the level of service education that my students receive in our program at Southern Oregon University I could not be prouder of the Holiday Inn. From Check In to Check Out the level of hospitality that was shared with our group was great. Mark at the front desk offered up suggestions for the group who was in attendance for the Fancy Food Show. All of our rooms were clean and comfortable, the food and beverage staff were very professional and attentive as well. I would recommend this property to both groups and individuals alike, a great location to see the city. Thank You, Byron January 23, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT....Staff, Location, Value, Rooms..... This is the only hotel I book when I stay in SFO. Unbeatable location - equally convenient whether I "BART" in or drive. It's proximity to my favorite concert venues can't be beat. Some of the front desk staff has been with this hotel since my first stay in 2009. It's good to see familiar faces each time I arrive and I appreciate their dedication and professionalism and, above all else, their genuine friendliness! Although I am not a smoker, I love that this hotel still offers smoking rooms! I frequently travel with smokers and this feature is VERY MUCH APPRECIATED! Thanks for another wonderful weekend! January 19, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location I like the location as it is an easy walk to Muni, which will get you anywhere in the City. Staff was very helpful and knows the city. My only complaint is the business center. I think it is fairly costly. Printer was out of ink and jammed. No way of getting credit for the down time. January 18, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by stay was cut short ... My stay at this location was cut short due to a terrible family emergency. I won't remember anything else except that the staff was very accommodating and understanding as I was trying to get home. The hotel went above and beyond my expectations when it came to getting me checked out early and getting me on my way to the airport. January 15, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Great service, comfortable and excellent amenities. Fast Wifi January 15, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by feel like I am home I have been this hollidat Inn three years ago, and I am back. Really good, good location ,good service, and good food. January 8, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Excellent service. Only complaint is restaurant hours. Not open during the day. January 7, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love coming back..... As this was our second stay at this particular hotel, I'm always thinking would the hotel seem as nice the second time around. I wasn't disappointed, the hotel staff was as professional and friendly as at the best of hotels. The room was clean and maintained well as was the overall general appearance of the place. I was very happy and "thanks again" front desk staff. January 6, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Recommend for 1st timer to SFO to stay in HI For first timer to SFO, would recommend HI if you are travelling F & E from airport to hotel. HI is conveniently located near to BART station and few blocks away from shopping malls. The room is spacious and bed is comfortable. The only displeasure is some of the TV channels are not working well and create viewing disruption. The gym is small and located on far end on certain level. Overall experience is good. January 4, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location, Great Staff, fair price This hotel has a great location with good access to nearby BART, MUNI, and the freeway system. It is an easy hotel to walk from, though some of the surrounding neighborhoods are a bit tough. It is nicely situated between Union Square area, Civic Center, Hayes Valley and MOMA The lobby is nicely redone, as are the rooms. The desk staff and bellhop are a great help. Because of BART airport access it is a great fly in from the airport, weekend in the city hotel. No need to have a car. Restaurant is average, but this being SF there is lots of great food nearby and a Starbucks around the corner by the BART station entrance. December 25, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly helpful staff The gentleman at the front desk was extremely helpful and the women who ran the bar very cordial. Great location to walk to BART. December 19, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service at a decent price! I would rate this property a very solid 4 headed to a 5. My only real hesitation is with the food and beverage. The front desk folks are superb----and special kudos to Steven. As a Platinum Priority Club member, I stay at a lot ICH properties and am loyal to this one----and highly recommend it, December 14, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice visit Hotel is good and comfortable. I found the staff excellent and very friendly! Loved that it is so close to The Orpheum. I was not impressed with the restaurant menu, I ordered pizza from GrubHub. December 6, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and value for money This is a city centre Hotel close to the main areas we wanted to visit, BART station nearby, as were F Tram, buses and trolley bus service, We found it clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. A plus point for us was that we could use the business centre with a free dedicated airline check in computer terminal and printer for boarding passes. The cost was reasonable considering the price of other hotels we looked at in the area. We did not have a car but the car park was linked to the hotel internally so it would have been safe and secure, a plus point for others I think. A noisy garbage truck visited a nearby property at 3.30 am one morning, but this was nothing to do with the hotel. November 26, 2012
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent place but why on earth are there no stairs? Room was fine, liked the outdoor pool, friendly staff. 50 ft from the BART, too, which is nice. Racking my brain to understand why you can't walk down a flight of stairs from the 5th floor to the 4th (or whatever). You can only use stairs to exit the building? I mean, this is silly. November 25, 2012
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for business Good for business, well located near public transportation and downtown. Decent Internet Wi-Fi with the exception of connecting up iOS devices (disconnects all the time, horrible for IM apps, big deal for me). Decent looks and maintenance with details here and there but not a big deal. Could have a better shower, better/bigger fitness room and better/bigger business center and do without the pool which is below average and not for this crowd. Good value for business trips if you need to be near this area, 2 minutes from BART station (Civic Center) November 23, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Civic Center Front desk staff terrific. One-half block from Civic Center BART station. Biggest negative is neighborhood -- many homeless around BART station and very iffy neighborhood on Market Street after dark. Organic neighborhood market one block (toward Folsom Street) from hotel. November 18, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I Enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn - Civic Center San Francisco After an exhausting 19+ hrs flight with a 6 hr lay over I was ready to just chill out when I arrived in San Francisco. My room was ready and check in was a breeze. My bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. The bathtub was devine and helped me unwind. I thought my room would be noisy being so close to Market St but was pleasantly surprised that the only time I woke during the night was because of the ambulance siren and I quickly fell back to sleep. I stayed for 3 days and must recommend the food as being top quality at an affordable price. In 3 days I was able to see most of the city sights, public transport was so handy being just 20m away, so I had time to see Berkley and Treasure Island as well. The staff at the hotel were friendly and efficiently provided tourist information for me to peruse. The Ice Machine was great and the ambience of the hotel very lovely. I appreciated the little convenience store on the hotel site too. All in all a very enjoyable stay and I will certainly book there again. November 13, 2012
    <<prev 5 6 7 8 9 next>>