Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 
SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL RISING ABOVE THE HEART OF THE CITY
Stunning 32 storey views and modern elegance come together at this San Francisco luxury hotel overlooking the Bay Area. Impressive in every detail, Luce, our Michelin-rated restaurant serves New American Cuisine that’s a gastronomic delight. Floor-to-ceiling windows let light flood into luxury suites and 10 spa treatment rooms offer an urban retreat. The hotel is located in San Francisco’s downtown district, with the city’s finest museums and upscale shopping within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Hotel Specific Offers
Terms & Conditions
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    This Michelin rated hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting just off of the main lobby is the stage for arti...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre offers 2,200 sq ft of space equipped with free-weights, cardio and resistance equipment and an indoor lap pool (6a.m. - ...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...

InterContinental San Francisco

  • 888 Howard Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94103
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-6166500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Swahili, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable 50 dollar fee per night. Pets cannot be left unattended in guest room. Specific rooms only.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    12:18 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 16 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 471 reviewers.
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and helpful hotel receptionists We stayed here for 4 nights and found this to be a great location with helpful personel. We are avid walkers, however, so walking a couple of miles to see some of the sights was not a problem. It was also easy to catch the cable car from this hotel. Very affordable place to stay in SF. February 13, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by same palce every year My wife & I stay here every year for the past 5 years. the location is great as it is central to the city. MUNI travel is easy to get anywhere in the city. Buy a 3 day MUNI pass in the gift shop and you're free to roam the city. Cable car stop is right next door to th Hotel. they are currently renovatng the rooms so I look forward to 2014. February 12, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room, worst restaurant staff I was very please with the room. It was clean, nice view and good location. The room itself was definitely worth the price. The experience that I had at the hotel restuarant though was absolutely horrible. When I paid for my overpriced breakfast with my debit card, the waitress returned to my table with the card, chuckled and said that the card was declined for insufficient funds. The waitress demanded that someone give her another card. I knew that I in fact did not have insufficient funds and ask her to try charging the card again. She then loudly said no, the reason why the card wont work is because you dont have any money so let me just charge it to your room. I then checked my bank account on my phone and saw that the waitress had actually charged the breakfast to the card. I showed the waitress and the manager the charge on my phone and both seemed to not believe me and look at my like I was trying to rip them off. I proeeded to call my bank and after taking the time to speak to a banker, I found out that the waitress had tried charging me 3 times and luckily the bank only allowed one charge to go through and then deny the second two. I spoke to a hotel manager who again treated me like I was stupid and who eventually handled the problem. For this reason I will never stay at this hotel again and would not recommend it to any friend. Work on your customer service, employees should never announce that their customer does not have any money. Luckily no one in my party listened to the waitress and gave another card or we would've been paying twice!! February 10, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best Value I have no complaints. The staff is especially great. It is a convenient location and a great price! February 10, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LLrr very nice and comfortable - great food - nice view February 7, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay The staff were excellent, helped with local amenties, resturants etc, check was promt, room ready and clean, great view from room. Fantastic location! Highly recommended! February 1, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Holiday Inn I have stayed in in years The hotel was cold in the elevator and the halls. My room's heat was turned off between nights. So it too was cold when I would return from a long day's work. The food was poor and breakfast was way over priced. January 20, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just good This property was just ok. It was in an ideal location. The reason why I can't recommend it is due to an adjustment that was not made regarding my parking. The front desk associate told me that the price of parking would be $40 for the duration of my stay (2 nights). When I received my invoice, I was charged for $40 per night. When I tried to explain it to the front desk associate the next day, she said there was nothing she could do, and I was forced to pay twice as much as I expected. This was not good customer service. Therefore, I will probably go somewhere else next time. January 15, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Sweating Windows marred our Bayview Room Stay I was very happy with my experience at this property for our New Year's Eve. There was one problem. We paid an additional fee for the Bayview room with a view. However, the window was sweating and caused our entire stay to be marred by the window that blocked our clear view. We brought this to the attention of the front office staff and then to the Manager on duty who did not do anything like offer to discount our stay by 10% or even offer us a discount for a future stay or anything. We thought by mentioning this they would at least do something since there was even a sign in the bathroom that stated "If anything is not right with your stay, please bring it to our attention and we promise to make it right". This was not corrected and not true. January 11, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing for the price!!! For our first visit to San Francisco, the price & LOCATION, it was AMAZING. We booked this stay as a package with our flight from Los Angeles and I have to say I was a bit skeptical at first due to it is a Holiday Inn. However, was I wrong. Everyone at the hotel was extremely helpful & nice. We had never been to the city & the staff gave us a very helpful map of everywhere we wanted to go highlighted & the easiest & fastest ways to get there. They also helped by recommending places to eat within walking distance which were very delicious. The room was extremely clean & the bed was very comfortable. The only problem we experienced was at the bar on our 2nd night there. They took a really long time to change the tap for the Blue Moon and they were out of buffalo wings for the day and also loaded potato skins which is exactly what we were looking to eat because the LAKERS game was on. Other than that our experience was AMAZING, especially the location and for the price. We would definitely stay there again. January 8, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas stay 3rd or 4th time staying here, first time getting a corner room with views north and east. That was fantastic. We didn't eat at the hotel as went to relatives for meals. I love that it's a few blocks to the movie theater, which is a Christmas Day routine for us. January 2, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing stay Even though it's only a one night stay, it was a relaxing one. Location is convenient for me. I am able to take the public bus to and fro Fisherman Wharf where the bus stop is just few steps away. Cable car stop (From Van Ness to Financial District) is just around the corner. Staffs are friendly and able to provide advices to me on my enquiries. Room is clean and nice view. Overall, I am a very happy customer :) December 18, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fine Choice if you take the Cable Car You'll like the HIGG if you're on a budget and don't mind taking the California Cable Car back downtown. The rooms and bathrooms are well kept and nicely designed. The fitness room is adequate and the outdoor pool is nice and warm, even on a chilly day. Don't be put off by the impersonal lobby - desk personnel are friendly and efficient. And the views from higher floors are fantastic - just remember to ask to face back towards downtown, not out towards Van Ness. December 13, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spectacular View and great customer service We stayed at the Golden Gate Holiday Inn on the 25 floor - corner room with an amazing view. The room had recently been remodeled and was very comfortable and roomy. We arrived at 8:30 pm after a brutal drive from LA. The Staff efficiently and graciously welcomed us. I always stay at the Holiday Inn Golden Gate when we are in San Francisco. December 13, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by downtown I would stay here again but not if I had a car they want 46 a day to park never again. December 5, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location We stayed at this hotel because it was close to SPMC. The staff was great,the bed was comfortable, the view was amazing. Just wish you didn't have to pay so much for parking. But, that's San Francisco!! December 4, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good location Good room size, friendly staffs, easy to access public transportation. a lots of restruaunts in the neighborhood. November 25, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Spot to Stay in San Fran Looking for an economical place to stay in San Francisco that isn't far from downtown? The Holiday Inn on Van Ness is just the palce. Located in a good neighborhood, This Holiday Inn is clean and the staff is friendly. November 25, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel, Great City View I stayed on Nov 18th and I´m very pleased with this hotel. The room was simple but nice and clean. The best was the awesome city view from our room at 24th floor....Spectacular. I really recommend this hotel and next time in SF i will probably stay again. November 24, 2012
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Outragous Parking fee's, dirty towels, charging $18 for free breakfast Outrageous Parking fee's ... $46 per day. No discount for hotel guests. Went to use bath towel and when unfolded, found left over bloody scab on it .... ughhh. Used free breakfast coupon and was charged $18 for each "free" breakfast .... they reversed charge after I complained at front desk but it voided my quick checkout. November 20, 2012
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Rude front desk service The manager at the front desk was very rude. She was short with her answers and did not listen to a word I said. She got very upset when I paid with a pre-printed check from my job for the total that was given on my registration confirmation. The total was different on her computer screen, the check was short by 1 cent. 1 cent and she would not let it go- she got upset and said she could not discount the room by 1 cent because the computer calculated the totals. I showed her my registration confirmation info where the total was written and she didn't listen, having my receipt show as a balance of 1 cent. And of course, who carries around pennies now a days. The room was clean but the tv did not work, and it was VERY LOUD in the room. We could hear everything going on next door and down the street- cheap windows. You could hear the police sirens all night. I know that comes with staying in the city, but the level of sound was ridiculously loud! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. November 19, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overnight stay in San Francisco The Holiday Inn on Van Ness is right in the middle of everything and walkable if you don't mind the hills and the homeless folks. Staff was very pleasant and extremely knowledgable about the area. Parking was 40 bucks but that seems about average and it's right at the hotel. I will stay here again in December and would recommend it to others. November 13, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great experience , comfortable hotel Location is convenient to public transportation and a few restaraunts. Staff was helpful and breakfast buffet was excellent. Would likely stay there again if we travel to San Francisco again. November 7, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Maid Service... My only complaint is small, about your maid service on the 21st floor... No glasses in the bathroom, and the carpet along side of the window was unswept with small white pebbles... Other than that, the people in the bar were very attentive and my dinner was absolutely outstanding... My stay was only for one night, but very enjoyable... Thank you... November 2, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very comfortable rooms, nice location, etc. strategically excellent location, however cleanliness is very poor. amount of points used is not comparable to a intercontinental and crown plaza locations. October 26, 2012
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by not that good any more corner room high up booked not ready for 3 pm check in told it would be after 5 pm took another due to tight schedule bed over due to change windows so dirty spoiled the view the hallway from the elevator stunk like an old flop house of dirt and cleaning stuff not coming back to this one October 26, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Stay in San Francisco My wife and I spent a week as a second honeymoon in San Francisco. We had a great corner room with a fantastic view of the San Francisco hills, and we could see he bay at the same time. The location was great for both the busses, and the cable car end of the line (or beginning of the line, depending on which direction you are going), is located right next to the building. That makes it easy to find seating when you are heading to the Embarcadero Center or Ferry Plaza. The bus to Fisherman's Wharf is just as convenient. The staff here could not have been more helpful or friendly. The Bellmen were absolutely wonderful, and extremely helpful when we needed directions or recomendations for food. The room was kept clean by housekeeping,and they were always courtieous and friendly. We had a wonderful week, and I would be more than happy to use this Holiday Inn if I ever get the chance to return the San Francisco. October 25, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location, Location, Location!!! A comfortable hotel at competative price at an excellent location. At terminus of California Cable Car, on street with frequent buses that lead to downtown or the wharf. Great views the higher you go up, comfortable pool and convienent bar/restaurant. A great mix of international visitors and airline staff. October 24, 2012
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Super expansive car parking and almost no benefit for Platinum member. 2 days overnight parking cost us $92, toooooo expansive!!! And almost no benefit for Platinum member. NO room upgrade, NO breakfast, NO bottle water. Only a very small bottle of alcohol which I totally don't need it. Room condition was just so so, almost as same as a room in holiday inn express. Do NOT recommend stay in this holiday inn, especially if you drive you car. October 22, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay It was a great stay we had at Holiday Inn San Francisco. Especially the service was perfect - very friendly, professionall and absolute able to help in any situation.We'll recommend this hotel to all our friends! October 21, 2012
    <<prev 13 14 15 16 17 next>>