Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Sydney

STYLE AND HISTORY CONVERGE AT THIS SYDNEY HOTEL
Overlooking the world’s most stunning harbour, this Sydney hotel is a true expression of luxury. Guests can enjoy picturesque views from contemporary suites or the heated indoor swimming pool on the 31st floor. Experience one of the finest restaurants in Sydney at Cafe Opera, serving European and Australian cuisine made from fresh local produce. Near the hotel, explore the The Rocks, stroll through the Royal Botanic Gardens or browse the designer boutiques at the Queen Victoria Building.

Guest Reviews

2X Points and Faster Rewards - Earn 10 points for every US$1 spent. Plus 2X points on F&B and more

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Set in breathtaking 19th Century architecture, Cafe Opera undoubtedly forms the perfect venue for any occasion. Enjoy a truly unique, seasonally in...
  • Amenities & Services

    The hotel offers all guests access to the indoor heated swimming pool and gym. Guest rooms include Agraria products and robes.
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
News & Events

Odyssey Massage Special Offer

For the month of July receive a free 15 minute foot massage with any 60 minute massage booked before check in!* *Cannot be used in conjunction with...

Some Secrets Just Shouldn't Be Kept

Explore new destinations and get up to 20% off your room rate when you stay with us between now and the 30th September*. *Terms and conditions apply
Sydney
  • 117 Macquarie Street
  • Sydney , 2000
  • Australia
  • Front Desk +61-2-92539000

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, Czech, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Dutch , Polish, Portuguese, Serbian, Turkish, Chinese

Pet Policy

No pets please, guide dogs exempted.
  • Local Time

    12:56 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM

    Currency

    • Australian Dollar $ (AUD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 3 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 372 reviewers.
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal location The best thing about this hotel is it's location. You can easily walk a few blocks to the city center or a few blocks to Darling Harbour where there are many many restaurants. The hotel is a little bit dated in appearance inside and out but I'd still recommend it. However, I would not recommend the seafood buffet. For the price I didn't think it value for money. The seafood selection was just OK but I found their side dishes, slads and other offerings below par with empty dishes the norm. The staff are friendly and most helpful. Just across the street is the City Markets which has 3 floors of market shopping, food and all sorts of interesting shops to browse thru. April 16, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by long stay in general was OK, there were 3 negative issues: - not possible to open the window, just air conditioned: I don't like it - breakfast level was poor, both in term of food quality and mess - price of the room was changing day by day: when I booked I was told a fixed price - it was not fair not having my cost under control April 16, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location The location is very convenient. Airport pick up is available. Close to China Town, Train Station, and Harour. Very nice ! April 15, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Dated Holiday Inn Fantastic Location, room upgraded due to being an IHG member. Very large room with comfy bed but decor is very dated. Was not told about late check out until the day of check out which was too late, invited for a glass of wine but as we were out all day sightseeing we didnt find out until it was too late. April 13, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good location and good service My elderly mother and I recently stayed at this hotel. It is well placed for the attractions of Darling Harbour only a short walk away, and Chinatown just around the corner, and is on the light rail route if you don't feel like walking. Staff were friendly and competent. There were some areas to iron out in the breakfast service but overall the food and service were good. April 13, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Stayed there several times. Location great. Comfortable, friendly. And good service. Obliging. Breakfast improved and very good. April 12, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by lower your expectations This property was touted as a four-star property but it really felt more like a three-star. Once you accept that, then everything would be fine (the lack of usual hotel freebies, the curt service; the small lobby; the cafeteria quality breakfast buffet). Sydney is a very expensive city; i wonder if this experience would have been common among other hotels? Location is excellent though; in Darling Harbour, right next to Market City/Paddy's Market and Chinatown; walking distance to George Street. April 10, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by quiet and comfortable room We were very happy to have stayed at the Holiday Inn at Darling Harbour.On arrival we requested a room on a lower floor than we had been allocated.The gentleman at reception agreed to this without a second thought and also gave us a room upgrade.We were very impressed with our room,it was quiet,clean and the bed was so comfortable.There were plenty of towels etc and our room was nice and cosy.All the staff we came in contact with, from reception to the cleaners, were very friendly and made us feel welcome.We would definately stay here if we visit Sydney again. April 10, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location Ideal for meeting up with family, good location, friendly staff, clean and quiet at night. Car parking very close and reasonable cost. April 9, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location & service We stayed here as my teenagers were attending a concert at the Sydney Entertainment Centre. The location was fantastic as it was directly across the road from the venue for the teenagers which meant we were able to go to elsewhere without worrying. Right next door to Chinatown, Paddy's Markets and the light rail service if you wanted to go elsewhere in Darling Harbour. Because we are a IHG member and paid in advance we all enjoyed a buffet breakfast as part of the deal as well as free internet . The staff were friendly, service was excellent and room very clean. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to others. April 9, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Early check-in not a problem!!! Fantastic very friendly staff. Concierge even left hotel to rescue me when I missed the valet parking turnoff!! Was able to check in 3 hrs early with no hassle. Room service very quick and friendly. Will definatley be back:) April 2, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location Location! Located perfectly for exploring, shopping and getting to those big events in the City. Clean, tidy and very welcoming staff. Will stay again! Tx April 2, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by mlb weekend Happy with the room although priced up due to baseball being on. All in all happy with stay and would recommend hotel as it is central to everything but I believe that wifi should be FREE. March 26, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and staff We stayed two weeks running workshops and were quite happy. Will return. March 21, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by More value for money This was my second time stay with Holiday Inn Darling Harbour and this has been one of my best stays so far. Staying away from family for 4 weeks is no mean achievement and i would attribute all that to the comfort and hospitality extended by the staff and IHG team. March 18, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location with the resonable price 1. Very good location. 2. Although staffs were nice, especially at the breakfast area. But could improve for the better service, more friendly, and recognition of Priority club members. March 17, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 100% quality We had 6 days stay and we were very happy with the service and comfortable room. March 15, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location! We stayed 2 nights prior to joining a cruise. We were upgraded (Priority Club Member recognition) to a family room with 2 double beds but the room was dark as most of the daylight was overshadowed by the partitiion wall to the gym. We did not need 2 huge beds and would have preferred a room on a higher floor with natural daylight so as not to have to put the light on during daytime. Family rooms should have a small sofa instead of the single armchair. Also, came home and found an unexplained dollar charged on our credit card. As we didn't incur any extra charges we would have paid this in CASH. Having this charged on our credit card incurred a transaction fee! The hotel receptionists were all very friendly. The location is excellent for getting around the centre of Sydney. I would have given overall higher ratings had I been in a sunnier room with window to the street instead of look out to a brick wall adjoining the gym. March 13, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by A smile is free The reception staff were friendly and helpful . However the manager esra was cold and distant. As we were people of colour in a country where people of colour are rarely seen except the indigenous population. A welcoming smile was all that was required. We stayed for 7 days but trended on egg shells when we saw her as she made us feel on edge. The other reception and concierge staff were helpful and welcoming. The rooms very basic and very expensive. The gym needs a serious refurbishment and they need to remove the tiny tub the y call a spa. The corridors smelt musty and look dusty all the time. March 9, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff a bonus! We stayed at Darling Harbour in January and had a great experience. The staff were friendly, helpful and very knowledgable. Room was comfortable with the only downside that the extractor in the bathroom did not work. All else was clean and tidy. Felt it was a little expensive, but the location was ideal and it was just after the Australia Day weekend. The staff really made our stay with their recommendation for dinner and their very friendly service. Would definitely stay again. Carole and Allan. February 27, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unbeatable Location! Holiday Inn Darling Harbour is in an unbeatable location! We popped accross the road and explored Darling Harbour and the Aquarium then came back to the room to freshen up before going literally around the corner to China Town for dinner. We had tickets to the "Lion King" at the Capitol Theatre, just a 5 min walk away. In the morning the kids went across the road to Macdonalds for brekki before we hit Paddy's Market on the opposite corner to the hotel. We then moved upstairs to shop at the outlet stores before having an awesome asian lunch on the top floor. Back to the hotel to collect our car from the hotel Valet parking (this was fantastic - door to door - no stress!!) before heading home. Service, staff, room and parking was fantastic! Definately staying here again for any trips to Sydney :) February 26, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by POOR FRONT RECEPTION SERVICE After staying at the Holiday Inn a few times at Darling Harbour. I was disappointed with the unfriendly and rude front house young receptionist for check in who was on her own at the time, who had spoken rudely to the first asian tourists when asking for a direction, was told " as I told you before", was the answer then I was next, no friendly chat or smile, after speaking with her , and then speaking with the manager on duty who was also very young and didn't really care about my complaint and backed her up, as expected. As i said she was having a a bad grumpy day, and needed some customer service skills. One would think that the Holiday inn situated right in the heart of Darling Harbour and next door to China Town etc. Is such a no 1 spot for TOURISTS, who needed to be guided and spoken to politely. Funny though as soon as I complained, the smile and greetings to the next customers soon changed her tune......... Not for me.. so much for priority privelege club!! February 25, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 6 week stay I just finished a 6 week stay. The staff was very friendly. The room was very quiet. In the middle of Patties market, Chinatown and Darline Harbor. Made it ez to walk to every thing. February 24, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable & convenient! Always stay here when in Sydney, easy to get to where ever we need to be, close to public transport if needed! Tony & his team always look after us! February 23, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Upgrade no upgrade Arriving at the hotel we were advised we were upgraded to a King executive room. On entering the bathroom we find a toilet up against the show screen & at 6'3" I have to sit side saddle. LOL We were asked if we would like a paper each morning & only 1 got delivered on Sunday & that was after I said something. We were advised that the specials in the restaurant were not applicable to the Priority privilege members. The only hotel I have come across that is doing this. Out of our 6 day stay at the hotel we only ate twice for breakfast as the food my wife ordered was not good both mornings. Generally this is a good Hotel to stay at but a lot of things were wrong. Even my final bill had over $900 in gratuities after one meal. So generally not happy February 20, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Margaret Great location , very helpful staff , room was clean , basic but served all our needs . Nice to be able to sit outside in the evening and enjoy a drink . Good breakfast , would recommend this hotel and will stay here again for sure . February 12, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really great value for money and service We had 2 rooms over 3 nights stay @ Darling harbour Holiday Inn. We had a great time with our family (Who were visiting us from states) and it was nice breakout. February 9, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, service and friendly, helpful staff. Thankyou to the lovely staff at the Holiday Inn Darling Harbour. We have stayed several times and you are always very helpful and attentive. Well done. February 9, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Our room was large and had a reasonable view. The breakfast was excellent. The dinner in the hotel restaurant was large, value for money, and all the staff we encountered were very courteous and efficient. I did think $14.95 for a Smirnoff Ice was a bit steep :-) February 8, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A goodly choice My wife and I stayed with our twin granddaughters for four nights in early January, 2014. The girls were Aussies but my wife and I were visiting from the UK. We explored Sydney city centre and it was all considered to be a success. I had reviewed many earlier guests views before our stay and found that many of the expressed opinions were, indeed, valid. The cleanliness and comfort and facilities and the morning buffet breakfast were indeed highly commendable. We have different breakfast preferences but all in the group were satisfied. The location for places of interest was also superb. I was particularly pleased with the quiet room which we had asked for and been given. It was a lovely touch to be given complementary WiFi facilities and (remembering how all these girls like to extend the shopping sport) a late checkout - all as a IHG registered priority member. I did think we were on a package with a AUD $25 / day in house spending credit which I don't think we were accredited (we did have meals and drinks in JB's) but overall we were quite satisfied and this point was not queried. I would certainly recommend this hotel to others and would like to stay here again. February 3, 2014
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14 next>>