Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Sydney

STYLE AND HISTORY CONVERGE AT THIS SYDNEY HOTEL
Overlooking the world’s most stunning harbour, this Sydney hotel is a true expression of luxury. Guests can enjoy picturesque views from contemporary suites or the heated indoor swimming pool on the 31st floor. Experience one of the finest restaurants in Sydney at Cafe Opera, serving European and Australian cuisine made from fresh local produce. Near the hotel, explore the The Rocks, stroll through the Royal Botanic Gardens or browse the designer boutiques at the Queen Victoria Building.

Guest Reviews

Embark on an unforgettable journey and enjoy special offer up to 25% off room rates when you stay at all participating IHG hotels & resorts.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Set in breathtaking 19th Century architecture, Cafe Opera undoubtedly forms the perfect venue for any occasion. Enjoy a truly unique, seasonally in...
  • Amenities & Services

    The hotel offers all guests access to the indoor heated swimming pool and gym. Guest rooms include Agraria products and robes.
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
News & Events

Odyssey Massage Special Offer

For the month of July receive a free 15 minute foot massage with any 60 minute massage booked before check in!* *Cannot be used in conjunction with...

Some Secrets Just Shouldn't Be Kept

Explore new destinations and get up to 20% off your room rate when you stay with us between now and the 30th September*. *Terms and conditions apply
Sydney
  • 117 Macquarie Street
  • Sydney , 2000
  • Australia
  • Front Desk +61-2-92539000

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, Czech, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Dutch , Polish, Portuguese, Serbian, Turkish, Chinese

Pet Policy

No pets please, guide dogs exempted.
  • Local Time

    10:18 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM

    Currency

    • Australian Dollar $ (AUD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 3 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 560 reviewers.
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Friendly Service I loved this hotel and it's location as it's 5 minutes walk to the opera house, museum, ferries, circular quay, buses etc.... The staff was quite friendly and helpful as I also booked a tour with them too. I would stay here again as you can't beat their location. It looks a little dated but they have the same services as any 5 Star hotel it just doesn't look fancy. Many thanks to Hugh, Charlotte and the rest of the staff for making me feel welcome there. April 3, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A reasonable stay Overall, a good experience. I tried the breakfast buffet for the first time in my several stays here. Liked it! $27 may seem expensive but that is a bargain price in Sydney. The food was of good quality with a great espresso machine, juicing machine, and plentiful variety of food. Only problem I encountered was at check in. I arrived way early as my flight landed at 6:30 am in Sydney. Hoping to get an early check in I asked at the desk. It was not to be as I waited on the room I usually stay in here. I had plenty to do before the published 2:00 pm check in time. Little did I know the staff gave a late checkout to the room I was waiting on! Thank goodness for a very courteous and professional front dest person there named Shawn. I was not happy about waiting until 3:30 to be able to check in to my room. Shawn made my almost 2 hour wait in the lobby pleasant and comfortable. He actually seemed to care while the blond gal workingl the front desk was indifferent, at best. Interesting what a positive impression one caring hotel employee can make on poor situation (thanks Shawn). The hotel itself seems to be holding its own. Not getting rundown and my room was fairly clean (except hair in bathtub and dirty window smudges.) The best thing about this hotel is the location and convenience. I'll now rate the breakfast as big positive, too. Pool on the roof is small and nice with a great view. Be aware there are no umbrellas up there and not one piece of shade to be had anywhere at all during the day. Yes, I'll stay here again although I will not hope for an early check in. This hotel is becoming more and more popular due to it's location in the rocks. I can see why as it gets you away from that "downtown" environment and has a pleasant feel to it. April 1, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A step back in time This comfortable, old hotel offers an unbeatable convenience of location. The room was showing its age, with its 1960s-style furnishings and minute bathroom, but there was plenty of room to swing a cat in the rest. Clean and serviceable, if not fancy. We found it quite adequate. March 31, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Position for all of Sydney's attractions We found the hotel perfect, the staff were excellant, particularly the bar and restaurant staff. The hotel position was just perfect, we hopped on the red bus for the city tour, we got picked up easily for a tour to the Blue Mountains, circular quay was on our doorstep as was the Opera house and the bridge which we climbed. We then joined a cruise ship right outside the door. it is a brilliant location and an excellant standard that I have and will continue to reccomend to anyone visiting Sydney, the friendly city ,that we enjoyed every minute of the time we spent there. March 31, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, friendly staff This hotel is often out of my price range but I always stay here when the rate is good. Excellent location, friendly staff and a good breakfast, especially if included in the rate. Some of the rooms at the front can suffer street noise at the weekend especially but that's all part of the location. March 30, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Great Service Enjoyed the hotel a great deal, the staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was in a central and great location. Would recommend to anyone.Only the pillow and bed have a smell maybe is the smell of the eiderdown that not comfortable to me. But overoll is very nice hotel and the breakfast is good. March 25, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay ruined at the end The hotel is obviously fantastically located, the rooms are really comfortable, the rooftop pool is amazing and we had a fantastic stay there until it came to check out time. As we handed our keys back we were presented with a bill for 3 bottles of water which was unexpected. Two nights previously we had come back from a night out and asked the guy on Reception is there was anywhere to get water and he advised us that everywhere was closed. He then said 'I'll get you some - how many do you need?'. It was only me that wanted it but since the question had been asked in a manner which fully implied it was for no charge, both of my room mates took a bottle too. At no point was a cost mentioned as we wouldn't have taken them if there was. It just seemed like he was being nice. The worst part of this was the lady on Reception who gave us the bill. I questioned it, recounting the story above and how at no point had a requirement for payment of the water been mentioned when it was given to us. In a very condescending tone she said, in front of other guests either checking in or out 'It's a pretty well-known fact that room service is charged back to you at the end of your stay'. I advised her that I am well versed in staying hotels and I understand the procedure when I have agreed to purchase something rather than being offered it, seemingly for free. She then went on to make a further three or four patronising comments before agreeing to 'Let us off this once'. Being made to feel stupid by a staff member in front of other guests, when we felt we were in the right given the actions of what was seemingly a nice gentleman two nights previously, was completely unnecessary and ruined what had been a fantastic stay. March 24, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room maintenance and cleanliness Room overlooking George St...poorly maintained windows let noise in +++. Discussed with reception staff. They offered me ear plugs!! Next day discussed with Duty Manager " We have had a look and done some maintenance.....and you should have been offered a room change....".....although no evidence of maintenance or work carried out I wasn't offered a room change. The windows and room furniture require maintenance regardless of it having heritage