Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Sydney

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 701 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly atmosphere and wonderful service From the moment we walked into the hotel we were greeted and made to feel welcome. We enjoyed all the facilities of the intercontinental and spent many hours in the club lounge soaking up the spectacular views of the harbour and 5 star guest service. A truly memorable experience and one we wish to repeat time and time again. 27 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Sydney InterCon currently on a high We have stayed at the Sydney InterContinental at least once a year for over 20 years, mainly because of its location and good (not excellent) Sydney Harbour views. Over this time we have experienced highs and lows - things change in the hotel business and this hotel is no exception. Over many of the past years we have been annoyed and frustrated by arrogant reception staff and billing errors (always favouring the hotel) on almost every visit. We were often electronically locked out of our room well before checkout time. We are delighted to report that on this visit, there has been a major change. Reception staff were delightful, the bill aligned with our contractual expectations and we always had room access. Right now the Sydney InterContinental is on a high. Apart from a reception experience that is now welcoming, the offering in the InterContinental Club lounge on the roof (with a view to kill for) has now changed, mostly for the better. Evening cocktails once consisted of poorly prepared canapes, handed out very sparingly as if they were caviar, served by an inadequate detail of sexily clad women - nice to look at but (deliberately?) slow to serve. This has been replaced by a self-serve food bar. Food quality is nothing special but at least there is good variety. Staff are now clothed in "hotel ware" and are discreet and reasonably prompt with serving drinks. The Hotel has had a fixation for many years with serving low-quality Bimbadgen sparkling wine in the Club room. This is a very poor choice and I suspect it is supplied free by the winery as a promotional gimmick. Not good enough. We took to bringing our own sparkling white on the second evening of our stay - dare I say it, an $8 Omni! Cheap wine, but far better than the house sparkles. Other wines in the Club were also disappointing. Please take note, InterCon, and examine the Club's wine slate. The good news is that beer and cocktail offerings were OK and appealingly served in quality glassware. Personally, we were happy with the self-serve drinks bar that was offered when the Club first opened. In those days, wine quality was better and staff were freed up to simply clear tables - thereby probably reducing labour costs, which are high in Sydney. Breakfast in the Club room was its usual excellent self-serve presentation with plenty of variety. My favourite, the smoked salmon with trimmings, was all there as usual. If the hotel really wanted to excel,. it could acquire some of the excellent Australian double-smoked salmon product from brands such as Harris or Springs, rather than the somewhat bland production-line smoked salmon that is all too common these days. We were lucky with the weather at breakfast time. It was a warm, sunny morning for us and we chose the corner table on the outside balcony with a 270 degree panorama of Sydney to contemplate - while downing that salmon! Guest rooms were last refurbished about 10 years ago and are still in adequate shape but will probably start to look tired within the next year or two. Bed linen etc was in good condition. The mini bar doesn't have any of the infuriating electronic payment wizardry that is used in other hotels and there is room in the refrigerator to chill your own off-premise purchases. Bathrooms are small by modern standards with the shower above the bath, similar to a cheap Australian motel. Bathroom amenities are good quality. Towels etc were fresh. Internet is way over-priced. We relied on our 4G hotspot. (There is free WiFi and a couple of guest PCs with printers in the Club room.) Foreign visitors could consider buying a 3G or 4G prepaid device, with 5 GB of data, from a nearby phone shop for less than the cost of 2 days of the hotel's internet. Etch Restaurant, located just inside the main street entrance of the hotel, was closed, apparently for good - with a threatening note written by an accounting firm on the restaurant door. Not a good look for a top hotel. Right now there is no high-end restaurant within the hotel so bear this in mind if you are planning to entertain friends in-house. Sydney InterCon pricing is sky high, even by Sydney norms, and substantially above its direct, equivalent competition. The hotel is good, but given its age (built in the late 60s or early 70s?) the pricing is somewhat out of whack. Overall, an enjoyable stay on this occasion - especially due to the major improvement in staff attention and attitude, principally at the reception desk and in the Club. 27 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by PERFECTION The staff make you feel very important on arrival. Reception was excellent and all staff encountered were well mannered and gave the impression of enjoying being there. The rooms were ample and views spectacular. Would recommend the Opera view to take in the view to the heads. Ambassador Club Membership is very worthwhile and the guaranteed upgrades are special. 26 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Escape Had such a lovely stay we are coming back again in 2 weeks as a pre-Christmas getaway :) 26 November 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by A different experience Not sure if I'm spoiled by spending time in Melbourne at The Rialto but I was disappointed by my trip to Sydney InterCon. When checking in I was unable to get an ambassador upgrade so was told to come back later to arrange it. Wasn't an issue as I had meetings to attend however my eventual room either wasn't an upgrade or the original room would have been very very small. Club lounge views are amazing however 30 minutes until I was offered a drink was way to long. It felt like an impersonal stay at a hotel rather than the usual warm and friendly experience I usually get in Melbourne so was glad it was just an overnight trip this time. 25 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My once a year treat Once a year my husband and I ( from Penrith) treat ourself 's to the Intercontinental for our anniversary, (44 yrs) the location is perfect we love the views, the 2 pm late check out is great, this year we enjoyed David Campbell in the Park. We always buy the Priority privilege card, and this year two of our friends were able to enjoy the stay as well. The staff is what you would expect, they are "waiting for you", to carry your bags to help at the desk in the lifts. The Food is an experience's we look forward to I recommend you read the books in the room and see the effort that goes into the buying of local and the best produce. No complaints here. Look forward to linking up a good show and good friends next year. Thank you Intercontinental Concerur for my E-mail of the things to see and do around Sydney this was appreciated. 25 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, great location Our stay at the Intercontinental in Sydney was a real pleasure. The staff were very helpful and showed a keeness to anticipate our needs. There is always a professional air about the way each member of staff goes about their business. We also loved the location being so close to the harbour and the CBD. 25 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great view The room was great with fabulous views.However there were some issues. The refridgerator was practically turned off which meant nothing was cold. If they wanted us to have an expensive drink from the mini-bar they certainly were not doing themselves any favour. There was a suspect mark on the bathroom door jam which,I suspect, being a nurse was blood!! I cleaned it off but I should have reported it. Overall the stay was nice as we had a free night and the position of the hotel is perfect. 25 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay with Wonderful Staff The Staff of the Sydney InterContinental make the hotel. Kate in reception is great, along with Zaf at Conciere. Good people that have the Guest at heart. Location is great next to the Botanical Garden and a few steep away from the warf and opera house. Good place with great people! S 24 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Experience We stayed in a King Club Room with fantastic views of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. The whole experience started when we pulled up in our car. The staff are very attentive and willing to engage enough without being pushy. Nothing is too much trouble. The staff make this a great place to stay. The room was very well appointed and comfortable. The club room on the 31st floor is well worth the money and again the staff make this a great place. We also ate at Cafe Opera. The food was very nice. We will definitely be back. 23 November 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by poor service level Staff is not proactively providing service and help. Room service is expensive than average but with lower quality. 22 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best of Sydney There is no doubt the Intercontinental is the destination of choice in Sydney. It is a very classy hotel as one would expect, with 5-star facilities and world-class views, but it is the people who raise it to a memorable experience. Apart from the check-in lady wanting a photo ID from me because she had not checked me in previously (I don't carry such ID in my own country), every member of the team was flawless in their courtesy and kindness. In particular the Club staff have reached a new level where they smile with their eyes while personally engaging guests to ensure every need is met. The Concierge Desk is a font of knowledge and there are 2 staff with the Clef D'Ors, which is a testament to their quality. This is our favourite destination in Sydney and we will be back as soon as we can. It is one of the world's great inner-city hotels. 22 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Car Access Staff excellent, especially in the concierge/car parking attendants. I had to get things out and put things in the car at different times during my stay and the staff very extremely helpful. 21 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Luxury and a great location Wow if you want to spoil yourself go to The Intercontinental Hotel. The staff are so customer focussed, nothiing is too much trouble. They anticpate your needs, luggage, transport all taken care of. The breakky is scrumptious, staff professional and unobtrusive. The accomodation is luxurious, plenty of space and understated elegance. Room service very efficient. I was impressed when I requested the Concierge book a greek rstaurant in the city. He was unable to book the particular restaurant. A message was on my voicemail and within one hour a typed response in my room! This also contained other suggestions for consideration. Thoroughly enjoyed myself and would not hesitate to stay again! 19 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Oct / Nov 2012 The Sydney Intercontinental is a beautiful hotel with a wonderful attentive staff in a prime Sydney location. The only negative my wife and I found with this hotel is the WiFi service which had limited service and bandwidth for an expensive price. 19 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 4 day stay in Sydney Intercontinental is a top quality hotel located strategically near the Circular Quay and all downtown attractions. It's on the 555 "free" shuttle bus line that travels to most preferred locations. Superior rooms, meal offerings and staff is excellent. Price is in line with Sydney range. Fitness Center is well equipped and clean. all positive attributes! 17 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Stay Just wanted to say a few words about our stay in Sydney at the Inter Continental Hotel. What a beautiful, stylish hotel. Lovely, clean rooms, with beautiful views. Staff were great and it's so handy to everything. My family and I will definitely stay there again. Loved it! 16 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great views! Great stay. I have now been thoroughly converted to an Intercontinental fan. I find the staff very friendly, helpful and sincerely interested in their guests - that's rather rare these days! The rooms are great and the harbour views wonderful. The beds are really comfortable. The executive club has been a great bonus on the occasions I have used it and I look forward to my next stay to enjoy evening drinks and then the magnificent view at breakfast time. I also enjoy eating in the Cortile and the two for one glass of Champagne offer. But it is the great location and convenience that initially drew us here and will keep us coming back. It is so close to the Opera House, Botantic Gardens and all the activity of the Quay and only a short walk up into town for retail therapy too. Thanks for a great place to stay! 16 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Instant Service I was very impressed with the staff who manned the instant service (excuse me if I call this service incorrectly). My luggage went missing for half an hour (it was delivered to the wrong room - just next door!) and I felt a bit annoyed. But the quick-thinking staff member on that day offered me free internet connection when I rang, quite separately from the lost luggage incident, to get wifi service in my room. Everyone likes freebies, I admit, but when they are delivered appropriately they could help dissipate dissatisfaction and annoyance, like in my case. Also when I tried to contact Priority Privilege Program and they emailed me and the hotel some documents, printouts of the documents were delivered in my room straight away. I was able to take advantage of the discount offered because of the assistance. Thank you. 15 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Club lounge Your staff in the club lounge are just excellent.Polite,caring,interested in their guests,beautifully attired,and so helpful in every way.Your other staff are great as well but the people in club just go the extra mile. They make one fell like one belongs. Very well done!! 15 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice rooms and great service Very nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Only downfall is lack of nice views from a lot of the rooms due to other tall buildings blocking the view. 12 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location for visiting perfectly located in Sydney room quite old fashion reception hostess really knowledgeable and carefull 11 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a great stay Always stay here on business. This is a reliable and good hotel and know that I'm going to have a great stay. Full marks to the valet parking attendant who always recognises me now and talks to me when I turn up to stay. 08 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Stay We stayed at the Intercontinental - Sydney Oct 27 - 29, 2012 and it was just perfect. Ideally located for walking to the Sydney Opera House and Botanical Gardens and Harbour. Our room had a beautiful view and the beds were oh so comfy ( even the pillows ! ) which made for a very restful night's sleep. All of the staff were very friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. Our buffet breakfast was quite tasty with plenty of choice and everything was fresh. We enjoyed drinks and sharing platters at the downstairs bar with comfortable seating and a nice atmosphere. A must do at the hotel is to have a drink at the roof top bar with just amazing views of the Bridge, Opera House and Harbour. A very enjoyable stay indeed :) Thank you ! 05 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely room with two double beds. Beds seemed to be a bit tired and had a bad ag on side that most people sit and/or get in. A great deal from ICH under the staff promotion deal. I have syayed at this hotel quite a few times in the past as QANTAS aircrew and have always enjoyed it. Many thanks. 05 November 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Incorrect billing As a Gold Ambassador member, I was extremely disappointed that my bill calculation was incorrect. This was brought to the attention of staff, and my final bill was still incorrect. To finish off my stay on this note is a HUGE disappointment. 04 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Intercontinental Sydney The property is well located in Sydney and is a great location to meet people in.The building may well be old but it has character and the rooms are still in good condition. It is disappointing that there is only one bar area to use if you dont have a club room and this means you have to leave the hotel to get some variety and enjoy the evenings if you are on a long stay like I was. The other point is that if you are a Priority Club holder you only get 2000 points for the stay irrespective of the length.We had 2 rooms for 6 nights and weren't made aware of this and it leaves a sour taste in the mouth 03 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic service and great location We has a fantastic time staying at the Intercontinental Sydney, the service was amazing, the location was great, and it was a fantastic base to see Sydney out of. 03 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and service We loved our stay here and found everything to be all we expected and more. The location is fantastic, only a short walk into the city and trains and ferrys just down the street. All the staff were very friendly and helped out in any way they could. I was unwell one night and was most grateful for the help I received in the middle of the night, they also booked me a Dr's appointment early the following morning. The concierge was very helpful with his knowledge and booking our resevations and tour. We splashed out and had a club room and really enjoyed all the drinks, nibbles and view from the top floor, I would recomend this hotel and would love to come back again. 02 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by beautiful views Our room had stunning views of the harbour which we loved waking up to every morning. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room very clean. The hotel's location is excellent. A short walk to catch ferries, buses and to The Rocks. Our only complaint was that we wanted to leave the hotel a day earlier than we had booked and paid for to travel to The Hunter Valley but were refused a refund for that night as we had booked our stay on a special rate. Overall it was a very pleasant experience. 31 October 2012
<<prev 21 22 23 24 25 next>>
Sydney
  • 117 Macquarie Street
  • Sydney , 2000
  • Australia
  • Front Desk +61-2-92539000

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, Czech, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Dutch , Polish, Portuguese, Serbian, Turkish, Chinese

Pet Policy

No pets please, guide dogs exempted.
  • Local Time

    2:20 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM

    Currency

    • Australian Dollar $ (AUD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 3 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking