• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 238 8889
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: INDEPENDENCE
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee of 75.00 dollars for 1 through 6 nights and 150.00 dollars for 7 or more nights. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at checkin. Call hotel for details.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Centerpoint Medical Center
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Independence Center Shopping/Dining
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Hartman Conference Center
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Bass Pro Shops
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:102
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:102
  • Total number of suites:102
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:96
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:6
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:102
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Welcome to our multi-award winning hotel.

Situated just outside of Kansas City, the Staybridge Suites® Kansas City - Independence offers the utmost in comfort and convenience. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, our I-70 location provides easy access to the area's best attractions and major companies.

Independence Event Center, Centerpoint Medical Center, Children's Mercy Hospital, Independence Center - the area's largest mall, ATK, Fike, Fresenius, GEHA, Unilever
View More

Welcome to our multi-award winning hotel.

Situated just outside of Kansas City, the Staybridge Suites® Kansas City - Independence offers the utmost in comfort and convenience. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, our I-70 location provides easy access to the area's best attractions and major companies.

Independence Event Center, Centerpoint Medical Center, Children's Mercy Hospital, Independence Center - the area's largest mall, ATK, Fike, Fresenius, GEHA, Unilever and Burd & Fletcher are just minutes from our front door. Complimentary Wi-Fi, the Business Center and our Truman Boardroom provide corporate guests with the tools they need for a productive visit.

Minutes from Arrowhead Stadium, home of the Kansas City Chiefs, Kauffman Stadium, home of the Kansas City Royals. You'll find our hometown CHL Champions, the Missouri Mavericks at the Independence Event Center.

At Staybridge Suites KC-Independence your comfort is our priority. We offer outstanding amenities including a free hot breakfast buffet, Fitness Center and Tues-Thurs Evening Socials, featuring a light dinner with complimentary beer & wine. After a long day, relax on the beautifully lansdscaped patio, which features a heated saltwater pool, fire pit and whirlpool. Make your reservations today, and enjoy all the great perks our Independence hotel has to offer A day, a week, a year - stay with Staybridge Suites KC-Independence!

View Less
Features
When it comes to hotels in Independence, Missouri, our exceptional service is unmatched, and our accommodations feature great amenities, such as free Wi-Fi access, flat screen TV's and a full kitchen in each suite.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 454 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Below average at best I think reviews are always a great way to improve on anything. Our trip was planned for a small group of children for my daughter's birthday. Check in was great and speedy. Very easy and the lady was extremely helpful. The main lobby was clean but upon entering our room it smelled funny and there was a big bottle of cleaning supplies left in the bathroom. Secondly, it was terribly hot and the room unit had a very hard time keeping up. It was not hot outside so I am not sure what happened. We were able to go down to CoCo Key area and on the website it stated there was enough life jackets for younger children so I told my family members not to worry about it for the 4 year olds. When we arrived we could not find the anywhere and were told there were no more available. This was very frustrating considering we had 4 young children with us. We went to play the arcade machines and put in our card and there were several games that were not working. It was very disappointing for the kids. We stopped trying and left. Breakfast the next morning we ordered off the menu and waited over 30 minutes for our food. It was cold. The service was very attentive but the food was awful. We did not complain as our children were hungry and we needed to leave. Overall, we will not return. July 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Resturant The Hotel resturant was not good at all. Went there for breakfast, got the buffet and the eggs were cold as well as almost everything except the bacon. Went back for supper, did not get the right food, one of our children Never got her food after repeadly asking for it (a slice of pizza); staff was rude and acted like it was are fault we were not getting our food. Will NEVER eat there again and will not recommend it to anyone! The hotel and water park itself was good. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay for a Royals game Great price, great location. Staff was friendly and helpful. We walked to the K but they do have a shuttle. Great time!!!!!!! July 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Won't be staying at this hotel again, but will return to the waterpark This is the second time we have stayed at this Holiday Inn KC. We chose this hotel for two reasons: 1.It has a waterpark that our 6 year old and 3 year old think is great, and 2. It is right across the interstate from the baseball stadium. We did not have any trouble at check-in, but when we arrived to our room it was sooooo hot! I understand it was June and it is hot outside, but I at least expected the hotel room to be cool! It was so uncomfortable that we had to have maintenance bring a fan up for the 2 nights we stayed, and it barely helped! They said our air conditioner was working but that it was just too hot and the building was old and had trouble cooling down?? Some friends came with us, and their room next door to us was also hot and after their room was cleaned it had a horrible odor for several hours-they had to leave their door open to air it out! The cleaning crew also left their door unlocked after they cleaned it! Thankfully nothing was taken, but that is really not acceptable. We have stayed in many IHG hotels (usually Holliday Inn Express) and this is by far the worst one we have stayed at. We won't be staying at this hotel again, but will return to the waterpark, because although it is kind of pricey, my kids love it and had fun there. July 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Weekend I stayed at this particular hotel and went to the water park. It was a complete waste of time and money. #1--I called on 3 different occasions and requested maid service to our room, I was told each time they would take care of it, and it never was. #2--We ate at the breakfast buffet, and several different times I contacted my server to ask her if certain items would be replenished on the buffet, they never were so basically I spent over $30 for cold eggs, fruit and burnt biscuits. No bacon, gravy, potatoes were ever replenished in the time we were there. #3--There weren't enough towels for the outside pool, or for the water park, my family had to wait until towels were available. #4--There were about 20% of the needed inner tubes for the water park. Everyone is in a "free for all" to get inner tubes for the slides. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, great location, great opportunity but the hotel falls flat!! July 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Do NOT expect to check-in in a timely manner We will not be staying in this hotel again. My family usually stays here at least 2-3 times a year but that has now ended. Took over two hours to get a room when check-in was at 4:00 pm. Watched as several people with reservations were turned away at 9pm because their rooms were still not cleaned and available. I really wish this hotel would get their act together because Coco Keys is such a draw for my family. In the future we will visit the water park but will stay across the street! July 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by just ok the lobby was excellent but the room was another story. the a/c was noisy, the carpet was stained and the executive chair was in bad shape. CoCo Keys was also a let down. the water was murky and they closed off the pool area for the small children and would not tell us why. The game was another let down. Some of the games would not take the prepaid card and a few more would not give you tickets if you won. The only nice thing about this hotel was the fact it was right across from the stadium. We also enjoyed the food at the hotel bar. July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Allowed pet I was very pleased with the staff person at the Holiday Inn at which we normally stay, who when we were not able to be accommodated at that hotel, helped us find another Holiday Inn in Kansas City that had space and allowed a pet. July 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by very uncomfortable bed and room The beds were extremely uncomfortable. I would not reccomend this hotel if you want to sleep well while in Kansas city. I would reccomend the the water park though. July 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected We arrived at 1, check in is at 4. They did not let us check in. The front desk clerk said to come back in a couple hours, so we went to the waterpark to play until we could get our room. When we arrived to CoCo Keys we asked for towels, the staff had a pile (of what I think were clean towels) that they grabbed from for us. The water park seemed run down. The baby area had slides, the pads at the bottom were worn down and I stepped on an exposed metal part. The older kids playground had several areas were the water guns or pulls to controll water were broken. Many of the innertubes were half inflated. We went to check in at 3:40 and the front desk told us our room had to be checked berfore we could get it. We didn't get our room until after 4pm. The duvet on the bed had stains on it. Needless to say, I was not impressed. July 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Was expecting more We have not stayed at a Holiday Inn in a long time and I was disappointed. The room was OK, It seemed 2 double beds were only available. We had our Grandson with us, so it worked out, but would have rather of had queen and double or a sofa bed. The room was OK, the desk chair was worn as well as wallpaper in bathroom. Our real complaint was the fan on the AC was very noisey. Sure wish they had included a free breakfast or at least free coffee in the lobby. That would have been nice. We were meeting family at the water park, so it just made sense for us to stay there. July 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by New Beds Needed The water park was by far the best part of the experience even though it seems that it has been a while since it has been deep cleaned. The beds in this hotel are horrendous they are hard and squeak with every movement, like sleeping on a metal box spring with a sheet. the sheets were not even on the bed was not even made right and had to be remade. We will never stay here again and that is unfortunate I am usually comfortable staying at a holiday inn. July 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Water Park great - Food poor The Water Park was great! Unfortunately, the menu and the food delivered did not match the menu descriptions. The food itself was poor quality- thank goodness it was free for the kids. The phone in the room did not work. July 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fun Weekend Waterpark was fun, water quality could have been better. Arcade was in poor repair, Staff was accommodating. Room was average. Included hot Breakfast was enjoyable, Overall value was average. July 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service, uncomfortable bed and noisy Our room was around the corner and way down the hall from the elevator, yet we could still hear the elevator. Children were allowed to run the halls and scream late at night and early in the morning. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed we've ever slept on and a few times housekeeping didn't leave enough towels or wash cloths or empty our trash. The room also didn't have drawers for us to unpack and put clothes away. July 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not Happy Thought this would be a great place to take the family because of the water park. The kids did have a good time but I was disappointed in the beds and cleanliness. I did not realize pets were allowed so I was bothered with barking dogs while trying to sleep. Will not stay again. July 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service, how is this hotel still in business.... Let me start out by saying that the rooms were clean and the our kids had lots of fun at the water park. The hotel looks pretty old when you drive up but the inside was modern and nice. We tried to check into our room at 3:30, after waiting in a line at the front desk for over 30 min, told it wasn't ready, fine we were a little early. 6:00 comes and still no room. (Check-in is 4:00). I had to stand at the front desk and listen to excuses galore while waiting for our room. Finally got one around 6:30. We were supposed to have rooms near our friends (reservations and request for rooms near/connecting each other arranged monthes in advance). Room we were eventually given not even on the same floor. My husband stood at the front desk for an hour until they cleaned and gave us a room on the correct floor. The manager eventually gave us a discount for our troubles but we will never stay here again. Not worth the headache. July 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A little of Both We enjoyed out stay here. The hotel staff and cleaning lady LaToyna on the 9th Floor was great. She treated us like we were family. Adam took really good care of us the best he could when the AC wasn't and still wasn't working through our stay. But because we were helped and talked to not like we were putting them out we were ok. We did received a bit of a discount for the trouble we had(Thank you). The water park our children really enjoyed. July 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Older hotel but a kind staff will listen and take care of concerns Yes, this is an older hotel. Yes, it is a little worn around the edges. But the rooms are quiet and the staff is more than willing to address any concerns and take care of them immediately, We stayed in connecting rooms 217 July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by outstanding top floor view the only monor problem that I encoutered in my room, is that I could here the people staying next to me talking and laughing out loud, room was very comfortable with a very cold A/C. July 15, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Faulty plumbing and room badly in need of updates When I arrived at this hotel at 6PM, I waited in line for about 45 minutes. When I finally got to the front desk, I was told that I will need to wait until a room became available. We decided to go to the waterpark and when got back still had no key waiting for us. The room was musty and smelled as if it was previously used for a smoking room. The shower and toilet stopped up and we had to have staff come up twice to unstop it with a plunger. The shower was also dirty, with a stained shower. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the iron did not work. I would not recommend this hotel. July 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Left hotel reservations for 4 nights after 2 nights Would never stay at this location again. Damp musty, hard bed, flat pillows, bad air conditioning, screaming kids all day and night, never serviced room, long wait to check in and out, water leaks in restaurant, not information about 2nd floor being under ground. Basicly a very bad experience. July 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service We could not get the internet to work in our rooms and half of our electrical outlets did not work. Advised front desk about the outlets and they were going to take care of that day. July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by mmc51 Very nice friendly staff and large clean room. My only complaint was the linen seemed old and the mattress was way too hard for my liking. July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service My family decided to take a last minute trip to a water park, this hotel had the water park package so much cheaper than staying somewhere else and buying tickets separately. Read mixed reviews but decided to give it a shot. The customer service was wonderful! Answered all the questions I had. The breakfast buffet was good compared to regular hotel breakfast and got to love that kids eat free at Casey's there. Loved the stadium view we had. Loved the fact that the water park is connected to the hotel, very short walk. Bed was a little stiff but when you had a long day at the water park you can knock out anywhere. We live two hours away and just discovered this "weekend getaway" and will be definitely coming back more often for family time. My whole family had a blast! July 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by okay stay Next time might stay somewhere else and just pay to go to the waterpark. July 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Horrible Mattresses Where the check in staff were fine the overall stay gets 1 star, the mattresses were HORRIBLE for the price of the room, the cleaning people were semi lazy we needed more face towels all we kept hearing is "I don't have any, we are waiting on some", the parking is HORRIBLE people from the waterpark were parking in front so there was NO PARKING ever no matter what time. I would never stay at this particular one ever again. But all my other stays thru the IHG have been WONDERFUL not sure where this one went wrong at. July 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service for wedding guests but needs updating. We stayed at this hotel because it was convenient for my son's wedding. The staff was amazing all around from the front desk who took care of many small problems, to the bar that agreed to stay open late the night of the wedding so that the party could continue. Having not been to the hotel in a number of years, the lobby looked great. It's too bad that the remodel hadn't continued to the rooms. Every floor that I saw needed new carpeting. The rooms were dark, worn and not that inviting. Since the waterpark is attached to the hotel it seemed there was a constant flow of people in the public area; many of which I'm sure were not staying at the hotel. I would have preferred that only guests be allowed to wonder the hotel public areas. Since I stay in hotels about 150 nights a year for work, I am very aware of the hotel breakfast offerings. This hotel didn't offer free breakfast but did offer a buffet for a relatively reasonable price. 'Only problem is that it wasn't any better than a free breakfast in any other hotel (powdered eggs, etc.). So, I guess your experience depends on what your purpose for being there is. If you want to mix with the public and spend lots of time at a water park with lots of people, it's wonderful. If you're looking for a nice, quiet, modern hotel, go somewhere else. If the only thing that matters to you is the service, definitely stay here. The people they have on staff are the best! July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great view and awesome staff We enjoyed our visit and the view from our room of the stadiums was awesome. We did have some minor issues with our room such as the shower head leaking and the tub draining slowly, but everything was taken care of immediately when the staff was notified. Even when I needed a safety pin a member of the staff quickly provided one. The front desk staff was great! We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the upbeat friendly attitude of the servers. The downside: - not enough drawer space for someone staying more than a couple of days. -the carpet. Needs a good deep cleaning or maybe just change it out. July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice size room great place to stay I would recommend this place. Bed was super comfortable rooms are clean, service was excellent July 7, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 16 next>>
View from Hotel
View from Hotel
Select to close.
View from Hotel Welcome to Staybridge Kansas City - Independence Arial View of Hotel Staybridge Suites KC-Independence Welcome to Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence Get Comfortable Concierge Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

IHG Rewards Club Excellence Award

IHG® Rewards Club Excellence Award

Service above and beyond the call of duty is a matter of pride to the IHG® Rewards Club family of brands. The IHG® Rewards Club Excellence Award is significant because the award recognizes hotels that are consistently delivering benefits and recognition to our top customers - IHG® Rewards Club members.

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading