Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 
SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL RISING ABOVE THE HEART OF THE CITY
Stunning 32 storey views and modern elegance come together at this San Francisco luxury hotel overlooking the Bay Area. Impressive in every detail, Luce, our Michelin-rated restaurant serves New American Cuisine that’s a gastronomic delight. Floor-to-ceiling windows let light flood into luxury suites and 10 spa treatment rooms offer an urban retreat. The hotel is located in San Francisco’s downtown district, with the city’s finest museums and upscale shopping within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    This Michelin rated hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting just off of the main lobby is the stage for arti...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre offers 2,200 sq ft of space equipped with free-weights, cardio and resistance equipment and an indoor lap pool (6a.m. - ...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...

InterContinental San Francisco

  • 888 Howard Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94103
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-6166500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Swahili, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable 50 dollar fee per night. Pets cannot be left unattended in guest room. Specific rooms only.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    2:15 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 16 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 481 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! I enjoyed my stay. The rooms were clean, the view beautiful, and the staff friendly. I loved being a very short walk from Starbucks and Whol e Foods as well! Thank you. February 20, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice views Very nice room and views, but it is a little noisy and could hear people talking in the hallway and in the room next to us. February 14, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by San Francisco 2/6-2/9 When I arrived the staff was very courteous and I had no problems. However, the following morning I was trying to get the best way to get to Fisherman's Wharf and the desk staff were vague regarding my mass transit choices. I wound up walking all the way there and all the way back. Needless to say I was disappointed to find out that there was a bus stop on the next corner that would have taken me there in less than 10 minutes. The walls of my room were very thin and I had no problem hearing my neighbors as 5 AM taking very loud Sunday morning. I had been hearing them consistently throughout my stay. I cannot comment about the food quality of the restaurant. However, I did stop in for drinks and was totally ignored after I finished my first glass of wine. After waiting for 20 minutes for one of the two waitresses to come back to see if I wanted a second drink, I decided to just leave after paying my bill. February 12, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable but customer service was a downer Stayed for 2 nights. Checked in the first day and we were upgraded to the top floor thinking the room would be bigger not just a better view. The room was extremely compact for a double bed as well as the bathroom. That night, my friends and I were going out and wanted a cab so we asked front desk to call for a cab for us and they said to just catch one on the road. From my past experiences in staying in hotels in the city, the front desk will usually call for a cab upon request. Mind you, it was raining and we were all dressed up, so that was a waste. The next day we slept in and housekeeping called to check when we would like our room cleaned, told them a time and went back to resting. We accidently left the "do not disturb" sign on the door and decided since we were leaving to go shopping we would just tell the front desk. We tell the front desk and they asked us if we called house keeping and we repeated that we accidently left the sign on and if they could call them to clean the room. No, so we had to go back up to our room again, call the front desk, since there was no direct line to housekeeping. Front desk tells us to call the hotel operator and then we can be transferred to house keeping. What a hassle! Before we left we tidied up a bit and left dirty cups and bottles for them to throw away. We come back from our shopping, room looks clean but they failed to pick up the dirty cups and empty bottles. Second night, we go out again and this time it pouring cats and dogs, more than the night before and yet the front desk still wouldn't call us a cab. Ruined our time getting ready all together. It was rude for them to deny our request for a cab especially under that type of weather. I, nor my friends, will return to this hotel. February 12, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not comfortable The positive point at first. The housekeeping works very well. I booked a room with "corner view" but the windows were so dirty that no fun about the nice view coming up. The climatic system is from the former century. Every five minutes it starts and is very noisy, sleeping was only possible with earplugs. Regarding my very positive experience with Holiday Inn Hotels in Germany I booked including breakfast. This was the next tremendous mistake. One week lukewarm sausage, lukewarm scrambled eggs, no variations. Every day the same food. Bar is integrated in the breakfast room. Not really convenient. Sometimes I had a feeling I stay in a youth hotel, a lot of Japanese and Chinese teenager stayed in the hotel. My recommendation, this hotel is not a business hotel. Next Holiday Inn stay will be in Vienna. Let's see! February 12, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and nice,clean bed Nice clean bed , cable car right next to the hotel. Close to everything. We will be back again for sure. Thanks February 8, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Early morning room door knocks Even though I had already placed the "do not disturb" sign at my room door, I got early morning door knocks from room service personnel who couldn't wait past 9:00 am to do the rooms. I had to call the front desk and ask them to tell room service not to bother me in the mornings! February 6, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great Experience in a city so full of excitement The stay here was excellent. The staff was helpful and extremely nice (thank you Baker). Location was great. February 4, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, needs a lot of work My first impression of the hotel started when I walked in to a dimly lit, cold front desk area. The rooms were nice, the pillows were lousy. Went down for breakfast, no free breakfast , waiters were rude and it seemed like you were bothering them. Breakfast area was in a small conference room, buffet was way overpriced and it wasn't worth it. A lot of construction going on, which is understandable. Great location, it has the potential to be a great place, it just needs a lot of work. February 4, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great room and the shuttle to CPMC is invaluable. My husband is in a clinical trial at CPMC and we have stayed at this hotel 3 times now. The staff has always been friendly and helpful. And, the rooms are clean and comfortable. February 3, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall it was a great experience. Although I though the bed was rock hard but once i relaxed I was fine. They need to have a free breakfast because some of us cannot afford going out to get breakfast. And the price we have to pay, they need something free like food… Other than that it was great. Oh and I HATED that the ice machines were on odd number floors… And it took me forever just to figure out how to work the elevators…. February 2, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great views and good value In general, we were quite comfortable in our room during our one week stay. The location is perfect and the views are wonderful. The staff were very responsive to the one or two requests we made. The heating system, with all the glass surrounding the room, was somewhat difficult to control. Also, the carpet in our room needed a thorough cleaning. This will be a much more agreeable hotel once the downstairs renovations are completed. February 2, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 stars all the way perfect stay (6 nights) - everything was perfect from the beginning, was recognized as gold elite and upgraded to the top floor, rooms spacious and comfortable, bathroom is very clean - very, very good housekeepers, who cleaned our room - she(they) did a great job, location work great for us. the most memorable experience for me with IHG hotels so far. Good value for price paid. Thank you February 2, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 stars surprise Highly recommend! ! We were so pleased , we had read some bad reviews it was nothing like that ! Our room was stylishly decorated The View from our room was Spectular ! The staff is tremendous! We were checked in by a staff member named Baker he is a super star ! 5 stars on a buget and who isnt these days ! January 29, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great view Great views and convenient location. Walking distance to downtown and buses and cable cars close by. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The dining room could do with a revamp and there weren't many gluten free options for breakfast - go to the deli down the road on Van Ness. The free wifi was good - no problems. January 29, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and friendly staff. This Holiday Inn was a wonderful stay for my mom and I. The convenient CMPC shuttle was a great help to us and the airport shuttle service was also good. We were on the 23rd floor with a nice view and a quiet , nicely updated room. Great location out of the major hustle and bustle but very convenient to bus, trolley and restaurants. Would stay here again. Wonderful helpful staff as well. January 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room, great view Appreciated being upgraded. Had a lovely room. Clean. Comfortable bed. Great view. January 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Loved this hotel and its location. Room recently updated and very nice! Thanks for a great visit. January 20, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Francisco Long Weekend My daughter and I stayed here for a long weekend, checking in on a Friday night and leaving on a Monday morning. We are already planning a trip back to San Francisco and we will most definitely be staying at this hotel! We were in town for a K-Pop concert at the Warfield Theater and the girl who checked us in was helpful, and showed us on the map where the theater is located. The staff at the buffet were friendly, especially Rose. The bell man recommended a place to eat around the block, hailed a cab for us numerous times, and the front desk staff answered all my questions. I paid for a room on the higher floors, and it was worth it. The view was awesome, day and night! Our room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the housekeeping staff were really nice. I have already recommended this hotel to my friends and family. Thank you to everyone at this hotel. You are part of the reason our trip was such a success! January 18, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Exorbitant parking fees! Be warned! The hotel is fine and the service is excellent but the parking fees are almost $50! That is not advertised and not included in the listed hotel price. January 18, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is one of my favorite Holiday Inn properties in the SF Bay Area Most of all I love the views from the rooms at top floors in this hotel. The interior seems to have been recently renovated, feels very nice and is functional, although not too luxurious. A pleasant surprise during my last visit was a decent wifi speed, which used to be a problem at Holiday Inns before, but at least this hotel has that problem solved. The restaurant downstairs is not good, especially given that the hotel is in civic center SF where you have numerous excellent restaurants within walking distance. Also, the hotel is usually packed, so unless you get a "quite floor", it can be noisy. January 16, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty Windows The windows were so dirty you didnt want to try to enjoy the view. other than that its a nice place. January 14, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel in terrific location Stayed during weekend of Hot Chocolate run in Golden Gate Park. Check-in staff member (Anthony) must have been the friendliest front-of-house dude I've ever met. Funny guy. Room (queen double) was large, clean and well appointed. Our family of four weren't climbing over each other, which is a sign there's plenty of space. Desk overlooking downtown SF was nice. I think the property is undergoing some renovations to the dining, bar and lounge areas as they had temporary service set up in the conference space. This was really weird and amateurish; FOH should have advised us of such as every other experience of the property was otherwise very good to excellent. The manager needs to get some signs up at reception. January 14, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The location of the hotel is great. The famous cable car stops downstairs and it can get you to Chinatown. Many bus routes pass by and their stops are just nearby. In the convenient store in the hotel lobby, you can buy your MUNI bus pass that also lets you ride any cable car and don't forget to ask for a free map. Everything is so convenient. Lots of attractions are within walking distance. I highly recommend this hotel and would like to stay again. January 12, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel, not so good services I stayed in this hotel 2 nights, and was disappointed with the services given. I had to pay almost 100$ only for 2 days parking. I was also very disappointed in knowing that even being a Platinum member, I have to pay a huge amount to use the business center. All I wanted is to print 1 page document (not a boarding pass) and for that I have to insert a credit card and get charged by the minute a huge amount. This is something given for free in other hotels especially for Platinum members. January 12, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT LOCATION AMAZING ROOM, GREAT VIEW, GREAT LOCATION, GOOD BREAKFAST...VERY HAPPY OVERALL... January 10, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by all around great great visit as always,just cant wait to be able to order movies again during my stays...love the hotel and staff..stay here this is the best holiday inn in san Francisco. January 9, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Home Away from Home We truly enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway. We were made to feel at home immediately upon our check-in. Baker was excellent at the front desk and he made the check-in process go very smoothly. Baker knew that we were Platinum Members and he was able to upgrade us right away, which we greatly appreciated. The view of our upgraded room was fantastic and we got to see some fabulous sunrises and sunsets over the bay. We appreciated the kindness and helpfulness of the dining staff, especially Rose, Chris, and Elizabeth. We were glad that we stayed at the Golden Gateway. We felt that we were centrally located to all of the points of interest we wanted to see while staying in San Francisco. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit the Bay Area. January 9, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel. We had a great time staying at this hotel.The restaurant food is yummy and the waitress Kate in the hotel restaurant is great at her job. January 6, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by always pleasant stay staff is the best from front desk to room service. January 6, 2014
    <<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 17 next>>