Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Sydney

STYLE AND HISTORY CONVERGE AT THIS SYDNEY HOTEL
Overlooking the world’s most stunning harbour, this Sydney hotel is a true expression of luxury. Guests can enjoy picturesque views from contemporary suites or the heated indoor swimming pool on the 31st floor. Experience one of the finest restaurants in Sydney at Cafe Opera, serving European and Australian cuisine made from fresh local produce. Near the hotel, explore the The Rocks, stroll through the Royal Botanic Gardens or browse the designer boutiques at the Queen Victoria Building.

Guest Reviews

2X Points and Faster Rewards - Earn 10 points for every US$1 spent. Plus 2X points on F&B and more

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Set in breathtaking 19th Century architecture, Cafe Opera undoubtedly forms the perfect venue for any occasion. Enjoy a truly unique, seasonally in...
  • Amenities & Services

    The hotel offers all guests access to the indoor heated swimming pool and gym. Guest rooms include Agraria products and robes.
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
News & Events

Odyssey Massage Special Offer

For the month of July receive a free 15 minute foot massage with any 60 minute massage booked before check in!* *Cannot be used in conjunction with...

Some Secrets Just Shouldn't Be Kept

Explore new destinations and get up to 20% off your room rate when you stay with us between now and the 30th September*. *Terms and conditions apply
Sydney
  • 117 Macquarie Street
  • Sydney , 2000
  • Australia
  • Front Desk +61-2-92539000

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, Czech, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Dutch , Polish, Portuguese, Serbian, Turkish, Chinese

