Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Sydney

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 513 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Experience, don't want to repeat Never ever had such poor experience in an IHG hotel. Never felt like a loyal member of IHG. While checking in I had to remind Jenny at the reception that I have a membership. Looks like she never felt like treating me as a Gold member. Waited for 3 hours to get my room. I was told the rooms are there, it's just housekeeping and inspection of the room that took 3 hours. My worst experience so far in an IHG. On my second day, the house keeping decided to keep two bottles of red wines and cookies in my room and decided to charge my account for that!! How Bizarre!! Poor House keeping staff. Don't even bother to keep a bottle of water in the room!! Don't want to repeat this experience! My membership number 434820840 18 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic staff I've stayed in many hotels with 4-5 stars, and this has really been one of the best. The staff are amazing! Very responsive to your needs, willing to do their best, and always a pleasant attitude. From check-in to check-out we felt like VIPs. Even though we did have one unfortunate accident by losing a credit card down the elevator shaft, they sent someone down there, retrieved it, and returned it within a few hours. Unbelievable. I highly recommend the hotel, not only for the comfort level, but also for the treatment you will receive. 17 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic all round I've travelled a fair bit and the service we received at this hotel was by far the best I've experienced. Clean, comfortable, helpful without being pushy, great food and service - you can tell that each employee takes pride and care in their work. They listen, they notice and they remember. And thanks for going to the extra effort to leave something nice in my room for my birthday. 15 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful experience Greeted by very warm and friendly staff. Arrived early and happily given early check in as room was available. Much appreciated. Great position. Very comfortable rooms and great outlook. Thank you Intercontinental. 13 January 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Average experience at great location Being a Platinum Member of the IHG Rewards club I spend a lot of time in the IHG chain and usually have a great experience. This time the Sydney Intercontinental disappointed. I made the booking direct with Intercontinental and used points a one and paid for 2 following nights. When making the booking I was assured that the booking would be linked and that although I couldn't book the same standard room with points (why can't they have increase points for different rooms?????) I would be upgraded because of my Platinum status so we will end up with the same room. At check in I am told that the two bookings weren't linked and that we will need to check out and check back in after the first night. We I asked why I was not upgraded the reception staff informed me that they don't upgrade Platinum members at their hotel. (Always get upgraded at the Intercontinental Melbourne). Understand that they may have rules for their hotel but the booking team need to also know them. Apart from the Bell captain and his staff who were really switch on, the rest of the experience lacked the "CARE" for us as guests of the hotel. Disappointing for a hotel that in the past has been OK. Will find another hotel in Sydney that cares the next time I travel there for pleasure and save my IHG rewards club points for the Intercontinental Melbourne where the service and staff are outstanding. 12 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely as always Good value and reliable service. Great when you've got other things to think about than the hotel you are staying in! 12 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Frequent customer I chose to stay at the Intercontinental as the quality and service is superb regardless of what the going room rate is at the time of my booking. If you want excellent five star service then the Intercontinental Hotel is the way to go! 11 January 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Ambassador walking away This trip was very disappointing, to the degree where I will now move my loyalty to another hotel. I took this trip with my family and felt from the beginning that the hotel considered us a burden. On arrival our room was not available. We were slightly ahead of the three pm check in time so I accepted that we needed to wait. We went for a walk and were told the hotel would call when the room was ready. An hour later and no call. When I went to the desk I was told that a VIP guest had not vacated so the room wasn't ready and would need to be cleaned. No apology for not calling. Eventually we got shoved into another room. The girl on reception aggressively told me my ambassador status had lapsed so no room upgrade, no help, no consideration. By the way, the last time it was due I was told on arrival at the hotel in Wellington and they fixed it up then and there. No offer to do so this time. When we got to our room it was fine but the hotel is beginning to show its age. That night it took 4 phone calls and a lot of waiting to get the camp bed for my son. No apology when it arrived, an hour late for my sons bedtime. The rest of the trip was ok, but the food is average and expensive. I'm pretty sure the salt and pepper squid in the Cortile was to blame for an upset stomach for two of us. The whole thing was unsatisfactory. I travel every couple of weeks with work and will be putting my loyalty into another program. 10 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing holiday I highly recommend the Opera House view rooms. Watching the ferries and cruise ships was entertaining. 09 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ok but a bit of a disappointment Our stay at the Intercontinental was perfectly acceptable but not the 5 star experience we were hoping for. The room and bathroom were tired in places. Staff were very helpful and reception area lovely. The breakfast was probably one of the highlights with a good selection. We have however stayed at other well known luxury hotels in the area and found they were closer to the 5 star experience we'd expected. So we probably won't stay again. 09 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Stay I found the IHC Sydney an enjoyable experience however noticed that the bathroom in my room was getting on a bit and probably should be looked at. In relation to being a gold ambassador there are certain entitlements which you would feel should automatically happen. Not that it was much of an issue but for the 2 days stay I didn't get a paper delivered. Overall though it was a good experience and the breakfast was done very well. 08 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful experience and just what we needed We had a wonderful time at the intercontinental, we had just moved house and were in desperate need of a break. From the moment we walked through the door our break began with wonderful staff, the offer of an extended checkout time, great food, and a beautiful room! 08 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Place A Perfect place to stay. Many thanks to the kind staffs who made our stay a memorable one! 06 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and great location We visited at New Year's so it was very busy. However the concierge was very helpful in getting us reservations for dinner and directing us to viewing of the fireworks. Breakfast was delightful and had items that suited me and my vegetarian son. 05 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas in Sydney Our stay at the Intercontinential Sydney has been exceptional. We were celebrating Christmas, NYE and a birthday. The staff is 'over the top' with service and support. From the check in at the front desk, to getting info at concierge to explore or find a great restaurant or room service for ice they all provide a smile and williningness to make your experience amazing. If you get a chance to get a club room it is more than worth it. The views are amazing and it is so pleasant to enjoy the view while sipping on a glass of Australian wine! I loved my visit #9 days at the hotel# and would return in a minute! thank you for a terrific experience 05 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The Hotel was amazing and the service impeccable, Thanks for a memorable New Years Eve ! 04 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dr The room had a very comfortable bed and good pillows. The view over the gardens and the harbour wonderful. An update to TV channel selections would be good. To be able to view Sky Racing in the room would certainly be a plus. The availability of good fresh seafood in the hotel apart from the Café Opera is practically non existent. 03 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by very small swimming pool the hotel is very old especially the bathroom. the shower curtain is disgusting.The swimming pool is very small and busy. As a guest of the hotel and priority club member, you are not allowed to enjoy the few from the top level as this is for members of intercontinental hotels only. Although the food was very delicious, My wife had a peace of plastic in hear burger. think about other options before you stay at the hotel. cheers 02 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Back Again Enjoyed a club room on the 30 floor nice view of eastern harbour. Club Lounge has the best veiw in Sydney of the Harbour. Very profeesional and friendly staff working in the lounge. Cant wait to return. 02 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful location - great property Amazing view onto Circular Quay and the Royal Botanical Garden, paired with a great value for money right in the heart of Sydney. Will come back for sure and can highly recommend. 01 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and hospitality We stayed for two nights and had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Although we did not get our favorite room position on the north corner (2023, 2123, 2523) this time,the room we did have #1926 was similar and adequate but not as spacious feeling as the corner rooms. Hopefully next time we plan another getaway in the city, our choice for the corner room will happen. The service personnel were superb and helpful. Thank you! 31 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ambassador Club The fact that the Ambassador Club membership was not honoured except when you booked a "special" room or rate, was not impressive. 30 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Incorrect room We have stayed at the Intercontinental Sydney aprox 10 times in the past 5 years and always booked a suite. Our experience was always very good. We planned to stay over Christmas this year and asked our daughter, son in law and granddaughter to spend Boxing Day with us. We thought we had booked a suite for this occasion several months previous. We confirmed this stay while in house in November asking at the main desk to please check the dates of our stay and the room that was booked was a harbour view suite and we're assured that all was correct. On arrival on the 24th Dec. we were told that we were to be given a standard room. When queried we were told that nothing could be done. We were forced to cancel our day with our kids due to lack of room and we're luckily asked to our son in laws parents place instead. A really disappointing stay all round. Unfortunately your comformation email does not show the type of room that has been booked. 30 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bernie This hotel exceeds all our expectations for the professionalism and willingness to help from all staff we encountered. The only flaw is the charge for internet. The lowliest cafe down the street would give you free wi-fi just by buying a cup of coffee, Some towns/cities have street-wide free coverage. yet you charge $25.00 for 1 day. It is unbecoming. 30 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location, location, location We have a bias towards staying at Intercontinental to be sure of satisfaction, and Sydney does not disappoint. First thing what stands out above all previous experiences is location - 10 mins walk to Opera House, 15 mins walk to major shopping area, Botanical Gardens across the road. We paid extra for view of Opera House - expensive but worth it. Second thing that stands out is the professionalism of the concieige services - they are totally committed to ensure your stay is enjoyable - No1 guys !. We enjoy eating out and may have wished for a better restuarant but the concierge booked as at Aria (on way Opera House) and it doesn't get any better - but will burn a hole the wallet. 29 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pay the extra for the club rooms ! Loved the club lounge ! Excellent service . Room very comfortable loved the window seat . Had room service for dinner 10 out 10 the meat was cooked rare which we ordered fantastic . We where on the 27 floor great views . Valet parking was excellent. Thank you for stay we gave booked to come back . 29 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great food and facilities I Stayed here for my 30th bday, seeing it was a hot and humid day we stayed in and had lunch in the Cortile which was so relaxing and the food was perfect. The staff there were so helpful and welcoming making the experience even better. As an IHG gold ambassador member, it is worth the sign up as getting a garenteed room upgrade and late checkout is great value and a convenience as not having to rush the next day. The Buffett breakfast was great as usual and checkout was simple and easy as the staff are very professional and friendly. There are great room deals to take advantage if including a buffet breakfast package and one in which you gain a $50 crdit voucher which can be used within the hotel which we used for parking. Overall this hotel is fabulous and would definitely recommend staying here to friends and family as well as joining their membership. 27 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by an oasis of quality My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Room was very comfortable. Historic Lounge was charming. All staff (reception ,lounge, housekeeping )were most courteous and impressively knowledgeable about history of this old building. 27 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Service From Every Staff Member Our recent stay at Intercontinental Sydney was excellent as always. Every single staff member exceeded our expectations with a high level of service that went above and beyond what was required and was very much appreciated by us and made us feel like valued guests. The quality and high standard of the room was consistent with our other stays. We also ate at the Opera Cafe and were extremely impressed with the most delicious food and again, outstanding service. We also enjoyed the pool and it's fantastic view of the harbour. Thank you all so much. We will continue to return to our favourite Sydney hotel and most certainly recommend to our friends and family. 27 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Had a good week at Intercontinental Sydney Their staff and service were excellent. Room was clean and well maintained (considering the decor style). The location is a 2 mins walk from Circular Quay, which is very convenient.. 26 December 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>
Sydney
  • 117 Macquarie Street
  • Sydney , 2000
  • Australia
  • Front Desk +61-2-92539000

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, Czech, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Dutch , Polish, Portuguese, Serbian, Turkish, Chinese

Pet Policy

Contact hotel for details
  • Local Time

    2:09 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM

    Currency

    • Australian Dollar $ (AUD)

    Accessibility

    • Service Animals Allowed
    • 3 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking