• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 238 8889
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-30-2014)
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DES MOINES
  • Distance From Hotel: 12.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a one time non refundable fee of 35.00. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. Record of complete and current vaccinations required. Maximum of 2 pets per room. No pet fee for service animals
Pet deposit amount  35.00  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:104
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on site parking. No semi's.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:90
  • Total number of suites:90
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:78
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:12
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:72
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:IA0315

Staybridge Suites West Des Moines Invites Guests to Rest Comfortably

Ideally situated near I-80, Des Moines International Airport (DMI) and the Iowa Foundation for Medical Care, Staybridge Suites West Des Moines is an all-suite, upscale, extended stay hotel within close proximity to everything Des Moines has to offer.

Long-term guests of our pet friendly Des Moines, Iowa hotel can enjoy all the comforts of home with easy access to shopping at Jordan Creek Town Center and
View More

Staybridge Suites West Des Moines Invites Guests to Rest Comfortably

Ideally situated near I-80, Des Moines International Airport (DMI) and the Iowa Foundation for Medical Care, Staybridge Suites West Des Moines is an all-suite, upscale, extended stay hotel within close proximity to everything Des Moines has to offer.

Long-term guests of our pet friendly Des Moines, Iowa hotel can enjoy all the comforts of home with easy access to shopping at Jordan Creek Town Center and live performances at the Des Moines Art Center. Special events at the Science Center of Iowa and Living History Farms are also less than ten miles away.

Business travelers appreciate our extended stay West Des Moines accommodations near Hy-Line International, Wells Fargo and Briggs Corporation. In order to best meet the needs of our professional guests, over 950 sq. ft. of meeting space, a 24-hour business center and free, high-speed Internet access are provided on-site.

During your stay, you can enjoy resting in one of our spacious suites with full-service kitchens, exercising in our well-equipped fitness center or relaxing in our indoor, swimming pool. You can start your day by visiting our complimentary breakfast buffet, and end your day by joining us for our community-oriented Social Reception Tues-Thurs. As you plan your next trip, check out our exceptional Des Moines, Iowa hotel rates and make your reservations with us today.

Thank you.
View Less
Features
The Staybridge Suites West Des Moines hotel provides complimentary laundry facilities to ensure that guests remain comfortable throughout their visit. We have an outdoor Gazebo for our guest to relax or enjoy a leisurely stroll on the walking trail around the entire lake.Guest can also enjoy using the two grills located in the Gazebo.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 153 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff Overall good value; breakfast and staff attention was great. October 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always Nice Place to Stay The staff at the hotel are always pleasant no matter the time I arrive. Very convenient to the school campus. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Satisfied and content Love staying at this hotel because the staff is very friendly and they attend to my every need. October 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay, close to Drake Great Hotel in a very convenient location for Drake University activities. October 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Great location. Close to downtown and restaurants. September 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Experience Very comfortable and priced right for the business traveler. Samantha was very helpful during my pre and post arrival. She was a pleasure to work with and she took care of everything per my request prior to arrival. GREAT Job!! September 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dorm Room This place is a dump. Worst express I've ever stayed at September 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay Nice place to stay. rooms were clean and comfortable . A nice diner and other restaurants within walking distance. I would stay there again. September 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and location Visiting student at Drake U, so location was the best, the room was great, don't know if could have asked for a small fridge, but room very comfortable, free wifi and great towels and bed, afternoon cookies a really nice surprise! Very friendly and helpful staff . Would highly recommend. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room Our room was clean and we slept very good. The breakfast was also good. September 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just passing through We stayed one night in this hotel on our way to the farm progress show. This hotel will fulfill your needs if all you want is a place to sleep. It is located near a college, and staffed by college kids (based on my experience), so it seemed to have a different feel to it ........ not sure why. But, again, it provided a place to sleep for the night, which is all I was expecting. Nothing fancy about the hotel, just a basic place to stay. September 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Carpet soaked Second time at this property. The staff makes it pleasant enough. They do a good job with what they have to work with. Rooms are tired and old, but the bathroom was very clean. I knew I had a problem when i opened my room door and the ac fan was running full blast. I was too tired, at 12:30 am, to do anything about the mildly damp and musty odor. I soon found out why the fan was on so high when i tried to quiet it a bit walking over to the unit under the window: squish, squish. The carpet was soaked, presumably from the day's rain. But it was only me, and I'd be gone in 8 hours or so. No real issue, just don't go the that side of the room. I do wish the room would have smelled better, though. The Breakfast room is spacious and not near as compact as most HIEs. The long straight countertop is easy to navigate with other guests, unlike the L-shaped counters at many HIEs. Good selections. Clean room and attentive support person. When I mentioned the wet carpet upon checkout, the only comment I got was that they were waiting on the University for repairs. That, I did think, was an inadequate response. Let's see if property management responds to this note/review. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient location This hotel is right next to the Drake University campus. We have stayed here multiple times and will definitely return! August 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent value Hotel is a little tired, but it is a good value and close to Drake. Room had a very musty smell, likely from an overworked AC unit. Towels were a little old. Breakfast was just OK, but likely due to us going at peak time when items were limited and the room crowded. We have stayed here before becauce our son is at Drake, and we have stayed there on travels through Des Moines. No big amenities, but it's a decent bed close to the highway, so a good value. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room and friendly staff We stayed two nights and were very pleased with the hotel August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place to Stay Great location for Drake events. Friendly staff and comfy beds. August 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by old and i need of a face lift nice place near Drake, however they need to redo the hotel and get it updated! August 25, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Old, tired, not up to HIE Standards, Make them update, or don't let them be flagged an HIE I am pretty loyal to IHG. Due to geography, I mostly stay in HIE properties. The point of staying in a chain property is because I know what to expect. They are supposed to have brand standards across all properties. Apparently, this hotel slipped by. This used to be a hotel owned by Drake University and at some point it became a HIE. It is in dire need of updates. All of the finishes, floors, windows, bedding and especially bathrooms. It was almost bad enough that I went to a different hotel. But, I was only there for one night so I figured I could make it. The bathroom was old and worn out (see pics). When the room is this old, it looks dirty, whether it actually is or not. Plus with the crumbling ceiling and rust spots in the bathtub, I don't think they are keeping up on their maintenance. If a property can't do regular maintenance properly, then I question their ability to do effective cleaning. This property also seems to have electrical problems. There seems to be "mini/micro" surges that would flicker the lights and cause my noise machine app to skip. Very annoying and made it difficult to sleep. The staff I dealt with at the front desk and the breakfast area were both great. IHG in general does not seem to be consistent across brands. I have stayed at really nice HIEs and then ones like this. Regular Holiday Inns are always hit or miss. IHG, please do a better job of enforcing brand standards. I want to know that I will always be getting a similar level of quality/comfort when I stay at HIE. August 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable quiet room Good for overnight stopover while travelling. Front desk was very efficient and welcoming. Drake Diner next door had wide selection for supper. Bed was comfortable, blockout curtains helped us sleep in. Room was spacious. Several options at free breakfast August 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stay at the Drake The staff was great... However, the room was in disrepair w/ peeling paint on the bathroom ceiling, dated furnishings, and a very old, loud A/C unit. If it had been extremely hot, I doubt the unit would have effectively cooled the room. This hotel is in desperate need of updating - other Express Inns at which I have stayed have been in much better condition. August 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by poorly maintained we chose this hotel because we usually know what to expect from a Holiday Inn Express. This inn was the exception. Poorly maintained especially in the bathroom, The door knob was so loose that I was unable to open the door after closing it. Finally was able to get the door open and report to the front desk. Desk person came down with a screwdriver and tried to fix but could not. Toilet ran thru continually and was very annoying. cleaning staff was exceptionally loud early in the morning. August 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Okay The hotel and staff met expectations, but we did not feel comfortable with the surrounding area. August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed The beds were very comfortable and the room was as well in terms of temperature and the like. The greatest concern was the bathroom cleanliness and upkeep. The biggest problems were blood stains on the wall and also the fact that the larger towel were not replaced for the second night of our stay by the staff responsible for that function. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best! We always stay at this hotel when coming to Adventureland! Its a little farther but definitely worth the drive. Super quiet and clean! August 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No TV, no telephone dialtone Eager to rest after delayed flight and late arrival; however, could not watch television, nor set wake-up. Not in a hurry, even thought I might take in Iowa State Fair, but struck out for northeast Missouri home forenoon. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and good breakfast selection Bed were very comfortable pillows were great Breakfast bar was very diverse August 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel We had a pleasant stay at the Hotel there in Des Moines. It was very easy to schedule our stay there and the check in was very smooth. The breakfast was awesome! August 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Smelly and Damp As a bi-weekly user of IHG properties, this will definitely be a property I will not return to. The room was so damp the carpet was moist, awful smell, ceiling above the shower was dripping from the upstairs bathroom. Because of the dampness of the room the bathroom door would not close because it was so warped. Hallway was littered with towels in the morning from housekeeping and just yuck!! Major renovations need to be done at this property and sooner than later... August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express - Des Moines At Drake Univ One of the best Holiday Inn Express facilities, excellent location, extremely nice grounds, within walking distance to several restaurants, comfortable beds and pillows, very clean rooms, very pleasant stay August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by An alright place to stay. I think the only reason for the price I paid was due to location. I've stayed in much nicer properites for quite a bit less. Other than that, this property is simply a place to stay, nothing exceptional. My biggest complaint would be not having a clean room available at check-in. Both the individual checking in ahead of me and myself were delayed because at 3pm rooms were still not available for check-in. August 8, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn Up To 5,000 Points
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading