Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Wellington

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 270 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Such a disappointment We booked the Intercontinental (as we usually do) for a weekend in Wellington. Unfortunately the airport was closed and our plane was cancelled which meant we could not stay the Friday night. I rang to cancel the night, explained what had happened and how we would be arriving in the morning. I said I understood the hotel's policy re no check in until 3pm but hoped that there could be a room made available (due to unavoidable circumstances). It was the wedding of one our oldest friends and we were very excited for the big day. The bus was leaving at 3pm and so we really needed that hotel room. We arrived on the re-booked flight early Saturday Morning and went to drop our bags at the hotel and explained our situation and that we desperately needed a check in time before 3pm. The woman on the desk did not even raise an eyebrow, sympathise with us, empathise with us or share a laugh about Wellington Airport being closed by fog!! The signs were not good so we asked to receive a text if there was a chance. We returned at 1pm where she said she would not be able to help us. We explained that we had indeed had a room booked the previous evening but due to fog our plane had been cancelled - could she please make an exception as the bus to the wedding departed at the same time as check-in? Finally, after a return visit at around 2pm she finally relented but insisted the room she was giving us would be noisy. We said we didn't care and thanked her for being so lenient in regards to the policy. My husband worked at this hotel as a student and I have also worked retail in my student days. Empathy with the woes of weary (but excited) travellers impacted by things outside of their control is an essential part of any good hotel. I'm really sad to say it but we won't be staying here again. 13 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Intercontinental Wellington is the best hotel in the city. Staff are so helpful and welcoming. Rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Meals are superb. 05 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by beautiful hotel, concierge very helpful Loved the hotel and location. great services and concierge level staff superb. Views are fine and value is good for a high end hotel. NZ resort towns costs much more for less hotel than Wellington Intercontinental. Bed covers too hot. 04 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Surprisingly Tired I used to stay at this hotel a lot, and used to really liked it. Hadn't stayed for about a year, and was quite surprised at how tired the rooms had become. Bedside console literally had fallen apart. No bedside clock. I know there is a refurb underway, but I would say this is well overdue. However, on a positive note, staff were their usual friendly and professional selves. This included front of house and housekeeping staff who were delightful. 02 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Check in experience poor Despite requesting on the booking that we'd like a harbour view Club room, we were given a non-harbour view room without even an apology or an acknowledgement that our request couldn't be met. When we pointed out that we had requested a harbour view room, check in offered a superior room on a lower floor at no extra charge, or an upgrade to a suite at $150 extra per night. Neither was acceptable so we took the original Club room offered to us. However, check in offered to check for a harbour view room the next day and let us know but we never heard anything back about this and we stayed 3 nights. This has happened to us twice before i.e. we'd request a harbour view room, we'd turn up and be given a non-harbour view room without apology, check in would offer to check the next day and then never hearing back about it. This is very poor service! 01 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic location and lovely staff I stayed at the InterContinental with my son (it was his birthday present). The location was fantastic - basically half way between the Beehive and Te Papa and 1 minute to the Cable Car and good shopping. Having 2 queen beds was perfect, and the beds were very comfortable. Loved the pillow menu, on our 2nd night I got a foam pillow and my son got the lavender pillow and we were both asleep in minutes! We made good use of the spa, sauna and pool and we also enjoyed a delicious room service meal. All the staff we came across were very friendly and helpful. I have to mention that the rooms are a bit tired, however they are undertaking an upgrade at the moment so that will soon be rectified. All in all a wonderful stay. 30 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Food Service. I have stayed at the Intercon many times, but this was my first experience of very poor quality of food served to the room, literally for 3 the days I was there. I asked for Eggs Benedict with soft egg, but it came harder than normal, then I ordered steak welldone and it was served TOO welldone and totally dry and hard (i was told the order will arrive in 30 min but took more than 50 min!) finally I ordered the pasta bolognese which was the worst I have ever tried, the meat sauce was dried up and the spagetti was also all dried up. This got to be my first and worst food experience ever in a reputable hotel. I can understan if the chef had one off day but 3 consecutive disasters is appalling. I am planning to be back on the 24 Nov, I hope I have better service this time around. 29 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay in Central Wellington This hotel remains at the forefront of all hotels in Wellinmgton dfue to its image and service and its central location. Consistently good 24 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful service from start to finish Top marks to a top Hotel. We were treated like VIP's from the moment we got out of the taxi, until we departed. Staff were so helpful and made our stay very memorable. Room service meals are always lovely. The breakfast is excellent. Not to mention the main restaurant which is equally tops. My Daughter and myself highly recommend this Hotel for your stay in Wellington. 10 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant stay We had a great stay. Wonderful service. Lovely, genuine staff, amazing swimming pool, Comfortable rooms and brilliant location. Would recommend. 10 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Carroll Always the most wonderful buffet breakfast of any hotel we stay in.Full marks to the staff and chefs.Choice and presentation of food just outstanding. With staff help a plug for my bath couldn't be found. 09 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Could be better Just had weekend stay ,our lasting impression was one of dirtiness . Our bedroom had an easy chair that was worn and grubby looking which spoilt the overall impression of the room. The glass windows in the lobby bar were filthy with stains/marks ,as were the glass table tops .....not a five star look.! We had breakfast in the Arizona restaurant .....it was a disaster ,40 minutes to get a coffee ,and another 20 minutes for the food to arrive( 1 hour total wait) . The food was not 5 star ,rubbery eggs and only semi warm. The restaurant was under staffed and eventually extra staff arrived from the hotel......but too late . The lobby staff were excellent and attentive ,but let down by some of the hotel systems ,we feel. 09 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by 5 Nights in Wellington I am an Ambassador member and have stayed in Intercontinentals in Adelaide, Melbourne, and Tokyo, and have to say this has been the most disappointing experience so far. The breakfast was poor quality, the toilet and safe didnt work properly, and it was by far and away the most expensive of all the Intercontinental hotels so far. I am about to stay in the Bangkok one. If that is like Wellington it could be my last Interncontinental stay 06 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wait until they complete the refurbishment.... I had two experiences at the InterCont Wellington with our 3 night stay last weekend. Booked a Club Room and was astonished to be put in a dingy well-worn room - furniture scratched, chipped and worn down. It was barely 4 star standard! Spoke to the Duty Manager about my disappointment and was told about the refurbishment that has just started but my complaint was handled sincerely and professionally. Although they couldn't move us the next night as they had 100% occupancy due to the World of Wearable Art, I was offered a choice of 3 rooms for the last night. The Manager, Keith, personally took me to visit the new rooms and as soon as I walked into one of the recently refurbished rooms I knew they had it right. Great view, fresh new, modern furnishing - more like the 5 star Club level that I expect. Staff were all really friendly and so helpful. Will go back but will ensure we have a refurbed room... 03 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great accomodation once again the IHC hotels have done well thanks to most of their staff and the service of the duty manager Keith 30 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service and help congratulations to the intercon and their duty manager Keith My partner was not well and I needed a room in a hurry for her they looked after her very well so much so that we decided to stay an extra night . Thankyou IHC Wellington and your staff 30 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleasant staff Very much enjoyed my stay. The staff are attentive & responsive to your needs, there is a good restaurant & an amiable atmosphere 29 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by good but dated hotel with an average execution of service Check in was pretty poor. There was only 1 person at the counter and no one to assist with the bags. The check in clerk did not bother to activate my rewards membership and it was only 2 weeks later when I was chatting to another clerk that my membership was activated. The bathroom was pretty old. There were traces of dirty and maybe mould in the tile grout. The colours on the taps indicating hot or cold water were chipped. There were massive amounts of calcium and lime deposits on the taps, handles and shower heads. Bedside lamp and wobbly and unstable. The dryer in the laundry was out of service for the full 3 week duration for which I was there. Gym equipment was very old and had dodgy fixes done to them. Relative lack consistency of service, sometimes the newspaper was slid under the door sometimes it was left outside. Overall the hotel and experience was good, but I expected a lot more from a 5 star hotel. 26 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by flight delayed Arrived after the airport closed due to storms in the clothes i stood in staff we very helpful, upgraded my room, had a very quiet sleep room service very good with a yummy breakfast and a pleasant drive back to the airport the next day in the hotel car. 24 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service We recently held a conference at the hotel. The whole experience was superb. Nothing was too much trouble. Staff accommodated many last many requests and even went out of their way to retrieve and hold my credit card which was left at the bar. Full marks! 23 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Fantastic Stay I found the Wellington IC to be conveniently located for my needs. The downtown area was bustling with activity. The staff member who checked me in was from Germany and extremely friendly. My room wasn't ready yet. She asked me to wait at the lobby and by the time I sat down, she called me back. I was upgraded (either due to status or room availability) and given a key. The room was impressive, stylish and spacious. The shower was hot and had strong water pressure. Both room service and the restaurant food was delightful. I have to say that Michael at the Concierge Desk was incredibly helpful with my unusual requests. He was able to point me to an office supply store. I needed a box to ship something and he offered to dig around in the back of the house to find the right size box. He was intelligent, funny and provided a number of guests with a great smile and treated everyone as if they were valuable. IHG Properties/IC Wellington should be proud of the front desk staff and the concierge desk, including Michael. The GM has done a fantastic job with this hotel. 22 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the pillows and 11am check out! Service could have been better. Reception staff not as professional as I would have expected. Was disappointed we had to pay an additional $35 for a carpark for 1 night. Room lovely with nice view. Bathroom getting a bit dated and wouldn't have bath as shower over bath and floor discoloured. Wouldn't be on my list to try again as quite expensive for what you get! Loved 11am check out which is standard and bed very comfortable especially the pillows. 19 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by all things good My seven day stay was excellent in all terms. The room was comfortable and well kept, the restaurant, and particularly breakfast, first rate and the staff welcoming and helpful. 11 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday show Great staff anticipated needs. Recognised as Platinum member and received all benefits. Wonderful location 08 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for a wee getaway! We had a lovely night at the Wellington Intercontinental! Great room service, warm and comfy room, friendly staff. Highly recommended! 04 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved our stay! We had a wonderful weekend here. Loved the fantastic service from the moment we stepped inside. Loved how central the hotel was. I was there for a conference and was quite impressed with the food and drink, as well as the facilities. And the bed was glorious! My only complaint was the wifi situation--surely the hotel can offer free wifi. Having to pay for wifi every day is just annoying. But that's a minor quibble; this was far and away the best hotel we stayed at in our three weeks in the area. Would love to return! 02 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tired rooms This hotel does not do the brand justice. Whilst the food and service in the restaurant is excellent, the rooms are tired and in need of refurbishment. I was "upgraded" due to my platinum ambassador status...but the room was a big disappointment with a small room and double bed (called a queen) and tired furniture ...all despite me booking a king bed. Unfortunately my visit to the front desk to query the 'upgrade' did not help. Would have stayed at the outstanding holiday inn in Wellington...but has be taken over by another chain. 01 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lee on concierge was the best! Just want to thank Lee for his professional helpful service, he is a real asset to your hotel please pass on my appreciation to his hard working help he gave me and my friends - he went the extra mile which helped make my birthday celebrations the best. I was disappointed that upon check in my room was mucked up and therefore I ended up paying more for a room that I had already had confirmed via email that my room was changed to the double, but the receptionist argued that the system didn't show this and I couldn't find the email so I felt that the least they could have done as a priority club member was to at least charge the same room rate as it was not my error, but she made out like there's was nothing she could do. Disappointed as well that due to the allblacks we could not use the 25% voucher or the stay 2 for 1 voucher, which would have made it cheaper if I had just booked via wot if at a different hotel had I known beforehand. Thanks to Lee he made up for the other bad experience. Thank you Helen 28 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location, great staff, splendid restaurant We arrived at the hotel shortly after Wellington had suffered a major earthquake. Reception and concierge staff could not have been more welcoming and reassuring. This continued throughout our stay. Our room was more than adequate with a very comfortable bed and superior bathroom. The Chef de Cuisine and his colleagues in the Chameleon Restaurant turned on a Degustation Dinner centred on venison ( a Venistation) with matching Ata Rangi wines, that was simply superb - one of the finest meals we have had. And the cuisine was complemented by the splendid service from the restaurant staff. We look forward to our next visit to what must be one of Wellington's finest hotels. 24 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Always a pleasure Another very enjoyable experience staying with the Intercontinental team in Wellington. Friendly, helpful staff; clean, light rooms and the gym team never fail to make you welcome. We had a wonderful dinner, with tasty well presented food, and breakfast is always good. 21 August 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 10 next>>
Wellington
  • 2 Grey Street
  • Wellington , 6011
  • New Zealand
  • Front Desk +64-4-4722722

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets are not permitted on hotel premises, however Guide dogs and Service dogs are welcome. Please let us know your requirements when booking.
  • Local Time

    12:25 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available
    • Evening Reception Desk Open

    Currency

    • New Zealand Dollar $ (NZD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 3 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking