Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Wellington

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 273 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything was done superbly We had a great five night stay. Everything was done superbly by very knowledgeable and helpful staff. 18 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing staff, amazing hotel!! My partner and I stay here about four times a year, and each time we go are impressed by the wonderful staff. They are very friendly and knowledgeable and make you feel you are the most important guest staying there. The rooms are fantastic and the food brilliant...the ONLY place to stay in Wellington!! 16 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Weekend! We had a great weekend - the concierge staff in particular were simply excellent. Overall a great stay. 16 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay In Wellington Lovely hotel in a great location. Gym and pool areas are also well-equipped. 09 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by New Zealand Hospitality Dates of visit: late May through early June (7 days) I had the pleasure of staying at the Wellington InterContinental for a week while attending a conference and doing some sightseeing around Wellington. I had originally booked a standard room and decided to upgrade at a relatively nominal fee to be on a higher floor, with a recently renovated room and a view of the harbor. From my initial communication via email with the hotel staff (I inquired regarding transportation from the airport as well as the availability of a transformer/converter for an US appliance that had no 220V substitute) the communications were prompt, courteous and very welcoming. The room was lovely, the service superb and the location unbeatable - walking distance to everything - to include Te Papa, the harbor, shopping, etc. It was a bit of a longer trek to Parliament/The Beehive, but quite doable for those of us who like to walk. The staff was professional, helpful and extremely courteous. They were always right there with a ready smile and a can do, how can we help make your stay better attitude. Without a doubt, the staff is the gem in the crown of what is a very lovely hotel. The room was well appointed, the tea service in the room a great perk and, get this, they have a "PILLOW MENU" included in the room cost where you can choose the type of pillow you would like - my favorite was the lavender scented! :) I did not have the opportunity to sample the restaurant, which I hear is one of the best in the city, but I did enjoy a nice glass of wine in the lounge several nights while relaxing for the evening and doing some people watching in the lobby. Lovely time. Thank you for making my first visit to New Zealand such a treat! BTW, not to be missed is The Wellington City and Sea Museum right around the corner! 08 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary here and we we arrived in our room we were welcomed with champagne and hand made chocolates which just made our stay even more special. Our room was spacious with a view of the harbour, excellent position. Our meals in the restaurants were excellent. I was a bit worried about staying here as the previous reviews were concerning but please ignore it all, great place to stay. 08 June 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor frond desk service, insulting and embarrassing When I checked in at the Intercontinental Wellington I was greeted by a manager obsessed with trying to make me wrong. This lady even called another staff member to try and make wrong either them or I. I was being refused entry to my room due to not agreeing to pay the full 5 night stay upfront. I emailed the reservation manager on several occasions prior to the stay and asked specifically about when I need to pay etc. I offered to pay in full a week before the stay, upon arrival or at check out. The email stated pay in full upon check out. Due to this u did not have the funds available to pay in full on check in and do not operate a credit card hence not being in the position to fully pay for the 5 night stay. The staff member then had the cheek to pressure me on when I was going to pay so she could inform other management. I was being treated like a child and made to feel wrong in front of my personal assistant and other customers. This was a terrible experience that I hope I never have to go through again. I have stayed at many intercontinental properties around the world and have been loyal to the priority club through membership. This was a bad experience. 31 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place Great place to stay. The room was very nice, but sadly the bathroom was overdue for an overhaul. The bath was very badly chiped, the vanity top had a big crack through it ant all teh tap ware was very badly worm. Apart from this, very pleased with the stay. Staff, as usual, were very helpfull. 30 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fanatastic friendly service, all the staff couldn't have been more helpful I can't say enough about the staff and service they provided from the very bright and cheerful young girl, Prymrada (I think) on reception when I arrived to the young blonde haired concierge who gave me directions to Two Souls restaurant. The room was great and really enjoyed my stay. Definitely recommend staying there for a great customer service experience. 29 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel overall I have stayed there many times, and each time gets better. This time I had dinner in the house restaurant on the first night, The Chameleon. Absolutely divine. Food and drink spectacular! The next evening I chose to dine at a popular top Wellington restaurant, and after the main course quickly left to return to The Chameleon for dessert. I was not impressed with the first restaurant at all. However The Chameleon was excellent once again. I thoroughly enjoyed my weekend with an upgrade to a room with a spa bath. Just what I needed to relax after a pretty horrible start to the year. Thank you Intercontinental. I will be back soon! 26 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Nice hotel. Clean, the staff in the breakfast resturant may need to be a bit more attentive. There were not many people there that morning but to try and even get a coffee or even cutlery was challenge. It was like we were invisible, and even when you finally did get a coffee the other persons was forgotten. 26 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service We experienced outstanding customer service from all members of staff we encountered throughout our stay. Thank you! Our young granddaughters were also with us during this visit and the staff were great with them. 24 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Flash stay My boss and I stayed here for 2 nights as we had a conference to attend on one day. The restaurant downstairs is awesome! We enjoyed a lovely dinner when we arrived and had full buffet breakfast on our last day - wow that was awesome. The staff are all very nice and friendly. The room is nice and simple, I thought the shower was bit odd, open beside toilet and another in a bath tub. However no complaints, just enjoyed our stay and we will definitely stay here again when we return to Wellington. It would be recommended that the wireless internet would be a better price, as it was quite expensive, and the code can only be used for one device. Many thanks 23 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just Lovely... My second time to Wellington and my second time at the Intercontinental. The rooms are lovely - light, bright and good outlook. The staff professional and welcoming. The location - at least for my purposes - is great. Whether for business or pleasure I would highly recommend. 15 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely room, bed very comfortable, service great Best area in wellington, very central but not in congested space. Staff very helpful, facilities excellent, both in room and public .Breakfast with good variety, and nice bar in lobby which is open till late, great for an after dinner drink and chat. Would not consider staying anywhere else. 15 May 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tired, Overpriced Poor Service If this was a review of a 3 star business hotel I would say a good stay. For a five star intercontinental hotel it was incredibly poor. On checking in my platinum status in IHG did not even get me a word of welcome to the hotel much less a room upgrade. I found throughout a 4 day stay that hotel staff were outwardly polite but with no warmth or willingness to actually provide anything resembling assistance. The rooms are tired and in need of a refurbishment. The breakfast was appalling. Poor quality, limited standard choices, expensive and everything pre cooked. When I asked for fresh soft poached eggs that had not festered in a container and gone hard for who knows how long I was told to wait until new eggs were bought out!!!? This is a five star hotel????? As a Platinum Elite member in IHG I usually stay in a IHG Hotel. This one has convinced me to stay elsewhere on my visits to Wellington. 02 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best bed and pillows I've had in a long time. If you want to sleep well, i.e quality and comfortable bed, this hotel is for you. Considering its central city, no street noise at all. Always a staff member waiting to provide your every need in the lobby area. Loads of eateries and coffee shops walking distance (without getting wet). Ive stayed in a number of others and I will be back 26 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff and service, with great comfort and privacy This is the only place to stay in Wellington! I have been staying at the Interconti in Wellington for some 10 years. While it may not be the most modern of the Intercontinental properties, it offers the best service. I am always made to feel special and it is really my "home from home". Wonderful location, good amenities (especially the club lounge on the 9th floor) and a really responsive staff. They even keep a picture of you along with your profile if you are a regular guest. I can't recommend the hotel and its staff highly enough. 23 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed about room service Hi we stayed in room 804 for two nights After the first night I had to ask twice to have our room serviced the second time was about 4pm and was told all the service staff were finished for the day and it wouldn't be done till after 5 We couldn't us the room much that day and felt that at any time someone could be in to service it, so lost some of the enjoyment we could of had. I got an apology from the hotel but not a complimentary drink lunch bottle wine. We're thy really sorry or because we are priority privelidge card holders feel we had enough. We might hint I'm not that happy, with that part I'm not but the hotel apart from that is one of the best stays I've had. And one of the quietest inner city hotels we've stayed in Regards Murray 18 April 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dreadful place The most unhelpful and unfriendly place we stayed in during the whole of our holiday. Reception could not answer basic questions , the air conditioning in the room was ineffective , the restaurant and bar are over priced . If you have to stay there then go to the local Te Papa museum for breakfast - the staff at the museum are friendly , the food excellent and the service fantastic . All at a fraction of the price the Inter continental charge ! Cannot not recommend this hotel at all . 16 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by another enjoyable stay We stayed over Easter and had a lovely relaxing time at the Intercontinental. We use the pool and spa and massage facilities and Joy is wonderful!! We had a few problems on checking out that have since been rectified. Only complaint was the airconditioning in the club lounge, VERY cold and appeared to be used for staff comfort not guest comfort!! Otherwise as usual an enjoyable stay, thanks 14 April 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Impressive view and pre dinner drink experience in Club. Having stayed before and with the recent experience of the magnificent Sydney Intercontinental in my mind I was hoping to enjoy another wonderful Intercontinental experience in Wellington. The club room was really great with professional staff, lovely view, interesting canapes and good wine. Our guest was very impressed. Although the bed was fine we found the stiff plastic like sheets quite uncomfortable. But the worst thing was the radio coming on at 3am and waking us up. Somebody needs to check alarm, radio etc. each morning. It was 9.30 am by the time we got to the club room for breakfast so consequently the "remains" did not look as appetising as I have previously experienced at this hotel. The young girl on duty was pleasant and welcoming. I told her my husband (partly disabled) was rather slow and would arrive shortly. She poured my coffee and his at he same time leaving it on the table. By the time he arrived, his coffee was cold! It would have been nice too if one of the girls sitting chatting at the desk would have offered us a top up but the service was obviously "off" by then. Hopefully my next stay will reinstall that little bit of magic that gives Intercontinental its excellent reputation. 08 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great central location My daughters and I stayed at the Intercontinental for three nights. Our room was very comfortable and the hotel is in a great location. We could easily walk around central Wellington. I will definitely stay here again 07 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room Room & bed were comfortable. Gym was well appointed with knowledgeable staff. Internet access was expensive, I expect it to be free. Meals were expensive. Location was convenient. 26 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great break Last week I went to the Cricket test in Wellington. I stayed 4 nights at the interconinental Wellington. My flight was very early and when booking I has asked for early access to my room.... 8-45am. That was not a problem and the room was ready when I arrived having been met by the hotel pick up service. MY ambassador room upgrade gave me a fantasic room Spa bath and separate shower. The room was spacious and an ideal home away from home. NO worries aboput getting to the ground. The Concierge organised a taxi or hotel car with a charge back to my room. A miix of excellent evening meals with room service most nights and the restaurant on evening. Friendy, prompt service and quality food. Evening pre drinks in the Club louunge were a daily treat as were the breakfasts in the Club lounge. I met a number of English tourists in the friendly lounge environment. Again the service was great. In all a fantastic four nights....that is why I will be back again!!!!! 24 March 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Points for improvement We stayed on the 8 March 2013. We booked the one night get away package that included bubbles / choc and breakfast. Unfortunately, the bubbles and choc were not provided until we rang up and asked for them. When we did eventually receive them they were 45 mins late. The hallway outside our door had a vaccum cleaner stationed there throughout the stay which is strange for a quality hotel. Can't hotel fault location and staff intentions towards its guests. Just the experience above was not ideal. 18 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another good stay. Staff always fantastic Always enjoy staying here. Good to see the rooms are being upgraded and looking forward to staying in a new room. Staff are always so friendly and efficient. Check-in and valet parking deserve special mention. Rooms are comfortable and the beds/pillows are great for a good nights sleep. Only gripe on this stay was that I could not get after dinner coffees for me and my guests in the lobby/bar, which was busy. Waitress told us there was no 'hot' drink service. This is very strange for a top class hotel. 16 March 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Having booked a double room, disappointing to arrive and find only 1 breakfast included instead of 2! Also dismayed to find on checking out that the room rate was different for the 2 nights of our stay, when I had been quoted one rate for both nights - didn't expect to be charged $30 extra for the second night for no apparent reason. Staff couldn't explain the difference. Having stayed here several times in the past 20 years, this experience didn't live up to previous stays and will choose somewhere else next time. 12 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Everything was great but for wi-fi We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff were excellent particularly the concierge team who happily valet parked our car and provided it to us promptly upon request. The method of access to wi-fi was cumbersome and very old fashioned. The system needs to be improved so that access can be obtained by merely providing one's name and room number when logging on. It was simpler to go on to the dockside and access the city's wi-fi but this was inconvenient compared with doing so in the confines of the hotel. 27 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Good service and food A quality hotel in all respects. Verywell located. However the hotel is showing its age and the bedrooms are badly in need of refurbishment particularly the bathrooms. General decor iin public areas is rather bland and dull by todays standards Staff quality is excellent. 24 February 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 next>>
Wellington
  • 2 Grey Street
  • Wellington , 6011
  • New Zealand
  • Front Desk +64-4-4722722

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets are not permitted on hotel premises, however Guide dogs and Service dogs are welcome. Please let us know your requirements when booking.
  • Local Time

    11:48 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available
    • Evening Reception Desk Open

    Currency

    • New Zealand Dollar $ (NZD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 3 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking