Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

The Willard Washington D.C

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 511 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room was wonderful. Mattress was not so good. Our stay was delightful from the minute we arrived at the valet and the front desk staff was very professional. Overall we were very impressed with our stay and look forward to coming back. 05 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room security I was extremely upset to return to my room and the door was left open by the housekeeper. I complained at that time to the operator and upon checkout. No one made any attempt to do more than apologize. I was horrified, as two rooms (mine and my daughter’s) were adjoining and left ajar with the latch keeping the door open. Anyone could have been in the room and items could have been stolen. A hotel of this quality should not have this occur. The food at the wedding was below the quality of a McDonald’s. I was horrified. 05 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Worth every star! I travel often, but when my family and I stayed at the Willard. The Willard reminded me of the standard of superb customer service. I look for customer service, but the Willard exceeded my expectations. They are always thinking ahead of their guests needs. Whatever you are thinking they have already done it. We were very impressed. Will stay again on our vistis to DC! 04 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by excellent location and fantastic staff I stayed here the night after Christmas for personal travel. It is only 1 block from the White House and all the major sites. The staff is extremely knowledgeable and always willing to help. I had a minor issue and they went over and above to resolve it for me. I highly recommend this property for anyone traveling to the area. 03 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely building, very poor reception staff A lovely setting, great rooms, both in size and comfort levels, location is perfect for sightseeing in Washington, however the reception staff are snooty and rude, and really don't care. We booked our room some weeks back. I made the reservation as a treat for my wife and young daughter, I'm a Platinium Elite member., we arrived after 6.00PM, and we were told your room is not ready, no apoligise or any sign of regret. After I asked for the Duty Mnager and he took over things improved, we were taken to the bar and they covered the tab for the drinks and food we ordered. No extra bed in the room as we had ordered, had to request this to be sent up. The Breakfast were very nice and the staff excelent, the waiting staff were great and Juan G went the extra mile and was a credit to the Willard. No mention of IHG status, no offer of an upgrade of even a newspaper, the Intercontinental in Doha, Qatar in term of service could teach the reception staff at the Willard a thing or two. Overall a lovely if expensive hotel spoilt by poor reception staff. 03 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel, but front desk service is lacking The hotel was very nice, and so was the staff. The issues started as soon as I checked in though. First, there was no guaranteed upgrade room available (even though royal ambassadors are supposed to be able to check in at 8 AM and it was already 1 PM). I was told that they couldn't give me a time when one would be available, but there was a very nice deluxe corner room that they could give me, with a view of the National Christmas tree. So of course I said yes. Upon getting to the room, the "view" of the tree was laughable (you could see the top part of it in the corner of the window), and we were facing an office building - seriously, the (very friendly) lady working there waved to us, that's how close we were to her office window. I was also told that if I used a weekend night certificate, then the other ambassador amenities (such as the mini bar) would no longer be available. A little disappointing, but no big deal. The most annoying part came last. When I was checking out, the person at the front desk simply printed a copy of my bill, and was getting ready to place it in an envelope and send me on my way, without even asking me to check it first. I asked to look at it, and found that they did not credit my weekend night certificate, even though there apparently was a note in my reservation. The lady at the front desk noted "It was a good thing you checked!" But - first of all, wasn't she supposed to have seen that while checking me out? And second, shouldn't she have asked me to check before finishing up? It wasn't done though. When checking my credit card bill, the full amount (without the weekend certificate) had been charged. Upon calling the hotel, the lady from the billing department (who was polite, but not exactly helpful or even the least bit apologetic) said that the full amount was charged, and then they credited back the free weekend night. This was ridiculous and completely unnecessary - the full amount should never have been charged. It's a very nice hotel, but honestly, I don't think I'll be going back. 03 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Willard Hotel Occasion was our 40th wedding anniversary, a return visit from the previous year. We received complimentary chocolates and sparkling wine. Staff helpful. Hotel quality and value excellent. We ate at the Occidental Seafood and Grill and found it excellent as well. 03 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in a great location Could not have asked for a better hotel than the Willard Hotel in Washington, DC. Everything was superb! Large room with comfortable furnishings. 02 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous overnight getaway! We stayed one night at the Willard for a special 40th anniversary celebration...We will treasure our visit forever! We had a lovely package during the Christmas holiday season... the lobby is so beautiful at Christmas... just a magical environment... we loved the history of the hotel, had a drink in the Round Robin bar to enjoy the photos of famous people in history... loved reading the history of the Willard in the gallery hall... it is so close to many sights in DC... we walked to the National Tree... I would recommend this very special hotel to anyone who wants to enjoy a small piece of history in a lovely downtown hotel... 