Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 688 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel except... HOW IS THIS SUCH A GREAT HOTEL WITH NO MICROWAVES IN THE ROOM?! Woooow! Besides the super small bathroom where the door hits you if you are sitting on the toilet, the lack of microwave was the biggest inconvenience. This was our honeymoon and we loved our view from the top floor, loved the bed ;) loved the pool area and the hotel was very nice. But who wants to spend money constantly getting new food when we can warm up our leftovers. They won't even let you use their microwave unless you bought their overpriced food. Luckily the stores across the street are open late or even 24 hours. That helped... and the fridge helped stock up on liquor (even though it wasn't cleaned when we checked in). The staff sent us complimentary wine and strawberries...it kind of surprised me because some of them seemed to have dry attitudes. Although I wish it wasn't Chardonnay, we appreciated the gesture:) The valet and front door guys were very sweet and polite. The super slow elevators are also a bummer especially when you are 16 floors up! At the price, I'd expect a bigger bathroom, a microwave and an elevator that actually goes to my floor (because sometimes it wouldn't go up to 16...Im speaking of the middle elevator actually). All in all our visit to PR was VERY nice, we had fun. UPGRADE SOME THINGS and we would be happy to come back and stay here again in the future. 09 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Environment Overall experience at the Intercontinental was great. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Everything seemed well kept. Restaurants were good - no complaints except a little pricey but that is to be expected on an island. Elevators were slow as they were working on them but tolerable. Only real area of concern was that when we made the reservations, we made it a point to request a 12th floor or higher oceanfront room. We even called a couple of times prior to arrival. Once we checked in, they told us that the highest floor available was the 10th floor. It wasn't an issue but outside of all the requests that were made prior to visit, I'm not really sure what else we could have done to reserve the higher floor. Other area that could be improved is internet access to guests via the business center should be complimentary and not at a cost. Pool bar was fantastic - beach area was fantastic. 09 July 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by disappointed bathroom had large amounts of hair all over bathroom floor had to place bath towels on floor just to walk in. unacceptable. Ordered room service ,Phone rang about 10 minutes before anyone would pick up . Food was inedible. Pool area well maintained and beautifully landscaped 09 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Concierge! Nestor, the head concierge, made all of our wishes come true. He is the best! The trip would not have been complete without his assistance. Also, the Hotel does not promote that they provide for dinner on the beach but it was fantastic! 08 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beach!! I stood at the Intercontinental from 06/29/14-07/03/14. First of all, the resort is like 5-7 minutes away from the airport by taxi. Taxi ran $13.00 each way so it was very affordable. Among checking in, I had absolutely no problem in checking in. Everything was fairly fast. I got basic free wifi from the hotel which wasn't always reliable but it certainly helped out with the kids IPADs. In my opinion, this resort is more for families or like a relaxing geataway. My room was good but with a city view, and the bathroom wasn't the best but it wasn't bad at all.. We were on the 14th floor. Elevators take forever. There wasn't too many acitvities happening at the pool, the music wasn't really existent unless you were at the bar. However, the grounds were well kept, and the beach was steps away from the pool area. There are jet skis rentals immediately on the beach. On day 3 and 4 I rented a car from AVIS which is literally inside the hotel! Couldn't be better than that. Maria at AVIS was a sweetheart! She recommended several places in the area. Across the street is a market place for quick snacks and down the street is a Walgreens. There is also a Chili's within two blocks. We tried this one bakery by the expressway which served breakfast, lunch and dinner and it was amazing! A hambuger and a drink will run you 20.00 at the hotel. Ded at the bar was also very helpful with suggesting activities in the surrounding areas. Ok then we went to EL Yunque, Laguna Grande Kayak tour, and OLD San Juan. All of that was amazing! I would definitely come back again... The people of Puerto Rico are sweet. 07 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Juan, PR I would like to recommend the Intercontinental Hotel because of the location, staff, and quality of the hotel. It is on the strip with all of the other hotels. The big difference for me is the beach and pool service. 05 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Warm welcoming staff and great hotel, loved the beach area, pool and fitness center. 05 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not at an Intercontinental Level First at all, I love to travel, I have stayed at several IHG Hotels, I think a hotel is merely for sleeping when you are on vacations and I only pay outrageous prices when it is worth it. (Awesome service, amenities, food, my wife is happy with the overall experience, etc) Have in mind that this IC is not like IC Cairo, Panama or any other nice looking IC in the world. It might have been a nice hotel when it was new but now it looks that they are kind of forgetting about it and they are just patching it. (We looked through our balcony and the bricks on the first floor's roof were falling off) and it is located in a public beach, sadly we did not google this before booking :( The personnel was so nice and friendly and the guy at the trattoria also helped us with our baby's birthday (this was the only time we ate here), this is the only thing we liked, having said this, the cons are: - Eventho you pay a service free for gym, towels, chairs, etc. The daily use of umbrellas is not included. - Like any resort, overall, prices are much higher than crossing the street even for a happy hour. - There is no shuttle to/from the airport eventho is "around the corner." (Did I mention we paid a service fee per night?). - There was a charge for a shelter/charity program for every night on our bill which I declined because I was not asked if I wanted to donate. - The toilet was not completely clean, the toilet paper holder was falling off and when I asked for a mini-fridge (which was supposed to be included) I got one that had rusty spots, they then replaced it. - I had to take my master's exam online and I had to bring my laptop and tablet because the price if you want to use the PC is outrageous. (Needed internet). - We have to change our wrist band every day to use the chairs. Overall, if we ever decide to go to PR again, we would not stay here. 03 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxation at its best Hotel has lush well manicured landscape, lovely lobby, huge relaxing rooms, amazing asian restaurant, beautiful beach, and the friendliest staff who take pride in their hotel and their work. Good job everyone 01 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly personnel We are very happy with our stay at the Invercontinental hotel. The Concierge was extremely nice. The only suggestion I have that we were there for San Juan Day. No one told us that the locals go to the beach. We went to Old San Juan and took us over 2 hours to get back to the hotel. We left the hotel room after 6:00pm. We got back to the hotel around 11:30pm. We found a flyer in the room letting us know about San Juan Day that was placed under the door after 6:00pm on the day of. My suggestion is that this notice should be given to the customers the previous day or in the morning of San Juan Day, but not after 6:00pm on the day of. We are on vacation and every second count. Being on the main street stranded for over 2 hours was not part of our vacation. Everything else was perfect. 01 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Housekeeping/Umbrella Charges My adult daughter and I had a wonderful week on the beach, at The Intercontinental, relaxing. However, when we checked into our room, there was a dirty sock on the floor, and a towel rolled up at the bottom of the door that was between our room, and the room next door. The dirty sock was really unacceptable, and disgusting. I asked to be switched to another room, and I was informed that there were no rooms to switch to, and that someone would check the room. I found this hard to believe, as the hotel seemed very quiet, as it is the middle of June, not exactly a big tourist time for Puerto Rico. The woman at the desk offered me a $50.00 credit. Went back to the room, the sock was removed. The towels were scarce. Everyday, we had to call housekeeping and ask for more towels. Everyday, they told me they would take care of it for the rest of our stay. They never did. Toilet paper holder was broken, and it was very hard to flush the toilet. The beach was beautiful, but I have never been to a resort that charges $10.00 a day for a beach umbrella. On top of that charge, of course, it is a few extra dollars to tip the person putting up the umbrella. As a guest of the hotel, I would assume that beach umbrellas would be included. Brunch was very mediocre. We have previously stayed at another hotel in Puerto Rico several times, and the brunch at the Intercontinental didn't come close. The grounds are nice, the pool is nice, and the lobby is nice, but with all of the above, we will not be returning to this hotel. 30 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience Overall we had a great experience at this hotel. We had a few minor issues-- a phone not working in the room, needing to ask housekeeping a few times for robes, a front desk check-in person who was not very friendly, limited TV channels in the room-- World Cup soccer was playing and we could only watch some of the games from the hotel bar.. But, these were not issues that concerned us greatly and we were more than happy with the rest of the hotel-- beautiful grounds, rooms were large, very clean, and very comfortable, and the pools and beach were great. Room prices were good and contributed to our decision to stay there. We often ate at the small bars scattered through the complex and had great, casual, meals. Our only bigger issue was that 2 of our group have celiac disease and we found it difficult to find gluten-free food options. But, this is a common problem. We would recommend that hotel to friends and would happily stay there again. 30 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall good experience Overall experience, it was good. Bathroom need proper cleaning prior to the next guest arriving. Surroundings are safe and clean. 30 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by General Evaluation -Elevators were extremely slow; only two working over the entire 10 days -checkin process took over 20 minutes standing in line; need more front desk people -Housekeeping did not leave coffee, cream, sugar 5 different times; went to cart and retrieved my self -Bed was extremely comfortable along with pillows -For business people, they should be grouped in a same area or floor, as vacationers come and go at all hours, and slamming doors disturb sleep 30 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 1st Time in San Juan We really enjoyed our stay at the InterCon San Juan. The valet employees were very kind. We borrowed an umbrella from them because of the rain. The Avis right inside the lobby area was a big life saver for us. The lady there was extremely friendly. We were upgraded to the club level with breakfast. The breakfast items were OK, just the usual items you would see in a 4 or 5 star hotel. There were snacks all day long - peanuts, coffee, tea, hot water, cookies and etc. We didn't have time to enjoy the cocktails at night. My only concern was the Front Desk employees. I went to the desk three times, and talked to the same agent. She was knowledgable but never smiled to me. I just felt that I was bothering her. Overall, I would like to return to the hotel. It is bit further away from the Old San Juan, as compared to the Condado area. 29 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It was fabulous We have stayed here before but I have to say that this was the best stay ever. We have to thank Irene for taking care of our room upgrade and making sure everyone was happy, she is so kind and friendly and took time to converse with us. Our room was lovely, no noise from the pool area and we could not have been happier Our only complaint was the $350 meal for 4 plus a chid at the Italian restaurant that was very disappointing . The web site says you will be greeted with a glass of prosecco before being seated ( which we were not) and they have a 7 at 7 deal but when we asked about it we where pretty much ignored . As if they didn't want us to order anything that was discounted We were the only table in the restaurant but the service was atrocious and the food was overpriced and mediocre almost like it was microwaved. It was made up by a bottle of champagne and other goodies after it was mentioned in the coffee bar/ wine bar the next day We would like to say a big thank you to Ded and Pedro at the pool who were brilliant thanks so much, the Postans and the Holidays 29 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by BEAUTIFUL EXPERIENCE! Had a unforgettable experience. Can't wait to return. Loved the property. Staff was wonderful. 28 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by From the moment we drove up! Very friendly staff, the valet is superb and a friendly greeting at the door. Fast check in, bags delivered to our room quickly. If you have a car, recommend using a valet since the self park across the street looked congested. A no brainier, scan our valet card and our car was waiting! The concierge staff was helpful. Ate out most of the time and the convenience store across the street is where you can stock up with snacks and drinks. The happy hour prices with drinks and appetizers was not too bad. The pool and beach access was great and experienced watching Soccer in the pool bar. The room was quiet. Was concerned being close to the elevators but wasn't disturbed. I chose this property because of the IHG property and being a member made checking in and check out a breeze. 28 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by awesome vacation experience We loved the Intercontinental in San Juan. We felt like the we got great value for the money here. We stayed in a Club room, which was nice and quiet with access to breakfast and cocktails. The cocktail hour food was delicious! The pool and beach area attached to the hotel are first rate also. We played in the casino as well, not the most exciting casino I've ever been to, but nice enough. 27 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fun and enjoyable stay We happened to stay at the Intercontinental on June 23, the day when a local tradition, "Noche de San Juan" (The eve of St John the Baptist Day) is celebrated. in Puerto Rico. It involves walking into the ocean backwards and plunging backwards a number of times at the stroke of midnight. The hotel prepared well for the festivity to ensure the guests had a safe, fun and memorable experience. They had beach towels handy, they had security around the premises, a well lit beach front, DJ music and count down to the midnight event, and ater guests came back from the ocean, the pool area was open with warm water and plenty of chaises for people to continue partying. They also warned the guests beforehand about the potential noise late at night. It was thoughtful and respectful of local tradition.My family enjoyed it. 26 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Vacation Nice place to get away and relax. Great Staff and attentive to your needs. Lots of local attractions nearby the Hotel 26 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A breeze in SJ Great location and excellent rooms. Giant bath towels a special extra. Special gift for ambassadors. Several events held but did not eliminate options for dining and outdoor activities. 26 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Pluses and Minuses Minuses: paper thin walls or extremely loud neighbors...asked for a new quiet room and woman got us one - right next to elevator! Speaking of elevators - abysmally slow. Pool needs round the clock cleaning given plant life dropping their contents all day. Bartenders at pool will ignore you unless you're a regular. Pluses: most of staff was nice. Free breakfast. Store across the street. Food options nearby. Room was fine. 26 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mr. Great service. Outstanding facility and personnel. 26 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Time of my life I could never get back This was actually a beautiful well located property, however there were some annoying circumstances. First and formost was the check-in.......you normally get in before but after you wait on a long line and do check in why in the world would they call you to again get on the same longer line to obtain the keys? Then after you 've gotten the keys you spend the duration of the stay standing at the elevator or walking up and down stairs. I actually had anxiety attacks coming in and out of my 9th floor room. The staff was very hospitable but the overall experience was an epic failure. I would have expected a better bang for my buck. 26 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful staff Had a wonderful time, in particular, the staff made it a very enjoyable experience. The seem very proud of their resort and the surrounding area. Very friendly and helpful. 25 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Setting ! Great Hotel Definitely a welcoming hotel. From the very beginning. Location is ideal, By the sea and yet close to everything you may need! 24 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our stay was wonderful and enjoyable I myself have been in other hotels and this one by far is the best and when I come back I will always return to this one . 24 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by internet internet tiene bajo rango de alcance, deberian mejorarlo 23 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I love the treatment by the Conference Rooms Manager Outstanding, great service, friendly and competent, I have a meeting with representatives of the Boys Scouts of America, the Hotel offered the facilities for the meeting, i am grateful. We were offered a nice conference room, we order room service, coffee, drinks and food, the service was first class, the manager went out of his way to be helpful, I felt welcome and my visitors too. 22 June 2014
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 24 next>>

InterContinental San Juan

  • 5961 Isla Verde Avenue
  • San Juan , 00979
  • Puerto Rico
  • Front Desk +1-787-7916100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Dutch , Portuguese

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except for service animals.
  • Local Time

    3:03 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      4:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 12 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs