Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Sydney

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 754 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and great views Love it when we stay at the Intercontinental, the service is friendly, professional, helpful. The food is great and the views are brilliant. 28 May 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very Disappointing My friend and I have stayed at the Intercontinental Sydney several times and usually have a great experience but this time was disappointing. We paid for a harbor bridge club room and were given a room on a low floor with very dirty windows and a very restricted view. We questioned it at check in and the girl said it was right. After checking out the room we requested something better. No better rooms were ready so we went to a show for the afternoon and were told it would be ready on return. We received a room 5 floors higher on the 16 floor with a bit better view.I rang to order latex pillows and was told there was none left, not happy Jan. We went upstairs for a couple of drinks then returned to room and still no luggage. I rang and was told they would be up shortly. By this time I was getting peed off and told them no now we need them. We ordered a wheel chair for my mum and went down to get it and the brake was broken (oh&s), that topped it off. We went back upstairs to sit and watch the vivid show on the opera house and the assist manager came up to see me, he was very nice. He apologized for the inconvenience and went out of his way to try and make things right. We did end up with pillows but was a big hassle. Basically should have been given a room on a high 20 floor, should've had a stock of pillows and care should be taken with disability equipment. When you pay a big amount you should get what you pay for. Everything went wrong from check in. I just wanted to give my mum a lovely weekend as she is 86 and deserves it. Hopefully our next stay will be better. Regards Lynne PS. !st room was 1024 2nd room was 1624 28 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great confort , room is amazing so much room views fantastic bed is the best ,, service outstanding 28 May 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Experience I can truly say that my stay at your Sydney property was one of the worst for a top tier hotel in a major city. The stay started normally, but went downhill with very poor service. What seemed like a simple request, an overnight shoeshine really highlighted the poor service of the hotel. I had to call twice to have the shoes picked up, but more worrisome was the following morning. I asked them to be returned by 8 AM, at 9 AM I was calling to inquire where the shoes were, they promptly brought them UNTOUCHED, no attempt to shine! Later that day, I returned back to the room at 2:30 PM, the room too was UNTOUCHED, I left at 4 PM and still no service. I tried the hotel as an alternative to my usual location, my experience assured I will not be returning back to the property! 27 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 comfortable and clean accomodation We had a great experience from helpful and friendly staff through to an upgrade to a nice room with a view. Would love to stay there again. 26 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by CLUB FLOOR SUR- CHARGE THANK YOU FOR GIVING ME THE OPPORTUNITY TO EXPRESS MY OPINION OF MY STAY AT THE CONTINETAL SYDNEY, THE EXPERINCE IS TWO LEVELS. THE STAFF AS ALWAYS WERE VERY PLEASANT AND PROFESSIONAL ALWAY READY TO ASSIT WHEN REQUIRED, BUT AS A PRIORITY PRIVILEGE MEMBER OF MANY YEARS ,IT WAS CONFERMED THERE WAS A SUR CHARGE FOR THAT FLOOR DID NOT MAKE ME VERY HAPPY,AND GAVE THOUGHTS OF WHERE WERE THE ADVANTAGE OF CONTINUING MMBERSHIP OF "P P," I SINCERLY HOPE IT WON'T COME TO THAT. SECOND, WAS THE RESTURANT, THE WAITING COULD NOT BE BETTERED,BUT THE CATERING STAFF COULD HAVE A LITTLE MORE FINESSE IN THEIR SERVING. THE FRONT DESK STAFF WERE MORE THAN HELPFULL IN NOTIFYING ME WHEN OUR ROOM WAS READY. AND FORWARD IN COMING TO THE HOTEL IN AUGUST FOR OUR 60th WEDDING ANNIVERSARY. I HOPE MY COMMENTS ARE OF SOME VALUE. 25 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience The hotel is in the best locations in Sydney in order to access all the things you'll want to do when visiting. Convenient to the Opera House, Royal Botanical Gardens, the Rocks, the Quay - Manly Ferry & Hop On Off Bus, and Central Business District. The hotel is gorgeous and there are stunning views of the Harbor. The Concierge staff were exceptional and extremely helpful. They made many recommendations, dinner reservations, booked tours, etc. Can't rave enough about Julian and David. My friend and I splurged a bit, which is atypical, b/c we were traveling a long way from the US to Sydney and were only staying a short period. I don't regret this decision at all and my experience reminds me why paying more for a 5 star hotel is worth it. They accommodated our early check in request by 10 a.m. (we arrived at 8 a.m. and they gave us suggestions as to what to do while we waited the 2 hours.) I was a bit disappointed that we didn't get offered an upgrade to a Harbour Room when asked, but the hotel did appear quite busy. There is a deck on the top of the hotel, but you have to either buy the package w/breakfast as part of your room or buy that separately when you arrive. What you get for this pkg isn't well explained on the website and I might have opted for it if I had known more about the hotel and the spectacular views it offered. The tradeoff is that the pool has great views but the pool is indoors. 23 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The view What more could you ask for when you have both the Harbour Bridge and Opera House in front of you. We were upgraded to a suite (thank you very much). The room were spacious and clean. Staff were friendly & efficent. Definitely recommend this property. 23 May 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great locality walking distance to Harbour attractions Have stayed at this hotel several times & always wonderful stays in this elegant hotel, but not this time being Priority members our usual upgrage was denied apparently no rooms available had a very boring city buildings view the rooms are only fair quite worn out, disappointed in the condition of the hotel looking shabby & tired especially the foyer/ground floor bar also service minimal had to flag down passing staff to order drinks our very "tiny" wine was then served in "TUMBLERS" not wine glasses. But on the positive side breakfast was superb good choices very fresh with very friendly & attentive staff, also the Seafood Buffet had a great variety but to be honest for price thought lobster should have been offered. But my main complaint would be the policy this hotel has to hold an astonishing amount of $600 on our credit card many days after check out & all accounts have been settled this really isn't acceptable !!! this issue above all needs to be address 22 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Consistently lovely hotel with excellent staff I have stayed at this hotel on at least 6-8 different occasions, always enjoyable which is why I return. I have stayed in Cityside Rooms, Harbour View Rooms, Club Rooms and on this last stay a Harbour Suite which was amazing! Club Rooms highly recommended. On this last stay we enjoyed excellent food from room service while we enjoyed the amazing city views. Excellent location, particularly if you are taking in a show at the Opera House or just visiting Sydney for its many sights! Highly recommend this hotel, I have already rebooked for another stay next month. 14 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay As usual, everything worked perfectly, room was clean and comfortable, service was excellent. Works like a well oiled machine. 14 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bed Rooms Nice Stay Had a lovely stay. Room was fairly clean besides the bathroom. Bed was comfortable and had a good sleep. Breakfast was great big range which was nice front desk staff were lovely. Only issues couldn't find the entrance to drive up to I did see the ramp but wasn't sure if it was an entry or exit ended up going under ground. Ordered pillows. The gentlemen said they'd see if they had any left I presume they didn't because I never got them nor did I get any courtesy call nothing nadda. Otherwise it was a nice stay. 14 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend say Hi, Staff very helpful to ensure I was able to have one of my kids to stay with me in a suitable twin room. Very accommodating and helpful. Regards Simon C. 12 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Peak experience with Opera House peaks in view Our stay in April, 2014, was a delight. I highly recommend selection of a Club Intercontinental room to enjoy the many benefits of the 31st floor: convenience, comfort, excellent food, spectacular panoramas of Sydney Harbour, and the BEST service one could hope to have at any price in any hotel in any country. Our room provided a direct view of Sydney Opera House that would be hard to beat. Yet moments later it was surpassed by a sunset over the Blue Mountains viewed from the 31st floor lounge. A short stroll outside and we were standing along the bustling wharfs of Circular Quay and the plaza of the SOH in all its nighttime glory. The Club level on 31 was top notch, built on a strong base of hotel service provided by the lobby desk, bellmen, and exemplary concierge staff. From the moment we arrived the entire group had the ability to make it feel like we were long time and familiar guests. Every request received a prompt response, plus when waiting in the lobby to meet someone they would approach us to see if they could locate our contact or provide any other services. If there was a negative aspect of our stay it would be the surcharge on credit card transactions. The hotel was very upfront about this, but it seems unwise to have something regrettable when otherwise providing a five-star experience in every way. 10 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The place to stay in Sydney Felt like home, great location, service and ambience. 09 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Experience ruined by an overcharge i chose this hotel based on reviews, but next time i would have to think twice. Room was nice, lounge was good, food was good. the only bad thing was an overcharge on my account. I was charged in USD instead of AUD without my knowledge and it took quite a bit of email correspondence and phone calls to get it fixed. Personal feeling is that a guest is always welcome, but esp when they pay in USD due to an exchange rate, Guests should watch out for what they are being charged. 08 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Favourite Sydney Hotel Intercontinental has become my favourite Sydney Hotel: great food, luxurious rooms and a deep sleep. Pool and gym are also great. 06 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not more than expected Next time I would look for another hotel in Sydney. When the Harbour Brigde is named so I would expect that room "Harbour" means look at harbour with bridge 05 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcoming staff This was a special occasion event for us and the staff helped make it even better with their friendly cheerful greeting to helpful suggestions. Chosen for the wonderful location but it provided more than that with understated elegance. 04 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Very helpful staff, Clean hotel awesome location to attractions. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sydney. 01 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Wedding venue and Honeymoon From check-in to check-out the service and kindness was 5 star. The Café Opera buffet is great value and the quality of the food is exemplary. All of the staff are attentive, friendly and helpful and they added to the memories and our wedding and honeymoon. I recommend The Sydney InterContinental as the place to stay due to is locality, staff and in-house facilities. ***** 01 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfy Bed and Attentive Staff Been to this hotel couple of times for either business and leisure and the highlight of our stay was the bed. It was so comfy made me hard to get up in the morning. The only downside was that they didn't really pay attention to the ambassador benefits. As an ambassador member, i did not get welcome fruits, they missed to replenish my mineral water on one night, and no gift. I did not make a fuss and complaint to the staff as I thought they were all just small things but I thought it would be nice if they can pay attention to what the member should get without having us to ask for it. Other than that it was a very lovely stay and I would certainly recommend this establishment to everyone! 30 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view, great room. Great club lounge with terrific view and service. Took advantage of the Ambassador weekend voucher (book two, pay for one). Stayed in a club level bridge and opera house view room. Service and facilities were excellent. The extras for Ambassador members were great. Highly recommended. Will definitely be staying here again. 30 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A Memorable Stay We revisited the Intercontinental after a gap of over 25 years and found the magic and charm of the location and the experience undiminished by the passage of time .We booked a room with a Harbour bridge view and found the staff from the Valet car service ,front desk and concierge to be attentive,professional and extremely helpful particularly when we had left valuables in the safe on our departure and they were able to locate and expedite a safe and quick return of our valuables . The week-end was wet and wild which made our attendance at at wedding and reception the next day problematic but the ambience of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff as we had drinks and snacks downstairs lifted our mood considerably Our meal at the Cafe Opera was memorable not only for the exquisite food but for our waiter who was keen but haphazard at best in our orders,delivery and execution of his service.An attentive and charming Maitre D smoothed whatever ruffled feathers we had in this episode . We intend to return to repeat this experience at least once a year 30 April 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Romantic Getaway I loved the Intercontinental because it was our first romantic getaway when we fell in luv and this was on the 27th floor in 2011. We wanted to go back so we booked again this year. Despite many attempts to request a high floor which we had last time this was not the case. I even received an email from the manager before we left if i had any requests that would make our stay more enjoyable, so I requested could we have a higher floor than last time and i received an email fro a staff member called Cindy who said she would get us 28th floor or higher, so when we arrived we were allocated to room 24, so i didn't complain, the view was still good, however that night while i was sleeping I was woken up by hat i thought was the smell of sewerage in my room, I complained to the manager, and he advised me that they had noticed it as well, so he told me that he would move me to a higher floor the next day, well this didn't happen, they showed us a suite on the 18th floor but the view was no view, so i wasn't happy and told them so. They told me that they thought someone had been sick on that floor and we had the option of moving to the 18th floor or stay in the 24th floor; I was still not happy with the service bearing in mind that i had requested a higher floor some months previous, so before i left i looked in to The Four Seasons for future stays. 29 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly service I found the the Sydney Intercontinental to be in a great location for sightseeing. The hotel is very well maintained. The only issue that not all rooms have a seperate shower in bathrooms. We had to get upgraded to have a walk-in shower as I required it after a recent injury. The staff I encounted were very helpful and friendly. 28 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great inner city hotel The hotel is in a great location - close to Circular Quay, The Botannical Gardens and the shops. Interconnecting rooms are a good option for our family of five and the rates are very competitive. We really appreciated the complimentary internet and the late check in as club memebers. 28 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown, the only way to visit What a great location! The Intercontinental Sydney is a 5min walk from Circular Quay, the hub of all things transportation for the surroundings. Train, bus, ferry, all available. No need to rent a car if you're staying here. If you do need a taxi or reserved luxury transportation, just shuffle on down to the bell desk, they will take care of everything. I used the concierge to set up a luxury van pickup from the airport, to get my family and I from Sydney International to the Intercontinental. Overall, the hotel is grand. I would call it classical, elegant style. Not modern like boutique hotels (W-hotels i.e.). The staff makes you feel very welcomed to their hotel. My experiences with front desk, bell, concierge, housekeeping and club level staff all were positive. Club level: pay the extra rate for club level. Amazing breakfasts in the morning, light snacks and beverages all day, and cocktails and canapés (appetizers) in the evening. This came in handy for my family so we didn't have to search for breakfast each morning. Not to mention, the view from the club level room (31/32 floor) is one of a kind. Day or night, you have panoramic views of Sydney Harbor, bridge, Opera House and everything else. Some reviews mentioned the bathrooms are outdated. I didn't feel they were; the bathrooms were consistent with the motif of the hotel and rooms. Like I said, it's classical and elegant. I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone considering staying in downtown Sydney. 27 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Wonderful Experience We stayed at the Intercontinental for two nights (April 18/19, 2014) and loved every minute. It was an absolutely beautiful hotel, close to the harbour and tour bus stops. We felt very welcome and Riki (concierge) was extremely helpful in pointing out what we might like to see/do. On his recommendation we visited Manly Beach, Bondi Beach, Opera House and took the hop on hop off bus tour of the area. Great Recommendations! We didn't use the pool but did visit it and the view was amazing. We had breakfast in the lounge area and it was very good and well served. I will highly recommend staying here and in the future if I ever have the opportunity to visit Sydney again it will be where I stay. Our cab driver rated it one of the top five in Sydney, before he dropped us off. Beautiful experience! 26 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great eastern harbour view and great service The location is excellent for the rocks, gardens, circular quay and opera house. We were staying for a concert and it was a short walk from the hotel. Food was good at the 3 eating places and a wide selection was available. Great stay and great service. Best part was the views from the room. Perhaps a higher floor may have been better. 25 April 2014
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 26 next>>
Sydney
  • 117 Macquarie Street
  • Sydney , 2000
  • Australia
  • Front Desk +61-2-92539000

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, Czech, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Dutch , Polish, Portuguese, Serbian, Turkish, Chinese

Pet Policy

No pets please, guide dogs exempted.
  • Local Time

    11:33 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM

    Currency

    • Australian Dollar $ (AUD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 3 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking