Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

San Francisco

SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL RISING ABOVE THE HEART OF THE CITY
Stunning 32 storey views and modern elegance come together at this San Francisco luxury hotel overlooking the Bay Area. Impressive in every detail, Luce, our Michelin-rated restaurant serves New American Cuisine that’s a gastronomic delight. Floor-to-ceiling windows let light flood into luxury suites and 10 spa treatment rooms offer an urban retreat. The hotel is located in San Francisco’s downtown district, with the city’s finest museums and upscale shopping within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    This Michelin rated hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting just off of the main lobby is the stage for arti...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre offers 2,200 sq ft of space equipped with free-weights, cardio and resistance equipment and an indoor lap pool (6a.m. - ...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
San Francisco
  • 888 Howard Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94103
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-6166500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Swahili, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable 50 dollar fee per night. Pets cannot be left unattended in guest room. Specific rooms only.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    9:57 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 16 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 439 reviewers.
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Hotel I was not impressed with this hotel at all. We were not even in our room for 30 minutes and the maid unlocked the door and walked right in. Their was hair on the wall of the shower and what looked to be a booger on the wall. The hotel was under construction with a make shift restaurant and bar. I was very disappointed with this hotel. December 12, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly Recommend this Hotel This is my second time saying at the Holiday Inn. Both of my experices have been incredible and exceeded my expectations. The staff is very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean. I couldn't have been more happy with my experience and I am looking forward to staying at the Holiday Inn again. December 11, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 clean, comfortable and convenient hotel my friends and me stayed 3 night here. the room was very clean and facilities in good condition. they gave us a high level room, very quiet and view not bad. also the location was good, bus stop is just opposite. also you can walk, like 15 mins to Chinatown( not recommended, SF, you know, walking is like hiking) the only problem is parking too expensive, cost 45 dollars including tax, but it was common in SF. most hotels charge like this. December 6, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic stay Great stay. Loved the rooms and the views. Great value Thanksgiving dinner in hotel restaurant. Best Holiday Inn we have stayed in with respect to staff friendliness and value. December 4, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by suggestions If you are serious about wanting your guests to reuse their towels you need to provide towel racks and hooks so that we could hang wet towels and washcloths up rather than leaving them on the floor for housekeeping to replace. Also the clock/radio or whatever was too confusing. I could not figure it out and fortunately I was able to use my cell phone alarm. Since you don't serve lunch it would have been helpful to have a list of nearby restaurants where a light sandwich or lunch could be found. Thermostat and heating leave a lot to be desired. December 4, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed our stay. We enjoyed our stay on the 22nd floor and the view of the city was amazing! Thank you for making us feel special. December 4, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay Nice stay at the holiday inn. Clean and reasonably priced for SF December 3, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed the view & the bed The room was oh, so clean and the linens were high quality. The location was perfect for me to visit family, shop, and find restaurants. No problem getting a cab, bus, or zip car. I plan to stay there again. December 2, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Unbelievable View, All the Amenities, even the coffee in the room was good. An excellent stay. Shuttle to California Pacific Medical Center every 20 minutes. From the guest rooms to the car park was all convenient. I would recommend this to anyone. They even supply the fluffy white robes! December 2, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and Service!!! I am very grateful for a most pleasant stay at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway on Van Ness Avenue in San Francisco. My husband has been undergoing cancer treatments and is often in a lot of pain and very weak most of the time. We came to SF due to an appointment the following day at UCSF Cancer Center. I reserved a room with a king bed and included the parking package deal, and at check-in I asked whether there was a room available with a sunset view, or possibly even a corner room (just to make things a little nicer). I'd heard about the corner window rooms having exceptionally beautiful views. Well, the lady found a corner window room available. However, when I realized it's an extra $30 for that room, I declined -- didn't realize it would be more. When I declined, she then offered the room at no additional charge from what I was quoted for the regular room package! I am very grateful for her service and going the extra mile for us. Also, the room service was outstanding! My husband was too ill to go to the downstairs restaurant, so we ordered room service, and the gentleman provided first-class treatment all the way. I give this Holiday Inn experience a perfect 10!!! November 30, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Thumbs Up A few days ago I stayed at the Holiday Inn San Francisco-Golden gateway. It has been a while since I had stayed at a Holiday Inn and the reason I selected the Golden Gateway was that it was close to my daughter’s apartment. My stay at the hotel could not have been better. Everyone on the staff (doorman, reception, housekeeping, and restaurant) was courteous, friendly and helpful. The management deserves high praise for the coaching and training of the staff. My room was comfortable and nicely appointed, the price competitive and in a city like San Francisco quite fair. The daily fee for parking hurt a bit but completely understandable given the location. If I was to complain at all, it would be about the noise. I could hear my neighbors (slightly) through the walls and the street traffic from the busy Van Ness Boulevard. However this is negligible at best and in no way detracted from my stay. Kudos to the great staff. I would definitely stay there again and I would recommend the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway to anyone visiting the bay area. November 29, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Fran Fun What wonderful staff and accomodations! We are Platinum Elite and we were treated that way. What pleasant people. The upgraded room was wonderful and the gentleman who checked us in was incredible kind. Really appreciate this hotel great location lounge was very nice we will stay here again. Only down side was 40.00 guest parking seemed very high. November 27, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad ironing board/iron=Bad experience Basically, the hotel room's ironing board collapsed; one of the legs was broken. So I put the ironing board on the desk, and turned on the iron. I started ironing my white shirt, and quickly noticed the iron was emitting a black, staining powder. I used another shirt. I went the lobby, reported the issue, and the front desk clerk promised to send another ironing board and iron. Neither showed up. The next morning, I called the front desk and asked for an ironing board and iron. Neither showed up. As I checked out the hotel, I complained to the front desk clerk. I hope this isn't how Holiday Inn regularly treats its customers. November 25, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything is great except staff needs more training The location, room and all other amenities are great except the staff. The front desk staff obiviously needs more training and need to be more flexible. With all the stays, my wife has always been able to check-in on behalf of me, while I am the drive in the car. Yet, the lady inisisted that i have to be presented in order to check-in. We have a total of 4 nights but under two separate reservations due to our change in plan and the first reservation was already pre-paid. The front desk first told us that we had to check-out and then re-check-in later the day as this is the policy. We said "WHAT???" We called the 800# when booking our second reservation and the rep told us that she will take care of everything, noted both reservations clearly so that we wouldn't need to change the room. The same occured to our previous few night stays at Monterey and the staff were experienced enough to easily acknowledged the two reservations without any problems. So we really don't under why can't a Holiday Inn in a big city do the same! Luckily, we went back down the next morning and got a very experienced gentleman (sorry that we forgot your name but he's a dark color built man in his 40s). We told him our situation and he immediately told us that it is not a problem at all. We can surely stay in our room without the need to check-out and check back in later the day. He took care everything for us easily. Your hotel is lucky to at least having him there. Separately, the staff serving the breakfast area was horrible. We waited for 10 minutes for our coffee to be served, then waited another 10 minutes attempting to order our fresh omelette. Other staff wouldn't even care about you if they are not responsible for your table! Our waitress was no where to be found in that 10 whole mintues. After we finally got a woman's attention and made our order, she came back 10 minutes later just to advise no more spinach (in a very unfriendly tone)!!! We finally got fed up and simply canceled our order, stood up and left. They dared to charge us $44.00 for two breakfasts. I've been staying under various IHG hotels throughout our 3-week trip. We were at French Polynesia, then drove from San Diego to San Francisco (not to mention other IHG hotels that we have been staying throughout these years). All hotel staff were very friendly and knowledeable except yours, which is pretty shocking as San Francisco is such a major city. Those staff (two asian ladies in the front desk and those in the breakfast area) that we have encountered were so rude and unexpreienced. They can't even be comparable to a staff located in a little town! Besides the staff, everything else, including the location of the hotel is great. I would go back to this hotel if visiting San Francisco again. Hopefully, I don't have to confront those unfriendly staff again! November 23, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing views! Inviting atmosphere. I was so pleased with this hotel! I felt comfortable from the moment I checked in. The room was beautiful and clean and the view was amazing! The staff was friendly and welcoming. It will be my home away from home in San Francisco! November 22, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Cold showers, no apology I've stayed at this hotel several times before and thought it reasonably priced for the level of amenities. My most recent stay however was quite disappointing. I called for extra pillows that were never delivered. The lunch staff was clearly overwhelmed. My husband was in the shower when the water suddenly became icy cold. He moved out of the main spray, expecting it to warm back up again. After 2-3 minutes of ice water, I called the front desk. I was told that they hadn't expected so many people to shower at once(?!!) and that the engineer would adjust things shortly. We did eventually get enough warm water to thaw out my husband. I found it particularly disappointing that the desk clerk didn't call back, we didn't hear from a manager and we were paying a higher room rate than we'd previously paid for this hotel. November 21, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome and friendly staff! Awesome location of the hotel, little further out of the city center, but walking distance (20-30min). Next door to WholeFoods and last stop of the California Line Cable Car. You should definitely get a 7 day munipass for $28 in the local hotel shop. You can reserve your shuttle for $14 to SFO (cab is more like $60). All in all - great hotel! November 19, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Above and Beyond Housekeeping always reliable Convenient Location close to everything Helpful staff Overall pretty happy with my stay at holiday inn November 18, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by We love to stay at this hotel! My husband and I love to stay at San Francisco Golden Gateaway hotel since last time of our visit to San Francisco. The location is perfect ! because "California line"(Cable car) is just right out side of the hotel and there are many nice restaurants near the hotel. Most of the hotel staff are friendly and helpful (Unfortunately, I was upset by a lady at front desk when I asked to make change.she totally looked grumpy and never say "your welcome" to my "Thank you"). We will stay at this hotel the next time of our visit. Thank you for your hospitality. November 18, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Treats Platinum guest really well We enjoyed everything about this hotel for our business & leisure visit to SF. They treated us very special with an upgraded beautiful corner room and extra perks like a nightcap. The rooms are updated, comfortable, quiet and right on a cable car line and major bus line. If you are arriving from the east coast a room facing east towards the bay lets you wake up to a beautiful sunrise. Very special November 17, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This property is in a great, centrally located location with excellent access to both busses and a cable car terminus (it's just around the corner on Washington St.). With MUNI passes, one can get to virtually anywhere and everywhere in the city one would wish to go--including to the BART lines for further travels as well as the ferry terminals to go over to Tiburon (Sam's Anchor Bar--yea!!) and Sausalito (see the Dr. Seuss artwork in the Petri's Fine Arts gallery). Also, if you're a meat eater, don't miss the House of Prime Rib located about a 10 minute walk away north on Van Ness. November 17, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic stay Unique location with spectacular view from the room over the city and bay. Walking distance to Union Square or Fisherman's Warf. Excellent service from all staff. Spacious rooms. Highly recommendable. November 17, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room , great staff Great room (newly renovated) with an incredible panoramic view of SF Bay and Oakland Bay! The friendly and professional staff could not have been more welcoming! Thanks for a great weekend stay! November 16, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good but a bit too noisy Overall a good stay with this hotel. Street noise is rather too penetrating and disrupted sleep with window already shut tight . Calls to front desk did take long to get response. November 16, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good-Average Stay I stay at the "Golden Gateway" for business and usually have no issues. However, my last stay they put me in a two double bed room that reeked of cigarette smoke. What I don't understand is why the maid didn't notice and try to cover up the stench. There are only two employees at the front desk that I like to deal with. The rest of the staff is mediocre at best. If your looking for a great value the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway has some of the best rates. What you save in good prices sometimes comes back to haunt you in other ways. Overall decent hotel for the price. November 14, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by let me breathe. No fresh air available in the room. The windows are now sealed shut "for your safety". This is what I was told by the helpful person at the desk when I asked how I could rid the room of heavy paint fumes. At one time the windows opened. This is evident by the design of the track. Now however they have been sealed. Are we now to consider ourselves more suicidal than when we were younger? or is the chance of a "bad" person to climb 16 stories up the outside of the building to enter and steal my toothbrush greater than in the past? (there is a safe in the room) to safeguard my valuables, such as they are. I was told to "turn on the air conditioner. Why would I want to "condition" the terrible air which was recycled, not exchanged or filtered for fresh? San Francisco is blessed with good air from the Pacific, a decent breeze can flush air heavy with fumes...FUMES.. from paint and new construction. The assumption I must draw is that the Holiday Inn group believes the chances I might hurl myself from the window or do a criminal act outweigh my discomfort from sleeping poorly because of an energy consuming noisy device that does not clean poor quality air...The carpet was clean, new and still outgassing as new synthetic carpet does. Thank you for taking such good care of me because evidently I am considered by the wise and benevolent corporation incapable of doing so for myself. However I am able to generate sufficient capital to gain entry to their hallowed halls, after which I don't matter...GOT YOUR MONEY, NOW LEAVE PLEASE...Sound familiar? Incidentally please put decent coffee in the room, I will pay the additional seven cents to cover the cost or should I bring my own with me in a tool box to open the window? WHY DO YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO "MODIFY" MY REVIEW? November 13, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Stay and Tremendous Staff! I had such a great stay at this hotel. No complaints at all. Just wish I had longer to hang out. Great location. Quiet , comfortable room and your staff are beyond friendly, pleasant and helpful. So nice to experience that type of friendliness and warmth in a place of business such as this. Keep up the great work and I Iook forward to another stay soon! November 13, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Met and went past my expectations. Everything I asked for was delivered. I enjoyed my stay and would return there if the occasion comes up. November 12, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value Comfortable clean centrally-located hotel. Very friendly staff. Restaurant needs better food quality and options though November 7, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Far too noisy, and few/no vegan/healthy menu options While the staff tries very hard to serve their guests, the hotel itself has only a half-complete feel to it renovation. Both the windows and the HVAC units appear to be straight out of the 70's, and it shows: the remarkably noisy heaters and street noise that passes through unimpeded into the rooms makes sleep difficult. Lastly, the restaurant menu choices appear to favor remarkably poor food choices with little or nothing for vegans that prefer to avoid the dozens of diseases that come from consuming animal flesh. Sadly, a poor example of what a Holiday Inn should be. I hope the management finishes the renovation correctly, and soon. November 6, 2013
    <<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 16 next>>