Pet Policy

No pets please, guide dogs exempted.
  • Local Time

    7:40 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM

    Currency

    • Australian Dollar $ (AUD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 3 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 272 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It has everything The location is fabulous - next door to the train station and within walking distance of Kings Cross - unyet our room was incredibly quiet. Our room was clean and the bed very comfortable - both firm and soft pillows were provided. The view of the Sydney harbour bridge from our room was lovely. We drove to Sydney and access to the hotel's parking was easy and the daily rate very reasonable. We are making this hotel our regular for our visits to Sydney. January 15, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by As a foundation member of the original Pacific Privilege and hundreds of stays in IHG Hotels group this sadly is first ever critical review Arrived to find our room allocation was on the 1st floor despite having made reservations 6 months in advance and being a platinum member.One can only assume that as our entire stay of 6 nights was using reward vouchers and points and the hotel was near capacity our reservation was regarded as bargain basement material.Reception thankfully were able to organise a suitable comfortable room on the 3rd floor after waiting for the room to be cleaned.we then settled in for what we expected to be an enjoyable stay commensurate with our many stays at this establishment. However on our return at 7pm on Saturday 4th January we found our room had been serviced but sometime afterwards someone had entered the room and messed up the tops of the 2 beds. We checked all of our belongings to find there was nothing missing.I promptly phoned reception to report the incident as my wife was very distressed of a possible intruder.The gentleman concerned indicated it would be investigated and I would be advised accordingly.There was no such reply at all.We do have photographs of the beds in the state we found them to confirm our claim.This incident left us feeling uncomfortable for the remainder of our stay and wary of making any further complaint. January 12, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and comfortable The location was fine for our stay. Enjoy the weather and the city is so friendly. Loved that it has so many parks. Was in town for a wedding . January 7, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great breakfast Checkin staff were helpful, friendly and a pleasure to deal with. Although I requested a room not looking over the road, my room did look out at the busy intersection. I was concerned about noise keeping me awake but was pleasantly surprised once the blinds were shut, the noise was minimal. The room is a good size, the queen bed comfortable, pillow selection welcomed. It is a bit dated as are many Sydney hotels, but overall condition was very good and clean. Parking was only $27.50 per night which was reasonable for Sydney. If you pre book breakfast they charge $15 which was great value. A chef was on hand to cook eggs to order, as well as the usual you find in a buffet breakfast. Quality and value excellent. Location was good if you wanted to be in Kings Cross, it is next door to the station. January 5, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sydney - New Years Eve We had a wonderful stay at Holiday Inns Potts Point. Our room had a wonderful view of the habour and bridge so the fireworks were spectacular. The rooms were quiet, clean and comfortable and staff were courteous and helpful. The hotel is central located and within easy walk to the city, Wooloomooloo and the cafes and parks around Potts Point and Elizabeth Bay. Thanks for a wonderful few days. January 5, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by disappointed with their service Reception staff were friendly and very helpful. However, the hotel lacks in their other departments. House keeping was pretty much terrible. We had three in a room, and nearly every day we had to ring up housekeeping (transferred to reception every time) to get an extra towel, shower caps, and other amenities. On a particular day, we returned to the hotel at 4pm (left hotel at 8am), and house keeping had not even started. floor was also not very clean. Elevator and access key were not of quality. the first key of two we had didn't even work. when it did, the elevator took at least 3 attempts (at times more) to recognise the key. the bathroom was very disappointing. there was no ventilation, uncleanly sights on the walls, and the lighting was a white glare. January 2, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and good location The room is clean. Breakfast included. Nice staffs. And it's located in a good location, just 1 min next to the kings cross station exit. January 1, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family Christmas 2013 Booked early for Xmas in Sydney's Potts Point. Close to airport, has tube station, bus stops incl open top double decker right outside. Kings cross night life includes restaurants, shops, pubs. Room had view of Harbour Bridge (3rd floor). Reception staff always friendly and very helpful, same as the restaurant staff at all times. Loved the Christmas lunch menu and its presentation - congrats to Chef and his staff. Already booked a return in March for stage show. Well done to Hotel, you deserve/earned this top review. Thanks for our wonderful stay. The Murrays. December 31, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Hotel with a view This is my favorite place to stay in Sydney- in one of the harbor view rooms. I can sit at the window for much of the day and enjoy the view. The breakfast buffet is a treat every morning, and I love going for a walk down leafy Victoria St, and then up along the main street through Pott's Point where there are many nice restaurants and little shops! December 30, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A short stay but a lovely one I stayed at the Potts Point Holiday Inn for 2 nights over Christmas, I honestly can't fault the place, everything was great, the bed, the room service, the vibe was also lovely. The room service delivery guy was very sexy :) This is a great hotel, I will definitely be coming back. December 29, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Super Sydney! Thank you for helping our trip to Sydney be such a positive experience; we will always remember it. Your staff was great. Carolyn December 26, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Misleading location - should very advertised as Kings Cross This hotel is right in the middle of Kings Cross, not Potts Point, so if the nightlife of KC concerns you, or your a family then this hotel us not for you. The website is misleading with its location. It was an ok stay, the noise from the street can be heard, even though you are one street back from the Main Street of Kings Cross. Cleaning service was average , we returned to our room one day after 4:30pm and the room hadn't been cleaned, and when we left again at 6:00pm still hadn't been done . When we returned later that evening beds had been made but bathroom hadn't been touched. Though nothing really wrong with the property I probably would choose another property on my return to Sydney. December 21, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great View and Great Service Overall a fantastic stay. From check in and being recognised as a priority club member to the great view to the breakfast in the morning. A great hotel. December 18, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mediocre Experience We enjoyed the relatively close proximity to the Opera House, Botanical Gardens, and Circular Quay and thought that the room and view of the city that we received were nice. When we checked in, we were told that our room would be ready within the hour due to my rewards club status, so we left and had lunch and returned an hour later and were told that they were still waiting to prepare our room. We waited in the lobby for another 30 minutes in the lobby with our luggage and were not able to begin spending our time in the city and then I went back up to the front desk and inquired another time about the status of our room and was reassured that it would be ready shortly. Fifteen minutes later, I went up again and they said that it still wasn't ready and said that they would have housekeeping go to our room at that point to ready our room. I was confused as to why housekeeping was not intentionally dispatched to our ready our room when I was initially assured that our room would be ready within the hour. As such, unfortunately, we missed out on the first two hours of being able to begin enjoying Sydney because we were waiting for our room to be ready so that we could drop off our luggage in our room following our long, 20+ hour day of flying. After this initial experience checking in, the remainder of the time at the hotel was positive and enjoyable, but the first impression did taint our overall experience as it wasted time we could have been spending enjoying the short amount of time that we had to spend in Sydney. December 12, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Rception Staff and Managers The staff reception was very unfriendly and rude everytime I called them for information.They overcherged me for the same night twice.When I called them they delayed sending me the invoice for my stay. Hotel rooms were dirty and one of the cleaning staff after making my bed asked whether i wanted room to be vaccumed (FYI Floor was dirty). Reception refused to provide cutlleries in room and even said that I wont need it. Worst experience..wont stay at potts point next time... December 12, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff very clean premises great view of harbour comfortable room My husband n I have stayed at Holiday Inn Potts Point over two years now and at least 5 times a year. It is very central to everything railway station nearby, plenty of taxis. Staff very friendly and obliging. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Dining room breakfast is fantastic lots to choose from and very clean. Staff very attentive and nothing is a problem. We absolutely love staying there and feel very at home. We have also stayed at Holiday Inn in Honolulu they were very obliging as well n rooms very clean and comfortable. December 11, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Much To Be Improved Impression on arrival at reception was good but dissappointed when got to the room. Despite the room being non-smoking it had clearly been used by smokers as the smell was appalling. After a couple of days in the room I noticed a plastic bag had been put over the smoke detector on the ceiling by previous guests - pity the room staff didn't notice. Room looked very tired and old fashioned and desperately needs refurbishment although bed was clean and comfortable. TV didn't work but I couldn't be bothered with the hassle of reporting it. I've come to expect free wi-fi in most hotels I've used of late but this hotel wanted $9 per 2 hour session...totally unusable on a busy schedule. Wouldn't have been too bad if it had been a 2 hour usage session spread over my 5 night stay. Despite being an IHG Rewards Club member I wasn't aware of any recognition what so ever. We were offered shuttle bus to airport and duly arrived in reception 5 minutes before departure - unfortunately the bus didn't turn up. After half an hour of staff not knowing why the bus hadn't turned up we were offered a complimentary taxi ride to the airport. Unfortunately, the taxi driver refused to accept the voucher we were given and we ended up paying for the taxi. I won't be staying at Holiday Inn, Potts Point on my next visit to Sydney. December 7, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms Overall everything was great, rooms ,location ,breakfast. I haven't stayed in hotels for awhile so was a bit shocked as to what accommodation costs these days December 6, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great reception Always nice to come back to this hotel, good reception service, friendly restaurant Manager and great harbor views, and love th fresh juice at breakfast. Thank you December 5, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Priority check in Reception staff are always friendly and efficient,checking me in and out with speed and courtesy. December 4, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Take the harbour view room The hotel is ideally located; the entry to Kings Cross station is right next to the hotel. It brings you to the center/harbour in 5-10 minutes. Also many bars, restaurants and shops near the hotel. I had spectacular views on the harbour with two gigantic windows looking out on the city, including the Opera House and bridge. Really worth the extra costs! The room was big and clean. Very friendly staff. I would book this hotel again. November 30, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location Second visit to this location. Felt not as welcomed this time. Lobby efficient, but lacks atmosphere or personality. Overall though good stay. November 29, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A warm, hospitable hotel in a great location! Even we just had a short stay at the hotel, the staff took time to help us out, gave us directions and high lights of the city, made us enjoy Sydney with lasting memories. November 24, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty Good Place to Stay In Sydney I have stayed here a few times for business. It's in a good location near the train and St V's, and the staff have always been good, though the wait at check-in is sometimes lengthy (some air crew staff stay there and it's pretty busy). I think it's good value for Sydney. November 21, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall excellent except Restaurant food Re Friday 15th November 2013. I would like to congratulate Holiday Inn Potts Point on great staff & overall great experience. Jarod at reception went out of his way to ensure Anne & I had a pleasurable experience throughout our stay. Bobby the restaurant manager also was delightful though he could not be held responsible for the lack of skills from the chef if you could call him/her that more like a cook. The Moroccan Lamb with harissa was poor to say the least. If you do not know what Harissa is then do not have it on the menu or do some research. I was served mayonnaise with a touch of probably the Thai red curry paste that I was later given squirted on another serving dish. G & A November 20, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Heart of the action yet quiet and relaxing PROS I stayed for four nights and the room was spacious and comfortable. Although the hotel is right next to Kings Cross station I was concerned that it would be noisy. Not so. The location could not be more convenient if you are travelling around town while staying in Sydney. I would definitely stay here again. CONS The mini bar has nothing in it. The charges for wifi continues to be an irritation. For $55 I bought a full package but had to chase it on the first day as they had not activated it when I arrived. It seems overly complicated. For this reason I've marked the hotel lower than I would have done otherwise. November 17, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Great location and a fair price for Sydney standard Staff was extremely nice and very helpful with guides and tips for our day November 17, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly attentive staff Excellent location handy to the CBD and public transport.Relaxing environment,great service and food November 16, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good hotel ! I stayed here for 4 nights and had no complaints. Got an upgrade to a nice room with great views towards the iconic Sydney harbor bridge and opera house, room 303 - fab ! Reception is a bit distant from passing guests so difficult for any real Interaction between the front desk and guests. My dealings with room service staff and check in and out were good though. Area is spot on too. Yes, it is on the doorstep of Kings Cross but the area has an abundance of very good cafes, bakeries etc and is very convenient to get downtown. Sydney as a city is fantastic. Very clean and with a great buzz to it, loved it. Circular Quay and the ferry to Manly is a brilliant experience. November 10, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service as always Our home away from home and we always enjoy our brief visits every few weks. November 9, 2013
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>