02 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by If you are going to spend Xmas at a hotel this is the one We stayed for 5 days and left the day after Xmas. It was wonderful. From the Carol Singers in the evening to the beautiful decorations throughout the hotel to the great service and food in the Parc du Jour The hotel is also in a great location to access the sights of the city. I am not sure when we will be back as we are from Australia but I would definitely like to return. 02 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Place to visit DC The Willard is an old time inner city hotel with all the trimmings. The staff is excellent, we arrived at a very busy time and there was no delay in any part of our checkin service. The room was great, clean, no smells. I don't understand charging for wifi (?!?!?) 02 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelent hotel! Perfect location, nice room, good room service and employees very supportive. We will be back. 01 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Better view outside than inside Tired room. Damage on headboard (dead center, obvious and yet not repaired). Massive damage on base of tv cabinet). Grout on tub in poor repair. Hair in tub. Obscene valet parking charge. Fantastic view of Washington monument. 30 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Experience We live only 30 minutes away from the Willard, but decided to spend three nights there over Christmas and be DC tourists. It was all we had hoped for and more. The historic hotel is well cared for, updated, and the lobby was beautifully decorated for the holidays. The staff was exemplary, from the doormen to front-desk to housekeeping. Their service is top-notch without being obsequious. Everyone who came to our door with a delivery (it was my husband's birthday, and several family members had items delivered to him) was happy, knowledgeable and helpful. The Willard's location is so centrally located for tourism, it couldn't be better - it's a block from the White House, National Christmas tree and a favorite restaurant, The Old Ebbitt Grill, and two blocks from the Mall. Big Bus Tours has a stop very near the front doors. Washington is a great walking city, and we love being able to walk out the front door and go wherever we want without being on somebody else 's transportation schedule - that eliminates stress. We would go back to the Willard in a minute, and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a lovely experience in downtown DC. 30 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Overall Experience This hotel was by far one of the most memorable hotels I have had the pleasure of staying. I brought my Grandfather here for Christmas, and the moment we walked in, we were awed! The space is lovely, and the reception was super knowledgable and shared with us some of the history of The Willard. We then we directed up to our Executive suite, which I will say is beyond beautiful. To top it off, they had a bottle of Champagne waiting for us to celebrate the holiday - at NO extra cost! We loved the food offered at the amazing French restaurant next door, and on Christmas eve we had dinner at The Occidental next door to the hotel…SUPERB! The hotel was within close proximity to all of the main monuments and memorials, and right next door to the White House! I could not have asked for a better way to spend my Christmas Eve. Every time I return to DC, The Willard is where I will be staying. It is worth every penny spent. 29 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Private Dining The food and service were just great. My family really enjoyed our meals together. 29 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by beautifully decorated for the holidays The hotel was beautiful and felt historic. Our complaint was that our room adjoined two other rooms and one of the connecting doors was next to our bed. We could hear everything the guests in the next room said and heard snoring all night long. This room should not be given out unless it is to groups traveling together. 29 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Christmas stay This was our second Christmas stay at the Willard, enjoying the decorations and music, Christmas Eve service at St John's church, and Christmas with friends. 29 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by John F Kennedy Oval Suite with adjoining room We had a wonderful stay. Room with a view, easy access to the Mall, White House, National Christmas Tree, WWII Memorial, Newseum, and Ronald Regan Center. Hotel has excellent restaurants and is surrounded by other excellent restaurants. The Kennedy Oval Suite and adjoining rooms was like a home away from home with thousands of square feet, full amenity butler pantry, and the oval living room was great for our party and visitors. Could not beat the dining alcove with the view up Pennsylvania Avenue and the Washington Monument for our Room Service breakfast, which was great too. Great knowledgeable staff and the Christmas decorations in the lobby, all public areas, and the street out front really made the weekend and set the mood for the season even though the weather was in the 70's which made for a great weekend out on the town in short sleeves and outside patio dining in the evenings. We might have to make this an annual family and friend vacation. 27 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Elegant room, wonderful service We stayed the week before Christmas and the lobby was beautifully decorated. The tree was beautiful and we had afternoon tea which was a wonderful experience! 27 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Get Rid of the Bed...Keep the Rest! We live in Washington, DC and periodically we like to have a night on the town that includes a show, a nice dinner and staying in one of the top city hotels. This time we treated ourselves to The Willard. The hotel and staff were wonderful from the get-go. On check-in, we mentioned that we wanted to see the National Christmas Tree and the desk staff managed to get us a room with a view of the tree. The hotel is marvelous testament to the majesty of hotels from that era. The interior, common areas are meticulously maintained. The rooms were well appointed. We treated ourselves to an evening cocktail in the lounge and even breakfast in our room. All service was top notch, as you would expect at a premier hotel. The down side was the bed...ugh. Sleeping on the floor would have been more comfortable, I expect. If we had spent multiple nights in the hotel, we definitely would have insisted on another room, due to the bed alone. Since we were at the hotel for just the one night, we decided to tough it out. We had a rather unpleasant knock on the room at 8:30 AM (had planned on sleeping in and had a 2:00 PM checkout). We do not think it was intentional; the cleaning staff had made a mistake...but disturbing nonetheless. Despite the few hiccups, it was a delight. We should have done this sooner and it was made especially wonderful by the hotel being decorated for the holidays. We mentioned the poor quality of the bed and the early morning disruption (not as a complaint, but just to bring to the attention of the management) and the desk staff seemed genuinely concerned. He apologized repeatedly and compensated us for our inconveniences. Our next night out on the town will likely have us staying at The Willard again. I cannot imagine receiving better treatment at any other hotel. Thank you for a very nice evening. 26 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service best staff it was the best place I ever stay the staff first class ali was great 100% 25 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Beautiful Stay!!! So happy with my stay.... The staff was so professional and kind. I can't say enough. The Victorian feel the comfortable, clean and quiet location of my room. The gym had all the equipment I needed for a full workout. The equipment was modern and had great variety. 25 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Favorite hotel in DC I've tried a few others but keep coming back to the Willard. Really like the old building...nice rooms, very comfortable beds, and really nice marbled bathrooms. I've tried some other places in DC, similar nostalgic buildings but they fall far from the Willard when it comes to service. The Willard is exemplary when it comes to service. And breakfast at Cafe du Parc is always fantastic. 25 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relatively very good The ladies at the reception were nice and efficient. Room was okay for the price. Location is convenient. Xmas decorations in the lobby were lovely. Buffet breakfast could, however, be better. Overall experience: compared to other 4.5-5 star hotels elsewhere, the Willard is good; compared to other hotels nearby in DC, the Willard is great. 25 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Making a Special Visit for My Son I am a regular visitor and on this most recent trip I brought my 14 year old son with me. The hotel staff (and most notably Ali at the front desk) gave my son a very warm welcome (check out the photo!) and did all they could to make him feel special. As someone who spends a great deal of time away from his family, I was so appreciative of what they did for my son and me on this trip and all they do for me on my "regular stays." The Willard is known as one of the world's great hotels and I am reminded why every time I stay there. 22 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Earns every star-THE place to stay It's not just the perfect location, knowledgable staff, amazing linens and bed...staying at he Willard is a DC experience in itself. Minutes from where all the walking tours start, the Smithsonian and the best eateries in the Capitol. I attended a lovely wedding/reception at he Willard. Elegant and wonderfully executed by the staff at the Willard. This is the only place I will stay when I visit DC! 18 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Plenty of room Large, well appointed sound proof room with comfortable furniture . TV remote was basic and easy to use. Cafe coffee shop featured friendly service and an uncomplicated menu. Overall a relaxing experience. 18 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious room and friendly staff but not a wonderful experience I chose this hotel because it's proximity to the White House and the Old Ebbitt Grill and further, paid 60 extra for the upgrade because we wanted to celebrate our daughter's birthday in style. I was impressed with the size of the room, the opulence of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff. However, I was very disappointed that the shower was only Luke warm when I tried to use it so I finally gave up trying. In addition the internet service experience was lackluster. I could sign on but browsing was too cumbersome so I gave up on that as well. I'm glad it was complimentary or else I would have asked for a refund. Finally I was amazed that paper goods trash from the earlier hot cocoa giveaway was allowed to stay on one of the tables down near the guest reception desk for the 15 min my husband and I sat in that area. Several staff members walked by the mess but never threw it away or called for housekeeping to clean it up. Over all however I enjoyed my stay and I would visit again. 18 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay - but something is missing... I had a great stay at "The Willard". Check-in was fast and smooth. We were greeted with smiles at the front desk, and we were able to get an early check-in and upgrade to a "Willard Room". The hotel is beautiful with a historic atmosphere and centrally located for sightseeing and business in Washington D.C. Overall the stay was a great experience. Normally, I would have rated the Willard "Excellent" in the categories "Overall experience" and "Value" - but I booked and PAID for a room with a 10 K bonus points package - that I haven't received! Since my stay - I've called "The front desk" twice about the matter. Both times it was confirmed that I paid for the package and they would check up on it. I also wrote an email #never got a reply#... Nothing has happened.... 18 December 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 18 next>>
The Willard Washington D.C
  • 1401 Pennsylvania Ave NW
  • Washington , DC , 20004
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-202-6289100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, English, Spanish, French, Hungarian, Japanese, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet must weigh no more than 40lbs. 200 USD pet deposit is due at time of check in and is nonrefundable. Guide dogs are free of charge.
Pet Deposit $200.00 per stay
  • Local Time

    7:28 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 12 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs