• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 238 8889
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-14-2014)
(e.g. Sep-15-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: INDEPENDENCE
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee of 75.00 dollars for 1 through 6 nights and 150.00 dollars for 7 or more nights. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at checkin. Call hotel for details.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Centerpoint Medical Center
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Independence Center Shopping/Dining
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Hartman Conference Center
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Bass Pro Shops
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:102
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:102
  • Total number of suites:102
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:96
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:6
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:102
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Welcome to our multi-award winning hotel.

Situated just outside of Kansas City, the Staybridge Suites® Kansas City - Independence offers the utmost in comfort and convenience. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, our I-70 location provides easy access to the area's best attractions and major companies.

Independence Event Center, Centerpoint Medical Center, Children's Mercy Hospital, Independence Center - the area's largest mall, ATK, Fike, Fresenius, GEHA, Unilever
View More

Welcome to our multi-award winning hotel.

Situated just outside of Kansas City, the Staybridge Suites® Kansas City - Independence offers the utmost in comfort and convenience. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, our I-70 location provides easy access to the area's best attractions and major companies.

Independence Event Center, Centerpoint Medical Center, Children's Mercy Hospital, Independence Center - the area's largest mall, ATK, Fike, Fresenius, GEHA, Unilever and Burd & Fletcher are just minutes from our front door. Complimentary Wi-Fi, the Business Center and our Truman Boardroom provide corporate guests with the tools they need for a productive visit.

Minutes from Arrowhead Stadium, home of the Kansas City Chiefs, Kauffman Stadium, home of the Kansas City Royals. You'll find our hometown CHL Champions, the Missouri Mavericks at the Independence Event Center.

At Staybridge Suites KC-Independence your comfort is our priority. We offer outstanding amenities including a free hot breakfast buffet, Fitness Center and Tues-Thurs Evening Socials, featuring a light dinner with complimentary beer & wine. After a long day, relax on the beautifully lansdscaped patio, which features a heated saltwater pool, fire pit and whirlpool. Make your reservations today, and enjoy all the great perks our Independence hotel has to offer A day, a week, a year - stay with Staybridge Suites KC-Independence!

View Less
Features
When it comes to hotels in Independence, Missouri, our exceptional service is unmatched, and our accommodations feature great amenities, such as free Wi-Fi access, flat screen TV's and a full kitchen in each suite.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 433 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for Family Reunion I was just amazed at the service. We had the hospitality room booked for our family all three days that we were there. The lady that covered our room was amazing, so nice and was there the whole day on Friday. Then the manager guy came in to check on us each night. They let us stay there really late and he was so flexible about if we wanted them to clean the room at night or in the morning so we could stay in there later. We actually only did Coco Keys once because the kids were happy with the hotel pools. And the shuttle to and from the Royals game was very convenient. I ordered a pizza for us late Saturday night from the bar and it was very reasonably priced. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone planning a family reunion in KC. July 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed with Stay We stayed here for two nights as we went to the Royals games across the highway at the stadium. The hotel was overly crowded, we had to wait over 10 minutes to get up or down on the elevator. We had to take the stairs up 12 floors a few times to avoid waiting in line. Our room was where we requested (we asked for a high floor facing the stadium). We did get what we asked for and the view was amazing, however, the cooling/heating system in the room seemed to be not working well. It took almost 30 hours for our room to cool down enough where it was okay. We had it on high and at the lowest temp it would go. The refrigerator wasn't keeping our items cold, and the bathroom exhaust fan didn't work, making our room humid after we would take showers. I have stayed in many high rise hotels in much warmer areas, and they had no problems with the cooling of the room. So, I know it wasn't because we were on a high floor. After talking with a few other guests at the hotel, they noticed the same things wrong with their stay too. We even noticed staff carting out old refrigerators from rooms during our stay. The managers, staff, and others working there were extremely friendly and nice, but the hotel seemed a bit overwhelmed by the amount of guests staying at the hotel. Before I stay here again, I would need to see that they improved their rooms and made sure that things worked properly. July 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Early Check-In Fee... Got charged 50 bucks for checking in 15 minutes early, and wasn't notified by the front desk that this would occur. Shuttle to Kauffman Stadium is convenient, but be patient after the game for your ride back. Wanted to kill some time at the arcade before the game, but the machines only took this card thing or something, and I had a lot of quarters. Room was decent. July 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed our stay. Stayed for one night. Older Hotel, clean room. Bar staff was very friendly. July 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not Bad but... I've taken my family here twice. We aren't sure that we will return however. The hotel room would not go below 72 degree's no matter what we set the thermostat to, and the humdity level in the room was very high. The staff was willing to try to help, but because the location was completely full, all they could do was give us a fan. So we sweletered our entire visit. The elevators are always a problem here. We stood on our floor for 15 minutes waiting for one to arrive, and when it did, it was going the wrong direction. We took it anyway because it's that or the stairs and those aren't an option with luggage and a family in combination. They charge you 10% of your overall room rate for incidentals at check in. But they don't tell you that. Really should have been communicated when they did it. Was afraid someone was scamming my credit card. The staff is always friendly, and helpful. So that helps, but in the end, if you aren't comfortable at a hotel, then your not getting your moneys value in my opinion. July 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall a good stay I was pleasantly surprised when checking in, there was only one agent at the desk but it was slow. He was friendly and had a good personality. Upon arriving at the room it was clean and cool, just not as cool as I'd like it. Even with a West facing room, it cooled off and was comfortable the remainder of our stay, even at mid-afternoon. The pools were clean and towels were replenished reguarly. Beds were comfortable and linen was clean, the room could use a small microwave for convenience. Getting to the indoor pool/fitness center was a little confusing the first time (taking 2 elevators). The food in the restaurant was good but priced a little high for a breakfast buffet. Service was really good, very attentive. You should remove the Starbucks signs since they have moved out. The replacement coffee bar is ok but it's not Starbucks. Overall a good stay and someplace I'd stay again. July 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean but some issues Our room was clean but the hallways and spaces near the elevators were not. The elevators were extremely slow and could not accomadate the facility. There was a constant line waiting for the elevators and when they did arrive they were usually full. Some people had to wait 15 minutes or more. We were lucky to be able to use the stairs. The waterpark was fun but was not happy that they ask you to pay a fee just to watch your kids swim. Seemed like everything had an extra charge. July 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service from all associate, front desk personell to housekeeping personell awesome Stayed for a short family vacation. The rooms were very clean, and accommodating. great staff very attentive to our needs. July 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel Hotel was nice. Bathroom needed a little better cleaning. Front desk needs a little help on thier customer service. July 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Windows need updating nice place but the rooms heat up because the windows are dated. The A/C just does not keep up. Rooms were very hot. July 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, Fun place for kids of all ages We visited Coco Keys for 5 night stay with a baseball team. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We had families with kids age 5 to 13, all had a great time at the water park and outdoor pool. The food was great at the restaurant. The rooms were a bit stuffy, we had our air condition worked on once during the visit, that seemed to help some. Overall, this was a great trip and I would definitely stay here again! Thanks! July 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good place to stay Stayed at hotel as part of a convention. The air conditioning was not working properly and was very loud as it turned on and off during the night. Room was not made up until after 4PM each day. July 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Arrived early and friendly staff accomodated our family of 4 with a very clean room on 3rd floor. Outdoor pool was fantastic being it was quite hot outside. Air conditioning and ice machine worked great. Lots of activity due to waterpark but was a festive atmosphere. Hotel shuttle to Royals game was timely with funny interactive driver. Parking was fine and the Denny's restaurant close by was within walking distance. We will stay at Holiday again if we return to KC. July 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I excpected. Family was taking a long, much needed vacation and was not impressed with the hotel. I wanted entertainment for the kids but everything closed early....... the game room was closed early which they were not happy about, the pools are closed early. kids look forward to staying up as late as possible on vacation. Break out of a routine. So I tried to order a movie for them and got a NO signal message, called the front desk and they said they needed to send some one up. Are you for real, I dont want someone coming up to my room at night. The store/market did not have much available. The air conditioning was terriable the room did not get cold at all, after being out all day all you want to do is come to a nice cold room, the HALLS were much colder than the room, the service man says the building is replacing blower .......so in the mean time if you get a room that doesnt have upgraded blowers your out of luck. This is the first time I was really disappointed with a hotel. Seriously was upset with the conditions of the hotel. July 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor quality for a Holiday Inn We stay at Holiday Inn everywhere we travel. I do not recommend this one. First, our air was broke so, they gave us a fan. Never fixed the air. Employees had to use the guest elevators because their's is broke and has been for some time. The outdoor pool had hair in it. Every time my daughter and I went swimming I had to pull it off one of us. People swimming with clothes on...disgusting! The food in the restaurant wasn't very good and it was expensive for what they offered(stay at an Express HI and have better free breakfast). The beds were uncomfortable and the carpets were disgusting. My kids took their shoes off to walk around and their feet turned black on the bottoms! Very disappointing for a Holiday Inn. And the last thing was we had to check in everyday because Holiday Inn reserved our room on 3 seperate reservations. Worst experience ever!!!!! July 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Problems taken care of professionally I had issues the 1st night of my stay in 1404, I explained the situation to a manager and the issue was immediately taken care of and I was moved to 255. I was completely satisfied with the way the problem was addressed and resolved. I stay at this location or a competitor across the street, but considering the problem I had, and the professional way it was handled, I am sure I will stay with Holiday Inn on my next visit to the KC area. July 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It was okay... The beds "say" they are Queen. Nope more like a Full size and not comfy AT ALL!! The rooms are very nice though. The kids loved the indoor water park, but the water was a bit cool to the temp. The little ones zero depth pool was warmer then the other part. The kids eat free was okay of a deal. Took awhile for serive and food to arrive and when you have hungry kids from swimming it should cater to that! But over all it was okay and can now say I went. Will I return? Probably not. Everyone fighting to use the elevators to get to their rooms?! It was just a different experience I will say. You REALLY should have post cards in the gift shop for COCO KEY!!! July 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great fun for the grandkids. We took the three grandkids there for a mini vacation. They loved the room, the waterpark, and the restaurant. They played for 4 straight hours in the waterpark. Went to restaurant after and they got to eat for free. That was a nice plus. July 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, but the staff seems overwhelmed If you're going to KC to see the Royals or Chiefs, you can't beat this location, because it's right across the highway from the stadiums. Unfortunately, while we were there, the SkillsUSA event had taken over the hotel, so parking was over-full, the staff was overwhelmed, and the elevators were taxed to the limit. My suggestion would be, if you have that many people staying at the hotel, you need to increase your staff during that time, so you can handle the traffic, and the needs of your guests. The front-desk was far-from-cordial, the cleaning staff skipped us, and there was a constant crowd waiting for elevators. There was a form for laundry service, but it wasn't picked-up, and then we were told there wasn't any such service, and the "guest laundry" was all out-of-order. I'd also suggest that if all the signs say there's an ice machine on every floor, there should actually BE an ice machine on every floor. In-general, we weren't particularly happy with the hotel. Location is all it has going for it. July 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty good hotel I stayed here for a couple days so I can take my son to two Royals games against the Braves and we had a great time. We really liked the small bus that took us to and from the games which saved us a lot of walking. We appreciated that big time! Some complaints I have about this hotel: *I wish the housekeeping would've provided some extra soap and shampoo. The carpets weren't all that clean and one table was dusty. * The wifi service inside the room was pretty slow. * I wish there was an ice machine on the 7th floor. Had to go down to the 6th floor to get ice a couple times. * When I took a shower, the water was really hot. There was no water control temperature. *Air conditioning wasn't all that great. I set the thermostat to 60 degrees and it felt like it was 70-75 degrees inside the room even though I had the shades closed. I didn't really use the waterpark although I did use the outdoor pool only once. It's too bad the outdoor pool closes up at 10pm otherwise I would've took a dip in the pool after the baseball game. Perhaps closing the outdoor pool at midnight would be great. June 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by not impressed Our check in was late due to rooms not being ready. Several other guests were in the lobby and had the same issue. The waterpark was extremely crowded with guests from the previous day's stay. Our waiter in the restaurant was rude and the food was satisfactory. Parking was a nightmare. i honestly expected better quality and service from Holiday Inn. June 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Housekeeping I would not stay in their rooms anymore. Housekeeping staff missed a lot. My bedding was not clean, I had blood stains on the sheets along with a bandage attached to the sheet.. If you do stay at the hotel do a full inspection of the room first before getting into bed. June 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 3rd Floor East Wing terrible for Noise The staff and service here is really excellent. But you don't want to stay in the east wing. The rooms are located on the 3rd floor and above are the conference rooms. You could hear the wedding or gathering music till midnight or so. And then the clean up crew moving table and such around after that. June 28, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the cost I stayed here with my family of five thinking it would be a great watermark for my kids after a long drive. Upon arrival there was no parking spots, the waterpark was over populated and there was no where to sit. The cost of the room with waterpark tickets was to expensive. We had a very small room, but the beds were comfortable. The staff at the watermark seemed like they hated thier job and I watched a lot of reckless play but the lifeguards did not do a thing to stop it. Also the waterpark was filthy. There was mud around the drains and the water was disgusting color of brown. There was also so much bleach or chlorine that we all smelled the next day. June 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Over crowded We had a great time there, but felt as if it was Very overcrowded. We wish that you had to stay in the hotel to swim at coco keys.... or pay a higher price to go to coco keys' There was also a chic fight there, not good. My kids did have a blast. We loved it and hope we can come back? June 28, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Will NOT Be Going Back This is the second year we have been to this hotel and had a bad experience. We thought the first time was just a one time fluke but with having a bad experience a second time, we will not be going back to this location. Entering our room for the first time, the carpet was soaking wet. We called the front desk and they said that they had just shampooed a spot on our carpet. We were at this location for 3 days and on the third morning it had finally dried. I have small kids (boys) who like to drive their cars around on the floor, not good! The temperature outside was in the 90's. Upon entering our room the thermostat was set at 65 the whole 3 days and our room temperature never got below 80. Very uncomfortable to sleep in. We complained and they told us we could move to another room. We checked the rooms before moving and they were all the same way. This hotel is 40 plus years old. Needs to be remodeled with new ac/heating units. They did accommodate us with discount, freebies, etc. This was for my son's birthday, was very disappointed!!! June 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed-UNDERSTAFFED I read the prior reviews & they were not too good but thought I would give it a chance. Big mistake~ Understaffed!! Poor girl checking us in kept having to leave us to answer the phone while another girl wouldn't budge on what she was doing. Should have taken maybe 5 min to check in took us almost 15. I went to order room service & I got directed to the front desk then they transferred me to room service, I sat on the phone as it rang for 12 minutes, I refused to hang up so I could see how long it would take them. But after 12 minutes I gave up. So I called again, got the front desk, was only waiting 5-6 minutes this time. Then decided to watch some TV & the TV went out, that was another 45 minutes wasted out of my night. Pretty sad when I have tried numerous nicknames & they all have been used- Unhappy, Disgusted, Disappointed, what should that tell you??????? June 27, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a Business Travelers Hotel Checking in was a challenge with one desk person and a line of children with water park questions and purchases. Person was highly effective, but had too many things to cover including answering the front desk phone. Elevators took forever as they were filled with water park clients coming and going from their rooms. Some were freshly out of the water. Also had a conference break for the night with all of the attendees trying to get to their rooms. Had to wait for six elevator loads before my turn to get in. Hotel is mature but for its age is clean and well kept. Furniture shows its age and usage. Pleasantly surprised with plenty of hot water for shower both at night and in the morning. Restaurant prices seem high especially for buffet but this seems to be the trend of all breakfast menus. Not all priority club members want a percentage off their purchases. A bottle of water and cookies/candy/chips goes a long way when you can not find the vending machines can not be located. June 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fine for families, not so sure for seniors! This Holiday Inn had three strikes against it in very short order. First: I was not aware it was connected to a Water Park and therefore came with lots, and I mean lots, of children running around. Second: there was a convention going on in the hotel and folks were celebrating both late into the night, and starting early in the morning. Third: there was a problem with the internet/wi-fi service. A phone call at 10:45 p.m. confirming the wi-fi problem did little to ease my mind. While the room was comfortable, it was not quiet. The only quiet place in the entire hotel was Casey's restaurant, where I had a pleasant meal Would I stay there again? No. Would my grandchildren like it? Probably. June 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Staff May need a management change, the staff was terrible. Was there for a wedding. No soap in the room. Elevators take forever, plan accordingly. No snack vending machines anywhere. TV checkout did not work. If you call for service, plan on being on holding for a long time until someone answers. We will never stay here again, just terrible. June 17, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 16 next>>
View from Hotel
View from Hotel
Select to close.
View from Hotel Welcome to Staybridge Kansas City - Independence Arial View of Hotel Staybridge Suites KC-Independence Welcome to Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence Get Comfortable Concierge Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

IHG Rewards Club Excellence Award

IHG® Rewards Club Excellence Award

Service above and beyond the call of duty is a matter of pride to the IHG® Rewards Club family of brands. The IHG® Rewards Club Excellence Award is significant because the award recognizes hotels that are consistently delivering benefits and recognition to our top customers - IHG® Rewards Club members.

Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-14-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-15-2014)
Check Availability
Loading