Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

San Juan

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 551 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Platinum Ambassador No benefits were afforded, not even a bottle of water. 29 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and good location This hotel is currently undergoing refurbishments, so it will be even better in the future. The room renovations are already complete and the rooms are very comfortable, although I did not receive my Ambassador upgrade. There are several good food and drink options available, even off-season. The staff in each are friendly and try very hard to make your stay comfortable. The pool area is well kept, and there are always towels and loungers available. The pool is open 24-hrs, so expect to hear midnight swimmers! 26 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, Elegant Place to stay The beds are incredibly comfortable, especially the pillows - king size, even the queen beds. I was right across from the elevators and my room was sound-proofed enough that I never heard them. Great toiletries(lemon verbena) in the bathroom, loved the fluffy bath rug. Fridge did freeze my items, though. Great views of the pool and ocean. Loved the gift shop with unique items, very friendly banquet, doormen and front desk, business center and housekeeping staff. Close to airport, great protected beach. Casino and 2 restaurants plus poolside bar a plus. 26 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service I had the chance to visit this hotel for a conference. This is a beautiful hotel that is undergoing a few renovations. They were upfront about renovation efforts and it never interrupted anything I had planned. The food here is also of a very high quality and I would not classify it as overly expensive even though it is a top class resort. Definitely good value for money. I highly recommend this hotel! 26 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Royalty Treatment Our stay was wonderful, it was great to arrive in the front driveway and the vallet parking attendants great you and open the vehicle door for you and the front door to the main lobby is opened for you. The rooms are kept spotless clean and the bed linens are clean and crisp.Its worth paying the extra for the ocean view room, the view is spectacular. The restaurants in the hotel are fantastic excellent food and quality of service is outstanding!!!! I give this hotel a Five Star Rating in my book! The Conti Family... 26 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great trip to Puerto Rico This hotel provides a great central location if you are visiting various locations on the island. One drawback was that their is not a lot of good local food around the hotel and the hotel food is expensive. But the hotel is beautiful and our room included the breakfast buffet which was our best meal of the day. 23 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Confortable bed and great service The pool was fascinating, the drinks superb, try the Island Bomb in 32 ounces in the pool bar. 22 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Services 1. At buffet breakfast Neysha (hostess) and waiters (Ida, Lourdes, and William greet and welcome you cordially. The rest are like robots, e.g. "You want coffee?" 2. Why is the policy at the breakfst buffet not to have any spoons with the coffee cups and saucers? Seems strange that you have to ask for a spoon every time.! 3. Ordered a hot dog with fries ($11.00). It took 25 minutes and it was cold!! 4. The hall rug outside our room was wrinkled up and my wife almost fell when she tripped. 5. The pool supervisor Carmen was wonderful!! When she was off, we would wait up to four hours and still no one would come by and see if we wanted a drink. The employees would rather hang around the bar area and chat, than to see if guests need something. I spoke with other supervisor, Ms. Ramos (whom it took five minutes to find inside the building at the pool) and told her it would be a good idea for her to circulate and see what is going on. (Bartender Felix was excellent.). The hotel could have sold at least another 16 drinks while we were there for the week. 6. Trattoria Italiana is no where near the food quality, or quantity, of Alfredo's. Definitely a 3 star at best. 7. Security(Pete) was excellent. My wife left her rosary in her bed and the hotel promptly located and mailed it. Thank you. All of the above was given to Edgard, one of the managers at the front desk., before leaving. PS: When you ask for my opinion, don't tell me (above)whose name to include or exclude. I don't need writing guidelines!! 22 August 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Needs New Management Our vacation at the Intercontinental San Juan started by having to wait 4 hours for our room to be assigned to us. (Please note the hotel was not full and there were plenty of rooms available) We sat next to a family from Maryland that had been up all night traveling to Puerto Rico and had been waiting for 3 hours. Front desk staff desperately needs customer service training. It was only after asking the fourth time for our room and threatening to go to the hotel next door that we finally were given a room. We never got an apology, and when our room was finally given to us the gentleman at the desk did not welcome us and acted as if he was doing us a favor. The service in the hotel is awful. For example, you come to the swim up bar to order a drink and sit there for 20 minutes before someone will take your drink order. Lots of people swim up, wait a few minutes and swim away. Other people told us not to bother with the staff and go across the street for our drinks. No drink service available in the pool area unless you go to the bar. In the morning you stand waiting for a table in the restaurant, you are the only one in line and there are plenty of empty tables, but you are still left waiting. This hotel has serious problems with customer service and it needs to start with upper management. The internet is full of complaints about the check in process, and other service issues at this hotel, I should of read them before making my reservation. Lots of construction at the hotel, but unfortunately making the property more attractive will not make up for the poor management and very poorly trained staff. 22 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this hotel Gorgeous views and prime location. Very comfortable room that overlooked the water. Nice breakfast. Great pool. Very enjoyable trip. Only wish the staff would be more accommodating with late checkout when it says on the website that it's avaliable. We did find a cigg bud on the floor of the room which was gross. 21 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Fabulous Stay Location, location, location! Having never been to San Juan, we couldn't have imagined a better stay. As a family of three, there was something for everyone; ocean, pool, gym, spa. The beach/waves were phenomenal, easy to access and complete with lounge chairs every day! The pools, hot tub and outdoor cafe/bar were convenient, fairly priced and perfect for adults and kids alike. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was super friendly and made us feel like regulars! It will be hard for us to return to Puerto Rico and NOT stay at the Intercontinental again;-) 20 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Simply Amazing!!! We recently celebrated our 10 year anniversary at this hotel. What an amazing vacation we had! We were welcomed from the moment we stepped out of the cab and the smiles and helpfulness continued throughout our stay. The beach is beyond beautiful and is very well maintained. We could have spent our whole vacation just lounging in the comfy beach chairs! The pool is huge with many different sections where you can choose to be in the thick of it or more off to yourselves. The splash bar had lots of action and the hot tub was the perfect size and temp. Our room was very nice with a wonderful ocean view where you could hear the waves right outside the window. Breakfast was delicious with a ton of different buffet choices. All of the wait staff was so friendly and accommodating. We could not have asked for a more relaxing stay! We will definitely be returning, hopefully soon! 20 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by ask about renovations before booking One of the top reasons for booking this hotel was the numerous photo opportunities. Unfortunately, the double staircase is currently under construction and not accessible. Our room was on the 7th floor above the construction and balcony was being repainted, so we were not allowed to open the window. The nearby location had everything we could want though. Minimart for bottled water right across the street, Starbucks nextdoor, lots of shops on Isla Verde Ave. $15 fee to airport, each way ($12 flat rate plus $1 for each bag). Walking distance to Plato's Restaurant, who had the best garlic and sweet mofongo of all restaurants we tried. Mi Casitas is across the street and was pretty good, too. Gelato restaurant right down the Ave. Bus ride to Old San Juan was $.75 each and took about 35 mins. Then free trolley around Old San Juan. Nice concierge and bellman who helped organize an awesome Catamaran sail boat trip for $99 each that included snorkeling and lunch and rum drinks. Free hotel breakfast buffet did not vary that much daily, but enough options to fill up with a smile. Nice for newlyweds like us but for families, too. Fun waterfall in pool area. Private access to beach. Lots of palm trees in grounds. Did not try to hotel restaurants because they were a little pricey compared to the local faves. Look for bellman James-American, or Jose, local, for best directions in case you rent a car $75 after all the fees and insurance from the Avis on site. Bar in hotel next door the El San Juan called Brava had great music on Friday night the provided a nice atmosphere. Lots of little romantic places to hideaway. Broke even on slot machines in casino. Watch out for the tables, seemed kind of fixed. Join the membership for the hotel chain to get buy one get one wine glass from downstairs bar. We did not tell them it was our honeymoon until we checked in and they sent up a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, which was nice but we don't drink so our neighbors lucked out. Overall nice. I would say it is a solid four star rating and would clarify the construction on the patio and staircase was finished before booking but those were the only cons. Oh, and just in case you didn't read the fine print, they charge $500 extra as a credit card hold at sign in. Even if you don't use it. You get it back at the end though. If you plan accordingly, you will have a great time. 20 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by NIGHTMARE STAY I WAS'NT VERY HAPPY WITH OUR STAY. THE REASON BEING WE WEREN'T INFORMED ABOUT REMODLEING OR CONSTRUCTION GOING ON THE PREMISSES. IT WAS VERY DISTURBING AND UNCOMFORTABLE. ALL WE WANTED AS THE LAST THREE PREVIOUS TIMES WE WERE THIER NICE AND RELAXING . SORRY TO SAY WE WILL NOT BE RETURNING. UNHAPPY CUSTERMER! 19 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best hotel in San Juan, PR One of the best hotel I stayed for my 4 days vacation. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who's going to spend time in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Just try to get the room by Ocean. I had City View room but cousin had room by Ocean which was amazing.... I will return again. Thank you for your good customer service...... 19 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It's all about the Staff... The "brick and mortar" of the hotel is beautiful, but it's the Staff that is bringing us back again. As a matter of fact, we are already booked for another trip in Oct of this year! Due to some exterior refurbishment to the Hotel, we received an upgrade to our room which was great. Mr. Hilton took care of our room for us. He puts in an extra effort to cleaning a room that you'll have to see for yourself. Jowell was our waiter on the beach, and the service was superb all day. Pedro recommended a restaurant that was fantastic. Try the Paella at Atlantica! Can't wait to see you all again on Oct 19th for our Anniversary!!! Charlie and Cheryl 19 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by TOO NOISY We have not stayed in San Juan for years so we explored Hotels and decided on Intercontinental. The grounds were beautiful, rooms were beautiful BUT construction was going on - We went out to enjoy the beach and pool area - but so much noise with the construction (jack hammers drilling into the cement was beyond loud) Well 15 minutes in that noise and relaxation goes out the door. To top this off we were charged a resort fee! With that noise - I think that was just an insult! 19 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Considerate Thank you for a lovely stay San Juan IC. I know there was evident construction activity in the main building, though this did not detract from the lovely ambience of the property & its superb location. Though the property is a tad ageing, we found the rooms & most facilities well maintained. The club suite was comfortable & well furnished with a delightfully comfortable bed with a nice view over the busy pool area. The Club lounge was comfortable, even without a view?? though the range of drinks & Canapes could be improved, as were not readily replenished. I did enjoy the local coffee & the machine produced a quality blend. The breakfast offering in both the lounge & main restaurant was lovely with a pleasant spread of fresh food. Thoroughly enjoyed the pool & the location on the main beach was convenient with the beach chairs & umbrellas providing pleasant cover from the sun. I found the reception service to be both 'hot & cold" in service delivery, & had to wait some time for some requests, though Concierge Luis is an absolute gem, who afforded very helpful & knowledgeable advice for San Juan. Thank you to FO Manager Judith whom partially resolved my perceived serious issue with one of the hotel on site concessionaire. I am awaiting further response before name & shame applies. 19 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by one concern and several commendations The house cleaning service was less than satisfactory. In fact on two occasions the rooms were not cleaned well. or at all. The commendation- I fell and experienced a nosebleed, the emergency medical team was great, responded rapidly and handled my discomfort with care and with the right equipment. The spa facility is wonderful, the pools are great. J 18 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by a little trouble Just a heads up of whats to come if you book this hotel on the actual web page for InterContinental San Juan..I actually book 2 rooms with 2 queen beds in them about 90 days ahead of my departure. Reservation was accepted with no problems although I did ask for portable room fans in each room & never got a reply yes or no!! We did not get them in the rooms. When I arrived at the hotel to check in I got right to a reception gal & she took our reservation papers & then informed me there were no rooms available with 2 beds in them on the same floor. Ok..well guess we can take different floors. No we don't have that either! Only king beds left..Not going to work for me especially with having had a reservation for 2 rooms 2 beds each...too make a long story short the manager came out & he was no help & things looked bad until I mentioned that the need is for 2 beds because of a issue with one of the adults needing her own area..then we got the 2 rooms 2 beds on different floors...One ended up being a handicap room which really was not needed except for the 2 beds. The hotel was under construction so everything was a disaster at the front desk in regards to rooms...then the first morning of vacation the workmen started scrapping paint outside the balcony windows!! 7AM then the ocean view that we paid for was wiped out with vinyl paper put over the balcony doors for the painting of the area!! I was not the only unhappy camper..flight crews were waiting 45 minutes to check in, other guests had been waiting hours for their rooms to be ready...so be careful when booking this hotel.. 18 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by First Time This was our first time visiting Puerto Rico and staying at the InterContinental. Overall, it was a very enjoyable experience. The hotel is very nice. The rooms are updated. Only complaint about the rooms, you can hear all the noise coming from the rooms around you but nothing we could not handle. When we arrived and checked in, I felt the front desk clerk could have been friendlier. Maybe she was a having a bad day as we all do some times. Our room included free breakfast for 2 adults and 2 children. It was just my husband and I so I thought I would receive free breakfast. She told me the room only included breakfast for one since the reservation was made for one. I told her that was my mistake b/c I did not noticed that when I made the reservation. So I just waited until the next day and spoke to someone different and they took care of it for me. Honestly, breakfast was a little lacking. It costs about $29 per guest and they did not have a good variety. Oh and be sure to tip your waiter very nicely or he will not wait on you. One morning, my husband forgot his wallet and could not leave a tip. The next morning, Hector neglected our table. We wondered why and the waiter who helped us told us b/c Hector said we did not tip him the morning before. I understand they depend on tips but it was a honest mistake. The hotel is on the beach which was great. The food at the beach bar was fantastic. Ruth Chris is attached to the hotel. The food there was great as well as the service. All and all we enjoyed our stay and can't wait to come back. 18 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Late gettin our room We checked in at 1pm and they took down our number to call us if the room was ready before 4pm. We were coming back from Old San Juan and we got back to the hotel at 7pm and our room wasn't ready and they didn't compensate us for giving us the room over 3 hours late. This has never happened to me before even when I stay at not as nice of a hotels!!!!! Bellhop will just watch you stand around and not take your bags until you flag then down and tell them what you are waiting on and the same with trying to get a pool towel from them. They won't offer help even though they see you waiting on them. Sometimes the room was equipped with a washcloth and other days it wasn't. 17 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful bed and great front desk staff In Puerto Rico for birthday celebration with girlfriends. Odalys at the front desk was awesome with check-in but her suggestions for food and fun were outstanding!! The bed was extremely comfortable and made the vacation even more of a dream. 17 August 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible We travel multiple trips every year. This was by far the worst service I have ever experienced! Every aspect of service was horrible except for the maid service. The check in was just a joke in terms of lines. We couldn't check into our room until 7 at night either. We upgraded to the club level which was another joke. Food and drinks in a small room where you can not see anything except a stairwell. Who would want to go in there. Club level amenities should at least include an ocean view... I was not made aware of the construction during the time of booking the room. This was a complete distraction to hear hammering and banging. The only break was on Sunday when they did not work. I am very disappointed and will never return. 16 August 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Terrible service, under renovation, major disappointment I had the most disappointing stay at your hotel this past weekend. Started off with a bad reception, shower drain not working properly, room not cleaned not time, toilet not working, rude staff, not late checkout (just one hour late), and to make everything worse - you hotel is under renovation! It would have been nice to know that when I was booking my trip. I live in the city. If I wanted to deal with construction madness, I would've just vacationed in my own apt! This experience makes me never want to stay at another InterCon hotel again. 15 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by beautiful property Everything was pretty good. There isn't any one thing I could really complain about except a little help with the property layout and what services are or aren't available. It's a big property with a lot of different restaurants and the casino, it would have been nice if they're was a map in the room or even better if an associate conducted some sort of property orientation upon arrival. 14 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay with attentive staff My family and I had a great stay at this hotel. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. It was a a plus to have the pool open at night. The only down side was having to wait two hours after check in for our room. However the front desk did accomodate us with a late check out. Vivian, the beachside waitress was on point as well as Nilda our housekeeper. Overall it was wonderful. Thank-you 14 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business stay Damian was excellent. Room was very comfortable and quiet the entire staff were very accommodating I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. A wonderful 5 days. 14 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by smiles everyone at the hotel was exceptionally friendly and helpful. While we were only there for one night, the service was great. Thanks 12 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Pool But Average Overall There were many nice things about this hotel but it was not warm and welcoming. The beds were very comfortable, the pool and hot tub were beautiful and landscaped nicely. There was also direct access to the beach. What more could I want? The only friendly employees were the people who gave out towels on the way to the pool. Most others acted as though we were interrupting their personal business to order something or ask for service (can't you see I'm busy texting?). If you only want pool and beach access, this is the place to go. If you think that service should be provided with a pleasant attitude they need to go back to school. 11 August 2013
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 20 next>>
San Juan
  • 5961 Isla Verde Avenue
  • San Juan , 00979
  • Puerto Rico
  • Front Desk +1-787-7916100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Dutch , Portuguese

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except for service animals.
  • Local Time

    9:20 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      4:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 12 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs