Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

San Juan

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 556 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Heavenly! Our stay at the Intercontinental San Juan was heavenly! We were treated so well by the staff; everyone greeted us warmly and offered to serve us in any way. The grounds around the hotel were beautiful. The Intercontinental offers the opportunity to experience both the beach and their many pools to cool off in. Great place to stay! 10 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous beach We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Intercontinental San Juan. The beach is beautiful, the pool is lovely, we rarely had issues getting four lounge chairs together and when we did, a staff member helped us. The fitness facility has a wonderful view of the beach. Security is present but not intrusive. There are no sales people pestering you on the public beach, which is great. The beach towels are generous in size and quantity and are sparkling white. We had an ocean view room on the 14th floor and the view was spectacular. The main part of the room was very nice but the bathroom is in need of updating and is dark. An additional sink in the vestibule would have been very handy. However, the food at the hotel (with the exception of the pool/beach bar) was average at best and New Year's Eve dinner in the main restaurant was not good at all. The food was well below average and the service was half hearted. For $99/person (kids, too), we expected much better. The breakfast buffet is predictable, repetitive, slow to replenish, average quality and you have to wait quite a while for an outdoor table. For $25/person it isn't worth it. The food at both the beach and pool bar is standard but tasty and arrives quickly. We enjoyed the margarita pizza often! Room service was ok but they got part of our order wrong and we were just too tired to correct it after a long day of hiking/kayaking. Luckily, the hotel is within walking distance of some terrific restaurants (Zest, La Playita, Meat Market) so you have wonderful options nearby. A $20 cab ride into San Juan opens up a world of phenomenal restaurants. We will definitely return to San Juan and the InterContinental may be our hotel again but we will do more research before we commit. 10 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Aufenthalt über Neujahr Insgesamt gutes Hotel mit einigen Mängeln. Personal ist freundlich und hilfsbereit, aber offenbar nicht fähig oder gewillt sich um die Wünsche innerhalb einer angemessenen Zeit zu kümmern. Es braucht immer mehrere Anläufe bis sich was bewegt. Die Sauberkeit liess im Zimmer und in den Gängen des Hotels sehr zu wünschen übrig. Sehr viel Staub und keine gereinigten Teppiche in den Gängen. Das Personal im Frühstücksrestaurant war zwar freundlich aber überfordert. Die Kellner hechteten von Tisch zu Tisch und man musste immer lange warten bis der Kellner kam und den Wunsch erfüllte. Eine Kellnerin beschwerte sich, dass zu wenig Personal vorhanden ist, was man auch deutlich merkte. Offenbar ist das Management nicht wirklich fähig. In der Nacht hört man die Pumpen und Anlagen arbeiten. Manchmal ist es so laut, dass man den Balkon schliessen muss um schlafen zu können. 06 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Enjoyable stay the location is great--a very long beach to walk and plenty of sun- Staff were courteous and helpful always.. We're early risers so we would have the beach staff set up our chairs and umbrella first, walk the entire beach from 6:am-7:00am, have a continental breakfast in the club and be on our chairs by 8:00am-the staff very quickly adapted to our schedule and set up for us in anticipation of our early mornings. Food was very good every where in the hotel and we did not experience any negative times at all. The Ambassador Club membership is a welcome plus and added to our enjoyment 02 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, friendly staff, great service. Me and my wife thoroughly enjoyed our five night stay here. The bed and room were great. Can not say enough about how nice the pool area is, and also the sandy white beach was awesome. We chose to upgrade to the ocean side view, totally worth it waking up every morning to the view and the sound of crashing waves from our balcony. This is a great hotel in San Juan. 02 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Little slice of paradise Our second stay at this hotel over the holidays, just as lovely as ever. The grounds are beautiful, lush landscaping with orchids, jasmine and mangroves, nice palm tree lined beach. Pool is exceptional, staff is friendly and professional. Lots to do in the hotel and there are a huge number of shops and restaurants a few steps out the door if you want to explore and save money. Old San Juan is a short cab ride away. 02 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Surroundings Enjoyed our stay. A beautiful setting. The breakfasts were very good. Loved eating outside. 01 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Expected amenities & comfort not more What you expect of an Intercontinental hotel. Comfort, amenities, location. Free wifi (light) was a great surprise. The hotel is starting to be a little dated and screws in the bathroom could use some swapping or anti rust. Still, a great facility. The doormen were less than welcoming. I've stayed at IHG hotels around the world and usually the doormen make you feel welcome, recognize you and definitely greet you with a smile. Here, nothing. At times not even eye contact. And we stayed for two nights. Not a big deal, but definitely noticeable and disappointing for the star of the IHG brand. 27 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Setting This hotel has a great location, and has a pretty good selection of restaurants inside as well as the surrounding areas. 19 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by service from the front and roomservice is very lacking The bad: I am ambassador and suppose to get fruits and water. I had to ask multiple times to get these. front desk offered to give me some wine and cheese to make amends, room service never delivered it. I can't believe this is the service for the ambassador. There were also issues with computers that no room charge was posslble for like 3 days. I had to go back to room to get creditcard. Small facilities. The good: Nestor is very good and make you feel very welcome. Enjoyed his advice to goto Metropol and very good food. The cleaning ladies for the room is awsome. She went above and beyond to cleaning up our mess. The grounds folks are very helpful and eager to help. Pool and hottub is good and clean. 18 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disapppointed This is our 5th trip to PR and have always stayed at this hotel. Puerto rico is known for their beautiful beaches and friendly people, unfortunatelly, our stay allowed us to only experience the beauty of the beaches but not the beauty of the people particularly in your hotel. Taking into account the upgrade that was being done, We hoped that you were better prepared for the flock of people that was arriving. Speaking w/some other people they felt the same way. Waiting the 4 hrs for a room was tirying, but what was unacceptable was the lack of friendliness at the front desk, with the exception of Joe Manuel, which always kept his cool and a smile. I'm in the customer service business so I know the importance of maintaining a friendly atmosphere. Everyone was courteous but their facial expression and tone showed the frustration. It was disappointing because we had invited another couple with us whom we shared positive comments about this establishment and we all experience the opposite. Being an IHG member did'nt make a difference. 17 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Needs a makeover.... Here are all the things that went awry during my stay- separately, none are very significant, but collectively, they tell me to stay away from this hotel until they spend some money and get into the modern world of service sand technology. 1- Check-in was delayed by 1.5 because they were having a system upgrade (On a Monday afternoon). 2- Never got a phone call that room was ready; had to wait in long check-in line twice to get checked in. 3- Room was to be a king-sized bed; when arrived, it was 2 queens; had to switch rooms later in the evening. 4- Restaurants and facilities that normally accept the room charge couldn't intermittently. 5- Television service was terrible- could barely see through the snowy picture; couldn't order movies despite advertisement to do so. 6- Wireless internet was terrible coverage; kept getting knocked off and had to re-log in. 17 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and helpful staff!! We were extremely happy with our 5 day stay. We really enjoyed the restaurants; Ruth's Chris, Momaya, the Italian restaurant, which were fabulous, especially the the Italian restaurant!!! 16 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by as a platinum member, there are no rewards unlike other IHG hotels, there are no "extras" for being a platinum member. 15 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor rating I rated your hotel poorly becsuse of the following. 1. Check in poor your computrrs were fown and I had to go to the front desk twice in order to get a room. The second time I went to my assigned room which I was locked out of there was another guest. 2. The bar on the outside of the lobby had a very young and very inexperienced hostess who brought the wrong drinks to members of my party. 3. When I attempted to charge drinks to my room, I was told that my assigned room was incorrect so I could not charge my room. 4. When I checked out of the hotel, the hotel placed 3 charges on hold on my credit card and when I tried to check out the charges were declined. 5. Your front desk manager was rude when asked about holding my bags in order to get to the ATM, in order to pay my bill. 6. Once I paid the bill I was goad to leave. I did speak to my bank regarding the declined charges anf they stated everything could have been resolved if the 3 hold charges had been removed. 15 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay except for cold pool We had a very nice stay at the Intercontinental. The beds were comfortable, the staff was lovely, and I enjoyed the contemporary and quiet vibe of the hotel. The beach was beautiful as were the grounds and the price was reasonable. Everything was as you would expect except that the pool was so cold, no one was swimming. They have an awesome swim up pool bar, but it was too cold to use it. It was very odd that the ocean was much warmer than the pool. I am not certain what made the pool so cold. In their defense, I checked with neighboring hotels and those were not heated either, so we stayed and just sunned without swimming. 15 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by BACK AGAIN FOR AOTHER GREAT VACATION We tried to get a room for Thanksgiving weekend but the hotel was full. Unfortunately, we had to go to another hotel and found it terrible. I called the front desk of the Intercontinental hotel Thanksgiving night explaining our horror. The gentleman found us a room with a great upgrade and put out the red carpet. This is why when I travel to PR, we always choose this hotel. I find the staff very friendly and caring and will be back soon again for the 4th time. Thanks again Benny 14 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Primo Service & Location I am frequent traveler and had the pleasure of staying at this property in San Juan. From the moment I arrived the staff was amazing with personalized service and attention to detail! Love the location, minutes from the airport and good beach with options to kite surf, jet ski, and the ability to run on a long stretch of beach. Also 15 minutes to amazing Old San Juan and close to the modern convention center. Food is great on property and they have a beautiful lobby bar with an outdoor fire pit and couches. Loved the local favorite restaurants that are 3-10 minute walk from hotel along with a grocery/wine store across the street! Rooms are super comfortable, with a refrigerator and great beds, linens, and pillows. This staff works together to make you feel so so special in every area of the property whether you are in the lobby, in the pool area or the beach, or when you call from your room. We will be back! 13 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Beach Paradise My wife and I stayed here for our first visit to PR and it was delightful. The staff made us feel welcome at all times and we were relaxed and comfortable throughout our stay. The pool and beach areas are world class and I have a large sample size with which to compare. We will go again and will stay here. We stayed during a large soccer weekend with teams and supporters from many countries. Although they were loud and kept us awake at night they also added an excitement and party atmosphere. They had a lot of fun and it rubbed off on us too. 12 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Puerto Rican experienct at the Intercontinental This hotel was amazing! The ambiance, the staff, the views, the extension of hospitality way above the norm~~~~~~it was exceptional in every way. We cannot say enough about the experience. Intercontinental has long been a favorite of mine and this location is certainly at the top of the list. I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this hotel. While they offer wonderful banquets and on-property dining options, they are also within easy walking distance of local eateries which offer Puerto Rican cuisine with a flair at very reasonable costs. 11 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not that great When I checked in as a platimum member I was told i would get an upgrade to a better room but not til the next morning. The next morning I was told to check back a noon. the firist room they gave us only a had oone bed(3 people in room) next room had view of roof next door with workers on it.. then they got right by two oclock. I feel the resort is overpriced. and being a member of thier rewards program at any level means nothing. I will return to puerto rico it's beautiful but will stay outside of San Juan. 10 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by World Class Resort We spent a weekend at the Intercontinental San Juan in late November 2013. I am a global traveler and have stayed in many high quality resorts. This hotel stacks up close to the top. Full renovation is now complete and the hotel and rooms look amazing. Free internet throughout the hotel. The lobby bar is one of the coolest I've seen and was lively most of the trip. Beautiful huge pool area with waterfalls and a swim-up pool bar. Restaurant right on the beach, one of the few on the strip, with great food and drinks. Prices are what you would expect from a high quality beach resort. Very friendly service, including from the concierge who gave us personalized advice. This is the place to stay in San Juan. All-in a fantastic experience! 08 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome place This is a great property. Fantastic Beach, Pool and Hot Tub with very friendly people and walking distance to Food, Snacks, and Jet Skis 08 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and location My wife and I stayed for 4 days, a quick birthday visit and we both enjoyed ourselves. The beach and pool were both fantastic. The pool is very big and easy to find a quiet spot if that's what you're looking for. Ruth's Chris steakhouse is in the hotel and we took advantage of it. It was superb and a bit expensive, but we thought it was well worth the money. We felt comfortable walking around at night and felt the area was quite safe with many people on the streets. The hotel staff were great to us and in particular Glorita who worked in the lobby restaurant, who answered countless questions. The only minus was the construction that is still going on at the hotel. It starts at 7 on weekdays which is a bit early when on vacation. Ask for a room on a higher floor. We can't wait to go back! 07 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by San Juan! I had an extra day on my trip and no Room in my current hotel so I went to trip advisory and found your beautiful hotel at a great rate. When I checked in the front desk gentleman was very professional offered me an ocean view room and late check out which I accept it. The room was clean, big, with all the little extras like an iron and blow dryer. The pool area and pool bars were great, as well as the sushi restaurant. The hotel is a little outdated and the waiters/ waitresses should be walking around the pool more offering drinks . There was only one thing that I would like to mention, when I went to the front desk to ask what was exact hour of the late check out time, the front desk lady was very unprofessional and told me that the hotel wasn't doing that anymore, when I explained to her that it had been offered to me at check in she responded bluntly we are not doing it anymore! At check out I expressed my concerns to another front desk lady, she apologized and offered a refreshing room if I required it since I had a couple of hours until my flight. Overall it was a good experience and would come back! Thank you Isla Encantada! 05 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location,service and very friendly staff. As usual, we had a very enjoyable stay. The staff is very accomendating and extremely friendly. Nestor is the best!! Love the remodeling of the lobby.....well done. 05 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All good except check-in Our check in experience set a bad tone for our visit, but fortunately the rest of the visit worked out very well. I do not understand why when a family makes reservations, as such, nothing is done ahead of time in your system to try to get them together in nearby rooms. We finally did get our two daughters and their families on the same floor but this occurred after much time and frustration on our part and probably the same on the part of the multiple check in people that had to get involved to get to a resolution. Our son and hid girlfriend ended up on another floor, which was no problem. I would love to hear back as to why doing this is such a big issue. PS ..We had requested this at time of our reservation. 04 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Toilet Running When I first checked in, I noticed the toilet was running. When I looked at it, the lid was partially off. I noticed that I had to lift the lid to flush it and it would keep running. The inside of the toilet was too gross for me to put my hands in, so I called downstairs and advised the Operator of the problem. He said someone would come up. I left the room and went to the pool (which is quite nice). After a few hours, I come back to room to shower and get ready for dinner. The toilet is still running. I again call downstairs. I leave and go to dinner. I come back a few hours later and its still not fixed. Getting ready for bed, I just decide to turn the valve off. I call again in the morning to tell someone and get told for now the 3rd time that someone would come up. When I checked out, it was still running. It was not so much of a nuisance to me, because I turned the valve off when I was in the room, but I can just imagine how much water was being wasted. Also, another complaint! The Wireless Internet is HORRIBLE! It would not stay connected and had to constantly reconnect. When it was connected, it was impossibly slow! I stay here, only because my company provides the lodging, but for a "Luxury" Hotel, this was very unsatisfactory... 02 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous I stayed from Nov 24 - 27. Everything about the hotel is excellent from the rooms, view of ocean, pool, food and impeccable friendly staff. You are treated like a VIP daily. I will definitely return to Puerto Rico and stay at the Intercontinental. 30 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not treated like Ambassador, clean rooms though I'm a paid ambassador and I was really suprised the difference on how I was not honored as one (not even close to other Intercon's I've stayed at). When I checked in the front desk staff member questioned if I was an ambassador when requesting an upgrade. I deliberately made my reservation with my ambassador number on the Intercon website and they couldn't care to find it. When I was sent to a normal room with a better view (not a suite like ambassadors usually get if it's available, which it was online) called the front desk manager, she was very rude and was telling me that's all the upgrade I get because "you wouldn't know that this is one of the 3 only intercon resorts in the world and we don't upgrade like normal Intercons. She acted like I was stupid or soothing and should have known better. Then to top it off when I check my room, no amenity?!? When I called, the guy who answered was practically arguing with me that I wasn't an ambassador. I asked him to please call the IHG corporate HQ and check with me on the line to prove it to him. He then put me on hold with out keeping me on, and then when he finally got back to me he said, sorry it didn't show up in the system. When the amenity finally arrived I was very disappointed when all they brought me was 4 apples? 4 apples for 1 guest? I'm used to reviving chocolate and chips and some grapes etc. I don't mind apples but come on... How boring can the amenity be? The room was very clean however with nice new decorations and Furnature, nice work renovators! :) THE POWER OUTAGE: When I was relaxing and watching a movie the power went off multiple times. And for some reason on their TVS you can't pause your movies because if you do you will get charged anyways and will have to start your movie all over again? So after the power failing 3 times I finally got to watch my movie. I called however to the front office staff to let them know what happened and they assured me that I would not be charged multiple times. Ofcourse when I check out they had already charged me for them?!? I had to talk to the main manager for 20 min to convince them and she said she would have to "talk to accounting her self" and would get them credited after I left. She could have just given me a general credit. Oh and they charged me for internet because I chooses the faster version??? Very disappointed this hotel made me double think about why I paid for my ambassador membership in the first place, thank goodness I've been treated like one at other intercons. I will come back to this hotel when they act like they care about my business. 30 November 2013
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 20 next>>
San Juan
  • 5961 Isla Verde Avenue
  • San Juan , 00979
  • Puerto Rico
  • Front Desk +1-787-7916100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Dutch , Portuguese

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except for service animals.
  • Local Time

    3:01 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      4:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 12 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs