Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 
SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL RISING ABOVE THE HEART OF THE CITY
Stunning 32 storey views and modern elegance come together at this San Francisco luxury hotel overlooking the Bay Area. Impressive in every detail, Luce, our Michelin-rated restaurant serves New American Cuisine that’s a gastronomic delight. Floor-to-ceiling windows let light flood into luxury suites and 10 spa treatment rooms offer an urban retreat. The hotel is located in San Francisco’s downtown district, with the city’s finest museums and upscale shopping within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    This Michelin rated hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting just off of the main lobby is the stage for arti...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre offers 2,200 sq ft of space equipped with free-weights, cardio and resistance equipment and an indoor lap pool (6a.m. - ...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...

InterContinental San Francisco

  • 888 Howard Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94103
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-6166500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Swahili, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable 50 dollar fee per night. Pets cannot be left unattended in guest room. Specific rooms only.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    1:12 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 16 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 576 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable rooms well insulated The room was clean, especially the bathroom, the furniture was appropriate and comfortable. Insulation was good as it kept the noise in the hall down very low August 10, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn has the hardest mattresses ever This was a nice hotel and the room was incredible (they gave us an upgrade due to being a points member). The location was just blocks away from the wharf and public transportation. (Note that you have to pay a premium price for the trolley, the public buses have awful schedules, but the F-line might be ok.) HOWEVER, we have discovered, during a 4 week "tour" of the western US that the Holiday Inn chain has the WORST BEDS OF ANY BRAND NAME HOTEL. Every Holiday Inn we stayed at, I had to get extra blankets or pillows to put underneath the mattress pad to make sleeping bearable. Also, the hotel is WAY overpriced as is and parking is $45 per day. August 9, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by San Fran Great location and staff. Hotel very clean and well maintained/serviced. Rooms of good size (worth being a IHG member to get WiFi and better room) Only downside no hotel bar or restaurant - would be welcome if only to get an afternoon snack or light meal. Breakfast very good in terms of availability but very few healthy options and can get busy. That said, staff kept everything well stocked and it is more a reflection on the guests that just left everything on the tables / made inordinate amount of mess that they didn't attempt to tidy up rather than the hotel Overall a great experience - for a city hotel it was fabulous and the staff really do help make a great holiday. Would definitely recommend August 9, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Very accommodating! They were able to get us into our room early and allowed us to check out late (due to club membership). Monica at the front desk was especially helpful as well as Jessica at the tour desk, both ladies went above and beyond to help us enjoy our time in San Francisco. August 8, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 mr air conditioning to close to the bed. carpet a bit dirty August 8, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Nice and comfortable, but pricey and noisy I guess you have to expect it in "the city", but it was a little too hustle-and-bustle noisy often times for my taste. I guess that's why this is the "Express" version of the hotel. (The regular Holiday Inn is right down the street) August 8, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service We really enjoy the cleanses and excellent courtesy of all staff. They are very friendly. Your service was excellent!! Keep up all your good work!! August 6, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Close to wharf, cable trolley, Alcatraz and Chinatown. Enjoyed each and did allot of walking. Watch out for the panhandlers but give to worthy causes. August 6, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Customer Service - Staff is too busy to pay attention I am a platinum Holiday Inn member. So, I obviously like their value that they provide to me on a weekly basis however, San Francisco was an exception. The staff never acknowledged our presence and they were in a rush to give us a room key. No August 6, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The staff makes this place great All staff are friendly, attentive and accommodating we enjoyed our stay very much and the location is excellent for all fishermans wharf activities August 6, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great property in great SF location! This is an exceptional Holiday Inn Express--nicest one I have ever been too: most upscale room decor, slightly better breakfast options in some cases (turkey bacon/sausage, soy milk). The rooms are very nice and comfortable. They mainly face courtyards: PRO: very quiet, no city street noise. CON: You are in Fisherman's Wharf neighborhood, within site of Bay Bridge, and all you see are other room windows. That is a small negative, and it is the only one we encountered--wonderful facility, great location, great staff. Brandy at front desk was the best ambassador going for IHG Hotels! We will stay there again on our next trip to that "City by the Bay". August 5, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Nice and clean and close to pier and shops. Loved the hotel with the only exception was that we didn't have a fridge in the room which is handy for drinks etc. Every other holiday inn that we've stayed in had a fridge except this one. August 2, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel Lovely hotel. Nice modern rooms and bathrooms. Lovely beds. Very friendly staff. Quick and easy valet parking. Breakfast was a little chaotic. July 31, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 位置极佳 位置方便,价格当然也一流啦。 不过考虑到时间,还是物有所值。 早餐人数有点多,混乱。 网速偏慢。 客房倒是一如既往的舒适。 July 31, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable but has room for improvement Comfortable hotel, great location. issues with the A/C were not corrected during the 2 nights stay breakfast service very chaotic July 30, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Breakfast Choice Staff excellent,Breakfast very good,however did not like the paper plates,cutlery etc. Checkin,checkout prompt ans all staff very polite. July 29, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely convenient and nice Our family of 5 from Baltimore was visiting San Fran for one night (sadly). This was a great hotel!! July 27, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location but comes at a price We booked two standard rooms and enjoyed our 3 night stay. Elevators were always crowded in the mornings and stairways difficult to find/use. The breakfast offerings were the same each day, but very popular, especially the pancake machine which always required waiting in line, sometimes 4-6 people deep. Perhaps extending the buffet time now from 6:30 - 9:30 another 1/2 hour or hour might help ease the congestion. Another pancake machine is also suggested. The rooms are nice, comfortable, and well serviced. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel's location apparently drives the cost to stay here comparable to 4 July 27, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel We had a nice stay but unfortunately we were on the first floor so we could hear a lot of street noise - cable cars. The hotel was clean. Breakfast was good. Definitely worth the money. Unfortunately the pool was up the street at the sister hotel and there was no hot tub. Overall a very nice hotel. July 27, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by San Fran vacation Great location and good rates. Room was small, basically had to sit on the bed. Breakfast was crowded but a good selection. July 27, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by no Recognition for IHG® Rewards Club Members I didn't receive platinum member 500 welcome bonus points. July 25, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would stay again I would def. stay in this hotel the next time we visit San Francisco. The beds were comfy, the rooms were quiet, and everything was really clean. The hotel is also centrally located to all the tourist attractions, so we had to take minimal transportation. The one improvement I wish the hotel would offer is a hotel shuttle bus too/from the airport. The options were cab only(expensive) or airport shuttle(45 minute wait), which is tough if you have an early flight. July 25, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ask for a room with a view. Nice hotel in a great location. Be sure to ask for a view towards the wharf. Otherwise, not such a great view out the window. Also, expect trouble finding a table for breakfast. Otherwise, the food is very good. July 24, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Choice Room was nicely decorated - newly remodeled - location was good - breakfast was good but the amount of people made it hard to find a place to sit, July 24, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location - Great Staff - Nice Lobby This Express hotel meets the needs of the tourist looking for access to the SF Wharf and Piers. Two block walk and you're in the mix of all of the attractions. Their reception staff is very professional, concierge is very knowledgeable and the breakfast, although it's the same types of items you get at every Holiday Inn Express, is actually prepared by someone who knows what they're doing, and because it's an extremely busy place, the food staff works very hard to keep all selections well stocked. Rooms are a little small, no swimming pool (like nearly every SF hotel), but fair price and nice place to stay. July 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional service! We stay at HIE all over the country, and this was absolutely the best service we've ever had! My husband can't have hardly any sodium, so the normal hard-boiled eggs at breakfast are important to us. They ran out, so that was the only thing that wasn't exceptional. July 22, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family Suite, family vacation in San Francisco Hotel is in a great location for tourism. It is clean and very attractive. We were a party of 5 and used the family suite-2 double beds (not queen) and a pull-out sofa. The beds were fine, but as in most hotels, the sofa bed had a bad mattress. My only complaint about the room was that there were only 4 sets of towels, but the suite can accommodate 6. I expected 6 sets of towels. Breakfast was plentiful with eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, toast/bagels, oatmeal and cold cereal, pastry, yogurt, coffee/tea/juice. It was kept well stocked throughout the morning. However, there was not enough seating in the dining area to accommodate all guests. We were allowed to check in early as our room was ready. We were also able to store our luggage in a locked room off the lobby after checkout as our flight home was later in the day. We tagged our luggage and felt it was secure. We will definitely use this hotel if we ever return to San Francisco! July 19, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Wonderful place to stay. Within walking distance to the wharf and other places of interest.. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to San Francisco. July 19, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by pleasant surprise We chose this chain when looking for a room on the Wharf and new that it would be above average. I was very happy to see how modern and pleasant the whole facility was. The staff was very helpful and kind and the rooms would be hard to beat. The topper for us was the valet services, even though we were checking out at noon the we were given the opportunity to leave the car with them until 6pm. As Forest Gump would say "one less thing". On our way home we decided that this is the chain we will check first , from now on , when looking for a room. July 18, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Execellent Jessica, the Concierge, was a volume of information. She was very helpful in giving us recommendations of things to do and places to eat. She really helped us in paying the fee for the Golden Gate Bridge and suggesting how to take the trolly and then riding the bus back - so helpful. She is a very valuable asset to the hotel! July 17, 2014
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 20 next>>