Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Sydney

STYLE AND HISTORY CONVERGE AT THIS SYDNEY HOTEL
Some visit Sydney’s icons. Others stay in them. For more than 25 years, InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia’s harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental lounge overlooking the harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count.

Guest Reviews

2X Points and Faster Rewards - Earn 10 points for every US$1 spent. Plus 2X points on F&B and more

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Set within breathtaking 19th Century architecture, Cafe Opera undoubtedly forms the perfect venue for any occasion. Enjoy a truly unique, seasonall...
  • Amenities & Services

    The hotel offers all guests access to the indoor heated swimming pool and gym. Guest rooms include Agraria products and robes.
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
News & Events

Let's Do Bento

Enjoy a healthy bento box for lunch in our historic Cortile lounge. For only $20 for a bento box or $25* inclusive of a drink there is no better wa...

Festive Delights

Indulge in our market-fresh buffet with turkey and ham carving stations whilst you enjoy what Christmas is all about - enjoying time with family an...
Sydney
  • 117 Macquarie Street
  • Sydney , 2000
  • Australia
  • Front Desk +61-2-92539000

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, Czech, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Dutch , Polish, Portuguese, Serbian, Turkish, Chinese

Pet Policy

No pets please, guide dogs exempted.
  • Local Time

    4:17 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM

    Currency

    • Australian Dollar $ (AUD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 3 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 298 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Luved the pillows Convenient proximity, unreal helpful staff, truly unbelievable area with Woolies and Coles so close. Room was available early, staff were so polite and helpful had a great stay, value for the dollar is terrific will be back. Thanks March 26, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant Location on the edge of all that is good and bad in Sydney The location is outstanding and Holiday Inn is a safe haven from the rest of King's Cross. You can walk downhill to the harbour side in 7 mins, passing some King's Cross character on route and end up in the Art Gallery or the Botanic Gardens, or even the Opera House and Circular Quay! Use carparking at reasonable rates with easy access or / and their entrance to the underground train to Bondi or the City and beyond! If you request it, you can have a view of the Bridge and the harbour from your spacious and comfortable room. The modest entrance and lobby conceal a safe, homely bar and restaurant with considerate staff. Overall it provides all the comforts of home in an unexpected location. March 25, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Epic I brought a group of 25 University rugby players & management to stay at the hotel for 2 nights. I, we, the group could not fault all dealings with the establishment. The staff, without exception, were absolutely fantastic and couldn't do enough to make our stay extremly enjoyable. We were allowed to use the meeting room for game briefings & debriefings. Thanks for everything. The University will be booking again next year. March 24, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing. The stay started fine. I was looking forward to a decent stay and I got that. The room was fine, the amenities also fine. I got recognized as a Gold priority member but still had to wait to get my room and no upgrade at all (but that was expected as the hotel was quite full). I did get free internet but here my annoyance started. The internet would just not work properly. I logged into the high speed option and managed to get between 1 and 3 mbit and the internet kept falling in and out. I complained and the staff did everything they could. They contacted IT, restarted routers and whatnot and did their very best but the internet would just not work. Opening up news site was an impossibility and even sending email was almost not possible. The internet was better in the lobby but that is not good enough. I was told the reason the net was bad was because the hotel was fully booked but that just proves it is bad infrastructure and not enough bandwidth provided. I was told by one receptionist I could sit in the lobby and work there but that's not what the deal is when you are told there is internet in the room. I couldn't do any work and even planning sightseeing was not possible. On the plus side, the view was nice, the receptionists were very nice and helpful and did their utmost to make my stay as good as possible. The owners need to upgrade their internet because if it is not I would not recommend the hotel to people that need to stay connected for work. Location was nice, right next to a train station and the comfort level was as it is supposed to be at a Holiday Inn. To sum up. Extremely bad internet, helpful and great staff, good location, comfortable room but the bed was too soft for my liking but it was big. Exactly what I expect from a Holiday Inn; familiarity. But the owners needs to improve the internet. March 20, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic service and comfort We only stayed two nights but could not fault all dealings with the establishment. The staff, without exception, were absolutely fantastic and couldn't do enough to make our stay what it was. Would highly recommend to anybody! March 19, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sydney stopover for 3 nights fantastic My first trip to Australia & the warm friendly greeting & help could not have been better. We had a harbour view room that was great. The bed was really comfortable & the room nice. The hotel was located in a good area for basic shopping & a very good selection of restaurants catering for various tastes & prices March 17, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HOME AWAY FROM HOME The Holiday Inn Potts Point has a warm friendly atmosphere and very caring and attentive staff. The hotel is extremely well located close to a rail station that allows great access to points of interest arounf the city of Sydney The hotel is located near to many alternative dining options. I have stayed at this hotel on many occassions and look forward to my next stay. The new beds are very comfortable March 14, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing I was greeted by my name and acknowledged as a gold member but once I was checked in the receptionist turned her back as if she was disinterested . On arrival our room looked dirty with filthy windows but the hotels windows were cleaned the next day which did make a big difference. Rooms are not cleaned until late afternoon and on one day after 4 pm not acceptable. The bed was large with lovely white Egyptian Cotten bedding. Plenty of towels in the bathroom. But the room was dated looking and the carpet could do with cleaning..Apparently the cleaning staff are independent company . The room did have a harbour view, wouldn't have liked a room overlooking the street as very noisy and not pleasant. Although you are in Potts Point you are on the Kind Cross area so you have to take that in to consideration. The breakfast was included in our rate and was very good with plenty of fresh food and omelettes made to order. We also ate dinner but was mixed with one order being good and the other mediocre, avoid the pizza with prawns . The staff in the restaurant are excellent nothing too much trouble very friendly Pity there is no pool as it would really add to the pleasure after a long day sightseeing. Located next door to the train station. March 7, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value, easy access to transport Stayed 2 days New Year's Eve etc. big room (think maybe upgrade ? But wasn't told) comfy bed but big stain on carpet, otherwise clean. Good location to get around, as close to metro-not good for mature guests due to lively area. Didn't use cafe (looks like cafe not restaurant) so no notes. Good stay, just a shame shabby carpet let down room. Good value. March 2, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Service Overall pretty disappointed. I often stay at this hotel when I am on business in Sydney; usually a couple of times a year. I have always been very pleased in the past. This time I checked in for a 4 day break with my wife after an 11 day stay at Potts Point 10 days earlier and a couple of days in the Airport Holiday Inn in January. My main problem is that on the second day room service didn't come until 6pm which was inconvenient since we had just returned from a day out and were getting ready to go out for Dinner, so I told the cleaner to leave us alone. The next morning I mentioned this to the front desk who seemed surprised and promised me that room service would be earlier that day. In fact when we returned to our room that evening there had been no room service at all, it was only offered when I complained at the front desk. Apart from this I was disappointed with the room. During my earlier stay I asked the front desk if I could have a room with a view of the harbour during my stay with my wife, the room allocated had a view of the building behind the hotel (For info, I was Platinum Elite when I arrived but downgraded to Gold during my stay). The room also had a cracked sink and was set up for airline staff with their specific menu and plastic cutlery. One would have thought that these items would be removed when the room was being let to the general public. So, overall my main complaint was the lack of room service, but in general the quality of the room was not as good as in previous visits. March 1, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by An oldie but a goodie This Holiday Inn is consistent with its service delivery which has resulted in strong return business. Although now very popular with airline crews their arrival does not impact on the rapid and professional service of reception staff. The magic of this hotel however is the superb harbour views and quality beds which surely 99.9% of sleepers would agree results in a restful sleep. Location across the road from the Kings Cross train station very well located for business anywhere in Sydney and too or from the airport. One small negative relates to my wife being charged $1.50 when she requested an additional biscuit(both rock hard!) with her coffee and the first known of this charge was at checkout ! February 26, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 3 days in Sydney What a fantastic hotel with staff that are a true credit to the IHG group. We use your hotels in the UK regularly, but this hotel could teach them a few ways in how to make guests feel welcome, nothing was too much trouble, everything was done with a smile, they were extremely helpful with maps and directions. We arrived earlier than we thought we would at the hotel but our room was ready and waiting and the view was fantastic just as in the picture of the king room with view ! what a view the Opera House and the Harbour Bridge. The hotel is really conveniently situated within walking distance of the Harbour, Opera House and great Restaurants and Pubs. When ever you entered the hotel, bar or restaurant, the staff were happy and welcoming and when we left all the staff wished us a good flight home it really made you feel that they cared ! February 23, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location The main reason I stay at Holiday Inn Kings Cross is because it is adjacent to Kings Cross railway station. Otherwise it is a comfortable and clean hotel with an efficient front desk and good food February 22, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding care and quality of service . As our first time to Pott's Point -Sydney Holiday Inn we were given over and above service. It truly raised the bar when we went to check in. As we are very familiar with (IHG and Holiday Inn), We felt as though we were at home, It was great to have the memories of our father staying there, as a great send off to returning home. Jared is an exceptional employee with great caring and outstanding people skills. I would highly recommend staying here for anyone visiting Sydney. Thank you for the wonderful stay. February 16, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Made me feel at home I arrived at the hotel early and was greeted by friendly and familiar faces. My room was not ready straight away (as I expected as I was very early) but the receptionist called housekeeping and had them make a room straight away. I felt they valued my Platinum membership and treated me accordingly. My room was upgraded and I was offered free internet. I came down for breakfast the following morning and the host (I think his name was Ashwan) knew my name and room number. Breakfast was great, especially the egg station. Would definitely come back…great stay. February 13, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad service and room was comfortable This was our second stay at holiday inn Potts point after our first stay being so great with helpful staff we chose to stay again. Unfortunately the lovely man from our stay last time was no longer there this stay was not great with rude staff at front of counter. I had called in advance to confirm the amount that would be withheld at our stay. Unfortunately I didn't have enough on my card due to the fact I had called and the lady had said $50 not $50 per night. Then they said if we paid cash we'd have to put $200. This turned into an argument as the lady at the counter wasn't willing to even slightly help us out. Eventually after a lot of hassle we were checked in. Checking out was even worse with the man checking us out not understanding what I was trying to say until finally the manager interrupted and all was understood. the room is great with everything you need. Cleaning staff are lovely and do a great job of making sure you have everything you need changed each day. And it's in a good location if wanting to go out in kings cross. Overall it started and ended badly. And would not stay here again due to rudeness of staff. February 12, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Patchy Staff are very friendly. Breakfast had plenty of variety in a pleasant setting. Rooms would not want to be any smaller; it would be inaccurate to say they were truly spacious. The fitness centre appears to be a couple of bedrooms in which machines have been installed, and there is no pool. The worst feature was the internet. With my booking this was supposed to be free. And indeed there was a free service, but a very poor one, and on logging in, you were advised that you could upgrade through payment to premium, which was recommended if you wanted to make Skype calls or the like. I personally believe that I was misled at the time of booking. Free internet does not and should not mean substandard internet. February 11, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room , good location. We arrived for the New Year. The hotel is in a good location for transport links as it is next door to Kings Cross station. We were able to walk to a park with good views of the harbour bridge to watch the fireworks. Our first room was comfortable, but at the front on he 3rd floor so very noisy. After 2 nights of no sleep we asked to be relocated. The staff were very helpful and we were relocated onto the 8th floor at the back within the hour. Our 2nd room was smaller but still comfortable and definitely quieter. I was disappointed in the limited WiFi and unfortunately I didn't realise my IHG membership was able to be used worldwide so only found out about free internet on the last day. Plus missed out on all my rewards!! February 2, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Hotel, Average Location The hotel and staff are great. Location above the train station is very useful. However, I would not venture outside the hotel after 10PM. Luckily the hotel is great to hang around in. February 1, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient but can be noisy The hotel sits above Kings Cross Station. Our room got noise from clubs throughout the night. The hotel is convenient to the restaurants of Potts Point and access to the art gallery, botanic gardens, etc. The staff were helpful. January 27, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location In the heart of the vibrant nightlife This is a lovely hotel, it has wonderful friendly staff and they will do everything to make your stay perfect. I was acknowledged as a platinum Priority member and told I was given an upgrade to a Harbour view king room, though that is the room I booked and paid for so I don't really see what the fuss about upgrade was for. The room was nice, the bathroom good and the restaurant just off the main lobby very nice with excellent service and a wide and varied selection. I like this hotel and as a long term Priority Platinum Elite Ambassador of the Intercontinental Hotel Group, I highly recommend it. But as the fore mentioned don't expect a letter or card or gift of welcome, which many of the Holiday Inns do. It's a shame as these little touches are what makes the difference between a good and exceptional stay, a pleasurable or memorable one. Something the management might want to review. January 26, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great hotel I have been staying at Holiday Inn since the year 2000 and have never looked at going anywhere else. Truly a great hotel! January 23, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff and Location - Dated Rooms We were welcomed by a very friendly staff and upgraded to larger rooms due to our IHG status - very nice. The hotel location is great, with locations in Sydney easily reachable on foot, or by bus or train (Kings Cross rail station next door). Only dings on the stay were that the some of the furniture, and especially the carpets, are in need of replacement - pretty worn. Beds were comfortable, however. No pool or spa. January 20, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Poor service - unhelpful staff We booked two reward night rooms for two nights - Dec 31st and Jan1st. On Jan 1st we returned from a fabulous dinner at Kingsley's and were planning a nightcap in the bar. On arrival it was closed and we were told very abruptly that even as residents we couldn't have a drink. This fact is not advertised anywhere and guests need to be made aware when making a reservation. When I explained to the staff that I had had a drink the previous evening/early morning sat outside they told me I hadn't done so! I assured them that I had as I had brought a drink down from my room and sat outside. They told me this couldn't have happened although I assured them that it had. I have stayed in Holiday Inns all over the world and never been treated in this way. We were left very disappointed. January 18, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb view of the harbor bridge! Excellent location & view! Really clean & enjoyable stay! Tho no pool. January 17, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay at the Potts Point-Sydney Hotel We had an excellent stay at the Potts Point-Sydney hotel. We arrived very early from the U.S. and we were able to check in right away, that was great. The Hotel is conveniently located in Kings Cross. The room was very comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful in getting us connected to tours and around the city with maps and such. Room clean and comfortable Breakfast wasn't included as it is in a lot of hotels, but that is ok, and the Kings Cross neighborhood can be a little edgy, but that can be fun also. But there are some very nice Victorian neighborhoods nearby that are very nice to walk through. This hotel worked out great and it was a nice comfort coming from the U.S where the brand is very familiar. The customer services and the staff were great. January 16, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It has everything The location is fabulous - next door to the train station and within walking distance of Kings Cross - unyet our room was incredibly quiet. Our room was clean and the bed very comfortable - both firm and soft pillows were provided. The view of the Sydney harbour bridge from our room was lovely. We drove to Sydney and access to the hotel's parking was easy and the daily rate very reasonable. We are making this hotel our regular for our visits to Sydney. January 15, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by As a foundation member of the original Pacific Privilege and hundreds of stays in IHG Hotels group this sadly is first ever critical review Arrived to find our room allocation was on the 1st floor despite having made reservations 6 months in advance and being a platinum member.One can only assume that as our entire stay of 6 nights was using reward vouchers and points and the hotel was near capacity our reservation was regarded as bargain basement material.Reception thankfully were able to organise a suitable comfortable room on the 3rd floor after waiting for the room to be cleaned.we then settled in for what we expected to be an enjoyable stay commensurate with our many stays at this establishment. However on our return at 7pm on Saturday 4th January we found our room had been serviced but sometime afterwards someone had entered the room and messed up the tops of the 2 beds. We checked all of our belongings to find there was nothing missing.I promptly phoned reception to report the incident as my wife was very distressed of a possible intruder.The gentleman concerned indicated it would be investigated and I would be advised accordingly.There was no such reply at all.We do have photographs of the beds in the state we found them to confirm our claim.This incident left us feeling uncomfortable for the remainder of our stay and wary of making any further complaint. January 12, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and comfortable The location was fine for our stay. Enjoy the weather and the city is so friendly. Loved that it has so many parks. Was in town for a wedding . January 7, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great breakfast Checkin staff were helpful, friendly and a pleasure to deal with. Although I requested a room not looking over the road, my room did look out at the busy intersection. I was concerned about noise keeping me awake but was pleasantly surprised once the blinds were shut, the noise was minimal. The room is a good size, the queen bed comfortable, pillow selection welcomed. It is a bit dated as are many Sydney hotels, but overall condition was very good and clean. Parking was only $27.50 per night which was reasonable for Sydney. If you pre book breakfast they charge $15 which was great value. A chef was on hand to cook eggs to order, as well as the usual you find in a buffet breakfast. Quality and value excellent. Location was good if you wanted to be in Kings Cross, it is next door to the station. January 5, 2014
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11 next>>