status. Room not cleaned properly, dusty/dirty, garbage from previous residents. I would not recommend this hotel if you want a quiet stay!! March 24, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Circular quay and harbour bridge hotel Hotel ideally situated for circular quay and harbour bridge ( for bridge climb). Also close to other tourist spots like opera house, sydney tower, botanic gardens etc. restaurant only serves breakfast but good room service available 24 hrs at reasonable (for Sydney) prices. View from roof terrace is spectacular as long as there are no cruise ships docked at the terminal- almost worth visiting for the view alone. March 22, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Shabby room Although the hotel location and room size were excellent, I was really disappointed with the decor of the room as it appeared to have been forgotten. Although the walls and ceiling were in fair order the lower levels appear to have been knocked about quite a bit and could do with some freshening up. This did not detract from our stay in Sydney but just felt the hotel should be aware of it. March 18, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, looking forward to a return visit We stayed one night and had a great time. The room was on the 6th floor and whilst it was somewhat dated, it was very clean, very comfortable, roomy and we had views across to the Harbour. We paid for the buffet breakfast and it had everything you would want including being able to juice your own fruit/veg juice. The menu also catered very well for a gluten free diet. The staff were courteous and ver helpful, well done. Booking through the Privilages Club allowed us to secure a special rate. March 16, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Location in The Rocks I'm glad we chose the Holiday Inn Old Sydney since it was in the heart of The Rocks district but also within walking distance of a few other major Sydney attractions we wanted to see. It's a comfortable place; don't expect luxury. I was surprised upon check-in to learn about the cruise ships that pull in/depart daily & are situated smack between the hotel and that stunning view of Sydney's most famous icon. While the view of the Opera House from the rooftop pool is spectacular, don't look for it out your window once a ship is in. The lobby is a spacious and comfortable area to unwind in between activities. Staff seemed to be a bit indifferent. Sydney's a fabulous city, but after such a long flight to get there, we would've expected a slightly warmer welcome. March 11, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal Location As others have stated, best part about this hotel is the location in the rocks. About 50 steps from the front door to the Market on weekends and about 2 blocks from Circuilar Quay. Restaurants and pubs every direction. Older building (based on construction) with updated appointments and amenities. Bed was comfortable. Room was quiet. Nice flatpanel TV. Staff was notably good. Very helpful and gave excellent guidance on where to sightsee and dine. Would not hesitate to stay here again. March 10, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great views Great views from the room and on the rooftop. The place is a little bit old, but the comfortable bed more than makes up for it. The shower though, not sure if it's water saving or what, lacks pressure. That's definitely the low light of my stay. March 9, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall recommendable but room too noisy at night Stayed here for 3 nights with my family (two children aged 10 and 12). Great location. Rooftop pool fantastic! Excellent breakfast buffet of very high quality. Overall good value for money. Only negative point: room facing George Street was far too noisy at night with loud music until early morning. March 8, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Yes, very comfortable bed and nice room Our room was on the second floor and faced the street, which was rather noisy. Next time we'll request a room facing away from the street. The receptionists were very helpful and the breakfast ($$22 AU for the buffet) was excellent. March 7, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Bed good breakfast good position This hotel is in a experience position for Circular Quay, Opera House etc. We have stayed there 3 times and each time for quite a few days- last time 5 nights. We were veery disappointed with the rooms we have been given. quite small and at the back of the hotel. My husband is disabled and has to have rests in the room so the room seems very small after a few days. The aircondition was not very good and the fan kept blowing in the bathroom. I reported this but gotno feedback. When we arrived there was no one to help us with our cases but a receptionist kindly did the needful but we were given help on departure. When I rang to book the room I was not told about the different outlook of the rooms.otherwise would have given consideration to it.. I would recommend the position of the hotel to my friends but make them aware of the situation. March 6, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, great service. We had a great stay - easy with walking distance from train, taxi at hotel entrance and great to be in the old part of Sydney. The harbour view was blocked for 2 out of 3 days with the Queen Vic cruise liner but what an amazing thing to see too! Staff were helpful and even had Gluten Free breakfast options. March 4, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Well appointed room and great location I stayed at the Old Sydney Holiday Inn for 2 nights on a business trip to Sydney. It was walking distance to the conference I was attending nearby and close to cafes, restaurants, and just a few minutes walk to Opera House etc. Lovely view out the window of the harbour bridge. Room very clean and well presented, had everything I needed. Staff were friendly and helpful. I did not eat or drink at the hotel at all so can't comment on this aspect. My only criticism would be that I found the pillows uncomfortable to sleep on. Other than this, I was very happy with my stay and would highly recommend the hotel. March 4, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Location is great, staff were friendly and helpful. We had room service, which was served promptly and tasted great. My only negative was the noise outside at night. There were men working all night long outside our room putting up shelters for the markets. The lights were bright and the noise was extremely loud. Loud voices, noisy tools equalled No Sleep!! I would recommend this Hotel to my friends, although I would not recommend the room that we stayed in. March 4, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by brilliant base for tourists this hotel was recommended to us . It was perfect, friendly staff throughout. Wonderful breakfasts. Positioning was perfect for sightseeing. Rooms were really comfortable for relaxing too! We will definately return. March 3, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Be Careful when signing up for internet service. You must pay for internet, however if you want 24 hours of internet you must use it in 24 hours. If you want internet service for 1 hour, the service ends 1 hour later. Would be better if you could pay for a bucket of minutes to be used whenever you want. Paying by the hour is a total ripoff in my opinion. The hotel is withing walking distance of Circular Quay and one of the 2 Cruise Ship Terminals, a plus. Don't eat at their breakfast buffet. Much too expensive. Cost for the 2 of us $43. No value here for what they had to offer. Many places nearby that have breakfast for a lot less. March 2, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by perfect location Perfect location for seeing Sidney! We took the train from the airport and easily walked to this hotel. A great home base for seeing the area as near all sorts of public transportation: Ferries, trains and walking on one's own. Open lobby is relaxing and casual. Staff very responsive. Breakfast was the best we had in Australia. February 28, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and facilities Perfect location for using the ferry services operating from Circular Quay, seeing the harbour bridge, the Sydney Opera House and availability of shopping facilities nearby. Upgraded room was clean, excellent for space and bed was very comfortable. Staff were always very helpful. Breakfast and bar facilities were good February 27, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location. Great views from the pool. We live in Sydney but decided to use our priority club points and have a "Staycation". The hotel is in such a great spot, not just for tourists, but for locals too. Plenty of interesting things to do within walking distance, including some of the oldest and best pubs in Australia (Lord Nelson & Hero of Waterloo for starters). I recommend a walk around the Opera house, botanical gardens to Lady Macquaire's Chair and back. Beautiful. The rooms are the usual standard for a holiday in and the beds comfortable etc. The rooftop pool is small and there arent many sun beds, but the view from up there is great, although once a cruise ship comes in, you cant see the opera house. Highly recommend. February 24, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in fantastic location We chose this hotel as it is located in the Rocks by Sydney Harbour. We upgraded to a room overlooking Sydney opera house and Sydney Harbour bridge and the extra cost was worth it - what a wonderful view! We arrived early morning from the UK and although check-in time was 2pm we were pleasantly surprised that our room was available (we'd put in a special request). All the staff were helpful and friendly, there was plenty of choice for breakfast and everything was very clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel. February 22, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay We stayed at three Holiday Inn hotels during our stay in Australia. The first was the Darling Harbor hotel. We wanted to get a different perspective of the city from different areas. Darling Harbor upgraded my room being a platinum priority club member and also gave us free wi-fi, which was HUGE! Old Sydney upgraded my room as well, but did not offer the free wi-fi...even shared that the other hotel had. Saw other reviews about road noise from the streets, but we really didnt have a problem with this and we were only on the third floor facing the main road. Most of the staff were very helpful and friendly, even helping me get some flowers ordered for Valentines Day. Only had one employee who was a little less than friendly and helpful, but he was the exception. Breakfast was way too expensive, so we ate at the Bakehouse down the street for much less. The location is fantastic, right by Circular Quay with easy access to public transportation. Nice rooftop pool and hot tub, but didnt get to use them. February 21, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location some small irritations A hotel in a wonderful location. Pity a few of the staff not well versed in customer relations and responded poorly to requests. Website misleading with booking. Requesting "senior discount" in our case meant that you ended up paying more for room and breakfast than the "best available price" which included breakfast. February 21, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely stay - friendly front desk staff & gorgeous pool view Treated myself & family to a nite's stay at the Old Sydney on Valentine's Day during our 4nite holiday in SYDNEY. The front desk staff who attended to us that morning ( Asian gentleman and two lovely ladies - Catherine was one of them# was warm and friendly. Offering to store our bags till room was ready. Just as we were walking off for our day tour, she informed us that a room had just became available and she could give us the room key. Agree with other reviewers that the room has a weird smell , I suspect from rooms not being aired as all windows are nailed shut. Bring your own air freshener if you are sensative to weird smells. Ventilation inadequate and in the morning's you can smell the toast from the breakfast buffet on 2nd floor. I had room 402 which overlooked the ROCKS buildings. So views was a non event and you can hear the traffic below. The rooftop pool view is spectacular #what made me book in the 1st place# . Day and evening views are very different so make it a point to go us early evening 6-ish for photos. Pool is very very small # 1 eighth of an olympic size pool) Convenient stores at hotel and nearby charge very high prices, so buy other parts of town or bring your own! $5 for cup noodles! ScREAM! Otherwise lovely property to stay at. Will definitely come back ! February 21, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by poor value for the money In general, Sydney is extremely costly to visit. Room realistically had little to offer, other than location. We are spoiled in the US, with a similar hotel (HIExpress) on the beach in Redondo Beach, CA costing much less in points or $$ and free parking/breakfast included. Parking at $39/night and Internet at $21, which I was asked to pay but didn't use, is way too high. Perhaps this is the going price you must pay in Sydney and not a negative to be held against the hotel, but it was disappointing Also, the priority platinum recognition was limited to an upgrade to a king sized bed. Not a lot. February 20, 2013
    <<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 20 next>>