Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

San Juan

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 524 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel and location Open, airy and lots to offer. Downside: no ATM, but there are two across the street. No complimentary bottled water in room. Convenient refrigerator and coffee maker. 21 July 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Services are secreasing while the cost increases I have been going to the property in San Juan Puerto Rico for the past 10 years, sometimes twice a year and have noticed the steady decline in services while the cost increases. I paid for the ambassador gold membership which really doesn't mean anything other than getting an upgrade of the room which is probably the only perk. The membership provide you with a voucher for a free weekend night stay but they failed to tell you that you need to book your reservation online therefore the voucher is moot. This membership also is supposed to provide you with free water every day however I needed to call up every day for them to bring the water sometimes two and three times per day and I had to remind them of the so-called free amenity which was a fruit platter which also has declined in size over the past few years. The hotel is beautiful the grounds are well-maintained & the beach is great but the service has declined. I have made a lot of friends with the staff over the years but the pricing is forcing me not to return to that location and I won't be able to see my good friends who work there which is rather unfortunate. I will write to corporate regarding the same. 18 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Over All excellent property to stay at I have been staying at this property on business for 6 years. I visit 3 to 4 times per year in a typical year and have NEVER had an issue. The staff is amazing from the door men, valet parkers, front desk and bartenders. The restaurant by the pool is fantastic and superbly run. I always sit and chat with the cooks and manager. I cannot say enough about this property, just visit and you will see for yourself. 18 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Couldn't have asked for a better visit On a visit to Puerto Rico for a friends wedding, I decided to stay at the Intercontinental Hotel after reading the great reviews. Upon arrival from the airport the bellhop was very helpful in collecting my bags from the taxi and delivered them to my room promptly. The room was very clean and organized with a great view of the beach! Their breakfast was a great addition to the hotel as well as the in-house casino. Pool area is clean and relaxing with multiple bars throughout. The pool bar was exceptionally nice! Easy access to the beach makes this a great spot to relax and take in the sun. 17 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Family Vacation -very good hotel experience -property and ground very nice, well kept and up to date, friendly staff, very nice rooms/ up to date; serene experience; a little busy on the weekend; concierge very helpful; I will consider returning; staying at the hotel was effortless, except for dining. The food was OK, not great, but over priced. $30 per person for a standard fare buffet breakfast is over the top; The pool restaurant had good, somewhat reasonably priced selections; alcoholic drinks were a bit weak and pricy; wine was a bit better value. We ate at a nearby restaurant in a shopping strip for breakfast - good value/food 17 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel We stayed at the Inter Continental San Juan during 6/19 - 6/23 2014 It was an great stay. Beautiful pools, beach, the staff was terrific only good things to say. 15 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Property; Terrible Front Desk My husband had been to this property over a year ago and recommended we go back this year for our short honeymoon. When we arrived the front desk agent was helpful and moved our room to an oceanfront view, then told us there was an amenity in the original room which would be delivered the next day. It wasn't delivered the next day, day 2, so we asked the desk about it on day 3 now of the trip and they said it would be delivered the following day, day 4. We were checking out day 5 so when it didn't arrive and we said something to the agent at the desk she said it must be because we moved rooms. No offer to correct the mistake, we spent hundreds at the hotel restaurant and pool bar over the week and she didn't bother to just apologize for them promising and not delivering. I get it, it was a gift but don't promise a service and fail to follow-through. In addition, I was at the desk a few times over the week to ask for smaller bills so we could tip the staff, and they felt this was beneath them to accommodate my request. The last one told me that the doormen have change and I should just ask them. In addition to the above, we had to call twice for additional towels to be added to the room - after housekeeping had come in and cleaned. They "forgot" towels two days in a row. And not once did we have shampoo or conditioner left in the bathroom. We even tipped the housekeeping staff on day 1, thanking them in advance for the week, the money and note were taken, but the service was lacking for the rest of our stay. All of that said, the pool staff (both bars, and cocktail servers) were great. Pedro in particular took excellent care of us throughout the week, made great suggestions for what food to order and even shared suggestions of where we should travel to for dinner. The food and drinks were on point and overall we enjoyed the experience here. We enjoyed the pool and beach access, but given the hassle and the attitudes at the desk, I would reconsider for a future trip. 14 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Beach Hotel We wanted a great hotel on the beach with alot of amenities and we received all these and more from the moment we arrived to the time we left all the staff went out of their way to make our stay perfect and wanting to come back. Thanks to everyone 14 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great outdoor grounds and beach / beach bars. nice facility, beautiful grounds and outside areas, rooms were large and comfortable. bathrooms need update on painting and doors, etc. 14 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great!!!! This is our second time here and it was great and we actually stayed longer the rooms and service was up to par... the people at the hotel and the pool bar and the beach bar are very friendly and nice.. One thing I do have a problem with is when my husband & I are by the tour table to the schedule for a tour. The flight attendants were all over that table with out saying excuse me or I am sorry.. I really think that the front desk should have a little control of the surroundings ... Will go back 12 July 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unexpected for the Intercontiinental We missed our connecting flight and were put up in a crummy hotel by the airline. Instead, I promptly called IHG and got a room at the Intercontinental! SO thrilled to get an available room and just new that we would receive the type of service we were accustomed to. Upon check-in, I noticed our bathtub was dirty, the toilet was filthy in and around, and the sitting room table had food and a toenail on it! We immediately notified Kathia and told her of the issue and reminded her of our need for personal care items, since we had no luggage. We left the property for two and half hours and stayed at the pool and the beach. Upon our return, still no maid service! At this point, we are tired, hot, and I was in desperate need of a shower. I called to speak with he manager and she insisted they would be right up....30 minutes later, we received our dental and shaving kits, but no service! My floor required vacuuming and there was a visible layer of dust EVERYWHERE! I called a final time and expressed my disgust and the need for us to get up for a flight at 0600. The crew arrived within 15 minutes and asked what I wanted cleaned...really? What needs to be cleaned. I spoke with them and they were in our room for---no lie---11 minutes. They 'dusted' all of the filthy furniture, and wiped down the shower...did not turn on the water once. I took photos of after they 'cleaned', where there was a visible residue and hair in the tub, hair in the amenity jar, and horrendous toilet. I cleaned the tub the best I could and finally laid down. This is NOT 4 star quality and we would have been better off staying in the original hotel provided by the airline. At least it was clean! NEVER staying there again and would strongly recommend otherwise to any and everyone! 11 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We had a great stay The Staff were friendly: Front Desk, Concierge, Bellhop, and Security. The bed was very comfortable. I really loved it being so close to the beach. Security made us feel safe during our stay. 11 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a good get away it was wonderful, and if you go to Puerto Rico, this is the best hotel to stay, you do not need anything else outside the hotel, only to see the cultural, and historical places. otherwise, this hotel is the best location and place to stay. Thanks, 11 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great time in San Juan Good value and very relaxing hotel that is close to the airport. Not much night life near hotel, however there are several bars at the hotel. 10 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comforable Bed and Great Lounge I stayed there for two days whilst travelling back to the States form the Leeward Islands. The front desk staff were excellent, particualrly Irene who was very pleasant and helpful all the while training a new staff member. My flight arrived early in the morning and I was able to check in at 1030. Being a Royal Ambassador, the hotel upgraded me to a Club Room with a balcony overlooking the pool. There are numerous resuarants and bars in the hotel so one is sure to find a place that floats your boat. 10 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Stay Excellent staff! Great beach and pool. Our only problem was there were only 2 out of 3 elevators working whcih made for very long wait times. 10 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel except... HOW IS THIS SUCH A GREAT HOTEL WITH NO MICROWAVES IN THE ROOM?! Woooow! Besides the super small bathroom where the door hits you if you are sitting on the toilet, the lack of microwave was the biggest inconvenience. This was our honeymoon and we loved our view from the top floor, loved the bed ;) loved the pool area and the hotel was very nice. But who wants to spend money constantly getting new food when we can warm up our leftovers. They won't even let you use their microwave unless you bought their overpriced food. Luckily the stores across the street are open late or even 24 hours. That helped... and the fridge helped stock up on liquor (even though it wasn't cleaned when we checked in). The staff sent us complimentary wine and strawberries...it kind of surprised me because some of them seemed to have dry attitudes. Although I wish it wasn't Chardonnay, we appreciated the gesture:) The valet and front door guys were very sweet and polite. The super slow elevators are also a bummer especially when you are 16 floors up! At the price, I'd expect a bigger bathroom, a microwave and an elevator that actually goes to my floor (because sometimes it wouldn't go up to 16...Im speaking of the middle elevator actually). All in all our visit to PR was VERY nice, we had fun. UPGRADE SOME THINGS and we would be happy to come back and stay here again in the future. 09 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Environment Overall experience at the Intercontinental was great. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Everything seemed well kept. Restaurants were good - no complaints except a little pricey but that is to be expected on an island. Elevators were slow as they were working on them but tolerable. Only real area of concern was that when we made the reservations, we made it a point to request a 12th floor or higher oceanfront room. We even called a couple of times prior to arrival. Once we checked in, they told us that the highest floor available was the 10th floor. It wasn't an issue but outside of all the requests that were made prior to visit, I'm not really sure what else we could have done to reserve the higher floor. Other area that could be improved is internet access to guests via the business center should be complimentary and not at a cost. Pool bar was fantastic - beach area was fantastic. 09 July 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by disappointed bathroom had large amounts of hair all over bathroom floor had to place bath towels on floor just to walk in. unacceptable. Ordered room service ,Phone rang about 10 minutes before anyone would pick up . Food was inedible. Pool area well maintained and beautifully landscaped 09 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Concierge! Nestor, the head concierge, made all of our wishes come true. He is the best! The trip would not have been complete without his assistance. Also, the Hotel does not promote that they provide for dinner on the beach but it was fantastic! 08 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beach!! I stood at the Intercontinental from 06/29/14-07/03/14. First of all, the resort is like 5-7 minutes away from the airport by taxi. Taxi ran $13.00 each way so it was very affordable. Among checking in, I had absolutely no problem in checking in. Everything was fairly fast. I got basic free wifi from the hotel which wasn't always reliable but it certainly helped out with the kids IPADs. In my opinion, this resort is more for families or like a relaxing geataway. My room was good but with a city view, and the bathroom wasn't the best but it wasn't bad at all.. We were on the 14th floor. Elevators take forever. There wasn't too many acitvities happening at the pool, the music wasn't really existent unless you were at the bar. However, the grounds were well kept, and the beach was steps away from the pool area. There are jet skis rentals immediately on the beach. On day 3 and 4 I rented a car from AVIS which is literally inside the hotel! Couldn't be better than that. Maria at AVIS was a sweetheart! She recommended several places in the area. Across the street is a market place for quick snacks and down the street is a Walgreens. There is also a Chili's within two blocks. We tried this one bakery by the expressway which served breakfast, lunch and dinner and it was amazing! A hambuger and a drink will run you 20.00 at the hotel. Ded at the bar was also very helpful with suggesting activities in the surrounding areas. Ok then we went to EL Yunque, Laguna Grande Kayak tour, and OLD San Juan. All of that was amazing! I would definitely come back again... The people of Puerto Rico are sweet. 07 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Juan, PR I would like to recommend the Intercontinental Hotel because of the location, staff, and quality of the hotel. It is on the strip with all of the other hotels. The big difference for me is the beach and pool service. 05 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Warm welcoming staff and great hotel, loved the beach area, pool and fitness center. 05 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not at an Intercontinental Level First at all, I love to travel, I have stayed at several IHG Hotels, I think a hotel is merely for sleeping when you are on vacations and I only pay outrageous prices when it is worth it. (Awesome service, amenities, food, my wife is happy with the overall experience, etc) Have in mind that this IC is not like IC Cairo, Panama or any other nice looking IC in the world. It might have been a nice hotel when it was new but now it looks that they are kind of forgetting about it and they are just patching it. (We looked through our balcony and the bricks on the first floor's roof were falling off) and it is located in a public beach, sadly we did not google this before booking :( The personnel was so nice and friendly and the guy at the trattoria also helped us with our baby's birthday (this was the only time we ate here), this is the only thing we liked, having said this, the cons are: - Eventho you pay a service free for gym, towels, chairs, etc. The daily use of umbrellas is not included. - Like any resort, overall, prices are much higher than crossing the street even for a happy hour. - There is no shuttle to/from the airport eventho is "around the corner." (Did I mention we paid a service fee per night?). - There was a charge for a shelter/charity program for every night on our bill which I declined because I was not asked if I wanted to donate. - The toilet was not completely clean, the toilet paper holder was falling off and when I asked for a mini-fridge (which was supposed to be included) I got one that had rusty spots, they then replaced it. - I had to take my master's exam online and I had to bring my laptop and tablet because the price if you want to use the PC is outrageous. (Needed internet). - We have to change our wrist band every day to use the chairs. Overall, if we ever decide to go to PR again, we would not stay here. 03 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxation at its best Hotel has lush well manicured landscape, lovely lobby, huge relaxing rooms, amazing asian restaurant, beautiful beach, and the friendliest staff who take pride in their hotel and their work. Good job everyone 01 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly personnel We are very happy with our stay at the Invercontinental hotel. The Concierge was extremely nice. The only suggestion I have that we were there for San Juan Day. No one told us that the locals go to the beach. We went to Old San Juan and took us over 2 hours to get back to the hotel. We left the hotel room after 6:00pm. We got back to the hotel around 11:30pm. We found a flyer in the room letting us know about San Juan Day that was placed under the door after 6:00pm on the day of. My suggestion is that this notice should be given to the customers the previous day or in the morning of San Juan Day, but not after 6:00pm on the day of. We are on vacation and every second count. Being on the main street stranded for over 2 hours was not part of our vacation. Everything else was perfect. 01 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Housekeeping/Umbrella Charges My adult daughter and I had a wonderful week on the beach, at The Intercontinental, relaxing. However, when we checked into our room, there was a dirty sock on the floor, and a towel rolled up at the bottom of the door that was between our room, and the room next door. The dirty sock was really unacceptable, and disgusting. I asked to be switched to another room, and I was informed that there were no rooms to switch to, and that someone would check the room. I found this hard to believe, as the hotel seemed very quiet, as it is the middle of June, not exactly a big tourist time for Puerto Rico. The woman at the desk offered me a $50.00 credit. Went back to the room, the sock was removed. The towels were scarce. Everyday, we had to call housekeeping and ask for more towels. Everyday, they told me they would take care of it for the rest of our stay. They never did. Toilet paper holder was broken, and it was very hard to flush the toilet. The beach was beautiful, but I have never been to a resort that charges $10.00 a day for a beach umbrella. On top of that charge, of course, it is a few extra dollars to tip the person putting up the umbrella. As a guest of the hotel, I would assume that beach umbrellas would be included. Brunch was very mediocre. We have previously stayed at another hotel in Puerto Rico several times, and the brunch at the Intercontinental didn't come close. The grounds are nice, the pool is nice, and the lobby is nice, but with all of the above, we will not be returning to this hotel. 30 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience Overall we had a great experience at this hotel. We had a few minor issues-- a phone not working in the room, needing to ask housekeeping a few times for robes, a front desk check-in person who was not very friendly, limited TV channels in the room-- World Cup soccer was playing and we could only watch some of the games from the hotel bar.. But, these were not issues that concerned us greatly and we were more than happy with the rest of the hotel-- beautiful grounds, rooms were large, very clean, and very comfortable, and the pools and beach were great. Room prices were good and contributed to our decision to stay there. We often ate at the small bars scattered through the complex and had great, casual, meals. Our only bigger issue was that 2 of our group have celiac disease and we found it difficult to find gluten-free food options. But, this is a common problem. We would recommend that hotel to friends and would happily stay there again. 30 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall good experience Overall experience, it was good. Bathroom need proper cleaning prior to the next guest arriving. Surroundings are safe and clean. 30 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by General Evaluation -Elevators were extremely slow; only two working over the entire 10 days -checkin process took over 20 minutes standing in line; need more front desk people -Housekeeping did not leave coffee, cream, sugar 5 different times; went to cart and retrieved my self -Bed was extremely comfortable along with pillows -For business people, they should be grouped in a same area or floor, as vacationers come and go at all hours, and slamming doors disturb sleep 30 June 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>
San Juan
  • 5961 Isla Verde Avenue
  • San Juan , 00979
  • Puerto Rico
  • Front Desk +1-787-7916100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Dutch , Portuguese

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except for service animals.
  • Local Time

    7:19 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      4:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 12 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs