Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

San Francisco

SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL RISING ABOVE THE HEART OF THE CITY
Stunning 32 storey views and modern elegance come together at this San Francisco luxury hotel overlooking the Bay Area. Impressive in every detail, Luce, our Michelin-rated restaurant serves New American Cuisine that’s a gastronomic delight. Floor-to-ceiling windows let light flood into luxury suites and 10 spa treatment rooms offer an urban retreat. The hotel is located in San Francisco’s downtown district, with the city’s finest museums and upscale shopping within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    This Michelin rated hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting just off of the main lobby is the stage for arti...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre offers 2,200 sq ft of space equipped with free-weights, cardio and resistance equipment and an indoor lap pool (6a.m. - ...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
San Francisco
  • 888 Howard Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94103
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-6166500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Swahili, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable 50 dollar fee per night. Pets cannot be left unattended in guest room. Specific rooms only.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    1:37 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 16 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 125 reviewers.
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average Hotel Pros: Breakfast included, decent TV, comfy bed, clean, good internet, friendly staff Cons: Price, Breakfast was mediocre, coffee was terrible, no pool, small fitness center Overall: I would stay here again if the need was there, however it probably wouldn't be my first choice. 02 June 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by small but clean Quality beds and quiet. No frills breakfast. No pool. Staff was ok. I'd probably look to stay somewhere else next time. 01 June 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay A great place, location and the room was great. VERY CLEAN 29 May 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Junior suite I think it was a stretch to call it a Jr. Suite. I know I was very lucky and even getting a room because of graduation. The second night of my stay,I stayed in the room next door to the "junior suite" the only difference was an extra bed, no other amenities, nothing. 21 May 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great room seems that the staff has no idea about the IHG program, which is a little annoying 19 May 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by What no Giants Baseball Everything is great about this place except the direct TV does not have local access to Giants baseball games. 12 May 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Visit! The staff was extremely helpful, professional, and accommodating. I felt like they really wanted our stay to be outstanding and they were successful. I highly recommend this to anyone who is staying in this area. 27 April 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and good service This revew is too confusing.... keep it simple if you wnat input 08 March 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Holiday Inn Express I've stayed at many Holiday Inn Express hotels, and this was the best experience by far. Front desk VERY friendly and helpful; the breakfast was better than most. For example, the hard-boiled eggs were perfect (yolk not green!). Plenty of parking and not far from campus. 27 February 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Attitude from Manager I left some lower scores based on two things. 1. Bad encounter with a man at the front counter. 2. Room had strong odor of cigarette smoke. The lady I spoke to before the manager was very nice and helpful, the lady AFTER the manager was there was also extremely nice and helpful. I accidentally booked my room a day in advance of when I was going to be staying, the lady at the front desk was able to switch my reservation for the next night, no problem. I was very thankful. She even offered to let me move my things into the room a little early if nobody booked the room the night before. No promises of course. She said to just check with the front desk and they could work something out. Unfortunately the man at the front desk the next day wouldn't even hear me out. I was met with curt behavior and several rude encounters thereafter. I was so offended I couldn't even look at the guy anytime after, he was so rude. I just hope no other guests receive this kind of service. The room I booked was the King Suite with the whirlpool. The room was clean but didn't smell clean. It smelled like cigarette smoke so I left the window open to air it out and the fan running. It only made it worse. There's no getting over that gross smell when you are trying to relax and enjoy your vacation. 25 February 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice staff This is a nice little hotel, great location and very friendly staff. I needed to print something out and the manager immediately helped me out. Good breakfast, wireless worked well. 23 February 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for a UC Berkeley visit. Nasser- the manager was a great host- warm and genuinely friendly. Runs the hotel very well. Clean and comfortable. 22 February 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Stay 3 couples came to the area for a Navigator Conference. We decided to choose a location that would be central to all the attractions that we wanted to see. We choose Holiday Inn Express-Berkeley. When we arrived in the parking lot, we were greeted by the Manager. (Never had seen that happen before and I have stayed in lots of HIE's.) When we checked in we asked for upgrades and all our rooms were upgraded. Everything about out stay was above and beyond what we expected. The manager was ever present and accommodating. When we were loading the car to leave, we were all thanked for choosing his location. Even got handshakes and hugs. Would I stay there again -- in a heartbeat. Best location I ever stayed at. 07 February 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by check in snacks Seems to me that we always received choc chip cookes, water and/or a bar of some sort at check in. Certainly missed that this time. We did not eat at the Hotel this time. 05 February 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable, responsive staff Since our son & his family live in the area we frequently visit and stay at this hotel. It can get a bit pricey for its value on weekends that Cal has a home football game but is reasonable at other times. There are few other hotels in the Berkeley area that offer decent accomodations at a reasonable price (except for football weekends). Location is good, rooms are clean and more spacious than most of the other hotels, and the breakfast is more than adequate but not exceptional. We have tried some of the lessor hotels in the area and have found them inadequate for our needs. The staff are friendly and responsive. Parking has never been a problem. 07 January 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Frequent Guest I stay at this hotel several times a year for about a week each time. I have been very pleased with the accommodations. But the thing that sets this hotel apart is the personal service on the part of the manager and staff. I complemented the manager on the helpful and friendly manner the staff displays. The manager told me that the staff knew this was the hospitality business and if one did not want to be hospitable, one should get a different job. Would that the manager of all hotels had that attitude. 03 January 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by OK High price for a fair facility. The facility needs a facelift. 28 December 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I will stay here again. Best customer service experience. We stayed at this hotel over the Thanksgiving Holiday and had only planned to stay for a couple of days and ended up extending our stay for 5 days due to the EXCELLENT customer service of the staff, especially the manager Nassar. He went above and beyond for us to make sure we had an awesome visit. He's friendly, knowledgable and I just adore him. The room was clean and the breakfast were good and hot. Again, I cannot say enough about the fantastic service we received. Happy customers. 16 December 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Met all expectations A great place to stay, easy access and clean and comfortable. And a great breakfast to start the day... 05 December 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Value I was staying at a convention in San Francisco and was looking for a hotel off the BART for easy commute without paying the high fares. I didn't want to be dropped off in a bad neighborhood and chose Berkeley. This is not very close to the campus and is in a suburban neighborhood. Mostly younger population. Hotel was clean, service was good. Good restaurants around. Had work out facility. If you want near the campus choose elsewhere but if you just need a place to crash, this was perfect. Also, provided a very decent breakfast. 03 December 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable The room was quiet and comfortable. It was larger than the average hotel room, complete with microwave, fridg, and bar sink. 29 November 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good service, convenient location I stayed here for 2 nights while participating in Berkeley half-marathon. The room I had was quite big and very comfortable. Its conveniently located from shopping like REI, and many eating places, ~1.5 mile from university. The staff is very friendly and let me checkout late so that I can relax for a bit after the marathon. Breakfast was good. On second day they even had coffee and bananas outside before breakfast, which was awesome! Highly recommended. 28 November 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good quality stay This hotel turned out to be the best in a multiple stay 25 day holiday. A problem with the coffee maker was resolved almost immediately. The room was good and quiet, the bed comfortable and the facilities excellent. It was convenient to the freeway. I would not hesitate to go back there. 27 November 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great This stay has renewed my faith in Holiday. Inn. I had a horrible experience at another Holiday Inn, but agreed to give it one more try. The staff was welcoming and knowledgeable. The accommodated my needs. The room Was clean and comfortable. The bed was as well. Bath was very well appointed and also very clean, with more than enough towels Breakfast was hot and ready! 20 November 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Berkeley Holiday Inn express Both The coffee maker and safe are not working, informed front desk and offered to change the room but we didn't take it since too much trouble to switch just for one night. 20 November 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Nice front Desk people Close by restaurants. If you like Thai you will like the location 17 November 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Modern and Nice HI Express We visit our daughter's family 2-3 times a year for past 10+ years. Our grandchildren love to spend the night and have the delicious breakfast. Management is helpful and professional. A medium size national chain hotel kept in 1st class condition. Modern heat and a-c. Bedrooms are clean and constantly updated. Bathroms and showers are HI Express quality. Close to Cal Univ, Solano Ave, Bart, and good restaurants. Moderately priced considering the Berkely/East Bay area. Best hotel value. 14 November 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All but the power! Let me start by saying that the over all stay was good. However, as someone who was in Berkeley, as the mother of a bride who was about to be married, I was not able to relax at this place, mainly because when we checked in, we were told that there would be no electrical power in the morning, just when we needed to get ready to go to the wedding. PGE was going to be working on the street, so they knew in advance that the power would be out but had done nothing to make their guests' stay more liveable by securing a generator for the duration (a couple of hours) of the power outage. If it had been a surprise, I'd have understood. But it was very tense not knowing when, exactly, the power would be cut off or how I was going to be able to dry my hair or look in the mirror to see what I looked like before leaving. Also, they made no attempt to remunerate us or discount our stay because of the inconvenience, probably since they knew that on a football weekend, we would have no choice. Otherwise, it's a good, cheap place to stay. 06 November 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! We had a very good experience at this location. Very close to UC-Berkeley and good restaurants. Customer service was great, had taxi waiting on the day we checked out and was able to print boarding pass. Room was very clean, plenty of towels and great breakfast. Will definitely stay on next visit and highly recommend to parents visiting their kids at Berkeley . Thanks for making our stay wonderful! See you soon! 27 October 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Friendly Staff Three co-workers and I have been staying at this hotel the past 12 weeks. We like it because it's within walking distance to a variety of restaurants, a decent pizza/pub (Lanesplitters), and a great park about a mile away that runs along the bay- perfect for jogging. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. This is the easily the best option in the area for business travel. 21 October 2013
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>