Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Sydney

STYLE AND HISTORY CONVERGE AT THIS SYDNEY HOTEL
Some visit Sydney’s icons. Others stay in them. For more than 25 years, InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia’s harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental lounge overlooking the harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count.

Guest Reviews

2X Points and Faster Rewards - Earn 10 points for every US$1 spent. Plus 2X points on F&B and more

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Set within breathtaking 19th Century architecture, Cafe Opera undoubtedly forms the perfect venue for any occasion. Enjoy a truly unique, seasonall...
  • Amenities & Services

    The hotel offers all guests access to the indoor heated swimming pool and gym. Guest rooms include Agraria products and robes.
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
News & Events

A Taste Of...Foraged Feasting

A Taste Of… Foraged Feasting focuses on native, foraged foods. Indulge your senses with a exquisite dining experience showcasing the best of Austra...

Some Secrets Just Shouldn't Be Kept

Explore new destinations and get up to 20% off your room rate when you stay with us between now and the 30th September*. *Terms and conditions apply
Sydney
  • 117 Macquarie Street
  • Sydney , 2000
  • Australia
  • Front Desk +61-2-92539000

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, Czech, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Dutch , Polish, Portuguese, Serbian, Turkish, Chinese

Pet Policy

No pets please, guide dogs exempted.
  • Local Time

    9:43 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM

    Currency

    • Australian Dollar $ (AUD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 3 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 412 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday at the Holiday Inn Firstly, I like to travel in my leisure time now, but I also like value for money. I chose to stay at the Holiday Inn as my wife and I had stayed there previously and really enjoyed the experience. It is close to many venues and great restaurants on the harbour. Kids would love the nearby Aquarium. China Town is just behind the Inn and the restaurants are great. You can see giant crabs and lobsters in small glass cases in the window. The food is delicious. Don't miss the night market on Friday night and the fantastic hawker food stalls. Emperor puffs and dragon's beard candy were two sweets I had not heard of or tasted before. All prepared in front of you. A short walk away is the Chinese Garden, on the way to the harbour wharf where you can get the ferry to go to Circular Quay and pick up ferries for Manly, Bondi and Taronga Zoo. The concierge at the Holiday inn filled me in on this. He was very helpful, gave me a map of the area and even told us where to go for dinner. JB's cafe is part of the hotel and you can get a snack or drink there any time. Bonus! Hotel staff, especially at reception, made our check-in joyful by admitting us a couple of hours early and even giving us a room upgrade. Over-all, my wife and I were very comfortable there and enjoyed our short stay very much. May 8, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great central location with fantastic staff. Our stay was made very memorable by the friendly, caring and helpful staff. Highly recommend the Holiday Inn Daring Harbour to anybody staying in Sydney you will not be disappointed. We are looking forward to coming back soon. Mike from Perth WA May 4, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 nights of comfort We stayed in a lovely room, great comfy bed, and had a very relaxing stay. We were on the 10th floor and had a corner room, which gave us good city views. The staff were helpful, smoothly ironing out a problen we encountered re our booking having breakfast included. Reception staff were welcoming, and the maids were all friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would fully recommend this hotel to anyone. April 29, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by old dog Great position.Very consistent and friendly service.Food and beverages of a good standard.Rooms are very well maintained and very comfortable.Breakfast is excellent. April 26, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location with a service which exceeds expectation The front line staff ( at the Reception, Concierge etc ) was courteous, helpful and friendly. We were made very welcome from the start. The property was at the heart where all the actions were and so there was no need to incur transportation cost...all within walking distance. Dorothy and Roland Tan Perth, WA. April 25, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel for a short notice booking Had to leave Cairns due to cyclone Ita and booked this hotel from the Cairns airport last minute because our other Sydney hotel was full at the time. We arrive in Sydney and the room was ready for us and it was well equipped and very clean. The staff was helpful, we asked for directions about a million times and they were always willing to help us out. The hotel was in a great spot for us for the 3 extra days in Sydney. Just 5 minutes walk to Darling Harbbour where you'll find shopping, dinning, entertainment and more. It is in the Chinatown district so there are plenty of Asian food place all around. The train is about a 10 minute walk form the hotel and there are buses that run all around the hotel. Paddy's market is at the end of the block so you can buy all the gifts you want and be 1 block from your room to drop your good off. We also booked the room with breakfast included as we did in Cairns and it is really the only way to go. Breakfast is $25.00 if not booked via the room and some where around $15 if included in the room. IHG members get free wi-fi, so join before you book. April 25, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for money This hotel is situated very well- on the border of Darling Harbour and China Town. The rooms are clean and comfortable- beds are really comfortable, with good pillows. The rooms are also quiet (despite the hotel being quite full when we stayed). I also liked that there was a small kitchen sink and bench in the room- and an empty bar fridge- really convenient for families. The reception staff were friendly and helpful- we were allowed to change the configuration of our room a little with no extra charge- despite that the reception always seems to be very busy. The only downside was the awful view from our window (of the building next door)- but that didn't bother us as we were not in the room for very long during the day! We would definitely stay here again next time we visit Sydney. April 22, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Have no trouble with the accommodation and the facilities and the staff are friendly. I was disappointed with the breakfast area. Way too crowded around the food area and the food is not kept up with the patrons when busy. The hot food was not hot kept hot. I will stay again, but I'll get breakfast elsewhere. April 21, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Shipley's Restaurant Our overall stay at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour was a pleasant experience. I do have a problem, however, with the method of calculating the price for the seafood buffet at Shipley's Restaurant. We are Priority Privilege members & have been for many years & have been very faithful to the IHG brand. As Priority Privilege members we are entitled to 50% discount on dining at any IHG hotel. When staying as guests at The Holiday Inn Darling Harbour & dining recently at Shipley's Restaurant on 2 nights of our stay, the seafood buffet was advertised as $39.95 for hotel guests (the full price for non guests was $69.95). We were hotel guests, therefore charged $39.95 per person but when we presented our PP card we were told we had to be charged the full "non guest" price to get the 50% discount. I could have walked in off the street & got the same benefit using my card. Could you please give me one good reason why I should continue to be a PP member. Over the past 10 years I have seen many of my benefits being eroded. April 19, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Re experience at The Holiday Inn. How can you call yourselves a 4 star rating motel and also a family motel ? Our room didn't even have a microwave where I could heat up my baby's bottles/food or a kitchenette to wash the bottles in ! In stead I had to wash the bottles in the hand basin in the bathroom , how unhygenic ! and also go down to reception at the most inconvenient times with my baby bottle steamer for the staff to put in their microwave to sterilize the baby bottles !! And the view outside our room, what view? It was a filthy half renovated verandah with a brick wall ! Call that a view ! Disgusting, will never book and stay here again ! April 17, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal location The best thing about this hotel is it's location. You can easily walk a few blocks to the city center or a few blocks to Darling Harbour where there are many many restaurants. The hotel is a little bit dated in appearance inside and out but I'd still recommend it. However, I would not recommend the seafood buffet. For the price I didn't think it value for money. The seafood selection was just OK but I found their side dishes, slads and other offerings below par with empty dishes the norm. The staff are friendly and most helpful. Just across the street is the City Markets which has 3 floors of market shopping, food and all sorts of interesting shops to browse thru. April 16, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by long stay in general was OK, there were 3 negative issues: - not possible to open the window, just air conditioned: I don't like it - breakfast level was poor, both in term of food quality and mess - price of the room was changing day by day: when I booked I was told a fixed price - it was not fair not having my cost under control April 16, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location The location is very convenient. Airport pick up is available. Close to China Town, Train Station, and Harour. Very nice ! April 15, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Dated Holiday Inn Fantastic Location, room upgraded due to being an IHG member. Very large room with comfy bed but decor is very dated. Was not told about late check out until the day of check out which was too late, invited for a glass of wine but as we were out all day sightseeing we didnt find out until it was too late. April 13, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good location and good service My elderly mother and I recently stayed at this hotel. It is well placed for the attractions of Darling Harbour only a short walk away, and Chinatown just around the corner, and is on the light rail route if you don't feel like walking. Staff were friendly and competent. There were some areas to iron out in the breakfast service but overall the food and service were good. April 13, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Stayed there several times. Location great. Comfortable, friendly. And good service. Obliging. Breakfast improved and very good. April 12, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by lower your expectations This property was touted as a four-star property but it really felt more like a three-star. Once you accept that, then everything would be fine (the lack of usual hotel freebies, the curt service; the small lobby; the cafeteria quality breakfast buffet). Sydney is a very expensive city; i wonder if this experience would have been common among other hotels? Location is excellent though; in Darling Harbour, right next to Market City/Paddy's Market and Chinatown; walking distance to George Street. April 10, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by quiet and comfortable room We were very happy to have stayed at the Holiday Inn at Darling Harbour.On arrival we requested a room on a lower floor than we had been allocated.The gentleman at reception agreed to this without a second thought and also gave us a room upgrade.We were very impressed with our room,it was quiet,clean and the bed was so comfortable.There were plenty of towels etc and our room was nice and cosy.All the staff we came in contact with, from reception to the cleaners, were very friendly and made us feel welcome.We would definately stay here if we visit Sydney again. April 10, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location Ideal for meeting up with family, good location, friendly staff, clean and quiet at night. Car parking very close and reasonable cost. April 9, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location & service We stayed here as my teenagers were attending a concert at the Sydney Entertainment Centre. The location was fantastic as it was directly across the road from the venue for the teenagers which meant we were able to go to elsewhere without worrying. Right next door to Chinatown, Paddy's Markets and the light rail service if you wanted to go elsewhere in Darling Harbour. Because we are a IHG member and paid in advance we all enjoyed a buffet breakfast as part of the deal as well as free internet . The staff were friendly, service was excellent and room very clean. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to others. April 9, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Early check-in not a problem!!! Fantastic very friendly staff. Concierge even left hotel to rescue me when I missed the valet parking turnoff!! Was able to check in 3 hrs early with no hassle. Room service very quick and friendly. Will definatley be back:) April 2, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location Location! Located perfectly for exploring, shopping and getting to those big events in the City. Clean, tidy and very welcoming staff. Will stay again! Tx April 2, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by mlb weekend Happy with the room although priced up due to baseball being on. All in all happy with stay and would recommend hotel as it is central to everything but I believe that wifi should be FREE. March 26, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and staff We stayed two weeks running workshops and were quite happy. Will return. March 21, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by More value for money This was my second time stay with Holiday Inn Darling Harbour and this has been one of my best stays so far. Staying away from family for 4 weeks is no mean achievement and i would attribute all that to the comfort and hospitality extended by the staff and IHG team. March 18, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location with the resonable price 1. Very good location. 2. Although staffs were nice, especially at the breakfast area. But could improve for the better service, more friendly, and recognition of Priority club members. March 17, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 100% quality We had 6 days stay and we were very happy with the service and comfortable room. March 15, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location! We stayed 2 nights prior to joining a cruise. We were upgraded (Priority Club Member recognition) to a family room with 2 double beds but the room was dark as most of the daylight was overshadowed by the partitiion wall to the gym. We did not need 2 huge beds and would have preferred a room on a higher floor with natural daylight so as not to have to put the light on during daytime. Family rooms should have a small sofa instead of the single armchair. Also, came home and found an unexplained dollar charged on our credit card. As we didn't incur any extra charges we would have paid this in CASH. Having this charged on our credit card incurred a transaction fee! The hotel receptionists were all very friendly. The location is excellent for getting around the centre of Sydney. I would have given overall higher ratings had I been in a sunnier room with window to the street instead of look out to a brick wall adjoining the gym. March 13, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by A smile is free The reception staff were friendly and helpful . However the manager esra was cold and distant. As we were people of colour in a country where people of colour are rarely seen except the indigenous population. A welcoming smile was all that was required. We stayed for 7 days but trended on egg shells when we saw her as she made us feel on edge. The other reception and concierge staff were helpful and welcoming. The rooms very basic and very expensive. The gym needs a serious refurbishment and they need to remove the tiny tub the y call a spa. The corridors smelt musty and look dusty all the time. March 9, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff a bonus! We stayed at Darling Harbour in January and had a great experience. The staff were friendly, helpful and very knowledgable. Room was comfortable with the only downside that the extractor in the bathroom did not work. All else was clean and tidy. Felt it was a little expensive, but the location was ideal and it was just after the Australia Day weekend. The staff really made our stay with their recommendation for dinner and their very friendly service. Would definitely stay again. Carole and Allan. February 27, 2014
    <<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 15 next>>