Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 726 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of My Favorite Hotels It's hard to beat this hotel for location, amenities, and excellent service. We pre-ordered room service for breakfast to arrive at 6:30am on New Years day and our waiter was right on time, with a beautiful tray of food. We had upgraded to a junior suite for an additional $39 per night. We got a fabulous room on the 24th floor with amazing views. I would definitely recommend this property for business or vacation. 04 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A GREAT FAMILY CHRISTMAS AWAY FROM HOME I recently stayed here for 2 weeks with my family from London, from the minute we stepped into the hotel till the day we left, our experience was amazing. we were treated like ROYALTY. The staff were so patient and friendly with us as we had never been to San Francisco before and they made the kids feel at home. Our room was always clean and so welcoming. The food and service was great. The staff made us feel so welcome and made our christmas extra special as we were so far from home. i can only say well done and a MASSIVE THANK YOU to all the staff. we would recommend this hotel again and again and we would come back. :) 04 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by christmas holidays great place to stay down town SF...we enjoyed all their comforts a lot... 03 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Experience Upon reception we were upgraded after mentioning this was our engagement. The staff were friendly and helpful. We have stayed in many motels and hotels in San Francisco and actually found this to be a great value, actually about the same $$$ as motels near Fisherman's Wharf. The location is great, an easy 4 block walk to Union Square, and San Francisco Centre with Nordstrums and Bloomingdales only a block away. As a note, parking is 30% less expensive to park in the 5th and Mission Street parking garage, located right behind the hotel. Views from our very large room were fantastic. We will be returning at our earliest opportunity. Highly, highly recommend this property. 03 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Pre New Years stay Front desk was wonderful Restaurant host was rude Ordered a six dollar latte with was about 8oz and was awful Room needed to be vacuumed better and had corn nuts in the corners. Bathroom had graffiti on the wall paper that had been scrubbed but still very visible. Needs to be replaced. Fitness center was well equipped but the free weight bench was broken. 03 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Property Poor Service If the property is lovely, the service should mirror it... this is a top notch facility, but we experienced second rate service. We visited the Intercontinental for one night between Christmas and New Year's 2013. The wait for check in was easily 20+ minutes. I would not mind a wait if the front desk had been well staffed but it had two employees and there were easily ten stations empty. There were three or more, uniformed staff that went in and out from the door adjacent to the check-in and apparently not one was able to check-in guests. Our room was not ready and we had spa appointments so we checked our bags with the bell captain and headed to the sixth floor. There again, we had to wait to be checked in with two staff behind the desk and only one helping customers. The spa is VERY small, one shower, one steam room, maybe 20 lockers. It is nicely appointed but there were 3 of us and only two clean towels available. What?? We could have asked for more but we would have had to exit the women's locker room. Ridiculous. Our massages were well done but upon check out of the spa, we had one guest in front of us and we waited probably 10 minutes to pay for our services. Back in the lobby to obtain our room key, we had to wait in a line with a similar wait for our keys even though we had checked in fully. We thought our keys may have been available with our bags from the bell captain but apparently not. Again, just a poor customer experience all around. Overall, the property is beautiful but until the service is as lovely as the lobby and rooms, choose another location. 03 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location My family stayed in the Intercontinental hotel for 5 days when we had holiday in San Francisco in Dec 2013. Pls note that USA intercontinental will not provide a free bottle of wine for ambassador members, as per practice in Intercontinental Australia . The hotel is not very new and the lobby is not big but it is in a good location, not far away from the shopping area (Union Square, Macy’s) and the Wesetfield food court. We were in 9th floor and had a good view of the city. We enjoyed the 3 course meal dinner at Luce in the hotel. During the check out, there were some discrepancy in the bill; their staff Kae was very patient and rectify the discrepancy for me. Thanks Kae. I will stay in the same hotel in my visit. 03 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved corner king I did stand by upgrade to king corner room and it was great. Has 3 glass floor to ceiling windows overlooking Bloomingdales and 5th. Short one block to meters on which has large city target upstairs, great places to eat. I thought location was off union Square but now matron new upgraded development helps a lot. I like this hotel as bedding is top of the class. Better than JW marriott or Grand Hyatt. Hotel front desk did best to accommodate my room request and our roll away was already in the room when we checked in. Front desk Kara was very cheerful and very nice! Great to have such a nice person as a front desk. I'll stay here again next time I'll be in SF. 02 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Among the best I have stayed all over the world. This place ranks among the best. Congratulations to a job well done. 01 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly staff. Only two blocks from Market Street. Close enough to walk yet far enough to keep the nose out. Staff was a tremendous help in finding those local, hole in the wall type restaurants. Always smiling and eager to assist with any inquiry. Will definitely stay here on future visits! 31 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by INNER CONTENT-ALL :) My daughter and I spent a couple days in December 2013 at the Intercontinental Hotel at 888 Howard Street recently. We found the gentleman who checked us in to be extremely kind, courteous and helpful. He went above and beyond to ensure our stay was the best! 29th Floor was a beautiful view of the harbor and the new bridge from Oakland. It was well within walking distance to Union Square and our cable ride. We found most people walked many places within our distance, but because we both had coughing colds, we chose to just walk out the front door and take a cab one day for a few dollars up the hilly streets to Union Square. Walking shoes are mandatory here, just like in New York, Manhattan. Anyway, our room was very clean, bright (with floor to ceiling windows) and was well stocked although we did run out of Kleenex one day but they were very quick to bring it up to us as well more tea and lemon and little paks of honey for our colds. The restaurant on the main lobby was pretty much empty most of the time and quite expensive for us. Would have loved to hear the baby grand piano being played with Christmas music at the time we were there. I think it would have invited more people into their wine bar at the Lobby level. Our fridge was well stocked and water was provided for a cost which we felt was really expensive at $6 or 7 per bottle. The hot tub was wonderful and there is a fabulous LAP POOL and a wonderful Spa Center with a Turkish Steam Room that was beneficial for our respiratory colds. We enjoyed our stay very much and was able to exit back onto the Bridge with great efficiency after. Will definitely stay here again. Merry CHRISTmas! :) 30 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Quality of staff We got to the hotel at 2:30pm, check in desk let us know the room not ready yet. Which is ok since check in is at 3pm. The gentlemen in the front said he would call us once the room is available. We wandered around and wait, no phone call, so by 3:45 we went back, guess what, rooms ready nobody called. That definitely not 5 star experience. 30 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location - westfield mall and union square When I first called and talked to the concierge, she was so friendly and helpful. She was spot on with all her information. We really enjoyed the great location to the westfield mall and union square, some good walking. I have already recommended to my sister and have kept the number in my phone for future stays. 27 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Greatest Hotel Stay Ever This had to be the greatest hotel stay I have ever experienced. I stay at hotels 20-25 days a month for works and I have stayed at a lot of hotels in my life, but this was by far the best experience I have ever had. This hotel was very clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here and it is my favorite choice in San Francisco. 25 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome hotel For the past 2 years we've had our Holiday party at The SF Mint. Initially, we chose the Intercontinental for its close proximity to our party, but we came back this year because of everything else it offers. Great rooms and very friendly staff. My only tip is, if you have breakfast downstairs, I'd recommend going with the buffet or it might take a while to get your food. 20 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just correct Good location sweet staff a very good restaurant, other than that nothing impressive. 19 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mostly Very Good This hotel is very nice, and the staff were uniformly excellent. As a Royal Ambassador, I always look forward to relaxing in the excellent lounge. Overall, I recommend this InterConti highly. Two minor complaints, which cost a rating star. First, I received no RA upgrade even though I'd previously been upgraded online to a junior suite. When I inquired, the nice young man said all the suites had checked in. Not quite true as I had checked when riding in on BART and the hotel had junior suites for sale, not to mention other, nicer suites. This sullied an otherwise nice stay. RA's tend to be seasoned travellers who can verify excuses hotels give for not honoring their benefits. It leaves a bad taste to be played a bit by a brand I'm very loyal to. Also, the coffee machine in the lounge was out of order, which I assume they'll fix quickly ( as I said, small complaint). 19 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Swimmers will like this hotel. IHG is my favorite place to stay in SF. The location is ideal for Moscone Center conventions. The rooms are a pricier than the comparable nearby hotels, and my business is not a wealthy one, yet I stay at IHG because I'm a swimmer and their lap pool is the best. As a swimmer this keeps me fit, relaxed, and alert, and that justifies the modest extra cost. 16 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious room with great views and comfortable bed Pluses: - Staff recognized me as repeat customer and was very nice at check-in and check-out. I was offered a room upgrade without asking. - View from the room is great. Rooms are new and spacious. Beds are great. Temperature control in the room is easy to manage. - Bathroom is big and well-appointed. - Hotel provides slippers, which is a relative rarity in the US, even in high-quality hotels Minuses: - My shower malfunctioned, but it was fixed quickly after I phoned the room service. - It was called in SF, and the draft from the windows was noticeable: the isolation could be better. 10 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by good location, hotel ok but nothing more, nice staff location is convenient and close to lots of shops and restaurants. Rooms are very expensive compared to what you get : no hanger in the room, no safe box, no proper shower Bed is comfortable as well as pillows. but cleanliness is poor, I had a completely dirty towel, a bit disgusting. Hotel is a bit old fashioned. Staff is very nice and helpful, especially the concierge. Breakfast is ok. Internet is not free, which is almost incredible nowadays, it's free almost everywhere in most hotels I've been in the world. Overall it's expensive compared to what you get. Thankfully the staff is very nice and the location is good, it saves the hotel, and I'm sure the management knows... Next time I come back to SFO, I'll try to stay somewhere else. 09 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always makes for an excellent business trip! I periodically travel to SF for business and I am not a great traveler. I often don't sleep well away from home. I typically choose the Intercontinental on Howard, as I feel safe and it is extremely comfortable and always get a great rest. Every staff member is very courteous and welcoming. I really enjoy being acknowledged upon checkin as a Platinum member. I also always get a very warm welcome from every staff member I walk by. I want to provide a specific thank you to one of your door men (Ernest). He remembered me from my previous stays and welcomed me and even provided the taxi driver with my address before I even asked. I haven't been to your hotel since March, so that is amazing for him to remember. Please keep up the great service and you will continue to be my first choice of hotels. 09 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room was cold and got dinged for checking out early So I was hoping to switch from my regular hotels to the Intercontinental in SF (I am in SF probably 30 days a year or more). But was disappointed in a couple of things. First the room was very cold and could not get the heat on. Second, and perhaps the most disappointing thing was that I had to check out early and while they were nice enough to "only" charge me $50 - most other hotels would have understood and waived the fee. This is too bad since you have one of the nicest properties in the area but do you really need to ding a frequent traveler for a last minute change in his/her itinerary to meet business needs. 08 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Front desk and concierge knowledgeable and friendly. Comfortable beds, nice bathroom amenities. 07 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Black Friday overnight Excellent stay all around. Not one complaint. The staff was amazing, room was beautiful and the bed was super comfortable. 03 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recommend Very pleased with our stay. The bed was so luxurious and comfortable. Room clean. Quiet. We even used the gym. Excellent walking distance to Union Square. Couldn't have asked for more. 02 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel in Great Location InterContinental is perfectly located in SOMA by Bloomingdale's and the Convention Center. The hotel is new and has great facilities and dining. Easy access to transit options. 02 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Pet Friendly Hotel, Beware This is a pet friendly hotel. Beware. We had a terrible experience. Apparently it is acceptable to leave your pet in your room unattended. I don't know many pets that would decide to hang out in the room and be perfectly content. Our neighbor's dog barked constantly from 10pm to 11:30pm. It woke up our toddler and kept us all from sleeping. 02 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Wonderful and terrible too All aspects were excellent including a wonder dinner at the restaurant, excellent service, nice room, etc….BUT a jack hammer started at 2:00am and went to 5:00am INSIDE the hotel near my room. Impossible to sleep. Complained and was offered…. headphones. Really??? Staff reported union workers were beyond their control. Should never happen. Was not offered a refund, but requested and received one by email. I have stayed here 4 times, all great except this incident. Bottom line: management needs to control work going on in their space, or shut the hotel down for repairs. 29 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff and service I travel for business 60% in a year and been staying in many hotels...and I spent time with family for leisure at least twice this year prior to this location....and it's amazing!! My family had a memorable experience...thank you! Carlos 21 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Weekend This was our first time in San Francisco and the Intercontinental Hotel was amazing. The view was breath taking and the staff was excellent. This is a must place to stay if your in the Bay area. 20 November 2013
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 25 next>>

InterContinental San Francisco

  • 888 Howard Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94103
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-6166500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Swahili, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable 50 dollar fee per night. Pets cannot be left unattended in guest room. Specific rooms only.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    7:32 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 16 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs