Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

San Francisco

SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL RISING ABOVE THE HEART OF THE CITY
Stunning 32 storey views and modern elegance come together at this San Francisco luxury hotel overlooking the Bay Area. Impressive in every detail, Luce, our Michelin-rated restaurant serves New American Cuisine that’s a gastronomic delight. Floor-to-ceiling windows let light flood into luxury suites and 10 spa treatment rooms offer an urban retreat. The hotel is located in San Francisco’s downtown district, with the city’s finest museums and upscale shopping within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    This Michelin rated hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting just off of the main lobby is the stage for arti...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre offers 2,200 sq ft of space equipped with free-weights, cardio and resistance equipment and an indoor lap pool (6a.m. - ...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
San Francisco
  • 888 Howard Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94103
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-6166500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Swahili, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable 50 dollar fee per night. Pets cannot be left unattended in guest room. Specific rooms only.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    7:28 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 16 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 431 reviewers.
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Good downtown location and on-site parking. The restaurant/bar was packing up at 10:00 pm when I got to the hotel, so I had to go out to look for food. The hotel is a bit dated. The value only lies in ts location and not for the facilities. June 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Golden Gateway-Golden Family Stay with Spectacular view I was travelling with my children and Au Pair/Nanny who is from Paris, France to visit San Francisco as well as obtain our passports. This Hotel Inn was one of eight chain hotels that we stayed and it had the best view of the city. We found the staff to be very accommodating and friendly which is a great compliment as buses of guests arrive and leave continually from this busy vacation, however, we did not "feel" overlooked at all and we also received a wonderful welcome letter as a Gold Member. My kids loved the pool even though it was a cool evening when they went up to the rooftop pool to take a quick dip after dinner. The view from the top floor was excellent and close to the elevator which was great to accomodate our moving between the front of the hotel and our room. The staff was very helpful to explain the parking procedures which can be complex in San Francisco as parking is scarce. Congrats to the staff as this was by far one of the best hotels on our tripi and the second time that we have stayed as a family. We cannot comment on the food/beverage as we ate dinner from Whole Foods up the street and we got breakfast from the Starbucks located in the bank lobby in the same building as the hotel. June 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific view of San Francisco All was perfect except one thing the windows needed washing . Also the toilet seat had to be held up. Also many thanks for the upgrade. Next time I want room 1800! June 21, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service I thought that the hotel was very nice. It was convenient to our location for our business meeting. The room was very nice and quiet. We also had the added benefit of facing east and got to see the fireworks show at the Giants game. That made it especially special! June 17, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by get away excellent stay the restaurant was being revamped and so our experience there was poor compared to earlier visits June 13, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable room, friendly and helpful staff The bed was very comfortable. I really appreciated the extra long, soft and firm pillows in the room. Having a refrigerator in the room was also a bonus as I was there for 6 days and kept some food in the fridge. All the staff that I dealt with or passed in the hallways were very friendly. I would stay here again. June 12, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very poor check-in policy !! When we arrived they said the room was not ready. When we checked back later they told us it didn't matter if the room was ready or not we could not check-in until 3:00. At 3:00 everybody wanted to check in at once, there was a line of about 30 people and only two people behind the desk. I took us an hour to get our room. June 11, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Confortable Stay Very nice hotel but too many extra charges. room charges plus this charge & that charge plus tax. I even got charged to park there. June 11, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Geat view from our corner room We have stayed at this hotel twice and both times we have had a very good experience. The rooms are small but nice and clean. The staff is always friendly and attentive to our needs. The only thing that we were disappointed in was the breakfast buffet. The selection was not very good for the price that we paid (nearly $20 per person) but the quality of the food was good with the exception of the eggs which were under done for our taste. We will definitely stay there on our return trip to San Francisco. Love the accessibility to the Cable cars which makes getting around much easier. June 11, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Night's Sleep Hotel is very nice but expensive. Given I had such a poor night's sleep it was not worth it. There was a repetitive noise in the room from furniture/heating/air-con that kept me awake most of the night. June 11, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Entspannter Schlaf ich habe in diesem Hotel die nötige Erholung und Entspannung während meiner Motorradtour durch den Westen der USA gefunden. June 9, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Bed, Bad reservations/service Reservation was lost, mis-informed on the parking $40.00 was told it was free, Wasn't told I needed a deposit, so all cash was absorbed and birthday didn't get to happen at all. Very upset overall June 8, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by got upgraded, magnificent view of the entire city and bay The hotel from the outside doesn't look like much, but my room on the 22nd floor had a magnificent view. Also the furnishings, decor etc, were contemporary and seemed fairly new. June 6, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, great location Very nice staff. Great spot. Easy walking to many activities. Mary at front desk always friendly and helpful June 6, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by someone has to get the room next to the elevator The only reason I didn't give this a 5 star rating is because my room was next to the elevator and it sounded like an airplane was taking off every 2 minutes. Otherwise this is a great property, very clean, the service is great, the staff is very friendly. My room was small but effiecient-it was very clean and had new and modern furnishings. The new fitness center was amazing. This seemed to be a very busy hotel catering to flight crews and large tourist groups, it can be a bit chaotic at the front desk during check in and check out. Overall I was impressed with the hotel and would stay there again-just not next to the elevator. June 6, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service By Hotel Manager Ru Our overall experience was great. Only dissapointment was that we couldnt get room service for coffee in the morning. Other than that we had great experience. The Hotel Manager Ru ensured our concern on our reservation was well taken care of. Thanks, RR June 4, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel on average I had a mixed experience. I was expecting to have breakfast in the morning, which was not really there. I am not sure whether the presence of a Starkbuck coffee next door is the reason for not having breakfast. Otherwise, I found it a good hotel with a good location. Catherine June 3, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unexpected upgrade as an IHG member We were in San Francisco for one night only on a recent family road trip. We were pleasantly surprised to receive a complimentary upgrade for being IHG Rewards Club Members. Nice touch! Stayed in a beautiful room overlooking the east-bay area. From the clerks at the front desk to the bellmen and breakfast staff, all were very helpful. Would definitely recommend this location and stay there again in the future. June 1, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I recommend! I booked a bit by chance the day before and choose the room + parking package (meaning in/out parking for 10 usd). Received a room at the 22nd floor with view on the SF bay, a free drink at the bar as IHG member and met very caring staff. A good experience (the best in SF up-to-now). June 1, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Getaway Hotel is in good location. Had to change room type on second night. Manager at desk in morning was very helpful and accommodating.Sorry-don't remember his name, stocky and clean shaven head. May 28, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not great I stayed here for a few days last month and knew I'd be back a month later for several more days, so I requested a room on a higher floor than 7 (my first stay) for a view. When I returned the second time, I was given a room on 8. I asked the front desk staffer for a higher floor, noting that I had requested it a month prior. He told me there was none available. I expressed my disappointment, and suddenly a room "opened up" on 23. It was 6 pm on a Sunday, so it wasn't as if they were still cleaning from earlier checkouts. The view was very nice. BUT: the room was cold and the fan ran constantly and could not be turned off. I asked for a blanket, since there was just a thin sheet and coverlet on the bed. Staff left me 3 blankets the next day and each one (all different) was old, torn or had holes in it. I actually took photos of them since they were in such poor condition. Unfortunately I know I'll be staying here again for my company training, but I'm not happy about it. May 27, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Explore SFO Great location and nice property. Staff is very professional and helpful. Close to cable car line on California. Close to many great eateries. Nice views. Great location for exploring San Francisco. May 20, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort and Service This was the first time I stayed at a Holiday Inn Hotel. The Holiday Inn Golden Gateway was excellent. I stayed at this hotel because I was attending a conference that was held there, and the service that we got from that staff was friendly and professional. Because I was a Holiday Inn member, upon check in, we were upgraded to a better room, and the beds were absolutely comfortable. The only thing that was a little inconvenient was the limited choices for food and drinks. Because their dining room was relocated due to the large conference, the menu was limited, and there was no where to order food after 10:00 p.m. May 16, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall a good hotel If you go.to this hotel ASK FOR A ROOM ON THE 6TH FLOOR. Thats the pool floor. The pool is literally in your backyard! The food here was horrible. Very expensive and the food was vert cold and some still raw. If you're looking for a place to stay, I recommend this hotel but do not expect a nice breakfast. May 14, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Golden Gateway Our second time to this property. There this time for a conference, 4 days 3 nights. This location can't be beat in terms of proximity to restaurants, tourist attractions and transportation. Excellent views fro the upper floors, we were on the 19th. Easier access to a microwave would have been nice, continental breakfast of some sort would have been nice. The restaurant could use some updating but the food (limited options) was adequate. I did like that they offered imported non-alcohol beer versus the boring domestic brands. Counter staff excellent, operations and restaurant staff also very good. Nearby Polk Street (and California Street)is great for walking and browsing. We had a pleasant stay and look forward to our return. May 12, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, good standards Decent hotel, clean with nice views. Easy to reach most important destinations by foot or with public transport. Also recommend shuttle bus service to SFO International Airport May 9, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Issue with Hotel Cleaning Staff I stay at this hotel on a weekly basis for business and have always had a very good experience. This time however I left an inexpensive necklace on the night stand when I left for the day accidentally. The necklace chain was still there and the clasp was hooked but the pendant was missing. I searched everywhere on the floor and around the table but it was gone. Again the clasp was closed otherwise I would have thought I lost it. Very disappointing. Didn't get a newspaper one morning but not a big deal. Did the workout room get renovated yet??? May 8, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Conveniently located... Great views... Highly recommend... We stayed at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway recently while visiting family that lived in the Nob Hill neighborhood. It was very convenient located to everything - we took the bus to get to Fisherman's Wharf and walked and used Uber to get to other parts of the city. The hotel is conveniently located to almost everywhere in San Fran, which was a huge plus. Also, we had a corner unit on the 20th floor and had an amazing view of the bay! Overall, the hotel was exactly what we needed and was a great value. I would highly recommend to those visiting San Francisco. May 7, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not a fantastic experience After having stayed in many IHG hotels around the world this is one of my lesser experiences. Small room compared to others. I was recognized for my Platinum status but did not receive upgrade where rooms were available. I called the Manager on Duty, who left me the welcome letter, and was told that all rooms are the same size and there is no Executive Floor. Also the bar and restaurant were undergoing renovation during my 4 night visit and breakfast was served in a conference room. We did not know this on beforehand and not sure if I would have booked this then. Breakfast is not good at all: quality and selection options I would rank this 2 stars. In any other IHG hotel and I far better options, quality and sometimes at lesser costs. Staff were very friendly and helpful although could not resolve all. Location is good too. All in all I will not stay there next time. May 7, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent room and view over San F. from 24. floor It was a perfect place to end a stay in USA. And a good point for visiting San Francisco for the last 3 days in USA. We enjoyed the evening view over San Francisco bay from oour room at 24. floor. What a view. Tnx May 7, 2014
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16 next>>