Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

San Francisco

SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL RISING ABOVE THE HEART OF THE CITY
Stunning 32 storey views and modern elegance come together at this San Francisco luxury hotel overlooking the Bay Area. Impressive in every detail, Luce, our Michelin-rated restaurant serves New American Cuisine that’s a gastronomic delight. Floor-to-ceiling windows let light flood into luxury suites and 10 spa treatment rooms offer an urban retreat. The hotel is located in San Francisco’s downtown district, with the city’s finest museums and upscale shopping within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    This Michelin rated hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting just off of the main lobby is the stage for arti...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre offers 2,200 sq ft of space equipped with free-weights, cardio and resistance equipment and an indoor lap pool (6a.m. - ...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
San Francisco
  • 888 Howard Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94103
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-6166500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Swahili, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable 50 dollar fee per night. Pets cannot be left unattended in guest room. Specific rooms only.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    5:21 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 16 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 222 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff! We stayed here for 1 night primarily because the Fisherman's Wharf location wanted $499 for the night. We arrived late and the gentleman who checked us in was more than pleasant and helpful. Our room was nice and even had a pretty decent view of the city. August 22, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good choice if you need to be in the SoMa area I think I was quite fortunate that my stay was mainly over a weekend. I wondered why they gave me ear plugs on my bedside table and Monday morning (the day I was checking out) I finally understood. There is some construction going on in the area which could potentially be loud and annoying. Other than that, I was pleasantly surprised that there were so many options for public transportation just within a block's walk of the hotel. That was really perfect. If the theater had any shows playing during my stay, that would have been incredibly convenient. The bed and pillows were super comfy. I do wish the bathroom was a little more updated, but it wasn't bad by any means. Any staff persons I interacted with were very pleasant. If I stay at this Holiday Inn again, I would try to ask for a room ending in an odd number so I can get a view of the north side of SF rather than the south facing room I had. All in all a very good stay which suited my needs at the time. August 22, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, bad location First time in San Fran and was not aware of best location to stay. This hotel was NOT the location we wanted to be. We were a family here to site see and it was in a "seedy" part of town. We walked out the first day and used the car the rest of the trip. (Better to stay at either of the Holiday Inns near the wharf). I will say the staff was so friendly and did everything they could to make us comfortable from extra pillows to discounted parking (very expensive) and even moved us to another room the second day because our original room was not updated and looked very worn. Again maybe Ok for a business person because it is close to city hall but if you are with kids site seeing this is not the place. August 19, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to stay Had another amazing stay at Holiday Inn. Had a great experience checking in Benny is GREAT! August 16, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and Secure...but WHERE AM I? Stayed here during our first trip to SF for a music festival when most of the hotels in town were booked. A stone's throw from the Civic Center BART station, which was wonderful especially coming from the airport, but the hotel is in a questionable part of town. When we asked at the front desk "um...is this a bad part of town?", the nice young man behind the counter replied with "no, no, no. The bad part of town is over there." ...and pointed across the street. Yikes. All in all, a decent experience: - - Insanely expensive for a Holiday Inn, likely related to the festival going on that weekend. Questionable neighborhood. Housekeeping SO LOUD in the halls in the morning. Came into our room three times the morning of check-out until we wised up and put a Do Not Disturb on the door until we left at 12:30. + + Proximity to the BART, Starbucks, Bus Stops, etc. - so convenient! Bar and restaurant in the lobby of the hotel. Extremely helpful doorman for directions, hailing cabs, etc. Very secure, with room card access at every entrance and elevator. August 16, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Good hotel staff very friendly. Good location cn walk to every thing with in 15-20 min trams at corner Bart also nice pool area comfortable. Just the room interior very dated for a holiday inn hotel August 16, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Bad Holiday Inn I had stayed at Holiday Inn all over California. And by far this is the worste Holiday Inn I had stayed Inn. Room is old, noisy and lack of amenity. Wifi doesn't work. August 16, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and great service A well hotel but the place is a few dangerous, a lot of homeless August 13, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid if Seeking the Likes of Union Square of the Pier This hotel is located in the heart of the city but if you are seeking tourism you will need to take a cab or bring your walking shoes. The hotel is clean, the rooms have decent beds are are too clean, but our bathtub filled with water during our showers. Up to my calves! We tell the front desk and they can say is "oh we're sorry". There was also a soiled washcloth that looked like a mechanics cloth in the bathroom. Bleach anyone. To this they also did not care. The outside of the hotel has a several bums sleeping right outside. I am fairly tolerant but I feel aweful about almost stumbling over someone sleeping on the sidewalk when stepping down from the entrance steps. The nearby restaurants are average to excellent. I personally feel they charge way too much for this hotel given it is not in Union Square or a more desirable part of the city. August 12, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place, but a little disappointed The hotel was nice and modern. Free wifi was a definite plus. The area is not the greatest- we got hassled by a homeless woman as we were walking in to the hotel. My only real disappontment was that I booked a block of rooms for a bridal party, and I asked the front desk to do something nice for the bride and groom. I was told that they would block a room for them and bring a bottle of champagne up to them after they checked in. Instead, their room wasn't ready until 5:30, and they never got any champagne. They were given drink vouchers, which is something, but it was still a little frustrating to be told one thing and then receive another. Not the end of the world, though, and I would definitely stay here again. August 9, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room doesn't look like the online pictures Would never stay here again. Lobby nice but room 925 not so great. No room, worn, dirty furniture in our room. Bath tub drain didn't work. Thought we were getting larger room since it had a pullout sofa, but it was just stuffed into the corner of room which made it very tight. August 8, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean efficient hotel well placed for our needs. Great that we could all share one room and the location was good for us as we wanted to see the sights of San Francisco. August 8, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just the ticket Working in San Francisco, the location, friendly welcome and cleanliness of the hotel were all very welcome. I will be staying here on my next visit! See you soon August 7, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and presentation Had a very pleasant three-night stay recently at Holiday Inn Civic Center. From check-in until check-out everyone on staff was really friendly - personal yet professional. The rooms are presented really nicely - the Exec-level room was more spacious than I was expecting which was a nice surprise. The breakfast offering was a little disappointing - the quality wasn't quite there for the $25 pricetag and the staff in the restaurant seemed rushed and a little surly (this was the only exception to my previous comment). Overall though - a great stay. Thanks! August 4, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unhappy Hello, I must say as having the status i have this was one of the worst stays i have ever had with HI. No up grade, toilet ran all the time. The handle for the tub drain was broke, dust was ALL over. Could tell not one had stayed there for several days. first 2 days paper was not delivered. No Refrig. in room. Missed a wake up call one day. Did not receive my room statement under the door. Noise, up and down hall way kids, for 2 nights, called and nothing happened.... Ron August 3, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best kept secret in SF. This perfectly located hotel in downtown SF is a great place to stay. Comfortable rooms. Incredible staff whether Lily in th restaurant or any other staff member. They make one feel like one of th family. Yes it's a Holiday Inn, but it's one of my favorite stays. I highly recommend it to any traveler for any type of trip. Kudos! August 3, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay in downtown San Francisco Room/hotel very clean-was impressed. Felt very safe in motel even though not in best neighborhood. Only issue I had was that people would go out on adjoining balcony to smoke and I could smell it in our room. July 29, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent (From Travel agent and Flight attendant) I had amazing time. yes area can get sketchy but its SF thats normal.! Amazing front desk service! Location is very central!!! Love it Internet works good! even got free 2 bottles water and 2 comp drinks! AWESOME! July 28, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room and excellent housekeeping We stayed at the hotel for seven nights. We found the staff very pleasant and helpful. It was good to have wifi access in the room. We also enjoyed using the leisure facilities. The only downside was the noise from the next door building site which started early in the morning. July 28, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Consider this hotel if you need a smoking room Convinent location with smoking room. However, the wall is too thin and you can hear voices from next room. The WIFI connection was really bad. I read a lot of complaints about the WIFI by other guests before my stay and wonder why nothing is done? July 27, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay in San Francisco Great room, great staff and a great location. I loved the view and its so easy to get around SF using public transit from there. I'll be back. July 27, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Be aware of the neighborhood Stayed 4 nights. Hotel is very convenient to the trolly, MUNI trains and BART along Market. I found the hotel comfortable and safe. My only concern would be the neighborhood. The restaurant was good, but somewhat pricey. July 26, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good service, lots of street noise, lack of nearby dining. Stayed at this hotel due to proximity to business site. Room was comfortable and clean, but door to balcony was not well insulated - draft and lots of outside noise. No breakfast included with room price - just the basic continental breakfast in the hotel restaurant was as expensive as the dinner entree I bought one night! Also if you want a mini-fridge in your room, you have to rent one on a first-come, first-served basis for a fee. Poor value, in my opinion. Also, there is not much to eat around the hotel other than fast food. If you need to be near the Civic Center and don't mind the lack of dining options it's a decent place, but otherwise I would probably look for a different location. July 22, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just average The hotel and rooms were average. The bed was confomratble and the room size was adequate. I was in an upgraded room and was surprosed there was not a refridgerator in the room...and was told no rooms had one, but I could rent one. Also, the location is in a bad part of town. July 22, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Francisco Vacation We had never visited Northern California and wanted to make San Francisco a part of our trip. The Civic center was centrally located and turned out to be better than expected. The only downer was the parking fee, but that's life in the big city, right? Big thanks to the staff at this hotel, particularly Bennie the concierge, who gave us several insightful tips as to navigating the city, food, restaurants and must see places. All of his recommendations were wonderful and much appreciated. We enjoyed the Wharf, a cruise, a wonderful Chinatown meal and several touristy things. Bennie even gave us useful information about places to see North of the city such as Muir Woods and Napa. We stayed at two more Holiday Inns at those locations. Great trip - great hotel. Thanks for a memorable stay. July 15, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room, ready for occupancy. Our staying at holyday inn Civic Center in San Francisco was a good experience, we had our room which had previously been reserved in advance, ready for occupancy at the time we were told it would be ready. At check out, before noon, we were told we could still have access to the room until 4 pm. which gave us additional time to shop and visit the San Francisco financial district and Bay area. Thanks Holiday Inn. July 14, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good location, high price The hotel location is good, pretty close to the main street, but the price is high for the service. July 12, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Reception desk not well infomed about transportation to SFO Employees at the reception desk should know about ALL types of transportation to the airport and give gests options. The person at the front desk said there were no buses to SFO and the only way to get there was in a taxi. Guess what? There' an express bus KX that stops at Mission & 7th. July 6, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and place to stay! I have stayed here a few times now. This is the only place I will stay in San Francisco! July 5, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Arrogant staff in an average hotel It's rare to experience check-in people who ignore you, who are unwilling to help with check-in/out, with received packages. The room is noisy, I guess receiving a set of ear-plugs with the check in tells a story. Food is bad and expensive. The area in town is full of beggars and thieves. All in all: not a recommended place. July 3, 2013
    <<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>