Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

WELCOME TO

San Francisco

Concierge Photo Concierge Signature
Dan Sotelo
Chief Concierge

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

Don't call it Frisco!

San Francisco is a great diverse city, with its people from all parts of the world. We're friendly and enjoy showing off our city, don't hesitate to ask anyone for directions!
HISTORIC SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL
As splendid as when it opened in 1926, Mark Hopkins is one of the city’s finest historic San Francisco luxury hotels. It’s ideally located at the crossing of three cable car lines, just minutes from Union Square. Each suite is furnished in a unique, stately style. Breathtaking views of San Francisco combine with fine dining and a signature 100 Martini menu at Top of the Mark restaurant. Described when it opened as ‘architecturally perfect’, this San Francisco luxury hotel remains so today.

Guest Reviews

default

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    The legendary Top of the Mark lays the city at your feet with near 360 degree vistas showcasing the beautiful and scenic skyline of San Francisco. ...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre is equipped with Precor ellipticals, stationary bikes, treadmills and Paramount weight machines, many with flat-screen T...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...

InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    7:57 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 241 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to Stinson Beach Hiking Trails Less than 30 minute drive to Hiking trailheads at Stinson Beach. Great scenery and we lucked out with great weather first weekend in November! Missed evening smores served in lobby by fire but was late to breakfast and was pleasantly surprised to see food still out for those straggles like myself! November 5, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great time Had a three night stay very relaxing. It was nice to go have a great breakfast in the inn. Caring staff clean clean clean it was awesome. November 4, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Front Staff Unhelpful Stayed at the hotel for a local wedding. Front desk did not make any effort to find a decent room near my family despite requests. Staff said they couldn't find any "notes" in their computer. November 4, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible bed but location and service were great Great location and the lobby with adjacent firepit was nice. The customer service rep that helped me with check in was delightful. The hallways and stairwells to the rooms seemed worn out and could use some updating. The room itself appeared to have been updated with a nice flat screen and entertainment center/dresser/fridge storage as well as other features. It was clean too. So at first glance I thought it was a decent room. The bed, unfortunately, was horrible. A very hard,springy mattress and the slightest movement produced a very loud creak from the bed frame. Every time I turned over, I woke up due to the sound. Felt bad for the people in the next room...it was THAT loud. I stayed at a different HI Express the day before and the day after this stay...both were MUCH better on the hotel room front for the value and were more in line with what I have come to expect from the brand. This one just needs a little more care on the remodel side. As stated, the location was great as was the service...the room just fell short. October 29, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place close to San Francisco This is a great location if you want to stay outside of the city. Our whole experience was wonderful. Nick at the front desk, s'mores by the fire pit after a day of touring and a great breakfast. Highly recommend! October 23, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Delightfully dog friendly My compliments to the General Manager and the entire staff for a job well done. Daisy loved it too. October 20, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not So Great The exterior door near our room had no snubber, so it banged all night. A request that it be fixed was met with a smile, but nothing was ever done during the time we were there. The motel layout is a maze and the signage is poor - trying to find one's way to the office of the restaurant (which is absolutely excellent) is extremely difficult. No excuse for such poor signage. Otherwise, the motel was average and overpriced. October 16, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy, old, and expensive This former Howard Johnson's motel sits in a lovely location next to a very good restaurant, but that's about all it has going for it. We live locally and chose to stay at this hotel because it was convenient and dog friendly. With the $75 pet fee, our two night stay was over $600 for a room with a king bed. Perhaps the noisiest room I've stayed in in decades. We were moved to a quieter room the second night, with "quiet" defined as facing the freeway -- noisy but not as annoying as the machine and human noises we suffered through the first night. In-room coffee filter packets were made for a different machine and barely made colored water in our coffeemaker -- we went out and bought coffee and filters of our own -- breakfast is like Hampton Inns and others -- mass produced, but O.K. Plumbing was old and drain plugs did not work. Staff were very nice. We will not return to this facility, nor recommend it to anyone. October 15, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for a small group reunion We had a great experience at the Holiday Express by staging a class reunion of 13 people there. The accommodations are very good, the pool is great, the warm breakfast delicious. We were able to hold a welcoming party in the public area and had a good dinner at the Frantonio Restaurant next door. The location is very propitious as it is close to the Marin Airporter for folks flying in and to the bus to Muir Woods. It took us 10 minutes to drive to the Ferry that goes from Sausalito to San Francisco's Fisherman's Wharf and it took us only 45 minutes to drive to the wineries in Sonoma. October 9, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Incredible staff and location - definitely a repeat! I was impressed from the moment I checked in. The front desk staff went way beyond the "normal" check-in procedures to make sure I had accommodations that met all my needs. I soon discovered that the entire staff goes the extra mile to make sure your stay is perfect. Great team work and leadership here. The place is super clean. The rooms are spacious and have all the right amenities. The location is fantastic - beautiful scenery and easy to go anywhere from here. They even provide free bicycles to enjoy the surrounding trails and nature. About an hour after I had checked out, I discovered that I had left 2 rings in the room. I called the manager, and he immediately checked on it. I thought I had probably lost these rings forever, but they were returned to me and I am so grateful! Stay here - you won't regret it! October 7, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great amenities, but staff could use additional training This property had a lot of amenities to offer including bicycles for use. However, we only learned of them from another guest on our last day at the hotel. We had not been told about them upon our check in. Also, two clothing items came up missing while we were there and the management although initially seeming to want to help, never responded to the issue or offered any explanation or apology. Some service excellence training for this staff would go a long way to offer the best possible experience to the guests. October 6, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mill Valley Holiday Inn Always enjoy my stay and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Only issue is water pressure in the bathroom sinks. October 4, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by overall value Our family has stayed at your hotel for almost 15 years when we visit the Bay Area. During this most recent stay, the room rates were the highest ever and we found the most ongoing problems with a number of services. As examples, the room refrigerator was set high enough to freeze fresh berries; the sliding door was very difficult to secure; the cable feed was unavailable off and on; and so on. The staff was very understanding and accommodating, trying to fix the problems. It seems to me, tho', that these are ongoing maintenance type problems that should be taken care of before a guest checks in. October 2, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay This was a great place to stay while we visited Muir Woods and Sonoma. The heated pool was nice since it was a little cool. You can check out bikes for the bike path and the smores at night was an extra treat. September 25, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Older motel with outdated decor. Clean for the most part but older decorations. Good location if you want to stay outside of San Francisco and commute into the city. Breakfast was not very tasty but average for this level of motel. September 23, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great amenities and location The location is great for someone who likes to hike or bike. They loaned us bicycles and gave us s'more kits at night for the fire. The pool and jacuzzi were clean and really nice. It's right by where Marin air porter picks up and drops off for the airport. The staff is helpful and friendly. The beds were so comfy and it was quiet. The breakfast had a wide variety and was good. The only bad thing is how the room smelled. It smelled like old stale cigarettes and mildew. It did not air out. It is such a nice place and location but that does distract from all the rest that's good. I will stay there again but hope they can remedy the smell. They had a frig and a great TV. The bathroom fan was really loud also. September 21, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and great service. We were very pleased with everything ! Very comfortable beds and loved the choice of firm or soft pillows. The breakfast was more than adequate and they made sure everything was filled and tables were cleaned off as soon as people left the table. Would highly recommend. September 20, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay once again I stay every Labor Day weekend for the Sausalito Art Festival. I always have a pleasant stay. The front desk staff is always very helpful and upbeat! Best thing tough, this year I left my jewelry and several items in the dresser drawer. Everything was so hectic that I did not realize it until the following Tuesday! And lo and behold the wonderful housekeeping staff had my jewelry and other items waiting for me! THANK YOU so much your place is #1 on my list. Love the heated pool and the outdoor fireplace too! Thanks again! September 9, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 I have a complaint ... I have a complaint... Your hotel has become the new GOLDEN standard! The rooms are wonderful, the area Gorgeous and an amazing staff always willing to go the extra mile for the guest. This hotel is incredible! Thank you especially to Joanne, she has been an huge help. -Josh September 7, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay Loved the whole experience. Checked in, relaxed in the patio, took a bike ride, took a swim in the heated pool, hot tub, had a wonderful dinner at Frantoio's next door, had s'mores for dessert. Slept in and had a nice breakfast the next morning and another swim before checking out. September 7, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff, Great Stay Staff so friendly and helpful. They all get along well and seem so happy with their jobs as well, which is a good sign, and bodes well for customer service. Joanne was particularly helpful linking my reservations and making sure my mobility needs were met. Very comfortable beds, and I love the duvets, as opposed to the old-style plastic blankets. The pool is just lovely; such comfortable furniture and very clean. Nice firepit area as well. Great breakfast; love that about all Holiday Inn Expresses. Will always stay here while visiting family in Mill Valley. September 5, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay-Great Staff What a great find. Love the staff--Joanne especially went out of her way to accommodate my limited mobility access needs. Sunny and bright; the pool has been renovated and is as nice as any we have visited at resorts. Love the breakfasts. Staff very accommodating to our business needs. Comfortable beds, modern duvets to keep you cozy and warm. Home away from home. September 3, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff- Night Auditor Julie, the Night Auditor handled by plumbing issue. She's amazing!!! September 2, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Everything was handled well. Bed, service,breakfast, front desk ,and housekeeping was extremely efficient. Hotel was well located for our needs. August 29, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Outdated rooms, poor breakfast selections, unfriendly staff. Hotel location to San Francisco was the only good thing about this hotel. The front desk staff were extremely rude and unfriendly. When asked at check-in if there was chance to change room location to poolside the answer was an abrasive "NO". No attempt was made to try to see if that option might work later in the stay since we were staying 3 nights. The room was dark and had a damp odor. It was not equipped with shampoo or lotion #we had to ask for it#. Our room small with a deck that didn't even fit a chair and was in a section of the hotel that was not connected to the main lobby area so we had to exit and walk outside to get to the area with the lobby. The breakfast area was small and cramped and uncomfortable and the food selection was limited and unhealthy. The cost was overpriced for this property. As stated, the only good thing is location to San Francisco and the 101. I would not stay here again. August 28, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Before good... now great! My family have stayed at the property a few times when it was a Larkspur. It was our "back up" with another local hotel as our hotel of choice on our visits to the area #3+ times a year#. My daughter's soccer team needed a place to stay while participating in the Tiburon-Mill Valley Tourney and I suggested your property as our favorite was booked for 12 rooms. I am very happy we did. It was nice as a Larkspur, but as a Holiday Inn it was great! Staff was great and super patient with a team of energized 9 year old girls on a winning streak #and now champions#. The only thing from making this hotel my favorite in the area would be the price. August 28, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by King Size Bed, Wi Fi and good TV reception Enjoyed staying at the Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley. Excellent Location and very comfortable rooms. Used the Jacuzzi and pool. Very relaxing and enjoyable. Would definitely stay here again when back in Mill Valley. August 23, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome place to stay My daughter and I had a wonderful time when we stayed 4 nights at this H.I. We both loved the Smores in the evening and met some wonderful people from all over the world while roasting marshmellows. One afternoon the manager brought out freshly baked chocolate chip cookies! The pool was wonderful and pool furniture extremely comfy! Overall a great place, very family friendly! Also, easy to find, right off of the highway. The complimentary bikes are nice, but they are not in the best shape, there wasn't one that my 10 yo daughter could ride (they were too big) so that was a little disappointing. August 22, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not complaining... the staff was extraordinary on all levels! the facility is just another average HI-Express. the only criticisms I have are 1) the entire non-smoking wing and our room [138] which was also a non-smoking room; smelled like someone just smoked a cigarette in it. you could not escape the smell. 2) the king size bed was not very comfortable- one side too soft and the other too stiff. Bonuses are the location and the quality of in-room media equipment and support are excellent. and $300 with tax is just what you have to deal with in Marin county. August 21, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice! Good location from SF. Nice rooms. Quiet location. Nice view. Good breakfast. Good staff. Plenty of dinning options within a few miles. August 18, 2013
    <<prev 5 6 7 8 9 next>>