Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 
SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL RISING ABOVE THE HEART OF THE CITY
Stunning 32 storey views and modern elegance come together at this San Francisco luxury hotel overlooking the Bay Area. Impressive in every detail, Luce, our Michelin-rated restaurant serves New American Cuisine that’s a gastronomic delight. Floor-to-ceiling windows let light flood into luxury suites and 10 spa treatment rooms offer an urban retreat. The hotel is located in San Francisco’s downtown district, with the city’s finest museums and upscale shopping within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    This Michelin rated hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting just off of the main lobby is the stage for arti...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre offers 2,200 sq ft of space equipped with free-weights, cardio and resistance equipment and an indoor lap pool (6a.m. - ...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...

InterContinental San Francisco

  • 888 Howard Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94103
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-6166500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Swahili, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable 50 dollar fee per night. Pets cannot be left unattended in guest room. Specific rooms only.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    1:12 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 16 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 316 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and comfortable room Conveniently located, well-established hotel with an outstanding staff. The room was standard, but clean and very comfortable. I was in San Francisco on business and this hotel more than met my needs. The friendly and attentive staff makes the hotel standout. October 18, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel but shady neighborhood It was a good hotel and I enjoyed my stay. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was well lit and updated. There was enough power outlets to charge all our devices. The hotel is really close to the BART station so it was convenient to go from SFO airport to the hotel. However, the neighborhood is not really safe. There's a lot of homeless people walking around and loitering. October 17, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great nights sleep The standard of the rooms is very high and the beds were the best ive experienced at a Holiday inn. The pool was a real suntrap. The only drawback was that room service was not 24 hours. I had to wander back out to find some food October 16, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Area While there was nothing wrong with the hotel itself, my wife and I were horrified that the area was so bad. The smell of marijuana hit us every time we stepped foot out of the hotel and was present for several blocks. Also, if we walked along Market towards the main city, it was uncomfortable to come across some many homeless people. I accept that every big city has problems, and I have a huge amount of sympathy with these unfortunate people and the circumstances they find themselves in. I would not wish this upon anyone. However, I feel the hotel misled us by not being clear about the area surrounding the hotel, and we left San Francisco feeling cheated that our stay was not more relaxed and hassle-free. October 16, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Generally good, but would have liked microwave & refrigerator A microwave & refrigerator in the room would have been nice. Otherwise, our stay was generally good. Staff was excellent. Sketchy neighborhood at night. October 15, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would stay here again We stayed 2 nights at this Inn. I would stay there again and recommend it to others. It has a great location in the city. October 14, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy and my reservation was bumped. It was difficult to sleep here due to the extreme noise. Sirens, diesel trucks, horns, etc. I needed to stay a second night, and I called to reserve a room. They told me I had gotten the last room. I arrived to find that they had given my room to someone else, and they were booked. Incompetent staffing of the front counter. I am totally dissatisfied with the front desk personnel. However, IHG Rewards did get me a room at a nicer place. October 14, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value for money! If you're planning a visit to SFO downtown area, this is an excellent property. Had not stayed at Holiday Inn for a number of years, and was blown away by the upgrading of interior, and also rooms. October 13, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great place to stay-steps from the BART I have stayed here multiple times and I highly recommend this hotel. Ana at the front desk is wonderful and welcoming each time I stay. The hotel is right in the middle of everything and you can walk, bus or BART to anywhere October 11, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, not so great location The hotel is good, comfortable rooms, helpful staff, very clean. The location is convenient for Union Square but also borders the Tenderloin area which is one of the poorest in San Francisco. There are many people sleeping on the Streets in the area around the hotel and walking back to the hotel at night was an uncomfortable experience. October 10, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good for business travelers Friendly staff, quiet rooms, good internet connection, great breakfast. October 10, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Third time here Stayed at this hotel for holidays in 2010, 12 and 14 and the area around the hotel has markedly improved during that time. There are still a few unsavoury characters on Market Street between 8th and 7th but it feels a lot safer. October 10, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Baustelle vor dem Haus Leider befindet sich derzeit eine Großbaustelle in unmittelbarer Nähe des Hotels, auf der zu üblichen (?) Zeiten gearbeitet wird: Montag bis Samstag, teilweise ab 4 Uhr morgens. October 9, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by bad place My from was not clean one day, I called and they said that by mistake that did not clean it that day....... Im disappointed.... October 9, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Big Clean Room, Close to Mkt Street. Stayed for a 3 day business trip. Getting in and out was efficient and the location is convenient both to the airport and where I was visiting. Rooms are very spacious, clean and bright. I was on one of the higher floors (12) so street noise was no problem. Bed was comfortable and easy to get a good nights sleep. Hotel is more than adequate, I would skip the restaurant. October 7, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Housekeeping Its always the little people that go un-noticed and dont recieve recognition for doing a great job. The housekeepers at this hotel are great and kept the rooms in great shape during our stay. Thank you and congratulations on the great job you are doing. You should be given the time to provide suggestions on how the rest of this hotel should be run. October 6, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, not a great area Beds and room comfortable and good size, nice balcony. No bar fridge in room, not good especially for the price. THE neighbourhood is a bit dodgy, and the restaurant is really poor, limited basic menu. Overall fine to stay in for teh price. October 5, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Attentive Staff Staff attentive to all needs, room, ammenties all perfect, would recommend this hotel October 5, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty decent - for 'downtown' Can be kind of expensive for what you get...depending on time of year. But location is 'downtown' and close to Theaters, dining, shopping, etc. So it's pretty good really. Yes, the area is kind of 'sketchy', lots of homeless... maybe something can be done about that someday, but they generally keep to themselves and definitely do not go in or near the Hotel. The staff is great. Good attitude and friendly. And attentive. Keep it up! Maid service was excellent. October 1, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Safe, clean, and comfortable I made a reservation at this hotel due to the price of the room and location. Then I found some reviews about the hotel location and complaints about homeless people and guests feeling unsafe outside of the hotel. I was worried a little bit until I arrived and saw what was really going on. Hey, you're in San Francisco! There are homeless people almost every single block of the city. The only blocks downtown that don't have them are ones where the stores pay security to stand out front and run them off when they stop for longer than 10 seconds. They are still people, for the most part they are just trying to get by and survive. I was at this hotel for a week and every time I went out walking around and checking out the city I felt safe. I was asked for a few bucks a few times but no one was ever aggressive with me or demanding. The weirdest was the people asking me to "smell this", I didn't want to smell anything they had and let them know I wasn't interested. This is the kind of city where you can go experience different cultural sections within a 1 mile radius of each other and have a good time. Be open minded and alert to your surroundings, loosen up and have some fun. The hotel was great; clean, safe, and comfortable I highly recommend it if you want to be near Market street but can't afford to stay closer to the financial district. September 30, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Three Day Stay... Great 3 day stay in the city... Enjoyed dinner and a few drinks at the bar. Bar staff was very personable and attentive. Enjoyed the conversation. Parking was easy and check in/check out was a breeze. September 29, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room with great view! The view from our room was amazing. Our Platinum status go us upgraded to a room with a balcony which had a great view of the city and nice of the hotel to upgrade us to that room! Within great walking distance of a lot of places! September 28, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Kurzbeurteilung Positiv: - Lage des Hotels - Sauberkeit - Freundliches Personal - Free Internet Moderate Zimmerpreise Negativ: - Fenster schliessen schlecht = Strrassenlärm dringt in Zimmer. Ohrenstöpsel liegen schon auf dem Nachttisch! September 27, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel close to everything Right next to a BART/muni station in a central part of the city, makes everything close. The lobby appears to be recently updated. Rooms were nice. Our room had a view of City Hall. In-room internet worked well throughout the stay. September 25, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location great location for Folsom Street fair and Muni/Bart September 25, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by mixed bag Construction will improve the area for now and a long time there will be construction noise September 24, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excelente locacion En el centro de la cuidad, a una cuadra de la calle principal donde se pueden accesar todos los servicios de transporte (buses, metro). Menu del restaurante muy limitado, pero excelentes restaurantes muy cerca del hotel. September 23, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location, overall nice experience Very convenient location, near BART and within walking distance of union square...etc. You may however not want to walk on market near the hotel in the middle of the night, this was fine for us but, in my opinion, that really is the downside of this hotel. The room was clean, comfortable and the staff efficient. September 22, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No nonsense hotel stay in SF For the second time we used this hotel for an International congress in the nearby Moscone center downtown San Fransisco. Fast booking good stay.. September 22, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Información recepción deficiente A la llegada se debe informar al cliente de los conceptos que están incluidos y cuales no. Se debe informar de un depósito que te cargan a la cuenta ( no sucede en ningún hotel en Europa¡¡¡) por si realizas gastos durante tu estancia. Toda esta información tranquiliza a los extranjeros que confían en el hotel (a través del personal que te atiende) September 21, 2014
    <<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>