Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Sydney

STYLE AND HISTORY CONVERGE AT THIS SYDNEY HOTEL
Overlooking the world’s most stunning harbour, this Sydney hotel is a true expression of luxury. Guests can enjoy picturesque views from contemporary suites or the heated indoor swimming pool on the 31st floor. Experience one of the finest restaurants in Sydney at Cafe Opera, serving European and Australian cuisine made from fresh local produce. Near the hotel, explore the The Rocks, stroll through the Royal Botanic Gardens or browse the designer boutiques at the Queen Victoria Building.

Guest Reviews

Authentic Escapes with IHG Special - up to 25% off at all participating hotels & resorts.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Set in breathtaking 19th Century architecture, Cafe Opera undoubtedly forms the perfect venue for any occasion. Enjoy a truly unique, seasonally in...
  • Amenities & Services

    The hotel offers all guests access to the indoor heated swimming pool and gym. Guest rooms include Agraria products and robes.
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Sydney
  • 117 Macquarie Street
  • Sydney , 2000
  • Australia
  • Front Desk +61-2-92539000

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, Czech, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Dutch , Polish, Portuguese, Serbian, Turkish, Chinese

Pet Policy

Contact hotel for details
  • Local Time

    10:27 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM

    Currency

    • Australian Dollar $ (AUD)

    Accessibility

    • Service Animals Allowed
    • 3 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 415 reviewers.
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor customer service The customer service was terrible! I arrived at the hotel to be advised that the valet parking was closed and I would have to self park at a public car park in the rocks. After driving there, parking and walking back 20 mins had past. To say I was less than impressed was an understatement. Then the next morning I check out walk back to the public car park only to be charged $60 for parking when I was told it was $25! November 27, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Internet Location, Service, Rooms all very good, free internet 10 mins a joke! November 25, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our holiday 2013 Everything was perfect. Location was fantastic. We were looked after very very well. We felt very much at home. All the staff were very friendly and always had a smile. The staff who looked after us at breakfast were 1st class. Hotel very clean and if ever we went back to Sydney this would be our choice again. We loved Sydney. November 24, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay and exerience This hotels greatest asset is its wonderful warm and friendly staff. I had a lovely stay here recently with my family and for the location very well priced close to the cruise terminal s perfect for a night pre or post cruising -close to a cluster of great cafes and restaurants . The hotels breakfast is amazing value and one of the best selections for a 3 and half star hotel.Again the staff in the sall restaurant were helpful,friendly and attentive . Fairly obviously a great team culture within the staff. The rooms are in need of a soft refurb but that didnt detract from our stay .Woud stay here again in a heartbeat . November 14, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay My wife and I stayed Saturday night here and were very impressed by the service and facilities. Staff were friendly,courteous and very helpful. Check in was quick and efficient. Proximity to attractions was great; all within a short walk. The view was amazing, the bridge, Opera House, harbour, etc. We parked our car nearby at reduced rates for the time of our stay. Driving in from the north was easy and quick, although it was around mid-day on Saturday and May not be as smooth on a busy mid-week day. We cannot comment on food since we were attending a wedding on Saturday and eating with friends on Sunday. Will certainly stay here again and would recommend highly. November 13, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Food Quality Greetings, Thanks for allowing us to share our comments about your hotel. The rooms seem dated. we had the buffet breakfast, it was very sad food tasted bad.... other than that great location! Thanks Andrew, New York November 12, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location We stayed here for two nights in November 2014. The reception desk staff were great. Our room was clean. There was a little bit of noise from the street but it didn't keep us awake. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast is a lovely buffet with an egg station. The staff at the breakfast restaurant were very helpful and pleasant. I had my family meet us in there for Breakfast on the Sunday and the staff could not have been more helpful or accommodating. The pool on the roof has great views of Sydney Harbour. We didn't get to use it but we did go up for a look. Overall it is a pleasure to stay here, we have stayed before and would stay again. November 12, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Out dated and run down I expected that the king suite would not have a broken bathroom cupoard and peeling grout. When I mentioned it to the staff at checkout she said "it cost money to renovate". November 10, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Don't expect the rooms to be 5 Star, but expect the location to be everything that is "Sydney"....you won't need your car here -- as they say, location location location! PS Room was very large notwithstanding it was 'tired'... November 7, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location for walking to all the icons. Room could definitely use a facelift, cracked paint etc, but all in all had everything we needed, including slippers that were way too big! The bar fridge was old and had no freezer section for ice. Airconditioning was good but only had two options....high or off! Thought the inhouse movies were too expensive. The view from the rooftop was amazing, especially at night, from the harbour bridge to the left to the opera house across the water. November 5, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall a very good stay On arrival, very helpful staff who changed our room for us as we asked for one with a view. Very comfortable bed and we slept well. The breakfasts and breakfast staff were superb! The rooftop pool was very nice with views over the harbour. Very good ambiance in the hotel. However, disappointingly, we found the cleanliness didn't match up to the otherwise good standards of the hotel. Grubby bathroom with mould under the sink rim and around shower tiles; corridor carpets not vacuumed in the three days we were there; lots of old chewing gum found under tables in lobby (accidentally! we were not searching for it!). Also, the closing time for the bar is not clear. The information says it is open 'til late' but when we came in and tried to get a drink at 11.10pm we were met with a very dipleased bar staff member who told us she should have left 10 minutes ago! The hotel was good in all other aspects and we would stay here again. November 3, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overall experience we had a great weekend in the rocks so central to everything. The staff were very accommodating and the rooms were great. October 30, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Good location for the Rocks and Sydney Harbour. Staff really helpful and cheerful. October 30, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and comfort This hotel is ideally placed in Sydney and within walking distance of most of the sights. Friendly and comfortable. Good breakfast. Fantastic views from the roof. October 29, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by bathroom Position of the hotel is excellent . The bed very comfortable However the bathroom far too small and dirty . For the price paid per night I would expect a clean room :( October 28, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, not a patch on HI Potts Point Great location. Wanted similar experience to HOLIDAY INN POTTS PIINT but in a better location. Did not get it. October 27, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable clean property with lovely staff. Really enjoyed our experience at the Old Sydney. The staff were lovely and the breakfast was delicious. The property was very clean and our room, clean, spacious and comfortable as well. We would love to purchase that bed! We will recommend and more than likely return. October 27, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Position, Position, Position Our first time to stay at this property and we were impressed. A really great and strategic location if you want to focus your time around The Rocks and Circular Quay. Staff were really friendly and helpful, the room was a litle tired and needed a lift but we did not spend that much time in it anyway. We were in town to show some overseas visitors around and hence the close proximity to the Quay, Opera House, Rocks Markets, The Bridge etc was a real plus. Would definitely stay here again, even without the role of Tour Guide to play, a relaxed hotel amongst the busy Sydney environment. Location Secret...the roof top pool has the best view in town... October 24, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed my Stay Beautiful location and the staff very friendly and helpful. Really loved the block out screens in the room - made it so much easier to sleep well! The views from the room was amazing, and also from the roof top pool area. The beds were also very comfortable. Will definately look forward to coming back again. October 24, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Celebrating Anniversary We chose this hotel to celebrate our 12th wedding anniversary and we were welcomed by a wonderful front desk employee named Willow, she was very friendly and congratulated us on our anniversary. We got talking about travel and she put together some info for us on her home town, which we have always wanted to go to. Willow also recommended a very good italian restaurant for dinner. The room was ok, we overlooked Church St. which was very loud and the windows were old and did not do a good job blocking out the noise. The bathroom was very outdated and did not have anyplace to hang damp towels. We had a great breakfast at the hotel, very well stocked with an omelette bar and a make your own juice bar. Overall this is a good hotel and we will stay there again, mostly due to Willow and the staff at the hotel. October 23, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfie bed and fantastic service. We had a lovely stay, everything from food to staff was of a high standard. Brekki was beautiful. Will definitely stay again. October 20, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Breakfast & Room Service Poor quality room service, all the items whcih I like in Breakfast - Suasages, omellete were missing. Food was cold. Overall I'm upset. October 20, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location Friendly welcome. Great location.comfortable room but bathroom needs upgrading. Still would stay here again October 18, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous view This was our second stay at the Old Sydney Town Holiday Inn. We chose to stay again as it is a great central location for transport and walking distance to many attractions. The view from our room was AMAZING, with the Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Circular Quay and city all clearly visible. There is also a magnificent view from the rooftop. The staff are always very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is always delicious. I would recommend it to everyone! October 18, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay but expensive local phone calls I had a fantastic stay at the Holiday Inn. The Spa and pool were a real wow factor. Kids loved it, I had a beer watching the sunset over the bridge and city sky line which was superb. The breakfast was also very good with it's own juicer. The only thing that disappointed me was my phone bill at the end for 2 local calls for 20 minutes each totaling the amount of $91.00. This was a rip off which I will have to investigate further. Apart from that really great place in a great part of Sydney to stay. October 16, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by strategic for easy sydney good location. excellent strategic position to visit sydney. from the roof sydney is at your feet! October 16, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Good Situation. Very Good situation in the Rocks allowing easy acces to ferries. Lively surroundings. However the hotel would benefit from a more cheerfull decoration. Free WiFi access in the room wouild be greatly welcomed. October 14, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by friendly hotel very friendly and service oriented staff. the hotel is centrally located and has a very nice roof terrace. for the sunrise. We like to come again on our next visit to this hotel back. October 14, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, pity about the early morning noise Willow was awesome, lovely girl, and very helpful. Good beds. Big walk from the lifts to the room was a bit of a pain. Unfortunately the side of the building we were on was above a restaurant service lane and service deliveries and dump trucks started arriving from 5am onwards. If we stayed again i'd avoid that like the plaque. Airconditioning filters haven't been serviced for years i'd suggst. Big thanks to Willow for being the being the bright spot for us. Pool on roof has great views. October 14, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to stay After reading some of the negative reviews by others on the Holiday Inn, I was a little concerned as to what I might find. The visit was important for my partner and I as our trip was short and intense. Yes the decor is a little dated and needs a bit of a spruce up but everything else was excellent. The rooms were tidy and very quiet and the king bed was very comfortable. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful and really made a big difference to the overall appeal. We witnessed a young member of your staff eloquently handle a rude customer trying to book in with cheerful and helpful professionalism. It was a particularly hot day on our last day and a chef brought us complimentary bottles of water as we left breakfast. A nice touch! The buffet breakfast was excellent and my partner enjoyed the fresh fruit juicer. Although unfortunately, we didn't have time to use the pool or spa, we did go up and enjoy the beautiful view from the rooftop. Stunning. This was one of the better stays in hotels I have had over the last year or so and being right in the heart of the city, it was perfectly located for us to take advantage of the Opera House and many other attractions. I'm sure we will stay again on our next visit to Sydney. Thanks to all the staff for their excellent service. October 13, 2013
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15 next>>